|
|
EDUCATION DATABASES
Education Research Databases
Fordham
Dissertations Find Fordham doctoral
dissertations on a variety of topics in education. Full text is supplied
for dissertations published since 1996.
ERIC
The Education Resources Information Center is the most comprehensive,
widely used database in education, indexing over 1.2 million unpublished
reports and papers in addition to journal literature, with links to
full text where available. As of 2004, ERIC provides users
with online access to the full text of ERIC Education Documents (EDs)
in PDF image format.
Also accessible via the ERIC Web site (http://www.eric.ed.gov)
Education Research Complete
Provides citations to over 1500 journals, and full text to over 750
as well as full text of numerous books and conference papers.
Offers comprehensive coverage of an international range of periodicals,
monographs and yearbooks on a variety of education-related topics.
Up-to-date subject headings are available through a thesaurus reflecting
contemporary terminology, and graphical content in the form of PDF
page images accompany many full text articles.
Teacher
Reference Center
Cites and provides abstracts for
more than 270 popular education journals geared toward teachers and administrators.
Academic Search Complete
This EbscoHost database merits mention here as the world's largest
scholarly, multi-discipline full text electronic index,
citing numerous valuable peer-reviewed publications found in no other
database. Academic areas of study covered include social sciences,
humanities, language and linguistics, arts and literature, ethnic
studies, and education.
Additional electronic sources
Chronicle Of Higher Education
A premium source of academic news and information. It reports
on developments in higher education and information technology as it
relates to the interests of faculty members and administrators; provides
updates on grant opportunities; and posts the latest job announcements
in the academic arena.
Note: Access to the Chronicle requires a password;
contact a librarian for assistance.
National Center for Education
Statistics-Data and Surveys
As the primary federal entity concerned with education related data,
NCES's stated purpose is to "collect and report statistics and
information showing the condition and progress of education in the
United States and other nations in order to promote and accelerate the
improvement of American education."
Primary Search
Designed specifically for elementary school libraries, contains full
text for more than 50 popular magazines. All full text articles are
assigned a reading level indicator (Lexile). Full text is also available
for over 100 student-appropriate pamphlets. Also features: an
Encyclopedia of Animals, American Heritage Children's Dictionary,
Mammals of the Sea, and an Image Collection.
Mental
Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print
MMY and TIP now collaborate to provide critical evaluations
(though not actual tests) of over 2,000 commercially available tests in
education, psychology, business, and intelligence as well as
comprehensive lists of available tests in English.
SELECTED PRINT RESOURCES
Directories
Annual Register of
Grant Support: A Directory of Funding Sources. Medford, NJ: Information Today, Inc. (RH, LC) Ref L1.G8
A standard reference source on financial support, featuring four
indexes: Subject, Organization and Program, Geographic Breakdown,
and Personnel.
The Complete Learning Disabilities Directory: Associations, Products, Resources, Magazines, Books, Services, Conferences, Web Sites. Lakeville,
CT: Grey House Pub.
(LC) Ref LC4704.6.C66
"A One-Stop Source Book for Individuals and Professionals," the
Directory identifies and describes associations, newsletters and
magazines, books and tapes, and products and services relating to
learning disabilities. In addition, it identifies schools, other learning
centers, and government agencies with contact information.
Catholic Schools in America. Denver, CO :
Curriculum Info Center. (RH, LC) Ref LC501.C372
Beginning with an alphabetical index by state, this guide identifies
diocesan superintendents and K-12 schools and provides information by
and about the National Catholic Educational Association (NCEA).
Patterson's American Education. Mount Prospect, IL:
Educational Directories, Inc. (RH, LC) Ref L901.P3
Standard, comprehensive annual directory to secondary schools, covering
11,300 public school districts, 32,000 public secondary schools, 5,000
private and Catholic secondary schools, and more than 6,000
post-secondary schools in an easy-to-use format. Appears annually.
