|
INDEXES, ABSTRACTS AND DATABASES
New databases are being added regularly. For an up to
date list of the Databases and Indexes in English and American Literature,
please go to the Databases and Indexes link under Electronic Resources on
the library homepage and click Language,
Literature and Classics.
Please note that we do not subscribe
to all of the titles indexed in these products.
GENERAL REFERENCE WORKS
Abrams, M. H. A Glossary of Literary
Terms. 6th edition. Fort Worth: Harcourt Brace Janovich College
Publishers, 1993. LC RH Ref PN44.5.A2 1993
Adeleye, Gabriel G. World dictionary
of foreign expressions: a resource for readers and writers. Wauconda,
Ill: Bolchazy-Carducci Publishers, 1999. RH Ref PE1582.A3 .A34 1999
Ayto, John. Twentieth century words.
Oxford ; New York : Oxford University Press, 1999. RH
Ref PE1630 .A98 1999
The
Beat Generation: a Gale Critical Companion. Detroit: Thomas Gale, 2003, RH PS 228.B6 B42 2003
Benet's Reader's Encyclopedia of American
Literature. New York: Harper Collins, 1991. RH Ref PS21.B46 1991
Bracken, James K. The undergraduate's
companion to American writers and their Web sites. RH Ref PS88 .A1 B73
2001
Brackett, Virginia. Classic
Love and Romance Literature: An Encyclopedia of Works, Characters, Authors,
and Themes. Santa Barbara, CA.: ABC-CLIO, 1999. RH Ref PN56.L6
B73 1999
Cambridge Grammar of the English Language.
Cambridge: Cambridge University Press, 2002. (RH) Ref PE1106 .H74 2002
The Cambridge Guide to English Literature.
Cambridge; New York: Cambridge University Press, 1983. LC RH Ref PR19.C35
1983
The
Cambridge Guide to English Usage. Cambridge:
Cambridge University Press, 2004. (RH) Ref PE1464 .P47 2004
Classe, Olive, ed. Encyclopedia of
literary translation into English. London; Chicago: Fitzroy Dearborn
Publishers, 2000. 2 vols.. RH Ref PN241 .E43 2000
Concise oxford companion to Canadian
literature/edited by William Toye. Don Mills, Ont; New York: Oxford
University Press, 2001. RH Ref PR9180 .2 .C66 2001
Cox, J. Randolph. The dime novel
companion: a source book. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 2000. RH Ref
PS374.D5 C69 2000
Critical
Companion to William Shakespeare. New York,
NY: Facts on File, 2005 RH Ref PR2892 .B685 2005
Dictionary
of Maritime and Transportation Terms. Centreville,
Maryland: Cornell Maritime Press, 2005. RH Ref V23 .M645 2005
Dictionary of midwestern literature/edited
by Philip A. Greasley. Bloomington: Indiana University Press, 2001.
RH Ref PS273. D53 2001
Dictionary of writers and their works/edited
by Michael Cox. Oxford:Oxford University Press, 2001. RH LC Ref PR19
.C9 2001
Drabble, Margaret. The Oxford Companion
to English Literature. 6th ed. New York: Oxford University Press, 2000.
LC RH Ref PR19 .H3 2000
Encyclopedia of English Studies and
Language Arts. New York: Scholastic, 1994. 2 vols. LC RH Ref PE65.E47
Encyclopedia of Fantasy.
New York: St. Martin's Press, 1997. LC RH Ref PN3435.E53 1997
Encyclopedia of Post-Colonial Literatures
in English. 2 vols. New York: Routledge, 1994. LC RH Ref
PR9080.A52 E53 1994
Encyclopedia of the Essay.
Chicago: Fitzroy Dearborn Publishers, 1997. LC RH Ref PN4500.E55 1997
Encyclopedia
of Science Fiction. New York, NY: Facts on
File, 2005. RH Ref PS374 .S35 D24 2005
Flavell, Linda and Roger. The Chronology
of Words and Phrases: A Thousand Years in the History of English.
London: Kyle Cathie Limited, 1999. RH Ref PE1574 .F58 1999
Glossbrenner, Alfred and Emily. About
the author: the passionate reader's guide to the authors you love, including
things you never knew, juicy bits you'll want to know, and hundreds of ideas
for what to read next. San Diego: Harcourt, 2000. RH Ref PN451 .G56
2000
Harmon, William. A Handbook to Literature.
