WHERE TO BEGIN
The Dictionary of Art. New York: Grove's Dictionaries, 1996. (LC / RH) Ref N31.D5 1996.
This is an excellent starting point when researching the fine arts. This thirty-four volume reference work covers all forms
of the visual arts, from prehistoric times to the present. It is a vast compendium of knowledge whereby the user can find
information about artists, building types, artistic movements, artistic mediums, and much more.
In addition, this publisher maintains a companion website,
www.groveart.com,
which provides a "comprehensive online reference resource for all aspects of the visual arts worldwide from prehistory to the
present day."
Dictionary of artists. Benezit, E (Emmanuel). Paris: Grund, 2006. 14 volumes. (LC, RH) Ref N40.B47 2006
Additional information can be found by consulting specialized reference sources. This includes dictionaries, encyclopedias,
periodical indexes, bibliographies and historical surveys. Below is a list of the more commonly used art resources.
ABSTRACTS & INDEXES
Art
Abstracts A bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts articles from over 300 internationally published
periodicals. Information can be found on all areas of the fine arts, architecture, decorative arts, photography, and urban
development. The majority of the material is published in English and the major Western languages. Coverage dates back to 1984.
Art Index (Print Version - [RH / LC] Ref N1.A413 This is the print version of the above listed Art Index,
also produced by the H. W. Wilson Company. Note that the Walsh Library (Rose Hill) has the print index for the years 1929
through 1984; the Quinn Library (Lincoln Center) has the years 1929 through 1991.
ARTstor
Hundreds of thousands of online images of paintings, sculptures, architecture and other works of art.
Bibliography
of the History Of Art. BHA indexes and abstracts all publications dealing with European and American art from late
antiquity to the present. Coverage is from 1973 to the present.
ART
Bibliographies Modern. Covers all aspects of modern and contemporary art. This includes performance art, computer art,
installation works, video art, graffiti, and more. Indexed articles date back to 1974.
Index
to Christian Art. Information on over 23,000 works of art dating from Apostolic times to 1400 A.D. Records have
bibliographic references and may also include a published image of the work.
ART HISTORY
Bibliography
Arntzen, Etta and Robert Rainwater. Guide to the Literature of Art History. Chicago: American Library Association,
1980. (RH) Ref +N21 .A79
Ehresmann, Donald L. Fine Arts: A Bibliographic Guide to Basic Reference Works, Histories and Handbooks. 3rd ed.
Littleton, CO: Libraries Unlimited, 1990. (LC) Ref N5300 .A1 E47 1990
Freitag, Wolfgang M. Art Books: A Basic Bibliography of Monographs on Artists. 2nd ed. N.Y.: Garland, 1997. (RH) Ref
N40.A1 F73 1997
Biography
A Biographical Dictionary of Artists. N.Y.: Facts on File, 1995. (RH Ref / LC Oversize) +N40 .B53 1995
Who Was Who in American Art. Madison, CT: Sound View Press, 1999. (RH) Ref N6536. W56 1999 3 vols.
Who's Who in American Art. 24th ed. N.Y.: R. R. Bowker, 2000. (RH Ref / LC Stacks) N6536 .W5
Who's Who in Art. 21st ed. London: The Art Trade Press, 1984. (RH) Ref N40 .W6
Dictionaries and Encyclopedias
Chilvers, Ian. A Dictionary of Twentieth-century Art. Oxford: Oxford University Press, 1998. (RH / LC) Ref
N6490 .C5317 1998
Contemporary Women Artists. Detroit: St. James Press, 1999. (RH) Ref +N8354 .C66 1999
Cummings, Paul. Dictionary of Contemporary American Artists. 6th ed. N.Y.: St. Martin's Press, 1994. (RH Ref / LC Stacks)
N6536 .C8 1994
Dictionary of Women Artists. London: Fitzroy Dearborn Publishers, 1997. (RH / LC) Ref +N8354 .D53 1997
Langmuir, Erika and Norbert Lynton. The Yale Dictionary of Art and Artists. New Haven: Yale University Press, 2000.
(RH) Ref N33 .L353 2000
Lucie-Smith, Edward. The Thames and Hudson Dictionary of Art Terms. London: Thames and Hudson, 1984. (RH) Ref
N33 .L75 1984
The Oxford Dictionary of Art. 3rd ed. Oxford; New York: Oxford University Press, 2004. (RH) Ref N33. C93 2004
Patin, Thomas. Artwords: A Glossary of Contemporary Art Theory. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 1997.
