Fordham University  The Jesuit University of New York
 

Home < Library Services


Research Guides: Business and Economics

This selective guide includes basic materials related to business and economics located either in the library, identified by call number, or accessible on the "Internet" as a linked Web site. This guide must be considered, at best, an incomplete work in progress, and will be frequently updated. We would appreciate users' comments.


Library Research Databases Selected Print Reference Sources
Selected Recent Acquisitions Selected Internet Resources



Library Research Databases

ABI/INFORM Global (Proquest Direct) : Covers a wide spectrum of business and general publications as well as major newspapers. Provides references to, and abstracts of articles, many in full-text from over 1,800 publications. Includes Wall Street Journal

Business Source Complete(EBSCOhost):Nearly 9000 journals and other sources covering all aspects of business including economics, marketing, management, & accounting. Most articles are in full-text. Database includes Datamonitor company and country profiles.

General Business File ASAP (Infotrac, Searchbank): Articles, many in full text, focusing on finance, acquisitions & mergers, new technologies & products, international trade, and investments & banking. A useful source for somewhat obscure topics especially in the area of marketing.

EconLit A comprehensive, indexed bibliography of the world's economic literature, including journal articles, working papers, books and dissertations in full text.

IBSS International Bibliography of the Social Sciences: Index of books, chapters and articles from over 2,600 international journals in economics as well as sociology and political science.

Lexis-Nexis: Provides a broad spectrum of news, business, legal and reference information.

NBER working papersĀ  Full text of working papers from the National Bureau of Economic Research.

Directories

Corporate Affiliations : "Who Owns Whom." A hierarchical directory of U.S. and international public & private companies searchable by name, S.I.C code and location.

Reference USA: A comprehensive directory of US and Canadian Businesses--from the largest to Mom & Pop operations--searchable by company name, industry (SIC) or keyword, size and location.

ThomasNet: A comprehensive directory of industrial products and services, permitting brand name searching.

RedBooks.com: Advertisers & Agencies Online. Profiles of 13,500 U.S. and international advertising agencies

Company & Industry Information

Hoover's Company Records:  Find up to date proprietary content covering more than 40,000 public and non-public companies and 225,000 key executives. Hoover's, provides  in depth industry analyses, information on a company's location, summary financials, top competitors, and principal officers.

Mergent Online: A source of in-depth financial information on currently traded U.S. and international companies. The database includes multi-year balance sheet and income statements as well as company histories. Indispensable for business students especially in the areas of financial analysis and mergers and acquisitions.

Investext: Investment research and industry analysis produced by investment banks and trade associations as well as fundamental financial information from Moody's. Most documents are in pdf format and can be either printed or downloaded (recommended). FOR REMOTE ACCESS MUST USE http://vpn.fordham.edu

Standard & Poor's "NetAdvantage": Includes a broad spectrum of company and business information including "Corporation Records", S & P "Industry Surveys", the bond guide & stock report, "The Register of Corporation" as well as other S & P financial information

Standard Industrial Classification (SIC) Search: Permits searching by keyword to find 4 digit SIC code or by SIC classification to find industry or product.

Value Line Investment Survey: Investment information and analysis. Evaluates both equities & mutual funds.

Statistical Information

International  Financial Statistics:  Time series of economic statistics  compiled by the International Monetary Fund.

STAT-USA : "The Export Connection" is a Web accessed database consisting of a compilation of U.S. export & import statistics and related trade data and country studies taken from such U.S. government agencies as the Bureau of Economic Analysis, Bureau of the Census, as well as various trade agencies. Contains information published under the rubric of the National Trade Data Bank (NTDB).