7th edition. Upper Saddle River, NJ: Prentice Hall, 1996. LC
RH Ref PN41.H355 1996
Hart, James David. The Oxford Companion
to American Literature. 6th edition. New York: Oxford University
Press, 1995. LC RH Ref PS21.H3 1995.
Hawthorn, Jeremy. A glossary of contemporary
literary theory. London: Arnold, 2000. (RH) Ref PN44.5 .H37 2000
Herald, Diana Tixier. Genreflecting:
A Guide to Reading Interests in Genre Fiction. 5th edition. Englewood,
Colorado, 2000. (RH) Ref PS 374 .P63 A1 2000
Herbert, Rosemary, ed. The Oxford
companion to crime and mystery writing. New York: Oxford University Press,
1999. (RH) Ref PN3448 .D4 O98 1999
Kort, Carol. A to Z of American women
writers. New York: Facts On File, 2000. (RH) Ref PS147 .K67 2000
Lesher, Linda Parent. The best novels
of the nineties: a reader's guide. Jefferson, NC: McFarland, 2000. (RH)
Ref PR880 .L45 2000
Literature and Its Times: Profiles
of 300 Notable Literary Works and the Historical Events That Influenced Them.
Detroit: Gale, 1997. 5 vols. RH Ref PN50.L574
McConnell, Louise. Dictionary of Shakespeare.
Chicago, Ill.:Fitzroy Dearborn, 2000. (RH) Ref PR2892 .M33 2000
Merriam-Webster's dictionary of allusions.
Springfield, MA: Merriam-Webster, 1999. (RH) Ref PN43
.W384 1999
Murray, Chris, ed. Encyclopedia
of literary critics and criticism. (2 vols.) London; Chicago: Fitzroy
Dearborn, 1999. (RH) Ref PN86 .E63 1999
Netzley, Patricia D. Social
Protest Literature: An Encyclopedia of Works, Characters, Authors, and Themes.
Santa Barbara, CA.: ABC-CLIO, 1999. RH Ref PN56.S65 N48 1999
The Oxford Companion to African American
Literature. New York: Oxford University Press, 1997. RH Ref PS153.A183
1997
The Oxford Companion to Canadian Literature.
New York: Oxford University Press, 1997. RH LC Ref
PR19 .O76 1997
The Oxford Companion to Women's Writing
in the United States. New York: Oxford University Press, 1995. LC RH
Ref PS146.O94 1994
The Oxford Dictionary of Phrase and
Fable. New York: Oxford University Press, 2000. RH Ref PN43 .O94 2000
Oxford Encyclopedia of American Literature.
Oxford; New York: Oxford University Press, 2004. RH Ref PS 21. E537
2004
The Oxford guide to literature in
English translation. New York: Oxford University Press, 2000. RH Ref PR131
.O94 2000
Parini, Jay, ed. World Writers in English. (2 vols) New
York: Gale, 2004. (RH) Ref PR9080 .5 .W67 2004
Powell, John, ed. Biographical dictionary
of literary influences: the nineteenth century, 1800-1914. RH Ref Z1039
.C45 B56 2001
Quinn, Edward. A Dictionary
of Literary and Thematic Terms. New York: Facts on File, 1999.
RH Ref PN44.5.Q56 1999
Reader's Guide to Literature in English.
London: Chicago: Fitzroy Dearborn Publishers, 1996. RH Ref +PR19.R2 1996
Sage, Lorna, ed. The Cambridge Guide
to Women's Writing in English. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press,
1999. RH Ref PR111 .S24 1999
Snodgrass, Mary Ellen. Encyclopedia
of Utopian Literature. Sant Barbara: ABC-CLIO, 1995. LC RH
Ref PN56.U8 S66 1995
Sylvester, Louise, Middle english
word studies: a word and author index. Cambridge ; Rochester, NY : D.S.
Brewer, 2000 RH Ref PE661 .S95 2000
Times book of quotations. London:
HarperCollins, 2000. (RH) Ref PN6081 .T5 2000
Zimbaro, Valerie P. Encyclopedia
of Apocalyptic Literature. Santa Barbara, CA.: ABC-CLIO, 1996.
RH Ref PN56. A69 Z56 1996
AUTHORS
American Women Writers: A Critical
Reference Guide from Colonial Times to the Present. New York: Ungar,
1979-1994. 5 vols. RH Ref PS147.A6
American Writers: A Collection of
Literary Biographies. New York: Scribners,1974. 4 vols. LC RH Ref PS129.A55
British Writers. New York, Scribner,
1979-1984. 8 vols. LC RH Ref PR85. B688
Contemporary Authors:A Bio-bibliographical
Guide to Current Authors and Their Works. Detroit: Gale Research Company,
1976- . LC RH Ref PS2.C61
Contemporary Novelists. Chicago;
London: St. James Press, 1991. RH Ref PR883.V5 1991
Contemporary Popular Writers.
