Fordham University  The Jesuit University of New York
 

Home < Library Services


Research Guides: Classics


Indexes and Abstracts Literary Sources
Dictionaries and Encyclopedias Internet Resources
General References



TO BEGIN

   
Students who seek information about the classical world approach it from a variety of backgrounds and assumptions.  Although fewer people today know the ancient languages, many more have visited countries in which those languages were once spoken.  Such heightened awareness of classical civilization can lead to general pleasure in paging through the scholarly articles and handsome illustrations of:

Panorama of the Classical World (RH) +DE59.S67 2004

Oxford Companion to Classical Civilization (RH, LC) Ref DE5.O92 1998

Oxford Companion to Classical Civilization [ebook]

Late Antiquity: A Guide to the Postclassical World (RH, LC) Ref DE5.L29 1999

Late Antiquity: A Guide to the Postclassical World [ebook]

Encyclopedia of Greece and the Hellenic Tradition (RH) Ref DF757.E53 2000

This research guide introduces basic Reference Resources, Dictionaries and Encyclopedias, General References, Literary Sources, Research Databases and Internet Resources available through the Fordham University Libraries.  (Note:  Look for Fordham faculty contributions in the various resources listed in this Guide.)

This research guide introduces basic Reference Resources in print and online, including dictionaries and encyclopedias, literary sources, research databases and Internet resources available through the Fordham University Libraries. As more resources become available in multiple formats, use the "details" box of the Fordham University Library Catalog citations to obtain specific current access.


Indexes and Abstracts

Use these resources to search for periodicals, book reviews and bibliographical citations.

Art Abstracts
Subject index to 400 periodicals in art history, archaeology, architecture, since 1984. Earlier years available in print format, Ref N1.A413

Dissertation Abstracts International
Index to doctoral theses since 1861

On-line Dictionaries
Includes 140 different languages

Database of Classical Bibliography  -  L'Annee Philologique
Index to bibliographic records on ancient authors and texts. Earlier years available in print format (RH) Ref Z7016.M35A

In Principio – Incipit Index of Latin (Available at RH Reference Desk)
Index to Latin texts from pre-classical age to Renaissance

Perseus Digital Library
Resources for studying Greek and Roman literature, including full texts

THESAURUS LINGUAE GRAECAE  (Available online in RH, LC Reference Rooms)
Thesaurus of the Greek language texts from Homer (8th century BC) to AD 1453.  Earlier printed version at RH REf PA3051.B47 1990. The Canon of Greek Authors and Works is at (RH) Ref PA3051.B47.



Dictionaries and Encyclopedias

Enciclopedia dell’arte antica, classica e orientale. Roma: Instituto della Enciclopedia Italiana, 1958-1966. (RH) RefN31.E5

Encyclopedia of the Ancient World.  Pasadena: Salem Press, 2002 (RH) Ref CB311.E54

Bunson, Matthew. Encyclopedia of the Roman Empire. New York: Facts on File, 2002. (RH) Ref DG270.B86 2002

Grant, Michael. Greek and Latin Authors 800BC-AD1000. New York: Wilson, 1980. (RH) Ref PA31.G7

Lexicon Topographicum Urbis Romae. Roma: Edizioni Quasar, 1993. (RH) Ref DG63.L49

Lexikon der Alten Welt. Zurich: Artemis Verlag, 1965. (RH) RefDE5.L6

Oxford Classical Dictionary. 3rd ed. rev. Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2003. (RH LC) Ref DE5.O9

Oxford Classical Dictionary. 3rd ed. rev. [ebook]

Oxford Dictionary of Byzantium. New York: Oxford University Press, 1991. (RH LC) Ref DF521.O93

Oxford Dictionary of Byzantium. [ebook]

Der Kleine Pauly. Stuttgart: A. Druckenmeuller, 1964. (RH) Ref PA31.P3;  (LC) Ref DE5.K5 1979

Der Neue Pauly. Stuttgart: J.B.Metzler, 1996. (RH, LC) Ref P1.P334

Der Neue Pauly. English. Boston: Brill, 2002 (RH) Ref P1.P332

Der Neue Pauly. English [ebook]

Thesaurus Linguae Latinae. Lipsiae: B. G. Teubneri, 1900. (RH) +PA2361.T4

Note: In the Reference Room find Latin dictionaries in  Ref PA2365; for Greek dictionaries, see Ref  PA445



General References

Ancient Roman Architecture: photographic archive on microfiche.  Rome: Fototeca Unione, 1982. (RH) Microfiche 180.