Selected Print Reference Sources

Bibliographies & General Sources of Business Information

The Basic Business Library: Core Resources. 4th ed. Phoenix, AZ: Oryx Press, 2002. (RH LC) Ref HF5356.A1B38

The Business Library and How to Use It: A Guide to Sources and Research Strategies. Detroit:
Omnigraphics, c1996. (RH LC) Ref HF5356.A1B8 1996

Business Research Yearbook, v.3 (1996). Lanham, MD: University Press of America, c1994-
(LC) Ref HF5500.B825

Daniells, Lorna M. Business Information Sources. 3rd ed. Berkley: University of California Press,
c1993. (RH LC) Ref HF5356.A1D3 1993

Dictionaries & Encyclopedias of Business & Finance

The Blackwell Encyclopedic Dictionary of Business Ethics. Cambridge, MA: Blackwell
Business, 1997. (RH) Ref HF5387.B55 1997

The Blackwell Encyclopedic Dictionary of Finance. Cambridge, MA: Blackwell Business, 1997.
(RH) Ref HG151.B49 1997

Caruth, Donald L. Taking Care of Business: The Dictionary of Contemporary BusinessTerms.
Lincolnwood, IL: NTC Pub. Group, c1996. (RH) Ref HF1001.C33 1996

A Dictionary of Business, 3rd ed. New York: Oxford University Press, 2002.
(RH) Ref HF1001.D53 2002

A Dictionary of Finance and Banking. 4th ed. New York: Oxford University Press, 2008.
(RH LC) Ref HG151.D542 2008

Encyclopedia of Business Information Sources. Detroit: Gale Directory Library,1998. (EBOOK)
 

Glossary of Insurance Terms. Santa Monica, CA: Merritt Pub., 1997. (LC) Ref HG8025.G58 1997

International Encyclopedia of Business & Management, 5 v. New York: Routledge, 2002.
(RH LCWCL) Ref HF1001.I53 2002

International Encyclopedia of the Stock Market. 2v. Chicago:Fitzroy Dearborn, c1999.
(RH LC Ref HG4551.I57 1999

Mahony, Stephen. Financial Times A-Z of International Finance: The Essential Guide to Tools,
Terms & Techniques. London: FT Pitman, 1997. (RH LC) Ref HG3880.M33 1997

The Oxford Dictionary for the Business World. New York: Oxford University Press, 1993
(RH LC) Ref HF1001.O9 1993

The New Palgrave Dictionary of Money & Finance, 3 v. New York: Stockton Press, 1992.
(RH LC) Ref HG151.N48 1992

The Routledge Critical Dictionary of Global Economics. NY: Routledge, 1999.
(RH LC) Ref HB61 .R68 1999

Accounting & Taxation

Accounting & Tax Index. Ann Arbor: UMI (RH LC) Ref HF5600.A62 (Latest v. 16 2007)

Carter, Gary W. J.K. Lasser's Taxes Made Easy for your Home-based Business.
New York: Macmillan, 1997. (RH LC) Ref HD62.38.C37 1997

Emerson's Directory of Leading US Accounting Firms 1998-99. Bellvue, MA: Emerson Co., 1998.
(LC) Ref HF5616.U5E47 1998

The History of Accounting: An International Encyclopedia. New York: Garland, 1996.
(LC) Ref HF5605.H573 1996

James, Simon R. A Dictionary of Taxation. Northampton, MA: E.Elgar, 1998.
(RH LC ) Ref HJ2305.J328 1998

Miners, David Shepard's McGraw-Hill Tax Dictionary for Business.
New York: McGraw-Hill 1996. (LC) Ref HD2753.U6M55 1994

Statement of Financial Accounting Standards. Stanford, CT: Financial Accounting Standards Board
(FASB), 1973- (Loose-leaf ) (RH LC) HF5601.F5

TRANSACC: Transnational Accounting, 3v. New York: Stockton Press, 1995.
(LC) HF5625.T736 1995

United States Code Annotated. Title 26, Internal Revenue Code (1986). St. Paul: West Group
(LC) Reserve J2.U52 Title 26 (Annual)


Banking & Finance

Encyclopedia of Banking & Finance, 9th ed., 3 v. Pasadena, CA: Salem Press.
(RH) Ref HG 151.M8 1993