Detroit: St. James Press, 1997. RH Ref PR478.P66 C66 1997
Dictionary of Literary Biography.
Detroit: Gale Research Company, 1978- . LC RH Ref PS2.D5
The Feminist Companion to Literature
in English: Women Writers from the Middle Ages to the Present. New Haven:
Yale, 1990. LC RH Ref PR111.F45 1990s
Modern Women Writers. New York:
Continuum, 1996. 4 vols. RH Ref PN471. M62 1996
Modern Women Writers. New York:
Facts on File, 1994. LC Ref PS374.W6 Ai5 1994
Science Fiction Writers: Critical
Studies of the Major Authors From the Early Nineteenth Century to the Present.
New York: Scribner, 1999. RH Ref PS74.S35 S36 1999
BIBLIOGRAPHY
American Literary Scholarship.
Durham, NC: Duke University Press, 1963- . LC RH Ref PS2.A54
Blanck, Jacob. Bibliography of American
Literature. New Haven: Yale, 1955- . LC RH Ref PS2.B5
The Eighteenth Century Short Title
Catalogue Microform. London: The British Library, 1983. RH Ref Z2002.B73
Index of English Literary Manuscripts.
London: Mansell; New York: Bowker, 1980- . RH Ref PR2.I53 1980
A Manual of the Writings in Middle
English, 1050-1500. New Haven, Connecticut Academy of Arts and Sciences,
1967- . RH Ref PR255.S49
The Romantic Movement: A Selective
and Critical Bibliography. New York: Garland Publishers, 1964- . RH PN603.A1
R6
Pollard, Alfred W. A Short Title Catalogue
of Books Printed in England, Scotland, & Ireland and of English Books
Printed Abroad, 1475-1640. London: Bibliographical Society, 1976-91 3
vol. LC RH Ref +Z2002.P77 1976
Wing, Donald Goddard. Short Title
Catalogue of Books Printed in England, Scotland, Ireland, Wales, and British
America, and of English Books Printed in Other Countries, 1641-1700.
New York: Modern Language Association of America, 1994- . RH Ref +Z2002.W5
1994
CRITICISM
Black Literature Criticism: Excerpts
from Criticism of the Most Significant Works of Black Authors over the Past
200 Years. Detroit: Gale Research, 1992. 3 vols. LC RH Ref +PS153.N5 B556
1992
Borklund, Elmer. Contemporary
Literary Critics. New York: St. Martin's Press, 1982. 2nd
ed. LC RH Ref PN75.A1 B6
Contemporary Literary Criticism.
Detroit: Gale Research, 1973- . LC RH Ref PN771.C655
Moulton Charles Wells. Library of
Literary Criticism of English and American Authors through the Beginning of
the Twentieth Century. New York: F. Ungar Publishing Company, 1966. 4
vols. LC RH Ref Pr83.M73 1966
Nineteenth Century Literary Criticism.
Detroit: Gale Research Company, 1981- . LC RH Ref PN761.N5
Reiman, Donald H. The Romantics Reviewed:
Contemporary Reviews of British Romantic Writers. New York: Garland Publishers.
1972. 3 vols. RH Ref PR590.R43
Twentieth Century Literary Criticism.
Detroit: Gale Research Company, 1978- . LC RH Ref PN94.T88
DRAMA
(See also the Research Guide forTheatre)
Bordman, Gerald Martin. The Oxford
Companion to American Theatre. 2nd edition. Oxford; New York,
Oxford University Press, 1992. LC RH Ref PN2220.B6 1992
The Cambridge Guide to Theatre.
London; New York: Cambridge University Press, 1995. LC RH Ref PN2035. C35
1995
>Contemporary Dramatists. 5th
ed. Detroit: St. James, 1993. LC RH Ref PN1861.C63 1993
Critical Survey of Drama: English
Language Series. Englewood Cliffs, NJ: Salem Press, 1985. 6 vols. RH Ref
PR625.C74 1985.
Eddleman, Floyd Eugene. American Drama
Criticism: Interpretations,1890-1977. 2nd edition. Hamden,
CT: Shoe String Press, 1979. LC RH Ref PS332.A2 E3
McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Drama:
An International Reference Work in 5 Volumes. New York: McGraw-Hill, 1984.
