GOVERNMENT AND NON-GOVERNMENT LINKS BY SUBJECT
Arts and Culture
International Council
on Monuments and Sites (ICOMOS) operates worldwide, providing
a forum for the exchange of information about the conservation of architecture.
International Centre
for the Study of the Preservation and Restoration of Cultural Property
(ICCROM) is a worldwide organization that aids the restoration,
maintenance, and protection of historical artifacts and artwork.
International
Center of Films for Children and Young People -- Centre Internationale
des Films pour les Enfants et pour les Jeunes (CIFEJ) promotes
quality media for young people. It consists of media and childrens'
groups and people in media.
International
Music Centre (IMZ) acts as a non-profit information network
for music, dance, and media professionals. It also organizes
workshops, screenings, and competitions for music and dance productions.
International
Theatre Institute (ITI) stimulates knowledge of the performing
arts and promotes cooperation among people in theater. It also
takes on social issues such as racism.
Commodities and Agriculture
International Service
for National Agricultural Research (ISNAR) provides access to
agricultural information to developing countries and encourages research
and investment in the field.
World Food Programme (WFP)
The primary task of the WFP is the distribution of food as aid throughout
the world.
Food and Agriculture Organization
of the UN (FAO) works with
governments to promote agriculture, food distribution and nutrition.
It tries to ease poverty and hunger in developing nations and encourages
cooperation in the world food market.
International
Fund for Agricultural Development (IFAD)
A response to the food crises of the 1970s, IFAD was established to finance
projects for food production in developing countries as a means to combat
hunger and poverty there.
International
Crops Research Institute for the Semi-Arid Tropics (ICRISAT)
researches ways to increase agricultural productivity in semi-arid climates
in an effort to improve nutrition and well-being in those regions.
Global Crop Protection
Federation (GCPF) educates its members and the public about
crop protection, its progress, and its role in food security. It
promotes the the use of safe, effective pesticides, and puts forth
the views of the industry.
International Rice
Research Institute (IRRI) encourages the improvement of rice
production through technology and genetics. Rice is a staple crop
in Africa, Latin America, and especially Asia.
International Dairy
Federations (FIL-IDF) represents the interests of the diary
industry and promotes cooperation, research, and standards in the milk
industry.
World
Gold Council works to streamline gold trade, regulation,
distribution, and promotion. It is a non-profit organization of gold
producers worldwide.
Organization of the Petroleum
Exporting Countries (OPEC) unites 11 major petroleum suppliers
and regulates the oil production of its members. It is also concerned
about oil prices and taxation, and about oil's impact on the environment.
Economics and Finance
International
Fiscal Association (IFA) is a non-governmental organization
with thousands of members in 85 countries. It concerns itself particularly
with international fiscal law and international taxation.
International
Organization of Securities Commissions (IOSCO) consists
of associations dedicated to establishing an efficient, fair, and stable
market, exchanging information and experiences, and promoting a high level
of regulation of the market.
Comite Europeen des
Assurances (CEA) is a federation of the national insurers of
29 European countries. It represents insurers' views in economic
debates.
European Private Equity
and Venture Capital Association (EVCA) is a large network of
contacts in the European economic sector. It lobbies for the asset
class throughout the world, provides information about investment and capital.
It has members in over 30 countries.
International
Union for Housing Finance is a non-profit organization that
works to make housing credit more affordable worldwide. It also distributes
information about housing finance.
International Federation
for Housing and Planning (IFHP) stresses communication in the
field of planning and housing as a way of improving the housing industry.
International Bank
for Reconstruction and Development (IBRD) (World Bank)
provides economic assistance to more than 100 countries. It also
invests in their economic development by establishing education and health
facilities.
International Finance Corporation
(IFC) strives to promote
economic development in developing countries through the growth of efficient
markets.
Multilateral Investment
Guarantee Agency (MIGA) encourages
the flow of foreign direct investment in its developing nation members
for economic development. It guarantees the investments against the
risks of currency transfer and political unrest.
International Monetary Fund
(IMF) promotes international
monetary cooperation and financial stability, as well as the growth of
international trade. It assists its 182 members through financial
advice and through loans.
Latin American
Economic System promotes the consultation of strategies
and economic policies of Latin America.
Education
European Foundation for
Management Development (EFMD) promotes quality management education
and provides a forum for the distribution of relevant information about
management. It consists of companies, training agencies, and expert
individuals.
International Council
for Adult Education (ICAE) consists of over 100 organizations
with the common goal of strengthening adult education.
European Association
for the Education of Adults (EAEA) coordinates about 140 organizations
that promote adult education in Europe.