Encyclopedias
Encyclopedia of Special Education: A Reference for the Education of Children, Adolescents, and Adults with Disabilities and Other Exceptional Individuals. Hoboken, NJ: John
Wiley & Sons. (LC, WCL) Ref LC4007.E53
This 3-volume reference work features over 2,000 entries
encompassing biographies, educational and psychological tests,
interventions and service delivery, handicapping conditions, related
services, legal topics (such as the ADA and Technology Acts), the
emergence of inclusion, highly qualified teachers, and related areas.
Also accessible as an electronic resource (E-book).
Literacy in America: An Encyclopedia of History, Theory, and
Practice. Santa Barbara, CA: ABC-CLIO. (LC, WCL) LC151.L487
Providing a comprehensive overview of the study and teaching of literacy
in the United States, this 2-volume encyclopedia discusses "multiple
literacies," including reading, writing, listening, and speaking; and
"new literacies" such as popular culture, media, and technology.
Using a non-technical language, this resource explores historical topics
along with historical trends.
Women in Higher Education: An Encyclopedia. Santa Barbara, CA: ABC-CLIO. (LC, WCL) LC1568.W66
Identifies and discusses many of the disparate aspects of collegiate
education as they pertain to women, from the perspective of academe as a
still-male-dominated world and institutional environment. Thus
whole sections of this work bear such designations as "Gender Theory and
the Academy," "Feminism in the Academy," "Women in the Curriculum," and
"Women and Higher Education Policy."
World Education Encyclopedia: A Survey of Educational Systems Worldwide. 2nd ed. Detroit,
MI: Gale Group, 2002. (RH, LC, WCL) Ref LB15.W67
In three volumes, this set offers readers comparative, in-depth essays by
scholars and educators from across the United States and around the
world on the educational systems of 233 countries and/or territories.
WEE contains custom-made graphs and statistical tables, as
well as regional maps and an extensive index.
Top of Page
Indexes, Bibliographies
Review of Research in Education. Vols.: 1973-.
Itasca,
IL: F. E. Peacock Publishers.
(RH) Ref L1.R352
: also available as an electronic resource.
Appearing annually, this source highlights the year's significant
innovative research in topical areas of modern education.
Radical Reads 2: Working With the Newest Edgy
Titles for Teens. Lanham, MD: Scarecrow Press (LC)
Ref Z1037.B655
Offers a sizable listing, with thematic and character
descriptions and synopses, of recent literature titles for the
sophisticated young adult reader. All titles included have
earned critical acclaim and feature characters and situations
reflective of life circumstances and psychological realities of the
modern adolescent. Also provided are "Booktalk" ideas,
synopses of reviews, useful author and subject indexes, and
provocative discussions (in the appendices) on censorship.
Guides for
Students
Guide to American Graduate Schools. New York, NY:
Penguin Books. (LC) Ref L901.L5
The Guide identifies and describes post-baccalaureate
opportunities at more than 1,200 accredited institutions in the areas
of Law, Education, Liberal Arts and Sciences, Health Professions, Social
Work, Medicine, Agriculture, Business Administration, Fine and Applied
Arts, Dentistry, Engineering, and Computer Science.
Peterson's Graduate & Professional Programs: An Overview.
Princeton, NJ: Peterson's Guides. (LC) Ref L901.P458
Thoroughly describes all graduate programs at more than 1,700
institutions. Also identifies faculty research specialties and
gives full listings of all degree programs by field, including a
directory of combined-degree programs.
SELECTED INTERNET RESOURCES
GENERAL INTEREST SITES
SUBJECT-BASED SITES
Arts and Music Education
Geometry Through Art
For the aspiring young Mondrians in your charge, this site develops
artistry as well as Euclidian insights. Arts education with a
different angle--not for the obtuse.
Music Education
Madness Site Offers suggestions for lesson planning, a
business directory, feature articles, some witty "musical
malapropisms",
news and opinions, and useful links for music educators
“regardless of their level of expertise. Get monthly articles on elementary, secondary, and private music teaching.”
