Introduction
This is the guide to selected basic materials on the African-American experience, located in the
Fordham Libraries or accessible on the Internet.
Note on terms used: Keyword searches for African-American studies may include the following
terms: "African-American," Afro-American," "Black," and "Negro," depending upon the publication date of the material.
Research Databases
America:
History and Life Index to journals on American and Canadian history since 1991.
Black Studies on Disc (RH Ref W DATA CD 10)
CD-ROM-based searchable index to black periodicals from 1988-2003.
Black Women in America—This second edition of this historic reference
work provides an updated resource on the achievement of African-American women
in the United States. Ethnic
News Watch Ethnic NewsWatch is a full-text collection of the
newspapers, magazines, and journals for the ethnic, minority, and native press since 1991.
Lexis-Nexis History Universe (African American History) Full
text of primary sources in African American history.
In Motion: the African-American
Migration Experience Database of full texts,
maps, images, and lesson plans sponsored by the Schomburg Collection of
the New York Public Library.
Oxford African American Studies Center Full text of Oxford
University Press reference books on African Americans.
Who's Who Among African-Americans Now available in
electronic format by the Gale Research Library, this is the 2007 edition
on this reference for multicultural studies. Top of Page
General References
Africana: The Encyclopedia of the African and African American Experience
(2nd ed.) (Vols. 1-5). New York: Oxford
University Press, 2005. (RH) Ref + DT14.A37435 2005
Asante, Molefi. The African-American Atlas: Black History and Culture--An Illustrated Reference.
New York: Macmillan, 1998. (RH LC) Ref + E185.A791998
Brown, Lorene. Subject Headings for African-American Materials. Englewood, CO: Libraries Unlimited, 1995. (RH
LC) Ref Z695.1.B76 1995
Ciment, James. Atlas of African-American History. New York: Facts on File, 2001. (RH) Ref + E185 .C55 2001
Earle, J. Routledge Atlas of African American History. New York: Routledge, 2000. (RH
LC) Ref E185.E125 2000
Finkelman, P. Encyclopedia of African-American History 1619-1895: From the
Colonial Period to the Age of Frederick Douglass (Vols. 1-3). New York:
Oxford University Press, 2006. (RH) Ref +E185.E545 2006
Higginbotham, E.B. The Harvard Guide to African-American History. Cambridge, MA: Harvard University Press, 2001. (RH LC) Ref
E185 .H326 2001
Hornor, L.L. Black Americans: A Statistical Sourcebook. Palo Alto, CA: Information Pub., 2002. (MM) Ref E185.86 .B498 2002
Lowery, C.D. The Greenwood Encyclopedia of African American Civil Rights: From Emancipation to the Twenty-First Century
(Vols. 1-2). New York: Greenwood Press, 2003. (RH) Ref E185.61 .E54 2003
Miles, J.H. Almanac of African American Heritage: A Book
of Lists Featuring People, Places, Times, and Events That Shaped Black Culture. Paramus, NJ: Prentice Hall
Press, 2001. (RH) Ref E185 .A448 2001
Mjagkij, N. (Ed.). Organizing Black America: An Encyclopedia of African American Associations. New York: Garland Publishers,
2001. (RH) Ref + E185.5.O74 2001
Palmer, C.A. (Ed.). Encyclopedia of African-American Culture and History:
the Black Experience in the Americas (2nd ed.) (Vols.
1-6). Detroit: Macmillan Reference USA, 2006. (RH LC MM) Ref +
E185.E54 2006
Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture. Kaiser Index to Black Resources, 1948-1986
(Vols. 1-5). Brooklyn, NY: Carlson, 1992. (RH) Ref + E185.A1 K34 1992
Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture. New York Public Library African American Desk Reference. New York: Wiley,
1999. (RH LC) Ref E185.N69 1999
Shillington, K. Encyclopedia of African History (Vols. 1-3). New York:
Fitzroy Dearborn, 2005. (RH LC) Ref +DT20.E53 2005
Smith, J.C., Palmisano, J.M. (Eds.). African-American Almanac. Detroit: Gale, 2000.
