|
Research Databases
General Databases
Communication
& Mass Media Complete Index with full text to over 200 journals and
other sources.
Communication Abstracts An index with abstracts of journal articles and other documents
published since 1977.
Communication
Institute for Online ScholarshipScholarly resources for the field of communications. Includes gateways to The Electronic Journal of Communication, ComIndex, and ComAbstracts.
ComAbstracts Contains abstracts of the primary scholarly professional literature of the communications field (both articles and books) since the late 1980's.
Film & Television Databases
Film and Television Literature Index A comprehensive index to about 600 publications on film and television with links to full text.
The Internet Movie Database Provides brief summaries, cast and credits for over 180,000 movie titles. Also contains images & biographical profiles of individuals. Trivia & quotes for well known films.
New York Times Movie Reviews Full text of over 28,000 movie reviews from 1960 to the present. Important pre-1960 films are also included.
GENERAL COMMUNICATIONS & MASS MEDIA SOURCES
Tip: Use a dictionary or encyclopedia to define concepts and check facts.
Tip: Consult the Methods, Handbooks, Guides section when planning a comprehensive research project.
Dictionaries
Chandler, Daniel. A Dictionary of Media and Communication. 1st ed. New York: Oxford University Press, 2011. (RH,LC) Ref P87.5 .C43 2011. Brief entries, with biographic and bibliographic appendices. Selected entries have a Web Links notations for additional information.
Dictionary of Media Studies. (ebook) London: A & C Black, 2006.Includes a helpful table of significant communication theorists, their specializations, and their major works. Brief entries, UK focus.
Kleinman, Sharon. The Media and Communication Dictionary : A Guide for Students, Educators, and Professionals. New York: Peter Lang, 2011. (RH,LC) Ref P87.5 .K64 2011. Brief entries, US focus.
Kroon, Richard W. A/V A to Z : An Encyclopedic Dictionary of Media, Entertainment and Other Audiovisual Terms.Jefferson, N.C.: McFarland & Co., 2010. (RH) Ref P87.5 .K76 2010. Definitions include diagrams, images, and many practical details.
Watson, James and Hill, Anne. A Dictionary of Media and Communication Studies. 7th ed. London: Edward Arnold, 2006. (RH, LC) Ref P90.W36 2006.Brief entries with helpful cross references and topic guides.
Weiner, Richard. Webster's New World Dictionary of Media and Communications. rev. and updated ed. New York: Macmillan, 1996. (LC) Ref P87.5 .W45 1996.
Brief entries. Use for obscure or obsolete terms.
General Encyclopedias
Encyclopedia of Communication and Information. New York: Macmillan, 2002. (RH) Ref P87.5.E53 2002
Encyclopedia of Communication and Information. [ebook] New York: Macmillan, 2002.
Encyclopedia of Communication Theory. [ebook] Stephen W. Littlejohn, ed. Los Angeles, CA: Sage, 2009.Articles on theoretical concepts from across the field of communication studies. Includes bibliographies of seminal works and primary theorists.
Encyclopedia of International Media and Communications.
Donald H. Jonston, ed. San Diego, CA: Academic Press, 2003. (RH) Ref P87.5.E535 2003 Entries detail how editorial content - from journalism and scholarship to films and infomercials - is developed, presented, stored, analyzed, and regulated around the world. Note the 2003 publication date.
Encyclopedia of International Media and Communications.[ebook] San Diego, CA: Academic Press, 2003.
Encyclopaedia of Mass Communication : Vol. I. Mumbai: Himalaya Books, 2008.
Encyclopaedia of Mass Communication : Vol. II . Mumbai: Himalaya Books, 2008.
Encyclopaedia of Mass Communication : Vol. III . Mumbai: Himalaya Books, 2008. Some general information, but primarily focused on communication in India. Separate links for each volume.
International Encyclopedia of Communications. Erik Barnouw, ed. New York: Oxford University Press, 1989. (LC) Reserve Desk, (RH) Ref P87.5 .I5 1989 Lengthy articles, signed and with bibliographies. Recommended for historical research. Note the 1989 publication date.
Research Methods, Handbooks, Guides
Jensen, Klaus Bruhn. Handbook of Media and Communications Research : Qualitative and Quantitative Research Methodologies . New York: Routledge May, 2002. Provides qualitative as well as quantitative approaches to the analysis and interpretation of media.