(RH) Ref N71 .P32 1997
Turner, Jane. Ed. Encyclopedia of Latin American and Caribbean Art. New York: Grove's Dictionaries, 2000.
(RH / LC) Ref N6502 .E53 2000.
Guides and Handbooks
Atkins, Robert. Artspeak: A Guide to Contemporary Ideas, Movements, and Buzzwords, 1945 to the Present. N.Y.:
Abbeville Press, 1997. (LC) N6490 .A87 1997
Brigstocke, Hugh. Ed. The Oxford Companion to Western Art. N.Y.: Oxford University Press, 2001.
(RH) Ref + N33 .O923 2001
The Bulfinch Guide to Art History: A Comprehensive Survey and Dictionary of Western Art and Architecture. Boston:
Little Brown, and Co., 1996. (RH) Ref N380 .B85 1996
Gardner, Helen. Art Through the Ages. 10th ed. Fort Worth: Harcourt Brace College Publishers, 1996.
(RH / LC) Ref N5300 .G25 1996 (Note: Gateway
to Art History is a companion website.)
Janson, H. W. History of Art. 5th rev. ed. N.Y.: Prentice Hall Abrams, 1997. (LC) Ref +N5300 .J3 1997
Murray, Peter and Linda Murray. The Oxford Companion to Christian Art and Architecture. Oxford: Oxford University
Press, 1996. (RH Ref / LC Stacks / TT Ref) N7825 .M87 1996
St. James Guide to Black Artists. Detroit: James Press, 1997. (RH / LC) Ref +N40 .S78 1997.
St. James Guide to Hispanic Artists: Profiles of Latino and Latin American Artists. Detroit: St. James Press,
2002. (RH / LC) Ref +N6538 .H58 S7 2002
Top of Page
ARCHITECTURE
Bibliography
Avery's Choice: Five Years of Great Architectural Books: One Hundred Years of An Architectural Library, 1890-1990.
N.Y: G. K. Hall & Co., 1997. (RH Ref / LC Stacks) NA30 .A88 1997
Ehresmann, Donald L. Architecture: A Bibliographic Guide to the Basic Reference Works, Histories, and Handbooks.
Littleton, CO: Libraries Unlimited, 1984. (RH) Ref NA30 .E5
Johnson, Donald Leslie. Makers of 20th Century Modern Architecture: A Bio-critical Sourcebook. Westport, CT:
Greenwood Press, 1997. (RH) Ref NA680 .J628 1997
Almanacs, Dictionaries, and Encyclopedias
Almanac of Architecture & Design 2001. Norcross, Ga,: Greenway Group; Atlanta, CMD Group; Kingston, Ma.: R.S.
Means, 2001. (RH) Ref NA2750 .A56 2001
Burden, Ernest. Illustrated Dictionary of Architecture. N.Y.: McGraw-Hill, 1998 (RH / LC) Ref NA31 .B83 1998
Byars, Mel. The design encyclopedia. London : L.King Pubications, 2004. (RH/MM) Ref NK1370.B93 2004
Curl, James Stevens. Encyclopaedia of Architectural Terms. London: Donhead, 1992. (RH) Ref NA31 .C87 1993
Dictionary of Architecture and Construction. 3rd ed. New York: McGraw-Hill, 2000. (RH) Ref NA31 .H3 2000
Encyclopedia of Vernacular Architecture of the World. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press, 1997. (RH / LC)
Ref NA208 .E53 1997
Fleming, John, Honour, Hugh and Nikolaus Pevsner. The Penguin Dictionary of Architecture and Landscape Architecture.
N.Y.: Penguin Books, 1998. (RH) Ref N31 .F55 1998
Harris, Cyril M. American Architecture: An Illustrated Encyclopedia. N.Y.: W. W. Norton, 1998.(RH) Ref NA705 .H36
1998
Langmead, Donald. Encyclopedia of Architectural and Engineering Feats. Santa Barbara, Calif.: ABC-CLIO, 2001.