Music Education
Online The Children's Music Workshop provides here a useful
Web portal that assembles in one place a variety of resources for the
music teacher seeking to build or supplement a child-centered music
program, including articles on music education, advocacy, and an online
video collection of musical performances.
Careers, Certification, Employment
Fordham University's GSE Career Services GSE's continually updated
programs and services include a calendar of events, an Online Resource
Center for career planning and job seeking, workshops in resume and
cover letter writing, and interview preparation.
Education America Network . A site devoted to jobs in education. Search jobs and browse employers. Use the Resource Center to locate facts on many topics including state certification, salary information, resume writing and interviewing tips, social networks, and education job fairs.
K-12 Jobs for Teachers A
site for seekers of teaching positions at K-12 as well as vocational
schools. Postings include complete job descriptions with contact
information.
Teacher Certification
This NYSED site provides current teaching certification requirements for
NY State as well as links to job banks and information of interest to
practicing teachers and school administrators.
Teacher
Certification--All 50 States Certification requirements for all
50 states are available at this site for easy reference. Clicking on
a state in the listing brings you to all the information you need to
apply.
Computer Technology in Education
Computers 4 Kids Dedicated to
helping students at all levels gain access to computer technology and
the mastery thereof, whether in home, school, or community setting.
For educators, this site provides means of applying directly for
technology grants for an array of educational programs.
U.S. Department of Education
Office of Educational Technology The Clinton Administration
established this office with the mission to bring technology into the
classroom, for the expressed purpose of developing communication, math,
science, reading, and critical thinking skills. Offers programs
and identifies federal resources, publications and research, and
conferences.
Electronic Learning in your Classroom Web-based,
ready-to-use activities designed to meet learning standards and make
learning fun. Features copious frolicsome yet didactically rich
curriculum ideas in the areas of language arts, math, social studies,
and science.
Teach-nology The K-12 site for free and easy-to-use resources for teachers as well as services designed to support educators in effectively incorporating technology in teaching and learning. Over 9000 free printable worksheets, rubrics, teaching tips, Web quests, math worksheets, monthly theme worksheets, teacher timesavers, and over 46,000 lesson plans are offered on this site.
Counseling and School Psychology
American Counseling Association
Online Addressing the information needs of professional
counselors, provides breaking news on current events, public policy, and
other developments affecting the working lives of counselors, whether in
school settings or elsewhere.
New York State School Counselor Association As the
chartered state chapter of the
American School Counselor Association (ASCA), NYSSCA commits itself
to advocacy for school counselors statewide.
MEDLINEplus:
Teen Health A service of the U.S. National Library of Medicine, this site features the latest breaking news on adolescent health
and research from the National Institutes of Health as well as sections
on coping (for beleaguered parents), nutrition, prevention/screening,
and specific medical conditions.
National Education Association Absenteeism, the "Dropout
Crisis", drugs, violence and other forms of abuse, disappearance of arts
education in public schools all are among issues addressed in NEA's site
for educators, support professionals, parents and community.
Practical tips for teachers, a new "Educators' 100 Favorite Books List,"
and proposals for policymakers are all put forth here.
ETS TestLink: Featuring the Educational Testing Service's
library of more than 25,000 tests and other modes of measurement of
interest to researchers, graduate students, and teachers. This
immense compilation comprises tests primarily from the US, but
additionally from Canada, Britain, and Australia.
Top of Page
Early Childhood Education
Doing What Works
Presents research-based educational practices and implementation tools
to foster student proficiency in math and science, targeting goals put
forth in No Child Left Behind. The site prioritizes early
childhood education, English-language learners, math and science,
psychology of learning, school improvement, and literacy.
Zero to Three
This national nonprofit, founded in 1977, seeks to "promote the
health and development of infants and toddlers." Their Web site
features videos, audio files, and downloadable text resources.
Broad topics addressed include Brain Development, Military Families,
Play, Nutrition, and Public Policy.