International Council for
Open and Distance Education (ICDE) encourages flexible and non-traditional
education throughout the world.
Education International
(EI) is a worldwide organization with 23 million members.
It represents teachers and the the education labor sector worldwide, defends
their rights, and gives voice to their views.
International Federation
of University Women (IFUW) unites 180,000 female college graduates.
It works to improve the status, treatment, and education of females worldwide.
It also promotes human rights, justice and peace.
International Reading
Association has 90,000 members in about 100 countries, including
teachers, psychologists, and librarians. It strives to improve reading
instruction and learning.
Environment
Friends of the
Earth International (FoEI) is an association of organizations
that work to protect the environment, promote public health, democracy
and justice, and aid development in underdeveloped countries. There
are regional members of the FoE that focus on specific areas.
Greenpeace International
is a unique organization which works non-violently toward better conditions
for the world and its people.
UN Environment Programme (UNEP)
encourages nations to care for the environment and ensure the quality of
life of future generations. It also provides a medium for the many separate
environmental associations to join efforts in their cause.
World Wide Fund for Nature
(WWF) is the world's largest independent conservation organization.
It focuses on water, resource, and animal species conservation.
World Conservation Union
(IUCN) works with governments, agencies, and experts for the
cause of natural conservation.
International Council on
Metals and the Environment (ICME) focuses on metals and the
environmental and health aspects and risks of mining, production and use
of metals.
Government and Politics
International
Political Science Association (IPSA) promotes the study of political
science and establishes a network of political scientists. It also
aids exchange of information about political science, conducts research
and publishes books and journals.
International Studies Association
(ISA) is a widely known scholarly association. It aids
research and education about international affairs.
International Peace
Academy (IPA) facilitates peaceful conflict resolution and teaches
military, diplomatic, and political personnel the skills of making and
keeping peace.
UN Peace-Keeping
Operations The "blue
helmets" of the UN Peacekeepers apply military discipline to attempt to
restore and maintain peace in hostile areas. They also provide political
and humanitarian aid and arrange negotiations between opposing parties.
North Atlantic Assembly
links parliaments and legislators in Europe, the United States, and Russia
and aids discussions of political and economic matters. It also meets
with NATO and various experts to discuss military and security issues.
Embassy Worldcontains
links to every embassy in every country. It also gives a wealth of
information about each country, and gives contact information for embassies,
consulates, and trade missions.
Labor
International Labour Organization
(ILO) Created in 1919,
the Organization works to adopt international standards which would protect
labor from injustice and undue hardship, as well as more universal civil
rights protection.
International Federation
of Chemical, Energy, Mine and General Worker's Unions (ICEM)
aims to unite workers in many industries worldwide, campaigns for high
safety and health standards, and provides information about collective
bargaining and other expertise. It strives to counterbalance the
massive strength of multinational corporations.
International Federation
of Commercial, Clerical, Professional and Technical Employees (FIET)
works to unionize the private service sector in strong unions. It
provides a forum for comparison of working conditions and bargaining strategies.
Education International
(EI) is a worldwide organization with 23 million members.
It represents teachers and the the education labor sector worldwide, defends
their rights, and gives voice to their views.
International Federation
of Social Workers (IFSW) promotes the social work profession,
represent its opinions in social policy discussions, and defend its rights.
International Association
of Medical Lab Technologists (IAMLT) consists of numerous organizations
and groups of medical lab technologists. It provides a forum for
discussion of the problems of the field, and it encourages raising standards
for training of lab technicians.
Law
International
Criminal Police Organization (INTERPOL) coordinates international
police cooperation among its member states. It collects data on individuals
and objects of international police interest, and encourages its members
to adopt a uniform approach to combating crime.
International Development
Law Institute (IDLI) works to enhance the legal sector in developing
countries as a way of improving their economies and governments.
It also aims to reform economic, trade, environmental, and human rights
laws in the countries.
Law Association
for Asia and the Pacific (LAWASIA) unites lawyers, judges, and
corporations that have an interest in the Asia-Pacific region and enables
them to communicate. It promotes law and legal education, justice,
and human rights.
World
Jurist Association (WJA) consists of judges, lawyers, and others
in law. It strives to further international law influence and effectiveness
and encourages the use of law, not force, to solve global problems.
Medicine, Health, and Science
World Health Organization
(WHO) is
working to help all the world's people attain and maintain the highest
possible level of health. It concerns itself with disease, nutrition,
housing and working conditions, hygiene, and other prevention and treatment
measures.
International Committee
of the Red Cross (ICRC) is an independent organization that
aids and safeguards the victims of wars and other crises. It also
acts as an impartial intermediary to resolve conflicts.