Gunter, Barrie. Media Research Methods: Measuring Audiences, Reactions and Impact . Thousand Oaks, Calif: Sage Publications, 2000. A broad overview of methodological media research.
Stokes, Jane C. How To Do Media & Cultural Studies . Thousand Oaks, Calif.: SAGE, 2003. A good source for a novice researcher. Provides standard models and case studies for the field of media research.
McQuail, Denis, ed. Communication Theory & Research : An ECJ Anthology. Thousand Oaks, Calif. : SAGE, 2005. A selection of the best research papers published by ECJ during the previous decade.
Bibliographies, Quotes & Histories
Jackson, Gordon. Watchdogs, Blogs and Wild Hogs : A Collection of Quotations on Media. 1st ed. Spokane, WA: New Media Ventures, 2006. (RH) Ref PN6081 .J25 2006. Selected quotes range from humorous to poignant to historically significant.
Martin, James B. Mass Media : A Bibliography with Indexes. Hauppauge, N.Y: Nova Science, 2002. (LC) Ref P90.A2 .M285 2002. A selective 10 year annotated bibliography with author, title and subject indexes.
Park, David W. The History of Media and Communication Research : Contested Memories. New York: Peter Lang, 2008. (RH, LC) P91.3 .H57 2008. Identifies the disciplinary roots and the development of the field of communication studies.
Sterling, Christopher H. Mass Communications Research Resources : An Annotated Guide. Mahwah, N.J: L. Erlbaum Assoc., 1998. (RH, LC) Ref P90.A2 M28 1998. Detailed annotations and broad coverage of the field. Note the 1998 publication date.
SPECIALIZED COMMUNICATIONS SOURCES
Film and Television - Dictionaries Beaver, Frank. Dictionary of Film Terms: the Aesthetic Companion to Film Art. 4th ed. New York: Peter Lang, 2009. (RH) Ref PN1993.45.B33 2009 (LC) 3rd ed Ref PN1993.45.B33 2006 Brief articles, U.S. focus, primarily on technique, genre, topics, theories, and organizations.
Blandford, Steven. The Film Studies Dictionary.
London: Arnold, 2001. (RH,LC) Ref PN1993.45.B53 2001 Brief articles, primarily on technique, genre, topics, theories, and organizations.
Bognar, Desi. International Dictionary of Broadcasting and Film. 2nd ed. Boston: Focal Press, 2000. (RH,LC) Ref PN1990.4.B64 2000
Production and technical terms, acronyms and abbreviations, information on professional organizations, guilds, festivals, and awards.
Critical Dictionary of Film and Television Theory. New York: Routledge, 2001. (RH,LC) Ref PN1993.45.C75 2001 Lengthy articles on media topics & genres. Index includes key personalities, works, locations, organizations, and more. Includes a concept map. Articles are signed & have references.
Hutchinson Pocket Dictionary of Cinema. [ebook] Oxford: Helicon Publishing, 2005. International scope. Brief entries, primarily biographical.
The International Dictionary of Films and Filmmakers. 2nd ed.Chicago, IL: St. James Press, 1990-1994. (RH) Ref PN1997.8 .I6 1990
The International Dictionary of Films and Filmmakers. [ebook] 4th ed. Detroit: St. James Press, 2000.
Biographical profiles and analysis of major works, many with images. Useful bibliographies.
Kamp, David. Film Snob's Dictionary: an Essential Lexicon of Filmlogical Knowledge. [ebook] New York: Broadway Books, 2006.
Humorous, opinionated definitions and charts.
Knox, Dave. Strike the Baby and Kill the Blonde: An Insider's Guide to Film Slang. [ebook] New York: Three Rivers Press, 2005.Industry insider definitions for standard film terms and common slang.
Film & Television - Almanacs, Directories, Encyclopedias
Brooks, Tim. The Complete Directory to Prime Time Network and Cable TV Shows, 1946-present. 9th ed. New York: Ballantine Books, 2007. (LC, RH) Ref PN1992.18 .B68 2007. Brief entries, comprehensive coverage.