National
Institute on Early Childhood Development and Education The
Department of Education's Early Childhood Institute sponsors research
promoting optimum preparation of children for the educational
environment. It presents such research, as well as related links
and publications, in this site.
Government Sites
DOE Funding Opportunities Provides information necessary to apply
for federally-based grants, including grants competition alerts and
links to other offices and programs supplying additional information on
securing funding.
National
Institute on Early Childhood Development and Education The
Department of Education's Early Childhood Institute sponsors research
promoting optimum preparation of children for the educational
environment. It presents such research, as well as related links
and publications, in this site.
New York State Education
Department The Web site of the certifying body for New York
State's teachers. Here you'll learn about the Department's
mission, purview, policy-creating machinery, and history.
Doing What Works
Sponsored by the US Department of Education, this easy-to-navigate site
promotes effective teaching practices in alignment with the No Child
Left Behind legislation.
ACEnet: American
Council on Education “ACE is the only higher education organization that represents presidents and chancellors of all types of U.S. accredited, degree-granting institutions . . . and is the major coordinating body for all the nation’s higher education institutions.” Devoted to equal opportunities in higher
education, the Council's Web site draws on a wide array of information
sources on topics such as accreditation, minorities in higher education,
and financial aid.
CollegeInSight
An initiative of the Institute for College Access & Success, this Web
site "works to make higher education more available and affordable
for all backgrounds." Data related to enrollment,
affordability, diversity, and student success are available for almost
5,000 US colleges and universities.
NCATE The
National Council for Accreditation of Teacher Education establishes this
discipline's essential standards and guidelines. This site
presents these, as well as information concerning other NCATE
publications, special projects, and a guide to accredited schools.
CollegeSource This online mega-source features over 11,800 college catalogs in
complete cover-to-cover, original page format representing 2-year,
4-year, graduate and professional schools. Provides access to
course descriptions, admission requirements, campus maps, and more.
CollegeSource matches you with schools which meet your requirements.
Peterson's College Guide This "Education Supersite" allows you to explore significant features of colleges and universities, undergraduate as well as graduate programs, job opportunities (featuring over 5,000 company profiles), study abroad programs, and more.
U.S. News Online News coverage of the higher education scene
in general. Also features the ever popular guide to colleges and
graduate schools from U.S. News & World Report, including its
annual rankings. Features sound, practical bases for school
comparisons.
Institute of International
Education As this country's premier educational exchange and
training organization, IIE assists students seeking Fulbright grants as
well as university or college advisers working with international
students. It accesses users to listings of over 4,000 study
abroad programs and to research on international educational issues.
MERLOT
Designed primarily for faculty and students of higher education around the world, the
Multimedia Educational Resource for Learning and Online Teaching
assembles links to online learning materials along with annotations such
as peer reviews and assignments. Membership is free, an updated
membership directory is provided, and members are encouraged to add
materials, comments, and assignments
and to visit the MERLOT Teacher Education Blog.
Council for Higher Education Accreditation CHEA is the “national advocate and institutional voice for self-regulation of academic quality through accreditation” and is based on the principles of quality assurance, leadership, advocacy, service, core values, independence, and inclusion.
Issues and Innovations
in Education
Inside Schools/Advocates for Children of New York An online
information-sharing/activist round table for public school parents,
children's advocates, journalists and teachers committed to improving
education in New York City by navigating the school bureaucracy while making
the system more accountable to students.
PEN: Public
Education Network This "Nation's largest network of
community-based school reform organizations" taps you into the work of
Local Education Funds and suggests strategies for improving student
achievement in public schools.
National Summer Learning Association Founded in 1992, this Johns Hopkins
affiliate focuses on providing children and youth unique opportunities
to learn and practice essential skills during the summer months.
Currently over two million young people in 30 states are served by this
program.