Aspects of Greek and Roman Life (series, with various call numbers)

Note: Do a "Series" search in the Library Online Catalog to find over 40 titles covering various aspects of ancient civilization and culture.

Atlas of Classical Archaeology. New York: McGraw-Hill, 1977. (RH) (LC) Ref G1046.E15A8

Grant, Michael. Atlas of Classical History. 5th ed. New York: Oxford University Press, 1994. (RH) (LC) Ref G1033.G65

Heyden, A.A.M.van der. Atlas of the Classical World. New York: Nelson, 1959. (RH) Folio+DE59.H4

 Atlas of the Greek and Roman World in Antiquity. Park Ridge, NJ: Noyes Press, 1981. (RH)Folio+G1033.A84

Barrington Atlas of the Greek and Roman World.  Princeton: Princeton University Press, 2000.  (RH) (LC) Ref +G1033.B3

Whitaker, Graham. A Bibliographical Guide to Classical Studies. NY:Olms-Weidmann, 1997.(RH) Ref Z7016.W48

Thompson, Lawrence Sidney. A Bibliography of Dissertations in Classical Studies. Hamden,CT: Shoe String Press, 1976. (RH LC) Z7016.T47

Biographical Dictionary of North American Classicists. Westport,CT:Greenwood Press, 1994. (RH) Ref PA83.B53

Cambridge Ancient History. 3d ed. London: Cambridge University Press, 1970. (RH LC) Ref D57.C26

Haensch, Rudolf.  Capita Provinciarum.  Mainz am Rhein: P.von Zabern, 1997.  (RH) +DG59.A2 H34

Scarre, Christopher. Chronicle of the Roman Emperors. London: Thames and Hudson, 1995. (RH) Ref DG274.S28

Forman, Robert J. Classical Greek and Roman Drama. Pasadena: Salem Press, 1989. (RH) Ref PA3024.A1F6

Jenkins, Fred W. Classical Studies; A guide to the reference literature. 2d ed. Westport CT: Libraries Unlimited, 2006. (RH) Ref PA 91.Al S4.
A guide to the book-length reference literature for the study of Greek and Roman civilization from the Bronze Age through the 6 th century A.D.

Whibley, Leonard. A Companion to Greek Studies. 4th ed. Cambridge: The University Press, 1931. (RH LC) DF77.W6.

Sandys, John Edwin. A Companion to Latin Studies. 3d ed. Cambridge: The University Press, 1943. (RH) PA2061.S3

Deferrari, Roy J. A Concordance of Ovid. Washington: Catholic University of America Press, 1939. (RH) Ref PA6553.D4

Note: To find other concordances do a keyword search in the Library Online Catalog, example: Homer concordance

Tripp, Edward. Crowell’s Handbook of Classical Mythology. New York: Crowell, 1970. (LC) Ref BL303.T75

The Dictionary of Art. New York: Grove’s Dictionaries, 1996. (RH LC) Ref N31.D5

Grimal, Pierre. The Dictionary of Classical Mythology. Oxford: Blackwell, 1985. (RH LC) Ref BL715.G713

Harbottle, Thomas Benfield.  Dictionary of Quotations. NY: Ungar, 1958.  (RH) Ref PN6080.H2

Daremberg, Charles. Dictionnaire des Antiquites Grecques et Romaines. Paris: Hachette, 1877-1919. (RH) Ref DE5.D21

Hansen, Mogens Herman. An Inventory of Archaic and Classical Poleis. Oxford University Press, 2004. (RH) DF222.2.H36. Documented study of the over 1000 identifiable Greek city states (poleis) of the Archaic and Classical periods.

Sider, David. The Library of the Villa dei Papiri at Herculaneum . J. Paul Getty Museum , 2005. (RH) DG70.H5 S565. Provides an overview of the only library to have come down to us from antiquity.

