Fordham University  The Jesuit University of New York
 

Home < Library Services


Research Guides: Anthropology and Archaeology

RESEARCH DATABASES DICTIONARIES
ATLASES ENCYCLOPEDIAS
BIBLIOGRAPHIES/ABSTRACTS HANDBOOKS AND GUIDES
BIOGRAPHY INTERNET RESOURCES




RESEARCH DATABASES

America: History and Life - database includes abstracts of articles from over 2400 journals and citations for book reviews and dissertations since 1964 relating to the full range of U.S. and Canadian history and culture including anthropology and archaeology.

Anthropological Index of the Royal Anthropological Institute - index to books and journal articles.

Anthrosource - database of full text of over 30 journals in Anthropology.

Biblical Archaeology Society Online Archive - Full text of the Society's publications including journals: Biblical Archaeology Review, Bible Review, and Archaeology Odyssey.

Historical Abstracts - database indexes over 2100 journals published since 1954 covering the history of the world from 1450 to the present excluding U.S. and Canadian history.

International Bibliography of the Social Sciences - Database indexes books, chapters and articles from over 2600 international journals in sociology, anthropology, economics and political science.

Social Sciences Citation Index (Web of science)    Indexes over 1,725 journals in the social sciences since 1998.

SocINDEX with Full Text   A comprehensive index to the literature of sociology including journals, books, and conference papers. Many of the items are in full text.



REFERENCE SOURCES

ATLASES

Atlas of Classical Archaeology.  London: Chatto and Windus, 1977.  (RH) Ref (LC) Atlases G1046.E15 A8 1977

The Atlas of World Archaeology.  NY: Checkmark, 2000.  (RH)  Ref CC165.A85 2000

Past Worlds: the Times Atlas of Archaeology.  Maplewood, NJ: Hammond, 1988.  (RH) Atlas G1046.E15 P3 1988

Whitehouse, David.  Archaeological Atlas of the World. San Francisco: W.H. Freeman, 1975.  (RH) G1046.E15 W5 1975 (LC) Ref  G1046.E15 W5 1975.

The World Atlas of Archaeology.  Boston: G.K. Hall, 1985.  (RH LC) Atlas G1046.E15 W6 1985




BIBLIOGRAPHIES/ABSTRACTS

Annual Review of Anthropology.  Palo Alto, CA: Annual Reviews, Inc., 1972-   .
        ejournal link (1972-2001): http://www.jstor.org/journals/00846570.html
        and (2000-pres)   http://anthro.AnnualReviews.org

Ethnic Collections in Libraries.  NY: Neal-Schuman, 1983.  (RH) Ref Z711.8.E85 1983 (LC) Z711.8.E85 1983

International Bibliography of Social and Cultural Anthropology.  Paris: UNESCO, 1955-    .   (RH LC) H1.A61


BIOGRAPHY

Encyclopedia of Archaeology: the Great Archaeologists. Santa Barbara: ABC-CLIO, 1999. (RH) Ref CC110.E54 1999

International Dictionary of Anthropologists.  NY: Garland Pub., 1991.  (RH LC) Ref GN20.I49 1991

International Directory of Anthropologists.  Chicago: U.of Chicago Press, 1975.  (LC) Ref GN20.I5 1975

Medwid, Linda. The Makers of Classical Archaeology: a Reference Work.  Amherst, NY: Humanity Books, 2000.  (RH) Ref DE9.A1 M43 2000

Women Anthropologists: A Biographical Dictionary.  NY: Greenwood Press, 1988.  (LC) Ref GN20.W63 1988




DICTIONARIES

Collins Dictionary of Archaeology.  Santa Barbara, CA: ABC-CLIO, 1993.  (LC) Ref  CC70.C58 1993

Darvill, Timothy.  The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Archaeology. 2nd ed. NY: Oxford U. Press, 2008.  (RH) Ref.CC70.D36 2008

Darvill, Thomas. The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Archaeology. [ebook]

A Dictionary of Archaeology. Oxford: Blackwell, 1999  (RH LC) Ref CC70.D53 1999

The Dictionary of Anthropology.  Oxford: Blackwell, 1997.  (RH) Ref GN307.D485 1997

The Dictionary of Anthropology. [ebook] Oxford: Blackwell, 2000, 1997

Dictionary of Anthropology.  Boston: G.K. Hall, 1986.  (RH) Ref GN11.D48 1986.