National Institute for Early Education Research
Based at Rutgers University, NIEER supports early childhood education by
providing "objective, nonpartisan information based on
research. Among the site's many useful features is a contact
information list of experts in the field and "the State Preschool Yearbook which profiles state-funded prekindergarten programs in the U.S."
ADL
Curriculum Connections: Anti-Bias Lesson Plans Features lesson
plans and resources for K-12 educators that integrate multi-cultural,
anti-bias, and social justice themes into the curricula. Provides
teachers with tools for addressing adolescent and classroom management
issues like name-calling, bullying, and even hate crimes.
Inspiring
Teachers An online innovation by teachers for teachers, this site
offers helpful tips, encouragement, teaching strategies, recommended
books by subject, discussions lists, and a weekly newsletter. Also
featured are educational sites useful to new teachers.
National Association for Bilingual Education The premier national
body concerned with targeting and promoting educational interests of
both English language learners and bilingual education professionals.
NABE's 20,000+ membership comprises bilingual and
English-as-a-second-language teachers, administrators,
paraprofessionals, university professors and students, researchers,
advocates, policymakers, and parents.
Reading is Fundamental RIF is
America's leading nonprofit children's literacy organization whose aim
is to get children to want to read. RIF gets free books into kids'
hands and makes reading fun through exciting reading-related activities.
Carol Hurst's
Children's Literature Site Promoting reading is the theme,
with citations and reviews of quality children's books, and good
suggestions for making use of them in the classroom.
Tapped In A
forum and resource site for a growing community of over 3400 K-16
teachers, staff and researchers engaged in professional development
programs and assorted collaborative activities with colleagues.
Members can hold real-time discussions and classes and interact via
mailing lists and discussion boards.
Black
Collegian Online The electronic version of
The Black Collegian Magazine is archived. Offers copious career planning/job search
information, with commentary by leading African-American writers, and
coverage of college life and news.
Phi Delta Kappa International
An international organization for professional educators, with emphasis
on quality in public education as a hallmark of "a democratic way of
life."
ASCD (formerly the Association for Supervision and Curriculum Development) Founded in
1943, the ASCD is a nonprofit, nonpartisan organization representing
175,000 educators from more than 135 countries. Membership comprises
superintendents, supervisors, principals, teachers, professors of
education, and school board members. Its mission is to foster among
educators a level of professional practice which ensures the success of
young learners.
American Federation of Teachers AFT was founded in 1916 to represent
the economic, social and professional interests of classroom teachers.
Affiliated with the AFL-CIO, the union counts more than 1.3 million
members, including teachers, paraprofessionals, and higher education
faculty and staff. AFT luminaries include Albert Einstein, Hubert
Humphrey, Frank McCourt, and John Dewey.
Qualifying College Tests and Exams
ETS NET A
gateway to definitive information about college and graduate school
admissions and placement tests, linking to AP, GRE, GMAT, SAT, the
Praxis Series, and TOEFL sites, as well as other educational resources.
GRE Geared
toward those students planning to take the Graduate Record Examination,
this site provides information on all facets of preparation and
registration, with sample test questions and answers to frequently asked
questions.
Princeton Review
Creators of Cracking the SAT, PR aims to assist
underprivileged students in particular prepare for all major
standardized tests. PR is the preeminent standardized test
preparation company operating across four channels of distribution:
courses, books, software, and online services.
SAT--College
Board Online Addresses questions of students and parents;
likewise a good resource for high school and college faculty,
counselors, and those working in admissions and financial aid.
Aids in test preparation as well as registration.
Science, Math, Environment
Doing What Works
Presents research-based educational practices and implementation tools
to foster student proficiency in math and science, targeting goals put
forth in No Child Left Behind. The site prioritizes early
childhood education, English-language learners, math and science,
psychology of learning, school improvement, and literacy.
EPA This site has attractions for
K-12 students, teachers, and parents with topics such as Learning the Issues, Science & Technology, and Laws & Regulations. Student resources include educational games, homework help, and community service projects.