LC RH Ref PN1625.M3 1984
The World Encyclopedia of Contemporary
Theatre. London; New York: Routledge, 1995. LC RH Ref PN1861.W67 1995
EXPLICATION
Beene, Lynn. Guide to British Prose
Fiction Explication: Nineteenth and Twentieth Centuries. New York: G.
K. Hall 1997. RH Ref PR861.B38 1997
The English Novel, 1578-1956: A Checklist
of Twentieth Century Criticism. Denver: A. Swallow, 1959. LC Ref PR821.A2
B4
The Explicator Cyclopedia. Chicago:
Quadrangle Books, 1966-68. 3 vols. LC RH Ref PR403.E9
Palmer, Helen H. English Novel Explication:
Criticisms to 1972. Hamden, CT: Shoe String Press, 1973. LC RH Ref PR821.A2
P3
Ruppert, James. Guide to American
Poetry Explication. Boston, MA: G. K. Hall, 1989. 2 vols. LC RH Ref PS303.A1
R86 1989
FICTION
Adelman, Irving. The Contemporary
Novel: A Checklist of Critical Literature on the English Language Novel since
1945. Lanham, MD: Scarecrow Press,1997. RH Ref PS371.A1 A4 1997.
Beacham's Encyclopedia of Popular
Fiction. Osprey, FL: Beacham Publishing, 1996. 11 vols. LC RH Ref PN56.P55
B43 1996.
Critical Survey of Long Fiction: English
Language Series. Englewood Cliffs, NJ: Salem Press, 1983. 8 vols. RH
Ref PR821.C7 1983.
Critical Survey of Short Fiction.
Pasadena, CA: Salem Press, 1993. 7 vols. LC RH Ref PN3321.C7 1993
Kemp Sandra. Edwardian Fiction: An
Oxford Companion. Oxford; New York: Oxford University Press, 1997. RH
Ref PR881.K39 1997
Reference Guide to Short Fiction.
Detroit: St. James Press, 1994. LC RH Ref PN3373.R36 1994
Short Story Index. New York: H.
W. Wilson, 1923- . LC RH Ref PN3310.C6
Simkin, John E. The Whole Story: 3000
years of Sequels and Sequences. Port Melbourne, Austrailia: Thorpe, 1996.
RH Ref PN3448.A17 1996
Sutherland, John. The Stanford Companion
to Victorian Fiction. Stanford, CA: Stanford University Press, 1989.
LC RH Ref PR771.S8 1989
FICTIONAL CHARACTERS
Dictionary of American Literary Characters.
New York: Facts on File, 1990. LC RH Ref PS374.C43
D5 1990
Dictionary of British Literary Characters:
Twentieth Century Novels. New York: Facts on File, 1994. LC RH Ref PR830.C47
D52 1994
Freeman, William. Dictionary of Fictional
Characters. London: J. M. Dent, 1963. LC RH RefPR19.F74
LITERARY HISTORY
The Cambridge History of American
Literature. Cambridge; New York: Cambridge University Press, 1994- .
LC RH RefS88.C3 1994.
The Cambridge History of English
Literature. New York; London: Cambridge University
Press, 1933. 15 vols. RH Ref PR83.C22
Literary History of the United States.
New York: Macmillan, 1948. 3 vols. LC RH Ref PS88.L5
LANGUAGE AND LINGUISTICS
Craigie, William A. A Dictionary of
American English on Historical Principles. London: Oxford, 1960. 4 vols.
LC RH Ref PE2835.C7
The Encyclopedia of Language and Linguistics.
Oxford; New York: Pergamon Press, 1994. 10 vols. LC RH Ref P29.E48 1994
International Encyclopedia of Linguitics.
New York: Oxford University Press, 1992. 4 vols. LC RH Ref P29. I58 1992
McArthur, Tom. The Oxford Companion
to the English Language. Oxford; New York: Oxford University Press, 1992.
LC RH Ref PE31.M38 1992
Middle English Dictionary. Ann
Arbor: University of Michigan, 1952- . LC RH Ref PE679.M54
The Oxford English Dictionary.