Facts on File Dictionary of Archaeology.  NY: Facts on File, 1983.  (RH LC) Ref CC70.F32 1983

Kipfer, Barbara Ann. Encyclopedic Dictionary of Archaeology. NY: Kluwer Academic, 2000. (RH) Ref CC70.K56 2000

Kurtz, Seymour. The World Guide to Antiquities.  NY: Crown Publishers, 1975.  (RH LC) Ref CC165.K87

The New Penguin Dictionary of Archaeology. NY: Penguin, 2004. (RH) Ref CC70.P463 2004

Olson, James. The Peoples of Africa: An Ethnohistorical Dictionary.  Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 1996.  (RH LC) Ref GN645.O53 1996

Olson, James. The Peoples of Africa: An Ethnohistorical Dictionary. [ebook]

The Oxford Companion to Archaeology.  NY: Oxford U. Press, 1996.  (RH LC) Ref CC70.O96 1996

The Oxford Companion to Archaeology. [ebook]

The Penguin Archaeology Guide.  NY: Penguin Putnam, 2001.  (RH)  RefCC70.P46 2001

Stephens, Thomas. Dictionary of Latin American Racial and Ethnic Terminology.  2nd ed. Gainsville: U of Florida Press, 1999.  (RH) Ref GN562.S74 1999

Winthrop, Robert. Dictionary of Concepts in Cultural Anthropology.  NY: Greenwood Press, 1991.  (RH LC) Ref GN307.W56 1991




ENCYCLOPEDIAS

Archaeological Method and Theory: an Encyclopedia.  NY: Garland, 2000.  (RH) Ref CC75.A654 2000

Archaeology of Ancient Mexico and Central America: An Encyclopedia. NY: Garland, 2001. (RH) Ref F1218.A73 2001

Archaeology of Prehistoric Native America: An Encyclopedia.  NY: Garland Pub., 1998.  (RH LC) Ref E77.9.A72 1998

The Cambridge Encyclopedia of Archaeology.  NY: Crown Pub., 1980. (RH) Ref CC165.C3 1980

The Cambridge Encyclopedia of Human Evolution.  NY: Cambridge U. Press, 1992.  (RH LC) Ref  GN281.C345 1992

The Cambridge Encyclopedia of Hunters and Gatherers. Cambridge: Cambridge U. Press, 1999.  (RH) Ref  GN388.C35 1999

Companion Encyclopedia of Archaeology.  London: Routledge, 1999. (RH) Ref CC70.C59 1999

Companion Encyclopedia of Archaeology. [ebook]

Countries and their Cultures.  New York: Macmillan, 2001.  (RH)  Ref GN307.C68 2001

Crystal, David. The Cambridge Encyclopedia of Language.  2nd ed.  Cambridge: Cambridge U. Press, 1997.  (RH LC) Ref  P29.C73 1997.

Encyclopedia of Anthropology. Thousand Oaks, CA: Sage, 2006. (RH) Ref GN11.E63 2006.

Encyclopedia of Archaeology. History and Discoveries.  Santa Barbara, CA: ABC-CLIO, 2001.  (RH) RefCC100.E54 2001

Encyclopedia of Cultural Anthropology.  NY: Henry Holt and Co., 1996.  (RH LC) Ref GN307.E52 1996

Encyclopedia of Historical Archaeology.  NY: Routledge, 2002.  (RH) RefCC77.H5 E53 2002

The Encyclopedia of Language and Linguistics.  Oxford: Pergamon Press, 1994.  (RH LC) Ref P29.E48 1994

Encyclopedia of Social and Cultural Anthropology.  London: Routledge, 1996.  (RH LC) Ref GN307.E527 1996

Encyclopedia of the Archaeology of Ancient Epypt.  NY: Routledge, 1999.  (RH) Ref DT58.E53 1999

An Encyclopedia of the History of Classical Archaeology.  Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 1996.  (RH) Ref DE5.E55 1996

Encyclopedia of Underwater and Maritime Archaeology.  New Haven, CT: Yale U. Press, 1998.  (LC) CC77.U5 E53 1998.

Encyclopedia of World Cultures.  Boston: G.K. Hall, 1991.  (RH LC) Ref GN550.E53 1991

Findlay, Michael. Language and Communication: A Cross-Cultural Encyclopedia.  Santa Barbara, CA: ABC-CLIO, 1998.  (RH) Ref P29.F47 1998  (LC) P29.F47 1998

Folklore: An Encyclopedia of Beliefs, Customs, Tales, Music and Art.  Santa Barbara, CA: ABC-CLIO, 1997.       (RH LC) Ref GR35.F63 1997

The Illustrated Encyclopedia of Archaeology.  NY: Crowell, 1977.  (RH) Ref CC70.I5   (LC)  CC70.I5