Resources for Science
Learning The Franklin Institute's site emphasizes leadership
in science learning research and innovative program development with
focus areas in education technology, teacher development, gender and
family learning, and youth leadership. Features online science content
and resources and professional development opportunities for educators.
Math Forum
@ Drexel Drexel University's site offers K-16 educators
technologically savvy content, featuring "MathTools", a teacher-friendly
digital library of mathematics software resources for lessons,
activities, and support materials.
YAHOO!
Science and Math Education A constellation of links related to
the primary areas of science, technology, and mathematics. Also
features listings of institutes, organizations, and conferences of
interest to educators and scientists.
Digital Video Library
Created by the Harvard-Smithsonian Center for Astrophysics, this site
provides math and science educators with a wide variety of video content
which integrates theory with research and case studies, actual classroom
footage, scientific demos, and interviews with students and teachers.
Learning
Science A portal for science students and teachers to
Web-based learning resources vetted by scientists and science
educators. Organized to National Academy of Sciences standards,
these tools include simulations, inquiry-based lessons, visual lessons,
imaging, and interactive Web lessons.
Action
Bioscience Published by the American Institute of Biological
Sciences, this site aims to promote bioscience literacy. The main
sections: Biodiversity, Biotechnology, Environment, Evolution, Genomics,
and Science Policy; all feature original articles written by
academicians, scientists, science undergrad students, and freelance
writers.
Understanding
Evolution A co-creation of the University of California's Museum of
Paleontology and the National Center for Science Education, this site
offers K-12 teachers lesson plans and classroom activities, a
convenient glossary, thought-provoking diagrams and images, and sensible
rebuttals against creationist arguments against evolution.
NOAA Education Resources The National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration has organized materials around themes and collections providing toolkits of information in the content areas of Oceans and Coasts, Climate, Weather and Atmosphere, Marine Life, and Freshwater. Collections are not grade specific, but resources are labeled for grade appropriateness. Free use of materials unless otherwise noted.
USGS Education This U.S. Geological Survey/U.S. Department of the Interior site includes educational material for primary and secondary students as well as for undergraduates. Many videos and additional classroom materials are freely available online in the areas of astrogeology, biology, climate change, earthquakes, tsunamis, and more. Site includes repositories, reports, publications, maps, and photography.
Top of Page
Social Studies, History, Geography
Ease
History A Michigan State University-created site which provides educators the means
to create experiential US history lessons making use of the over 600
videos and photographs available on the site. Key entry points
featured are historical events, campaign ads, and core values.
American Memory from the Library of Congress American Memory “provides free and open access to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience throughout history. These materials, from the collections of the Library of Congress and other institutions, chronicle historical events, people, places, and ideas from all phases of American life.” Features a “Today in History” section. Browse by time period, format, or place.
U. S. National Archives Click on the DOCS TEACH link to find tools for teaching using primary documents, including many interactive activities. Professional development for teachers, lesson plans, school tours, and state and regional resources are available as well as links to teaching document analysis and the correlation to the National History Standards.
National Council for the Social Studies This international council is “the largest association in the country devoted to social studies education” and supports elementary, secondary, and college educators in the fields of history, civics, geography, economics, political science, sociology, anthropology, and law-related education. Conferences, professional development, publications, curriculum standards, and lesson plans are accessible.
USGS Education This U.S. Geological Survey/U.S. Department of the Interior site includes educational material for primary and secondary students as well as for undergraduates. Many videos and additional classroom materials are freely available online in the areas of astrogeology, biology, climate change, earthquakes, tsunamis, and more. Site includes repositories, reports, publications, maps, and photography.
SERI: Special
Education Resources on the Internet A collection of
Internet-accessible information resources of interest to anyone working
in a field related to special education. Here you'll find
discussion of a variety of mental and physical disabilities, with
references to resources for both educators and parents, including books
of interest.
Top of Page
Diane Batemarco, Fordham University Libraries
Last Update: November 22, 2011
|