WHERE TO BEGIN
The two titles listed
below are the standard points of first reference when doing research on dance
and music. They are comprehensive multi-volume sets and will provide you with a
broad base on which to begin your research.
Cohen, Selma Jeanne. International Encyclopedia of Dance:
A Project of Dance Perspectives Foundation, Inc (Vols. 1-6). New York: Oxford University Press,
2004. (LC) Ref GV1585.I586 2004
Sadie, Stanley. The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians (Vols.
1-29). New York: Grove's
Dictionaries, 2001. (LC RH) Ref ML100.N48 2001
New Grove Dictionary of Opera,
Music and Musicians Online includes the full text of the printed
editions of the New Grove Dictionary of Music and the New Grove Dictionary
of Opera. It is updated quarterly and annually. (LIBRARY DATABASE
MENU)
ONCE YOU'VE BEGUN....
This bibliography
includes basic dictionaries, encyclopedias, biographical sources, bibliographies
and historical overviews of the field of dance in the Fordham collection. When
doing research always remember to begin with the broadest, most general
reference tools, and then using the information found therein, move toward more
specific sources.
Balanchine, George.
Balanchine's New Complete Stories of the Great Ballets. Garden City, NY:
Doubleday, 1968. (LC RH) Ref MT95.B34
Benbow-Pfalzgraf, Taryn. International Dictionary of Modern Dance. Detroit, MI: St. James Press, 1998. (LC RH)
Ref +GV1585.I58 1998
Bremser, Martha. Fifty Contemporary Choreographers. London: Routledge, 1999. (LC)
Ref GV1785.A1 B74 1999
Bremser, Martha. International Dictionary of Ballet (Vols. 1-2).
Detroit: St. James Press, 1993. (LC RH) Ref +GV1585.I57 1993 Billman, Larry. Film Choreographers and Dance Directors: An Illustrated
Biographical Encyclopedia. Jefferson, NC: McFarland & Co., 1997. (LC RH) Ref
GV1779.B55 1997 Chujoy, Anatole. The Dance Encyclopedia (rev. & enlarged ed.). New York: Simon
& Schuster, 1967. (LC RH) Ref GV1585.C5 1967
Clarke, M., & Vaughan, D. The Encyclopedia of Dance & Ballet. New
York: Putnam, 1977. (LC) Ref GV1585.E53 1977B Craine, Debra, & Mackrell, Judith. The Oxford Dictionary of
Dance. Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2004. (LC) Ref GV1585.C73 2004
Edsall, Mary E. A Core Collection in Dance. Chicago: The
Association, 2001. (LC RH) Ref GV1594.A13 2001
Glasstone, Richard. Classical Ballet Terms: An Illustrated
History. Alton: Dance Books, 2001. (RH) Ref GV1585.G53 2001 Grant, Gail. Technical Manual and Dictionary of Classical Ballet
(3rd rev. ed.). New York: Dover, 1982. (LC) Ref GV1585.G68 1982
Mara, Thalia. The Language of Ballet: A Dictionary. Hightstown, NJ:
Princeton Book, 1987. (LC) Ref GV1585.M37 1987 McDonagh, Don. The Complete Guide to Modern Dance. Garden City, NY:
Doubleday, 1976. (LC RH) Ref GV1783.M26
Ryman, Rhonda. Ryman's Dictionary of Classical
Ballet Terms: Cecchetti. Toronto: Dance Collection Danse Press/es,
1998. (LC) GV1585 .R96 1998
Spain, Louise. Dance on Camera: A Guide to Dance Films and Videos (rev. ed.). Lanham, Md.:
Scarecrow Press, 1998. (LC RH) Ref +GV1595.D342 1998
PERIODICAL INDEXES ON THE LIBRARY MENU
Periodical indexes
provide you with access to articles in magazines, newspapers, newsletters,
company reports, and sometimes transcripts of radio and TV broadcasts. The
following indexes are a good place to begin when doing research in dance and the
performing arts.
International Index to Music
Periodicals (IIMP) provides access to tens of
thousands of articles published in more than 400 international music journals
every year. Many journals covered are indexed exclusively in IIMP.
Coverage is from 1993 to the present. (LIBRARY DATABASE MENU)
International Index to the Performing
Arts (IIPA). The IIPA draws its
current content from more than 130 international performing arts periodicals
from 9 countries and also indexes performing arts articles and obituaries
appearing in The New York Times and The Washington Post.
IIPA covers nearly all aspects of the world of the performing arts, from
the most scholarly studies to the latest crazes. Coverage is from 1864 to the
present. Records from 1998 forward contain an abstract. (LIBRARY DATABASE
MENU)
International
Bibliography of Theatre & Dance with Full Text contains full text for more
than 100 journals and more than fifty books and monographs. (LIBRARY
DATABASE MENU)
The library also has
many general periodical indexes which cover thousands of journals and newspapers
in every field, from around the country and the world. Check General
Periodical Indexes on the Library Database screen.
BEYOND THE BUILDING: INTERNET RESOURCES
Internet resources in
dance, just like web sites in other subject areas, run the gamut from
indispensable to inadequate. When using information found on the Internet keep
in mind that it is not always written by a team of experts or scholars (like the
authors of the International Encyclopedia of Dance) or organized
in a standardized, authoritative way (like the International Index to the
Performing Arts). But that caveat aside, the Internet offers a wealth of
timely and valuable information on all aspects of dance. The sites listed below
are a few of the more comprehensive and interesting ones. More can be found
through various links in the general sites.
General Sites
Online Magazines
Dance Companies Most of the major dance companies have Internet sites. Here are two local samples.
Deborah
Winkler, Fordham University Libraries
|