(LC MM) Ref + E185.A252 2000
Smith, J.C. Historical Statistics of Black America (Vols. 1-2). New York: Gale, 1995. (RH LC MM) Ref E185.H558 1995
Smith, R.C. Encyclopedia of African-American Politics. New York: Facts on File, 2003. (RH) Ref
+ E185 .S58155 2003
Top of Page
Biography
Aaseng, Nathan. African-American Athletes. New York: Facts on File, 2003. (RH) Ref GV697 .A196 2003
Bader, Philip. African-American Writers. New York: Facts on File, 2004. (RH) Ref PS153.N5 B214 2004
Brockman, N.C. An African Biographical Dictionary. New York: Grey
House Pub., 2006. (RH) Ref +DT18.B76 2006
Carey, Charles W. African-American Political Leaders. New York: Facts on File, 2004. (RH) Ref E185.96 .C18 2004
Gates, H.L., Higginbotham, E.B. (Eds.). African-American Lives. New York: Oxford University Press, 2004. (RH)
Ref + E185.96 .A48 2004
Hine, D.C. (Ed.). Black Women in America (Vols. 1-3). New York: Oxford
University Press, 2005. (RH LC MM) Ref +E185.86.B542 2005
Kessler, J.H.
Distinguished African American Scientists of the 20th Century. Phoenix, AZ: Oryx, 1996.
(RH) Science Ref Q141.D535 1996
Kranz, Rachel. African-American Business Leaders and Entrepreneurs. New York: Facts on File, 2004. (RH) Ref HC102.5 .A2 K73
2004
Mitchell, Sara. Afro-American Biographies: A Bibliography. Huntington, NY: Nova Science Pub., 2000. (RH) Ref
E185.96.A13 2000
Moebs, Thomas. Black Soldiers-Black Sailors-Black Ink: Research Guide on African-Americans in U.S. Military
History, 1526-1900. Chesapeake Bay, VA: Moebs Pub. Co., 1994. (RH) Ref UB418.A47 M64 1994
Riggs, T. (Ed.). St. James Guide to Black Artists. Detroit: St. James Press, 1997. (RH LC) Ref + N40.S78 1997
Salley, Columbus. The Black 100: A Ranking of the Most Influential African-Americans, Past, and Present.
Secaucus, NJ: Carol Pub. Group, 1999. (RH) Ref E185.96.S225 1999
Sammons, Vivian. Blacks in Science and Medicine. New York: Hemisphere Pub. Corp., 1990. (RH LC) Ref + Q141.B58 1990
Smith, J.C. (Ed.). Notable Black American Women. Detroit: Gale
Research, 2003. (RH LC MM) Ref + E185.96 .N68 2003
Smith, J.C. Black Heroes of the Twentieth Century. Detroit: Visible
Ink Press, 1998. (LC) Ref E185.96.B5337 1998
Top of Page
Culture and History
Andrews, W.L., Foster, F.S., Harris, T. (Eds.). Oxford Companion to African-American Literature. New York: Oxford
University Press, 1997. (RH LC MM) Ref PS153.N5 A183 1997
Cowan, Thomas. Timelines of African-American History: 500 Years of Black Achievement. New York: Berkley
Pub. Group, 1994. (RH LC) Ref E185.C86 1994
Draper, J.P. (Ed.). Black Literature Criticism: Excerpts from Criticism of
the Most Significant Works of Black Authors Over the Past 200 Years (Vols. 1-3). Detroit: Gale Research, 1992. (RH LC MM) Ref + PS153.N5 B556 1992
Estell, Kenneth. African America: Portrait of a People. Detroit: Visible Ink Press, 1994. (LC) Ref E185.96 E87 1994
Smith, V. (Ed.). African-American Writers (2nd ed.)
(Vols. 1-2).
New York: Scribners, 2001. (RH) Ref + PS153.N5 A344 2001
Thomison, Dennis. Black Artist in America: An Index to Reproductions.
Metuchen, NJ: Scarecrow Press,
1991. (RH LC) Ref N6538.N5 T46 1991
Valade, R.M. (Ed.). Schomburg Center Guide to Black Literature from the Eighteenth Century to
the Present.
Detroit: Gale Research, 1996. (RH LC) Ref PN841.A1 S34 1996
Top of Page
Bibliographies
Glikin, Ronda. Black American Women in Literature:
A Bibliography, 1976 Through 1987. Jefferson, NC: McFarland, 1989. (RH LC) Ref PS153.N5 A17 1989
Danky, J.P. African-American Newspapers and Periodicals: A National
Bibliography. Cambridge, MA: Harvard Univ. Press, 1998. (RH) Ref
+PN4882.5.A37 1998
Kagan, Alfred.