International Federation
of Red Cross and Red Crescent Societies pursues various humanitarian
causes including emergency care, blood donation, nutrition, sanitation,
disaster relief, drug abuse and disease prevention, and refugee care.
It also provides information and training on health and welfare issues.
World Federation
of Public Health Associations (WFPHA) promotes general health
by improving public health practice. It brings together health professionals
and educators and enables communication and collaboration among them.
International
Council for Scientific and Technical Information (ICSTI) specializes
in technical information flow in all areas of business, industry,
education, and government. It strives to develop effective and efficient
methods of information access.
International Union Against
Cancer (IUCC) is an association of organizations around the
world. It is devoted to the global fight against cancer, including
research, treatment, diagnosis, and prevention.
International Diabetes Federation
(IDF) consists of associations committed to helping people with
diabetes.
International Federation
for Medical and Biological Engineering consists of groups that
share an interest in medical and biological engineering. It encourages
research, education, and collaboration in bio-engineering.
International Union
for Geodesy and Geophysics (IUGG) promotes scientific research
of the Earth, including studies of its fields and atmospheres, its celestial
properties, its relationship to other bodies, its internal structure and
external rock and volcanic formations.
International Union of
Geological Sciences (IUGS) is a large organization that promotes
geological study and information exchange throughout the world and encourages
interest and education in geology.
Association of European
Atomic Forums (FORATOM) represents the views of many electric
utilities and research centers. It promotes the peaceful use of nuclear
energy and voices its views in the European Union's discussions.
European Organization for
Nuclear Research (CERN) is a large scientific laboratory which
is the center of a vast worldwide community of labs. It specializes
in high-energy physics and is credited with the invention of the World
Wide Web.
International
Union of Food Science and Technology (IUFoST) consists of food
scientists and technologists who aid food production, preservation, and
distribution.
Social Sciences and Religion
International Sociological
Association (ISA) represents sociologists worldwide, regardless
of ideology. It establishes a community of sociologists, encourages
the exchange of information, and promotes sociological research.
International Fellowship
of Reconciliation (IFOR) embraces non-violence even in the face
of conflict. It encourages democracy, respect for human beings and
acceptance of the differences among them.
Caux Conference Center and
Moral Rearmament is dedicated to changing the views and morals
of society. It promotes ethics, hope, altruism, acceptance, responsibility,
and care within individuals and in their relationships.
Socialist
International unites organizations in their goal of establishing
democratic socialism and coordinates their activities toward that goal.
Salvation Army,
espoused by the Christian Church, provides a wide range of humanitarian
and educational social services. Its mission is also to spread the
gospel and to recruit disciples.
World Association
for Christian Communication (WACC) unites people from over 100
countries to facilitate communication that is free of censorship and that
affirms identity and dignity.
Friends World Committee
for Consultation promotes interaction among Quakers and knowledge
about them. The Friends interact to find ways of perceiving God's
word more clearly and exchange other aspects of their lives.
Social Welfare and Human Rights
Office
of the UN High Commissioner for Human Rights has as its
goal the promotion and preservation of dignity inherent in all persons.
It hopes to establish a global alliance to uphold human rights
Amnesty International
campaigns against human rights abuses and educated the public about them.
It is non-partisan and it acts against mistreatment and torture of political
prisoners, against the death penalty, political killings, and against violations
of womens' civil rights .
International Federation
of Human Rights Leagues (FIDH) encourages international solidarity
and fights for human rights throughout the world. It promotes personal
choice, and freedom of assembly and of self-expression.
Salvation Army,
espoused by the Christian Church, provides a wide range of humanitarian
and educational social services. Its mission is also to spread the
gospel and to recruit disciples.
Population Councilis
a research organization that aims to improve the well-being of current
and future generations through family planning and research of population
trends and policies.
International Federation
of Social Workers promotes social work as a profession and allows
communication among social workers around the world. It also takes
part in forming social policies and protecting the human rights and ethics
of social workers.
Moral Rearmament
is dedicated to changing the views and morals of society. It promotes
ethics, hope, altruism, acceptance, responsibility, and care within individuals
and in their relationships.
Lions Clubs International
is a large non-political organization that encourages friendship, integrity,
understanding, community improvement, good citizenship and good government..
Sports, Recreation, and Tourism
International Association
of Football (FIFE) is dedicated to soccer -- the most popular
sport in the world. FIFA upholds soccer's reputation, supervises
competitions, and establishes uniform rules.
International Basketball
Federation (FIBA) promotes basketball and is concerned with
its coaching, training, and championships.