Fitzroy Dearborn Directory of the World's Banks, 11th ed. Chicago: Fitzroy Dearborn, 1996.
(RH LC) Ref HG387.W57 1996

Gastineau, Gary L. Dictionary of Financial Risk Management. New Hope, PA: Frank J. Fabozzi,
c1996. (RH LC) Ref HG 151.G28 1996

Global Development Finance. Washington, D.C.: World Bank, c1997.
(RH LC) Ref HJ8899.W672 (Latest 1998)

International Encyclopedia of Mutual Funds, Closed-End Funds & REITS.
New York: AMACON, c2000. (LC) Ref HG4530.M225 2000

Lester, Ray. Information Sources in Finance & Banking. London, NJ: Bowker-Saur, c1996
(LC) HG173.A1.L47 1996

Mahony, Stephen. The Financial Times A-Z of International Finance: The Essential Guide To
Tools, Terms, & Techniques. London:FT Pitman, 1997. (RH LC) Ref HG3880.M33 1997

Plunkett, Jack W. Plunkett's Financial Services Industry Almanac. Galveston, TX: Plunkett,
1996. (LC) Ref HG65.P58, 1996

The World Bank Atlas, 1997. Washington, D.C.: World Bank, c1997. (LC) Ref HG3881.I52 1997

World Debt Tables. Washington, D.C.: World Bank, c1996. (RH) HJ8899.W672


Company Information & Directories

Dun's Directory of Service Companies. Bethlehem, PA: Dun & Bradstreet Information Services.
(RH) Ref HD9981.3D86 2009

Dun's Regional Business Directory. New York Metropolitan Area. Bethlehem, PA: Dun &
Bradstreet Information Services. (RH LC) Ref HC108.N7D85 2009

Hoover's Billion Dollar Directory: The Complete Guide to U.S. Public Companies.
Austin, TX: Reference Press, 1998. (RH LC) Ref 3010.H66

Hoover's Guide to Computer Companies: Covers over 1000 Computer Companies.
Austin, TX: Reference Press, 1995. (RH) Ref HD9696.C63 1995

Hoover's Guide to Media Companies. Austin, TX: Hoover's Business Press, 1996.
(RH LC) Ref P88.8.H66

Hoover's Handbook of Emerging Companies. Austin, TX: The Reference Press, c1999
(RH) Ref HG4057.A273

Latin America 25,000:[Dun & Bradstreet's Key Business Directory of Latin America].
Bethlehem, PA: Dun & Bradstreet, Inc. (LC) Ref HG4091.5.A2

Moody's Municipal & Government Manual. In print: 1964-1966; 1968-1972; 1974-1999;
1997-current. (RH) Ref H2.M7C.

Morrison, Teresa C. Dun & Bradstreet's Guide to Doing Business Around the World.
Englewood Cliffs, NJ: Prentice Hall, 2001. (RH LC) Ref HF1416.M78 2001

Standard & Poor's SmallCap 600 Guide. New York: McGraw-Hill, 2003. (LC) Ref HG4915.S6

Standard & Poor's MidCap 400 Guide. New York: McGraw-Hill, 2003 (LC) Ref HG4057.A432


Statistical Sources

World Development Indicators. Washington, DC: The World Bank.
(RH LC) Ref HC59.15.W656 (Annual)


Selected Internet Sources

General Business Sources
Accounting & Taxation
Economics
Resources in Finance International Business Government
Management Marketing & Advertising Exchange Rates
Inter-Governmental Statistics
Investments & Companies

 

Please note that some Web sites appear under multiple headings.


General Business Sources

Best of the Business Web Sites: A superbly organized and comprehensive collection of business related websites

"BibEc": (New) Citations to working papers in economics arranged by institutional source.

Commerce Department Information Services Web Sites:" Much of the statistical, economic and demographic information collected by the Federal Government, made available to the public through the bureaus and offices of the Department of Commerce." A source of information on minority employment, technology and international trade.