Grant, Barry. Schirmer Encyclopedia of Film. Detroit: Schirmer Reference, 2007. 4 vols. (RH) Ref PN1993.45.G65 2007. Lengthy articles with bibliographies on genre, films, technique, individuals, countries, organizations, laws.
Inman, David. Performers' television credits, 1948-2000. 3 vols. Jefferson, N.C.: McFarland, 2002. (RH) Ref PN1992.4.A2 P47 2002. Comprehensive coverage of t.v. shows, made-for-t.v. movies, and mini-series.
International Television and Video Almanac. New York: Quigley Pub., Annual. (RH) Ref. PN1992.1 .I5.
and
International Motion Picture Almanac. New York: Quigley Pub., Annual. (RH) Ref. PN1993.3 .I5
Company contact information, industry service agency listings, biographies, statistics, awards, & more.
Katz, Ephraim. The Film Encyclopedia: the Complete Guide to Film and the Film Industry. 6th ed. New York: Collins, 2008. (RH,LC) Ref PN1993.45.K34 2008. Brief entries, comprehensive coverage.
LoBrutto, Vincent. The Encyclopedia of American Independent Filmmaking . Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 2002. (RH) Ref PN1993.45.L63. Entries on genre, producers, directors, festivals, and organizations. Includes indexes for awards, distributors, and an extensive bibliography on the independent film industry.
Newcomb, Horace. Encyclopedia of Television, 2nd ed. 4 vols. New York: Fitzroy Dearborn, 2004. (RH) Ref PN1992.18 .E53 2004. Produced in conjunction with the Museum of Broadcast Communication, this source is good for production & cast facts, but provides poor analysis of social issues and historical events.
Film & Television - Handbooks and Research Guides
Clark, Vivienne. Complete A-Z Media & Film Studies Handbook. London: Hodder Arnold, 2007. (RH) Ref PN1993.45.C53 2007
A basic study guide for college students.
Hayward, Susan. Cinema Studies: the Key Concepts. 3rd ed. New York: Routledge, 2006. (RH) Ref PN1993.45.H36 2006
____________.Cinema Studies: the Key Concepts. [ebook] 2nd ed. New York: Routledge, 2000.
In-depth coverage of key theoretical terms and the various debates surrounding them.
Shiers, George. Early Television: a Bibliographic Guide to 1940. New York: Garland, 1997. (RH) Ref TK6637.A1 S48 1997. Surveys the development of early mechanical and later electronic means of television, from its theoretical inception in the late 1800s through market experiments prior to WWII.
Murray, Michael D., ed. Encyclopedia of Television News.
Phoenix, AZ: Oryx Press, 1999. RH Ref PN4888.T4 E53 1999.
aneth, Donald.
Journalism
Eaman, Ross Allan. Historical Dictionary of Journalism. Lanham, Md.: Scarecrow Press, 2009.(RH) Ref PN4728 .E37 2009 Brief entries, international focus.
Goldstein, Norm. The Associated Press Stylebook and Briefing on Media Law : With Internet Guide and Glossary. 39th ed. New York : Basic Books, 2004. (LC RH W) Ref PN4783 .A76 2004. Used by professionals throughout the industry.
Quick, Amanda C. World Press Encyclopedia : A Survey of Press Systems Worldwide. 2nd ed. 2 vols. Detroit: Gale, 2003. (RH) Ref PN4735 .W67 2003. A comprehensive survey of press & electronic media in 200 countries, note the pub. date.
Sterling, Christopher H. Encyclopedia of Journalism. [ebook] Thousand Oaks, CA.: Sage, 2009.
Lengthy articles with many cross references and bibliographies. U.S. focus.
Vaughn, Stephen. Encyclopedia of American Journalism. New York: Routledge, 2008. (RH) Ref PN4855 .E53 2008. A historical overview of significant individuals, organizations, laws, events, and technologies.
Policy, Law & Ethics
Cogan , Brian. Encyclopedia of Politics, the Media and Popular Culture. Santa Barbara, CA: Greenwood Press, 2009. (RH) P95.82.U6 C62 2009.
Articles provide both historical and contemporary insight.
Downing, John D. H. Encyclopedia of Social Movement Media. Thousand Oaks, Calif.: SAGE Reference, 2011. (W) Ref P96.A44 E53 2011. Articles on social activism via communications & media.