(RH) Ref +NA200 .L32 2001
Macmillan Encyclopedia of Architects. N.Y.: Free Press, 1982. (RH / LC / TT) Ref NA40 .M3
Maliszewski-Pickart, Margret. Architecture and Ornament: An Illustrated Dictionary. Jefferson, N.C.: McFarland
& Co., 1998. (RH Ref / LC Stacks) NA2840 .M36 1998
The Phaidon Atlas of Contemporary World Architecture. New York : Phaidon, 2004. (RH) Ref NA680.P44 2004
Sennott, Stephen. Encyclopedia of 20 th-Century Architecture. New York : Fitzroy Dearborn, 2004. (RH/MM) Ref NA680.E495
2004
Guides and Handbooks
Greene, Liza M. New York for New Yorkers: A Historical Treasury and Guide to the Buildings and Monuments of
Manhattan. N.Y.: Norton, 1995. (RH / LC) Ref +NA735 .N5 G74 1995
Porter, Tom. Archispeak: an illustrated guide to architectural terms. 2004. (RH) Ref NA31.P67 2004
Teague, Edward H. World Architecture Index: A Guide to Illustrations. N.Y.: Greenwood Press, 1991. (RH) Ref
NA202 .T4 1991
White, Norval. AIA Guide to New York City. 4th ed. New York: Crown Pub., 2000.(RH / LC) Ref NA735 .N5 .A7 2000
Top of Page
ICONOGRAPHY
Aghion, Irene. Gods and Heroes of Classical Antiquity. Paris: Flammarion, 1996. (RH / TT) Ref N7760
.A34 1996
Apostolos-Cappadona, Diane. Dictionary of Women in Religious Art. N.Y.: Oxford University Press, 1998.
(TT) Ref N7793 .W65 A66 1998
Apostolos-Cappadona, Diane. Encyclopedia of Women in Religious Art. N.Y.: Continuum, 1996.
(RH) Ref N7793 .W65 A66 1996
Battistini, Matilde. Symbols and Allegories in Art. Los Angeles : J. Paul Getty Museum, 2005. (RH) N7740.B2913 2005
Carr-Gomm, Sarah. Dictionary of Symbols in Western Art. N.Y.: Facts on File, 1995. (RH / LC) Ref N7740 .C29 1995
Duchet-Suchaux, Gaston and Michel Pastoureau. The Bible and the Saints. N.Y.: Flammarion, 1994.
(RH Ref / LC Stacks) N8079 .5 .D821 1994 / (TT Ref) BS513 .2 .D8313 1994
Encyclopedia of Comparative Iconography: Themes Depicted in Works of Art. Chicago: Fitzroy Dearborn, 1998.
(RH / LC) Ref +N7560 .E53 1998
Hall, James. Illustrated Dictionary of Symbols in Eastern and Western Art. N.Y.: Icon Editions, 1994.
(RH / LC) Ref N7740 .H3 1994
Top of Page
ANIMATION/ CARTOONS
Barrier, J. Michael. Hollywood Cartoons: American Animation in its Golden Age. N.Y. / Oxford: Oxford University
Press, 1999. (RH) NC1766 .U5 B37 1999
Bendazzi, Giannalberto. Cartoons: One Hundred Years of Cinema Animation. Bloomington, Ind.: Indiana University Press,
1994. (RH) NC1765.B318 1994.
Clements, Jonathan. The Anime Encyclopedia: A Guide to Japanese Animation Since 1917. Berkeley, Calif.: Stone Bridge
Press, 1996. (RH) Ref NC 1766 .J3 C53 2001
Furniss, Maureen. Art in Motion: Animation Aesthetics. Sidney: John Libbey, 1998. (RH / LC) NC1765 .F87 1998
Horn, Maurice. Ed. The World Encyclopedia of Cartoons. Phila. Pa.: Chelsea House Publishers, 1998.
(RH) Ref +NC1325 .W67 1999
Kanfer, Stefan. Serious Business: The Art and Commerce of Animation in America from Betty Boop to Toy Story.
N.Y.: Scribner, 1997. (RC / LC) NC1766 .U5 K36 1997
Poitras, Gilles. The Anime Companion: What's Japanese in Japanese Animation? Berkeley, Calif.: Stone Bridge
Press, 1996. (RH / TT) NC1766 .J3 P65 1999
Sampson, Henry T. That's Enough, Folks: Black Images in Animated Cartoons, 1900-1960. Lanham, Md. /
London: Scarecrow Press, 1998. (RH) Ref NC1766 .5 .A35 S26 1998
Webb, Graham. The Animated Film Encyclopedia: A Complete Guide to American Shorts, Features, and Sequences, 1900-1979.