2nd edition. OxFord; New York: Oxford University Press, 1989. 20
vols. LC RH Ref PE1625.M713 1989
Stratmann, Francis Henry. A Dictionary
of the Old English Language: Compiled from the Writings of the XII, XIII,
XIV, and XV Centuries. 3rd edition. Norwood, PA: Norwood Editions,
1976. RH Ref PE679.S7 1978
POETRY
Critical Survey of Poetry: English
Language Series. Pasadena, CA: Salem Press, 1992. LC RH Ref PR502.C85
1992
Facts on File Companion to American Poetry.
2vols. Facts on File, 2008. RH Ref PS 323.5 .F33 2008
Facts on File Companion to World
Poetry:
1900 to Present. Facts on File, 2008. RH Ref PN 1271 .A73 2008
Index of American Periodical Verse.
Metuchen, NJ: Scarecrow Press, 1971- . PRH Ref PS325.I52
Jackson-Laufer, Guide M. Encyclopedia
of Traditional Epics. Santa Barbara: ABC-CLIO, 1994. LC
RH Ref PN56.E65 J32 1994
New Princeton Encyclopedia of Poetry
and Poetics. Rev. ed. Princeton: Princeton University Press,
1993. LC RH Ref PN1021.P74 1993
Oxford Companion to Twentieth Century
Poetry in English. Oxford; New York: Oxford University Press, 19994.
RH LC Ref PR601.O9 1994
Poetry Criticism: Excerpts from criticism
of the Works of the Most Significant and Widely Studied Poets of World Literature.
3 vols. Detroit: Gale, 1991. LC Ref PN1111.P64 1991
Poetry Index Annual. Great Neck,
NY: Granger Book Company, 1982- . RH LC Ref P1022.G73
QUOTATIONS
Bartlett, John. Familiar Quotations:
A Collection of Passages, Phrases, and Proverbs Traced to Their Sources in
Ancient and Modern Literature. 16th edition. Boston, Little,
Brown, 1992. LC RH Ref PN6081. B27 1992
The Macmillan Book of Proverbs, Maxims
and Famous Phrases. New York: Macmillan, 1987. RH Ref PN6405.H66 1987
Random House Webster's Quotationary.
New York: Random House, 1999. LC RH PN6081.R29 1999
SHAKESPEARE
Bartlett, John. A Complete Concordance
or Verbal Index to the Words, Phrases, and Passages in the Dramatic Works
of Shakespeare. New York: St. Martin's Press, 1984. LC RH Ref PR2892.B34
1984
Clark, Sandra. The Penguin Shakespeare
dictionary. London; New York: Penguin, 1999. RH Ref PR2892 .P46 1999
Ebisch, Walther. A Shakespeare Bibliography.
Oxford: Clarendon Press, 1931. LC RH Ref PR2749.E3
Shakespeare Index: An Annotaed Bibliography
of Critical Articles on the Plays, 1959-1983. Millwood, NY: Kraus International
Publications, 1992. 2 vols. LC RH Ref PR2894. A1 S24 1992
Shakespeare Lexicon: A Complete Dictionary
of All the English Words, Phrases and Constructions in the Works of the
Poet. 3rd edition. New York: B. Blom, 1968.
2 vols. LC RH Ref PR2892.S4 1968
Shakespearean Criticism: Excerpts
from the Criticisms of William Shakespeare's Plays and Poetry from the First
Published Appraisals to Current Evaluations. Detroit: Gale Research
Company. 1984. RH Ref PR2965.S43
Stevenson, Burton Egbert. The Home
Book of Shakespeare Quotations. New York: Scribner, 1937. RH Ref PR2892.
S63 1937
INTERNET SITES
AMERICAN VERSE PROJECT
A full-text archive of pre-1920 American poetry produced by the University
of Michigan and UM Press. Provides easy-to-use boolean and proximity search
options.
Asian American Drama
Access more than 250 plays by over 40 authors.
BARTLEBY.COM
Provides encyclopedias, dictionaries, books of quotations, full text works
of fiction and non-fiction and the authoritative Oxford edition of Shakespeare's
complete works.
BEATRICE
An electronic magazine featuring interviews with authors from 1996 on.
THE BLUE MOON REVIEW
Contains interviews, fiction, poetry and creative nonfiction.
BRITISH WOMEN ROMANTIC
POETS, 1789-1832
Texts of poetry by British and Irish women writers.
CANADIAN LITERATURE ARCHIVE
A quarterly journal published by the University of British Columbia. Articles
are not full-text, but site includes book reviews.
NATIONAL LIBRARY
OF CANADA - CANADIAN LITERATURE RESEARCH SERVICE
A primary site for those researching Canadian literature. Provides many
links to Canadian literature internet sites.