Hixson, Richard F. Mass Media and the Constitution : An Encyclopedia of Supreme Court Decisions. New York : Garland Pub., 1989. (LC, Stacks) (RH, Ref) P92.U5 H59 1989. Summaries of US Supreme court decisions that bear upon the press, the First Amendment, and the Constitution.
Islam, Roumeen, ed. Information and Public Choice : From Media Markets to Policy Making. Washington, D.C.: World Bank, c2008. An international review of the political impact of news media.
Kaid, Lynda Lee. Encyclopedia of Political Communication. 2 vols. Los Angeles: Sage, 2008. (RH) Ref JA85.E65 2008. U.S. focus, lengthy articles, broad scope, extensive index & cross references
Manning, Martin J. Encyclopedia of Media and Propaganda in Wartime America. 2 vols.Santa Barbara, Calif.: ABC-CLIO, 2011. (RH) Ref E183 .E63 2011 Chronologically organized with an alphabetical index. Contains brief articles, with bibliographies and limited photos.
Nimmo, Dan D. Political Commentators in the United States in the 20th Century : A Bio-Critical Sourcebook. Westport, Conn: Greenwood Press, 1997. (LC, RH) Ref P95.82.U6 N57 1997. A biographical survey and analysis of the development of the profession and the influence of the primary personalities.
Pember, Don R. Mass Media Law. 17th ed. New York: McGraw-Hill, c2011. (RH) P92.U5 P42 2011. Current and comprehensive, this textbook addresses the primary aspects of U.S. media law.
Schaefer, Todd M. Encyclopedia of Media and Politics. Washington, D.C.: CQ Press, c2007. (LC, RH). Ref P95.82.U6 E47 2007. US focus, basic discussion of broad topics, bibliographies, and some images.
Stempel, Guido Hermann. Historical Dictionary of Political Communication in the United States. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 1999. (RH) Ref JA85.2.U6 H57 1999. Brief articles on selected significant events, laws, and people, includes an overview of primary scholars in the field.
Watson, John C. Journalism Ethics by Court Decree: the Supreme Court on the Proper Practice of Journalism . New York: LFB Scholarly Pub. LLC, 2008. (RH) KF2750 .W38 2008. A survey and analysis of U.S. Supreme Court rulings on the ethical standards of journalism.
ADVERTISING, MARKETING, PUBLIC RELATIONS
Encyclopedias
The Advertisiing Age Encyclopedia of Advertising. New York: Fitzroy Dearborn, 2003. (RH,LC,W) Ref HF5803.A38 2003.
Historical focus, includes entries on agencies, advertisers, brands, campaigns, individuals, and practical/theoretical as well as social/cultural aspects of advertising.
Clow, Kenneth. Concise Encyclopedia of Advertising. New York: Best Business Books, 2005. (RH,LC) HF5803.C59 2005.
Brief definitions of theoretical and practical terms.
Doyle, Charles. Dictionary of Marketing . New York: Oxford University Press, 2011. (RH) HF5412 .D69 2011. Brief definitions of theoretical and practical terms. Some diagrams, models, and flow charts.
Heath, Robert L.Encyclopedia of Public Relations. 2 vols. Thousand Oaks, CA: Sage, 2005. (RH) Ref HD59.E48 2005. Articles on the theory, ethics, practice, and history of the profession.
Handbooks & Guides
Dilenschneider, Robert. The AMA Handbook of Public Relations. [ebook] New York : AMA, 2010.
American Management guidelines for both traditional and web-based PR campaigns.
Fitch, Brad. Media Relations Handbook for Agencies, Associations, Nonprofits, and Congress. Alexandria, VA: The Capitol Net, 2004. (RH) HM1221.F58 2004. Targets the unique media relation concerns of government agencies, a national associations, nonprofit organizations, and elected officials
Henslowe, Philip. Public Relations: A Practical Guide to the Basics. 2nd ed. London: Kogan Page, 2003. (RH,LC) HD59.H443 2003. A basic yet thorough guide to Public Relations.
Klingemann, Hans-Dieter, ed. Public Information Campaigns & Opinion Research : A Handbook for the Student & Practitioner . Thousands Oaks: SAGE, 2002. Theoretical and practical approaches delineated, assessment techniques discussed.