Knowledge @Wharton: Business research conducted at Wharton with links to numerous other sources. Papers are posted to subject sections, e.g. leadership, public policy, business ethics, technology, etc., and frequently updated. A useful complement to business journals.

"RFE" Resources for Economists on the Internet: (New) Sponsored by the American Economic Association, the Guide contains a comprehensive list of resources arranged topically. Use "The Complete Table of Contents" which lists individual resources.

Country Information

Library of Congress "Country Studies": Detailed economic, political & social information on over 90 countries.

U.S. State Department "Background Notes": Country reports include statistics as well as basic information on a country's economy, government, people, history, and politics.

Maintained by the US State Department and prepared by US Embassies, and other government agencies, "Country Commercial Guides" provide information about the commercial environment of many countries.


Accounting & Taxation

AICPA: "The American Institute of Certified Public Accountants." Includes publications, press releases, proposed rules and SAS amendments, congressional testimonyand links to other Web sites.

Deloitte & Touche: Personal Finance Advisor, Business Advisor. Tax Views & News . Also, a listing of guides and references on business, taxes, and personal finance.

The International Accountancy Network: World-wide accountancy links at Rutgers University.

Department of the Treasury, Internal Revenue Service, including the Digital Daily"... Fasterthana speeding 1040-EZ...," Tax statistics, forms, and publications.

Institute of Management Accountants: The IMA is the leading professional organization devoted exclusively to management-accounting and financial management, with emphasis on cost-accounting.



Economics

Articles from the Federal Reserve Bulletin: "Staff members of the Board of Governors prepare articles for publication in the Federal Reserve Bulletin (pdf format). In general, these articles report and analyze economic developments." [The Bulletin is available in print at both Quinn and Walsh Libraries.]

Bureau of Economic Analysis, an agency of the U.S. Department of Commerce, is the nation's economic accountant, preparing estimates that illuminate key national, international and regional aspects of the U.S. economy. The database consists of data, news releases and articles.

Bureau of Labor Statistics: "The Bureau of Labor Statistics is the principal fact-finding agency for the Federal Government in the broad field of labor economics and statistics." Includes economic data, "Economy at a glance," regional information and a broad spectrum of publications & research papers.

Business Cycle Indicators from "The Conference Board": Leading Economic Indicators, its components, and two other composite indexes, the Coincident & Lagging Indicators are used in analyzing business cycles.

Economagic: Economic time series: Government statistics, Stock Index Prices, Various Bank rates including LIBOR.

"The Economic Report of the President "...Includes current and foreseeable trends and annual numerical goals concerning topics such as employment, production, real income and the labor force; and policies for carrying out program objectives..."

Economic Indicators: A monthly publication provided by the U.S. Council of Economic Advisors. A statistical survey of the U.S. economy consisting of time series tables and graphs in the areas of income & spending, employment, production & business activity, prices, money & credit and Federal finance.

Federal Reserve Board Statistics: Daily, monthly and quarterly releases & Historical Data. A primary source of time series on interest rates and monetary aggregates.



Resources in Finance

The Conference Board: Publishes The Confidence Index, Leading Economic Indicators ,as well as a wide range of reports dealing with economic analysis & research, environment, health & safety, human resources and all aspects of national & international business.

Most everything you may wish to know about "Financial Risk Management."

"Value at Risk Resources" This page provides comprehensive links to VaR resources: Published papers, Working papers, RiskMetrics, and much more.



International Business & Economic Sources

General Sources

Bank of England: Publications, press releases, Quarterly Inflation Report and an informative discussion on banknotes.

Center for International Development at Harvard University: "Cross-disciplinary approaches to the challenges of sustainable development."

Central Banks of the World: A list and description of the world's central banks, many of which maintain national statistics, economic analysis & "working Papers."

Center for International Development (CID) at Harvard University: "Policy" and "Working" papers on a broad spectrum of international development issues. Includes Journal of Policy Reform as well as links to national and multi-national economic and development institutions and to numerous statistical and data-sets.