CHAUCER: AN ANNOTATED GUIDE TO ONLINE
RESOURCES
Primary texts, critical studies, graphics, audio readings, etc.
THE COMPLETE WORKS
OF WILLIAM SHAKESPEARE
Searchable full text of Shakespeare's works.
DIME NOVELS
AND PENNY DREADFULS
Full texts and images of Stanford Univeristy Library's collection of 19th
Century dime novels and story papers
THE ELECTRONIC BEOWULF
Digital images of the Beowulf manuscript, other related manuscripts and
printed texts.
ELECTRONIC POETRY CENTER
Complete guide to poetry on the Web
THE ELECTRONIC TEXT CENTER
Thousands of electronic texts in literature and the humanities.
ENGLISHCLUB.COM
Essential resource for both learners and teachers of English as a second
language.
English the Easy Way
A guide to English Grammar.
ESERVER
Over 10,000 humanities texts.
Geoffrey Chaucer
Harvard's Chauce site remains an outstanding tool for students and researchers.
THE GOTHIC:
MATERIALS FOR STUDY
A course reader for an undergraduate course on the Gothic - this site is
"a model of what Internet scholarship should be: well-organized, learned and
accessible to a wide range of readers".
HISTORY
OF THE ENGLISH LANGUAGE
Maintained by Don Mosser, University of Vermont, this is a comprehensive
site for chronologically ordered material on the history of the English language.
THE JOHNS HOPKINS GUIDE TO LITERARY
THEORY AND CRITICISM
An electronic version of the printed book with links to web sites.
Latino literature: poetry, drama and fiction
A full text database of latino plays, poetry and fiction.
LITERARY PRIZES,
AWARDS, ETC.
Nobels, Pulitzers, and lots more.
LITERARY LOCALES
Visit over 100 places that figure in the lives of famous authors
and their works
LITERARY RESOURCES ON
THE NET
Collection of links to literary resources on the Net including electronic
texts.
LITLINE
Provides links to literary journals, small presses and non-profit organizations.
Has a search engine.
LUMINARIUM
A beautifully illustrated site which provides period paintings and music
to illustrate the major writers in medieval, renaissance and seventeenth-century
english literature. Highly recommended.
MODERN LANGUAGE
ASSOCIATION LANGUAGE MAP
Based on the 2000 census, provides a color-coded map of languages
spoken in the U.S. by county or zip code.
NEBRASKA WRITERS
AND BEYOND
A list of bibliographies and directories of writers online.
NORTHWEST PASSAGES - CANADIAN LITERATURE
ONLINE
A comprehensive list of links to Canadian literature web sites.
ON LINE BOOKS PAGE
Citations to new books and news about literary matters.
AN OUTLINE OF
AMERICAN LITERATURE
An overview of the entire span of American literature.
OZLIT - AUTHORS LIST
A valuable list for those interested in Australian literature.
PAL: PERSPECTIVES
IN AMERICAN LITERATURE
A textbook on Twentieth Century American literature.
THE
PLAYWRITING SEMINARS
Richard Toscan, of Virginia Commonwealth University, provides practical
guidance to writing plays for the theater.
POSTCOLONIAL AND POSTIMPERIAL LITERATURE
A useful guide from Brown university to postcolonial and postimperial literature
in English.
POST WWII AMERICAN
LITERATURE AND CULTURE DATABASE: GENRES
Includes sections on bibliographies, post-modernism, science fiction, punk
and hardcore and other genres.
PROJECT BARTLEBY, COLUMBIA
UNIVERSITY
Links to hundreds of online texts in American and English Literature.
PROJECT GUTENBERG
The full texts of thousands of famous books.
REPRESENTATIVE
POETRY ONLINE
Full text of the works of hundreds of poets.
ROMANTIC CHRONOLOGY
History of the Romantic period with full texts and criticism.
ROMANTIC
CIRCLES
Information and discussion about the English Romantic writers.
SALON
MAGAZINE
Interviews with such authors as Salmon Rushdie.
Science fiction and fantasy
research database
More than 73,000 historical and critical citations.
SONNET
CENTRAL
An archive of English language sonnets.
Teams Middle
English texts
The most important free website for Middle English Literature.
VICTORIAN STUDIES ON THE
WEB
A powerful site for researchers on all aspects of British Victorian studies.
THE WALT WHITMAN HYPERTEXT
ARCHIVE
Information on Whitman's life, works and critical reception.
P. Patten, Fordham University Libraries,
|