Mythologies. Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 1991. (RH LC) Ref BL311.D5

New Century Cyclopedia of Names. New York: Appleton-Century Crofts, 1954. (RH LC) Ref PE1625.C43

Princeton Encyclopedia of Classical Sites. Princeton: Princeton University Press, 1976. (RH LC) Ref DE59.P7

Roman Theatres: an architectural study. Oxford University Press, 2006. (RH) +NA325.T5 S33 2006. A carefully indexed large book in the series, Oxford Monographs on Classical Archaeology.

Who Was Who in the Greek World, 776BC-30BC. Ithaca, NY: Cornell University Press, 1982. (RH) Ref DF208.W48

Who Was Who in the Roman World, 735BC-AD476. Ithaca, NY: Cornell University Press, 1980. (RH) Ref DG203.W5.

Room, Adrian. Who’s Who in Classical Mythology. Lincolnwood,IL: NTC Pub. Group,1997. (RH) Ref BL715.R66

Bell, Robert E. Women of Classical Mythology. Santa Barbara: ABC-ClIO, 1991. (LC) Ref BL715.B45

Giannelli, Giulio. The World of Ancient Rome. New York: Putnam, 1967. (RH) Ref DG63.G53



Literary Sources

Ancient Writers: Greece and Rome. New York: Scribner, 1982. (RH LC) Ref PA3002.A5

Preminger, Alex. Classical and Medieval Literary Criticism. New York: F. Ungar, 1974. (RH LC) Ref PN87.C5

Classical and Medieval Literature Criticism. Detroit MI: Gale. (RH) Ref PN610.C42

Classical and Medieval Literature Criticism. [ebook]

Hathorn, Richard Yancey. Crowell’s Handbook of Classical Drama. New York: Crowell, 1967. (RH LC) Ref PA 3024.H34

Feder, Lillian. Crowell’s Handbook of Classical Literature. New York: Crowell, 1964. (RH LC) Ref PA31.F4

Gwinup, Thomas. Greek and Roman authors. 2d ed. Metuchen, NJ: Scarecrow Press, 1982. (RH LC) Ref PA3001.A1G9

Rose, H. J. A Handbook of Greek Literature. 3d ed. London: Methuen, 1948. (RH LC) PA3052.R6

The Loeb Classical Library. (RH) PA3612. : A collection of the writings of Greek and Latin writers in over 300 volumes. Search as "Series" or find books in the series by searching under the names of the individual authors in the Library Online Catalog. The original text is paired page by page with an English translation.

Howatson, M. C. The Oxford Companion to Classical Literature. 2d ed. Oxford: Oxford University Press, 1989. (RH LC) Ref DE5.H3

Berkowitz, Luci. Thesaurus Linguae Graecae Canon of Greek Authors and Works. 3d ed. New York: Oxford University Press, 1990. (RH) Ref PA3051.B47



Internet Resources

Classical Texts and Resources
Site maintained at Iowa State University

Classics at Chicago
Site maintained at University of Chicago

Classics Collections Page
Site maintained at University of Florida Library

De Imperatoribus Romanis
Online encyclopedia of Roman emperors containing short, peer reviewed biographical essays, accompanied by bibliography and illustrations.

Diotima
Materials for the study of women and gender in the ancient world. Includes course materials and visual images.

Electronic Resources for Classicists, the Second Generation
A well organized introduction to classics resources on the Internet, grouped by type of resource.

Humbul Humanities Hub: Classics
Site hosted by Oxford University, provides detailed descriptions of the various resources.

Internet Classics Archive

Voice of the Shuttle, Classical Studies Page
Compiled at University of California, Santa Barbara.

TO CONCLUDE

Classicists were among the first to utilize and provide electronic access to their research materials.  The various university classics department websites, accessible through internet search engines, such as google.com, continue to expand these resources.  In the Fordham  Library Catalog, keyword searches can pinpoint campus resources.  Example:  You are interested in learning about water supply and aqueducts in ancient Rome.  Keyword search "water and Rome" yields both interest and surprise.



Gail Hitt, Fordham University Libraries


Contact Library | Library FAQ | University Home