Center for Global Development:  A research center working to reduce global poverty and inequality by encouraging "first world" policy change.  Concerned with the problems of globalization primarily as it effects less developed countries.

Country Studies/Area Handbook Series: A continuing series of extensive studies (85 to date) prepared by the Federal Research Division of the Library of Congress, each describing and analyzing the political, social, economic and security systems of individual countries.

Currency Converter: From OANDA, this converter allows currency conversions by Interbank rate plus various other preferences as well as credit card and cash rates.

"Federal Fund" and other market rates provided by the Federal Reserve Bank of New York.

GlobalEDGE: A cornucopia of international trade, country and political information drawn from numerous academic, governmental and commercial sources. A BEST BET though somewhat involved to use.

International Organizations on the WWW (by subject): This list, from the Union of International Associations (UIA), includes academic, scientific, business, and other organizations.

International Trade Center (ITC): The technical cooperation arm of the World Trade Organization (WTO) and the United Nations Conference on Trade and Development (UNCTAD), it supports developing and transition economies toward achieving sustainable development.

International Trade Administration:"...dedicated to helping U.S. businesses compete in the global marketplace..." An agency of the U.S. Department of Commerce, it provides country and regional trade information, export & import assistance and trade statistics.

International Trade Web Resources: A searchable & browsable metasite dealing with aspects of international trade including governmental sources on taxation and law.

International Business Resources: Published by the Center for International Business Education and Research at MSU, it includes extensive links for international business including news, research papers, regional & country specific information, national and international statistical data and government resources.

NAICS: The North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) provides common industry classifications for the United States, Canada, and Mexico. In the United States, it will replace the Standard Industrial Classification (SIC) now in use.

Asia/Pacific-Rim

Asia Pacific Management Forum: Full-text of articles on the Pacific Rim provided by Anbar Management Intelligence.

The Web Kanzaki: "Japan Links" : A selected list of links to economic, political & cultural information.

Canada

SEDAR: Canada's electronic securities documentation filing system, a source of electronic company filings comparable to EDGAR in the US.

Europe

Europa: Gateway to the European Union: News, Institutions (including the European Central Bank) the EURO) & Documents & Information Sources

Russia/Eastern Europe

REENIC: Russian & East European Information Center via The University of Texas. Includes The Center for Russian, East European and Eurasian Studies; country directories; Web resources and Website keyword searching.

Emerging Economies

World Bank's "Trends in Development"



Government

The Federal Web Locator: A one-stop "shopping point" for Federal government information on the WWW provided by the Villanova Center for Information Law & Policy.

The Federal Bulletin Board: The Treasury, Congressional & Legislative Information, The Supreme Court and the myriad files of the Government Printing Office. Includes, in a lighter vein, the Independent Counsel's Report to The H. of R.



Management

ISO 9000 & 14000 standards: from the International Organization for Standards.


Marketing & Advertising

Advertising Age: Advertising industry data: Top global markets, leading media companies, research companies & brands, salary survey...and much else.

Advertising World from the University of Texas. Comprehensive resources on all aspects of marketing, sales, and advertising.

AAAA American Association of Advertising Agencies: The national trade organization representing the advertising business. Includes a roster of members, publications, and recent bulletins & press releases.

"KnowMarketing": The internet's virtual marketing library. Marketing...Advertising...Selling...Promotion... Research ...E-Commerce.


Exchange Rates

Currency Converter from OANDA, this converter allows currency conversions by Interbank rate plus various other preferences as well as credit card and cash rates.


Inter-Governmental & Governmental Financial Institutions

Asian Development Bank A development financial institution of 50 member states in Asia & the Pacific-rim.

What Caused Asia's Economic and Currency Crisis and its Global Contagion? Basic readings and references; Country and regional information; Country & regional analyses; links to Asian banking, economic & trade organizations; and its implications for the U.S. economy & monetary policy.