Lewis, Herschell. Advertising Age Handbook of Advertising. [ebook] Lincolnwood, IL: NTC Business Books, 1999.
(RH,LC) HF5823.N36 1999. A comprehensive survey of advertising techniques and processes.
Tellis, Gerard J. The Sage Handbook of Advertising. Los Angeles: Sage, 2007. (LC,W) HF5823.S17 2007.
Articles discuss history, theory, process, practice, planning, strategy, and public policy.
TECHNOLOGY, NEW MEDIA, DIGITAL
Dennis, Everette E. Understanding Media in the Digital Age: Connections for Communication, Society, and Culture. New York: Allyn & Bacon, 2010. (RH,LC) QA76.76.I59 D46 2010. A broad overview of the field of communications with a focus on issues unique to digital and global trends.
Encyclopedia of New Media: An Essential Reference to Communication and Technology . Thousand Oaks, CA: Sage, 2003. (RH,LC) Ref QA76.575.E5368 2002. Includes articles on cyberculture, hacking, law, networks, networking, open-source, social issues, technological innovation, and more.
Gardner, Robert. From Talking Drums to the Internet: An Encyclopedia of Communications Technology. Santa Barbara, CA: ABC-CLIO, 1997. (RH,LC) Ref 96.T42 G374 1997. Articles range from hieroglyphics, to walkie-talkies, to v-chips. Includes profiles of inventors, and an extensive bibliography.
Schement, Jorge Reina. Encyclopedia of Communication and Information . 3 vols. New York: Macmillan, 2002. (RH) Ref P87.5.E53 2002. A comprehensive overview of communication modes and media, theories, careers, biographies, organizations, legal, psychological, and social issues.
SEMIOTICS & LINGUISTICS
Bouissac, Paul. Encyclopedia of Semiotics. New York: Oxford University Press, 1998. (LC, RH) Ref P99 .E64 1998. Key concepts, theories, people, and issues in communications, cognition, and culture.
Danesi, Marcel. Encyclopedic Dictionary of Semiotics, Media and Communications. Toronto:University of Toronto Press, 2000. (RH, LC) Ref P87.5.D36 2000. Basic terms, concepts, people, theories, and historical movements from the fields of semiotics, media analysis, and communications.
ETHNICITY, RACE, GENDER, RELIGION, AFFILIATION
Encyclopedia of Religion, Communication and Media . New York: Routledge, 2006. (RH) Ref P94.E48 2006. Lengthy articles focus on the intersection of media and spiritual topics and/or religions.
Findlay, Michael. Language and Communication: A Cross-Cultural Encyclopedia. Santa Barbara, CA: ABC-CLIO, 1998. (LC) stacks (RH) Ref P29.F47 1998. Entries examine how people from different cultural backgrounds rely on traditional and emerging cultural rules for communication & social interaction.
Lind, Rebecca Ann. Race, Gender, Media: Considering Diversity Across Audiences, Content, and Producers. Boston: Pearson/Allyn and Bacon, 2004. (LC) P94.5.M55 R33 2004. A collection of readings on race & gender in the media from rhetorical, social scientific, and critical/cultural perspectives.
Parish, James Robert. The Encyclopedia of Ethnic Groups in Hollywood. New York: Facts on File, 2003. (LC, RH) PN1995.9.M56 P37 2003. Articles consider stereotypes propagated in film & television for 5 ethnic groups: African, Asian, Hispanic, Jewish, and Native Americans.
Riley, Sam G. African Americans in the Media Today: An Encyclopedia. 2 vols. Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 2007. (LC, RH) Ref P94.5.A372 U568 2007. Biographical entries with a timeline, index by field, and bibliography.
Streitmatter, Rodger.From "Perverts" to "Fab Five": The Media's Changing Depiction of Gay Men and Lesbians. New York: Routledge, 2009. (RH) HQ76.2.U5 S87 2009. Chapters focus on major news stories, television programs, and motion pictures that have influenced popular perception.
CHILDREN, SENIORS
Anderson, Craig Alan, Violent Video Game Effects on Children and Adolescents: Theory, Research, and Public Policy . New York: Oxford University Press, 2007. Provides an overview of research.
Davies, Máire Messenger. Children, Media and Culture . New York: Open University Press, 2010. Case studies and analysis. Genres include television, internet, children's books, fairy tales, art, and film.