Jefferson, N.C. / London: McFarland, 2000. (RH) Ref NC1765 .W42 2000
>Top of Page
MUSEUM GUIDES
Art Across America: A Comprehensive Guide to American Art Museums and Exhibition Galleries. Monkton, Md.:
Friar's Lantern, 2001. (RH / LC) Ref N510 .A777 2000
Frick Collection. The Frick Collection: A Guide to Works of Art on Exhibition. 8threv. ed. N.Y.: The
Frick Collection, 1997. (LC) N620 .F66 A8 1997
Metropolitan Museum of Art. The Metropolitan Museum of Art Guide. 2nded. N.Y.:The Museum, distributed
by Abrams, 1994. (RH / LC) Ref N610. A6743 1994
Museum of Modern Art. The Museum of Modern Art, New York: The History and the Collection. N.Y.: Abrams in
association with MOMA, 1984. (RH Ref / LC Oversize / TT Stacks) +N620 .M9 A85 1984
Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum. Guggenheim Museum A to Z. N.Y.: Guggenheim Museum, 1992. (LC) Ref N6487 .N4 S642 1992
Yeide, Nancy H. The AAM guide to provenance research. (RH) Ref N3999.Y45 2001
Top of Page
INTERNET RESOURCES
General Sites
ADAM:
An art, design, and architecture descriptive text source. Take note of the fact that it is no longer updated, yet it is still a
valuable resource because the Multi-Option Browser (first click on Search and Browse, then “Multi-Option Browser”) which
allows search by subject and period. This is a text only.
Archives of American art: This site contains primary sources: letters, photographs,
diaries, sketches, scrapbooks, business records, catalogues, artists’ papers, materials relating to dealers, critics, art
historians. Especially noteworthy is the “oral history section”.
Art History Resources on the Web: A comprehensive survey of art
history arranged by era and geographic location. An excellent starting point!
ArtLex: Dictionary of Visual Art: A dictionary of over 2,800 art terms. The index of
terms is located in the left margin. This is a useful site because it is excellent as an interactive dictionary. Definitions are
linked to examples. Student User guide available.
ArtSource: Gathering point for art and architecture resources. It
provides links to scholarly articles, museum web pages, and art-related events.
AskART: Catalog of over 52,000 American artists featuring biographies and discussions of
their work. Research Center (left margin) includes styles, glossary, and art prices, and Marketplace (left margin).
British Library: Learning: This is a new learning site featuring the British
Library’s famous book collection crafted to assist personalized learning and individual research projects.
Ceramics Today: Website of the publication Ceramics Today, it contains
biographical profiles, articles on ceramics from many publications, as well as links to artists’ websites. Menu on left
margin has “archaeology and history” feature for research.
Mother of All Art History Links: Site contains
useful list of art history departments’ program descriptions.
Nineteenth-Century Art Worldwide: Website of The Association of Historians of
Nineteenth-Century Art, a society affiliated with the College Art Association, containing scholarly articles about different
artists, movements, and subjects that can be helpful in research.
Voice of the Shuttle: Art & Art History Page: Website of
over 100 art links ranging from the general to specific. Since it links major art media sources and you can search within
the site, this is a good current news and information source for the art world.
Voice of the Shuttle: Architecture: This contains an extensive
list of architectural websites. The site provides search capacity within the site, and thereby a quick, efficient means of
finding out the latest information in the field of architecture.
Women Artists of the American West: A Reading Course with essays on the
American West offering articles, images, and links to other resources.
Image Collections &Photography
Artcyclopedia
Associated Press Photo Archive
Digital Library for the Decorative Arts and Material Culture
Edward Curtis's North American Indian
Museums & Galleries
Musee: A directory to museums around the world.
Gallery Guide: Current exhibition information for galleries and museums in the U.S.
and Europe.
Virtual Museums: International listing of museums.
Searchable by institutional name, geographical location or museum type.
NY Museums on the Web: Shortcut to a host of museums in N.Y.C.,
including:
The Frick Collection
Guggenheim Museums
Metropolitan Museum of Art
Museum of Modern Art
Whitney Museum of American Art
National Gallery of Art
National Museum of American Art
National Museum of Women in the Arts
Smithsonian Institution
|