"Europa": The official home page of the European Union. It includes information on the EU, its Parliament, Council and Court of Justice, as well as publications, statistics and links to member governments' home pages.

Federal Reserve Board: Web site of the Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System, includes a description of the system, Minutes of the Open Market Committee, speeches and Congressional testimony, publications & statistics, as well as links to Federal Reserve Banks and related financial institutions.

Free Trade Area of the Americas (FTAA): Full text of trade agreements, statistical data from the Western Hemisphere and articles & opinions on the FTAA process.

International Monetary Fund: This site provides search capability of the entire IMF Publications Catalog, including IMF Working Papers and IMF Survey (pdf format), press releases, speeches, Annual Reports, essentially the entire IMF library back to 1996.

"Jolis": The Library Network serving the World Bank Group and IMF--access to their respective libraries & publications

Organization for Economic Co-operation & Development (OECD): A source of comparative data on the 26 free-market economies of North America, Western Europe, and the Pacific.

United Nations: The official United Nations home page with links to related international organizations.

World Bank Group: Including the following constituent institutions: International Bank for Reconstruction & Development, International Development Association and International Finance Corporation.


Statistics

Bureau of Labor Statistics: "The Bureau of Labor Statistics is the principal fact-finding agency for the Federal Government in the broad field of labor economics and statistics." Includes economic data, "Economy at a glance," regional information and a broad spectrum of publications & research papers.

Commerce Department Information Services Web Sites: "Much of the statistical, economic and demographic information collected by the Federal Government, made available to the public through the bureaus and offices of the Department of Commerce." A source of information on minority employment, technology and international trade.

Economagic: Economic time series: Government statistics, Stock Index Prices, Various Bank rates including LIBOR.

Economic Indicators: A monthly publication provided by the U.S. Council of Economic Advisors. A statistical survey of the U.S. economy consisting of time series tables and graphs in the areas of income & spending, employment, production & business activity, prices, money & credit and Federal finance.

"Fedstats": Statistics submitted by more than 70 U.S. government agencies, compiled and maintained by the Federal Interagency Council on statistical policy. Search Fedstats: A to Z.

Federal Reserve Board Statistics: Daily releases & Historical Data including selected interest rate series & foreign exchange.

"Statistical Sources on the Web" A comprehensive and topically arranged source of business & government statistical information


Investments, Commodities & Company Information

"Barchart": A source of high-level technical analysis of stocks & commodities.

"Big Charts": Interactive stock charting. Includes The Big Movers Report: Stocks with largest gain, largest loss, new price highs, new price lows, etc.

CBS Market Watch: Company news, quotes, IPO Report, AP & Reuters News, global stock market indices, "Stocks to Watch," and one of the best interactive chart sources (first bring-up company quotes).

Chicago Board of Trade: Information about the exchange as well as market information including quotes, charts, settlements and "Time & Sales."

Commodity & Stock Future Charts: Daily-Weekly-Monthly & historical charts of most commodity and index futures.

Edgar: A searchable database of corporate filings submitted to the Securities & Exchange Commission (SEC). Also includes recent regulations and a "Guide to Corporate Filings."

FXStreet: The most comprehensive source of analytical and trading information on currencies, commodities and relevant international & US economic indicators. Under the heading commodities, take a look at "Daily Commodity Market Commentary, an excellent source of price and trading information.

The "MERC" Chicago Mercantile Exchange: Quotes on all CME futures contracts. Historical end-of-day data available.

New York Mercantile Exchage (NYMEX):  Where you can find out where the prices of precious and industrial metals and oil & oil derivatives are headed.

"The Street.Com": Investment Intelligence: A popular source of investment suggestions, company & market analysis, what to buy & what to avoid.

Yahoo Quotes: An excellent source of stock quotes & charts as well as company financial and research information. Each traded company has its own interactive message board, often informative, at times combative and silly.


Chris Flatz,
Quinn Library, Fordham University


Contact Library | Library FAQ | University Home