International Encyclopedia of Linguistics.  NY: Oxford U. Press, 1992.  (RH LC) Ref P29.I58 1992

International Encyclopedia of Linguistics. [ebook]

Medieval Archaeology: An Encyclopedia.  NY: Garland, 2001.  (RH) Ref D125.M42 2001

The New Encyclopedia of Archaeological Excavations in the Holy Land.  Jerusalem: Israel Exploration Society, 1993.  (RH LC) Ref DS111.A2 N488 1993

The Oxford Encyclopedia of Archaeology in the Near East.  NY: Oxford U. Press, 1997.  (RH LC) Ref DS56.O9 1997

Worldmark Encyclopedia of Culture and Daily Life. Detroit: Gale, 1998.  (RH) Ref GN333.W67 1998


HANDBOOKS AND GUIDES

Anthropological Resources: A Guide to Archival, Library, and Museum Collections. NY: Garland, 1999.  (RH)  Ref  GN14.A77 1999

Brown, Samuel. Finding the Source in Sociology and Anthropology: a Thesaurus-index to the Reference Collection.  NY: Greenwood Press, 1987.  (RH) Ref HM8.B7 1987

Buttlar, Lois. Guide to Information Resources in Ethnic Museum library and Archival Collections in the United States.  Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 1996.  (RH LC) Ref E184.A1 B898 1996

Handbook for British and Irish Archaeology.  Edinburgh: Edinburgh U. Press, 1997.  (RH) Ref DA90.H36 1997

Kibbee, Josephine. Cultural Anthropology: A Guide to Reference and Information Sources.  Englewood, CO: Libraries Unlimited, 1991.  (RH) Ref GN42.A1 K5 1991 (LC) GN42.A1 K5 1991

Levinson, David. Ethnic Groups Worldwide: A Ready Reference Handbook.  Phoenix, AZ: Oryx Press, 1998.  (RH) Ref GN325.L46 1998

Levinson, David. Ethnic Groups Worldwide: A Ready Reference Handbook. [ebook]

Weeks, John. Introduction to Library Research in Anthropology. 2nd ed. Boulder, CO: Westview Press, 1998.  (RH) Ref GN42.A1 W4 1998  (LC) GN42.A1 W4 1998

Westerman, R.C. Fieldwork in the Library: A Guide to Research in Anthropology and Related Area Studies.  Chicago: American Library Assn., 1994.  (RH) Ref GN42.A1 W47 1994




INTERNET RESOURCES

ABZU: Guide to Resources for the Study of the Ancient Near East Available on the Internet.
Meta index to Internet sites relating to anthropology and archaeology in the Near East.

American Anthropological Association's Anthropology Resources on the Internet
Collection of Internet links to Anthropology resources on the Web.  Many are annotated.

Anthropology Biography Web
Brief biographies of anthropologists and other scientists that have directly influenced the field of anthropology.

Anthropology in the News.
Full text of current news articles relating to anthropology and archaeology.

Archaeologica.
Archaeological news and information.

Archaeological Resources Guide for Europe
Collection of over 1000 Internet links relating to archaeological information resources across Europe arranged geographically and chronologically and a virtual library containing Internet links for the Near East and Egypt.

The Archaeology Channel
Sponsored by the Archaeological Legacy League, this site provides free access to a large collection of streaming media covering archaeology worldwide.

The ArchNet Home Page
Site maintained by Arizona State University contains links to electronic journals, museums, academic departments and web sites.  Each month a featured site is reviewed.

Division of Anthropology, American Museum of Natural History
Collection of materials from famous anthropologists and former curators of the museum.

National Anthropology Archives
The archives collects historical and contemporary anthropological material on the world's cultures and on the history of the discipline.

National Archeological Database
Network for the archaeological and historic preservation community maintained by the National Park Service containing a bibliography of over 350,00 reports on archaeological planning and investigation of sites in the U.S.

National Museum of Natural History - Department of Anthropology
Site contains online exhibits and information on research programs and the archaeology, ethnology and physical anthroplogy collections.

Public Anthropology
Site contains ejournals, a book series and a collection of writings by various anthropologists as well as summaries of articles from American Anthropologist, Current Anthropology and Human Organization

Teotihuacan: the City of the Gods
Site contains scholarly articles, maps, and images about pre-Hispanic Mexican archaeology and Teotihuacan located northeast of Mexico City.

Voice of the Shuttle: Anthropology
Meta index of Internet sites.

Voice of the Shutle: Archaeology
Meta index of Internet sites.

WWW Virtual Library: Anthropology
Meta index of Internet sites.


Jan Kelsey,  Fordham University Libraries


Contact Library | Library FAQ | University Home