Nuessel, Frank H. The Image of Older Adults in the Media: An Annotated Bibliography. Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 1992. (RH) Ref P94.5.A38 N84 1992. Chapters focus on images of older adults in literature, newspapers, greeting cards, magazines, music, film, television, and more.
Nussbaum, Jon F. Handbook of Communication and Aging Research. 2nd ed. Mahwah, N.J.: Lawrence Erlbaum Associates, 2004. Provides an overview of research, and challenges societal assumptions about communication and older individuals.
INTERNET RESOURCES
.ORG
Accuracy in Media A non-profit, grassroots
citizens watchdog of the news media.
American Advertising Federation Professional
organization for advertisers and agencies.
American Communications Association A professional association for communications educators & researchers.
American
Press Institute Center devoted to training and professional development
for the news industry and journalism educators.
Alliance for Women in Media . A professional association created to promote women in the electronic media professions and allied fields.
Asian Media Information and Communication Centre . A non-profit organization created to promote media and communications expertise in the Asia-Pacific.
Association for Business Communication
An international organization committed to fostering excellence in business
communication scholarship, research, education, and practice
Association for Women in Communications
Disciplines represented within the association include: print and broadcast
journalism, television and radio production, film, advertising, public relations,
marketing, graphic design, multi-media design, and photography.
Benton Foundation Non-profit private
organization that promotes communication tools, applications and policies in
the public interest.
British Universities Newsreel Database
Promotes the production, study, and use of moving image, sound, and related media in higher education and research
Center for Global Communications
(GLOCOM) A Japanese research institute that supports the study of information in society, and the collection/dissemination of information through computer networks.
FACSNET A free information resource for journalists. Includes top Associated Press wires, summaries of recent US Supreme Court decisions, and a host of reporting tools and sources.
Gallup Organization Management consulting firm that conducts The Gallup Poll, the world's leading
source of public opinion.
International Communication Association
ICA is an academic association for scholars interested in the study, teaching, and application of all aspects of human and mediated communication.
National Association of Black Journalists Promotes diversity in newsrooms and expanded job opportunities for African-American journalists and journalism students.
Reporter.org Online journalism
resources sponsored by Investigative Reporters and Editors, Inc.
Reporters Committee for Freedom of the Press
A nonprofit organization providing free legal help to reporters and news organizations.
.COM
Advertising Age One of the top trade publications for marketing, advertising, and media. Includes news, trends, topics, events, statistics, rankings, analysis, and more..
American Film Institute A national non-profit, educational, and cultural organization which preserves, recognizes, and celebrates excellence in the art of film, television and digital media. Unique access to the AFI Film Catalog, topical film lists, events calendar, educational tools, streaming media, and podcasts.
Asia Pacific Films . An online film library of culturally and historically significant films from Asia and the Pacific. Streams content via the web (subscription required).
Film.com Previews and reviews of current commercial films. Popular industry news.
The Hollywood Reporter . Entertainment industry news, reviews, and charts. Includes links to “in production” and “pre-production” information (subscription required).
www.Variety.com Box office sales for films, t.v. ratings, theater, music, and web rankings. Also news, reviews, and a wide variety of other industry information..
.EDU
Joan Shorenstein Center on the Press, Politics and Public Policy . Hosted by Harvard University, the Center is dedicated to the intersection of press, politics and public policy in theory and practice. Includes reports, case studies, awards, news.
Journalist's Compass An information hub, hosted by Temple University's Department of Journalism. It contains over 3,500 web links to U.S. and international journalism research tools.
The Media Literacy Online Project . This page, hosted by the University of Oregon, Center For Advanced Technology in Education, serves as a gateway to media literacy websites of note.
New York Law School Media Center This site provides statutory, regulatory, judicial and scholarly materials in the fields of communication, information and media.
Semiotics . Maintained by the
School of Education at the University of Colorado, Denver, this meta-index provides links to resources for the study of semiotics,
including information on people, readings, and conferences.
Television News Archive A project of Vanderbilt University, this is the world's most extensive archive of television news. It contains over 30,000 individual network evening news broadcasts & over 9,000 hours of special news-related programming.
UCLA Film and Television Archive Largest university-based moving-image collection in the world containing over
220,000 films and television programs.
.GOV
|