Reference Guide to Africa: A Bibliography of Sources.
Lanham, MD: Scarecrow Press, 2005. (RH) Ref DT4.K15
2005
Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture.
Bibliographic Guide to Black Studies.
Boston: G.K. Hall, 1975-1997. (RH
LC) Ref HT1581.A1 N41
Semmes, Clovis. Roots of Afrocentric Thought: A Reference Guide to Negro Digest/Black World.
Westport, CT:
Greenwood Press, 1998. (RH) Ref D1.N31 INDEX
Top of Page
Internet Resources
African-American Mosaic
This is a Library of Congress resource guide for the study of black history and culture.
Amistad Research Center of Tulane University
An independent manuscripts library dedicated to preserving
African American and ethnic history and culture.
The Black Collegian Online
National magazine that focuses on career opportunities for young African Americans.
W.E.B. Du Bois Institute for African and African American Research of Harvard
University The nation's oldest research center dedicated to the
study of the history, culture, and social institutions of African Americans.
Georgetown University Library's African American
Studies Research Guide Georgetown University Library's list of resources for African-American studies.
Museum of Afro American History, Boston A not-for-profit
history institution dedicated to preserving, conserving and accurately interpreting the contributions of African
Americans during the colonial period in New England.
Our Shared History: African American Heritage
The National Park Service features links and online tours to provide
information on African American historical places.
University of California, Santa Barbara's Resources in Black
Studies Includes resources for researchers on people of African descent in the United States, Africa,
the Caribbean, Latin America, Europe, and Australia.
Top of Page
The Harlem Renaissance
Introduction
The Harlem Renaissance was originally known as the New Negro Movement and was culturally and artistically significant in American
history, particularly in Harlem, New York during the early half of the twentieth century.
Research Databases
Those databases that are listed at the top of this African-American Studies' research guide are all excellent tools for
researching the Harlem Renaissance, in addition to those found in the General Periodicals Indexes of the databases' section of
this library Web site (i.e., Academic Search Premier, Project Muse, ProQuest).
MLA
International Bibliography Because of the large literary movement that took place during this time, the MLA International Bibliography
is a great place to locate information about the notable writers that influenced the Harlem Renaissance.
Top of Page
General References
Aberjhani, & West, S.L. Encyclopedia of the Harlem Renaissance. New York: Facts on File, Inc., 2003. (RH MM) + PS153.N5
A24 2003
Harris, T. (Ed.) Afro-American Writers from the Harlem Renaissance to 1940.
Detroit: Gale,
1987. (RH LC MM) Ref PS2 .D5 V.51
Nelson, E.S.
African American Authors, 1745-1945: A Bio-Bibliographical Critical Sourcebook.
Westport, CT: Greenwood
Press, 2000. (RH LC) Ref PS153.N5 A133 2000
Rasmussen, R.K. (Ed.). The African American Encyclopedia (2nd
ed.) (Vols. 1-10). New York: Marshall Cavendish, 2001. (RH LC) Ref
E185 .A253 2001
Roses, L.E., & Randolph, R.E. Harlem Renaissance and Beyond: Literary Biographies of 100 Black Women Writers, 1900-1945.
Boston: G.K. Hall, 1990. (RH LC MM) Ref PS153.N5 R65 1990
Rush, T.G., Myers, C.F., & Arata, E.S. Black American Writers Past and Present: A Biographical and Bibliographical
Dictionary (Vols. 1-2). Metuchen, NJ: Scarecrow Press, 1975. (RH LC) Ref PS153.N5 A11
Top of Page
Internet Resources
African American Odyssey Exhibition
This online exhibit has a good overview of the Harlem Renaissance. Since it is published by a reputable source, such as the Library
of Congress, educators and researchers alike will find this page to be beneficial, particularly the “Probing Further” section.
Schomburg Center for the Research in Black Culture
One of the most extensive holdings about Black culture, the Schomburg Library features works of different formats relating to
Black people, including rare books, oral histories, audiovisual materials, graphic art, and much more.
|