International Amateur Swimming
Federation (FINA) involves itself with swimming and water sports
and their regulations and facilities.
International
Judo Federation (IJF) is a promoter of the Japanese sport of
judo as well as an official governing body of judo worldwide. It
also provides information about the sport.
World
Association of Travel Agencies (WATA) is a network of selected
travel agencies worldwide who communicate and cooperate. It is committed
to ethical, professional standards, and it distributes information and
advice about travel.
Alliance Internationale
de Tourisme (AIT) is a union of organizations related to tourism.
It encourages safe travel, and aids and advises its members about tourism
matters.
Tourism Council of the
South Pacific provides information about the South Pacific
Islands as travel destinations. It gives information about the people,
history, nature, and other attractions of each of the nations.
Technology and Communications
International
Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA)
is a forum for international cooperation in nuclear science and technology.
International Union for
Electricity Applications (UIE) is concerned with electricity,
and its efficient and safe applications.
World Association of Industrial
and Technological Research Organizations (WAITRO) promotes technological
research and its implementation in industry. It gathers technological
information and encourages countries' collaboration in research.
International Electrotechnical
Commission (IEC) promotes electrotechnologies including electronics,
telecommunications, and magnetics. It also involves itself
with the production and distribution of energy, and it strives to make
efficient technology safe for people and the environment.
International Gas Union
(IOU) is an organization of gas industries worldwide.
It promotes the production, distribution, utilization, and progress of
the gas industry and also provides information about gas.
International Information
Management Congress (IMC) focuses on documents and their exchange,
including technologies for their making, editing, sending, and retrieval.
Media and Entertainment
International (EMI) concerns itself with mass media and the
arts and acts as a forum for discussion of media interests. It provides
information about media matters such as technological changes, copyrights,
censorship, advertising, and broadcasting employees' concerns.
International Telecommunication
Union (TI) is a forum for
governments and the public sector to coordinate global telecommunications
systems.
World Association
for Christian Communication (WACC) unites people from over 100
countries to facilitate communication that is free of censorship and that
affirms identity and dignity.
Asia-Pacific Broadcasting
Union (ABU) is an association of television and radio networks
in the Asia-Pacific area.
Reporters
Sans Frontiers (RSV) promotes freedom of the press around the
world and vehemently fights against censorship and oppression of journalists.
RSV protects journalists, lobbies to free journalists imprisoned for their
opinions, and publicizes violations of press freedom.
International Federation
of Journalists (IF) defends international press freedom, social
justice, and human rights. It unites and supports journalists, and it fights
against discrimination, propaganda, censorship, and corruption.
Universal Postal Union (UP)
leads the revitalization of the world postal system that improves all people's
communication.
European Organization
for the Exploitation of Meteorological Satellites (EUMESTAT)
is responsible for launching and operating meteorological satellites.
It stresses the role of satellites in weather and climate forecasting.
International Association
for Bridge and Structural Engineering (AEROBES) involves itself
in all aspects of structural engineering and architecture including design,
construction, maintenance, and demolition of buildings and bridges.
International Organization
for Standardization (ISO) encourages standardization -- universally
recognized rules, measures, and definitions. Standardization facilitates
activity and exchange of information in scientific, economic, and industrial
spheres.
Trade, Industry, and Transport
World Trade Centers Association
(WATCH) consists of world trade centers in over 100 countries.
Its purpose is to facilitate international trade by providing information
and resources to importers, exporters, businesses and government agencies.
World Trade Organization
(TWO) is involved with worldwide rules of trade among nations.
It establishes fair and practical policies, promotes free trade, and settles
trading disputes.
International Confederation
of Free Trade Union (IFC) represents 124 million trade union
members and promotes for humane and ethical labor standards around the
world. It campaigns for workers' rights, equality, womens' rights,
and against child labor.
North American Free Trade
Agreement (NIFTIER) works to eliminate trade barriers among
North American nations, to encourage investment in the nations, and to
promote free market competition.
International Co-Operative
Alliance (CIA) is a vast association of over 200 organizations.
It represents co-operatives in housing, banking, agriculture, and other
industries.
International Advertising
Association (IAA) promotes advertising as a driving force behind
market economies. It provides information about advertising and gives
a forum to marketing issues and debates.
World Federation
of Advertisers (WWF) is concerned with advertising, marketing,
and communications. It expresses the views of advertisers, promotes
free trade, and assists its members.
Association of European
Chambers of Commerce and Industry is a broad organization which
represents over 14 million businesses in Europe and Israel. It advises
governments on national and local levels, and it services and informs businesses
of all sectors.
European Society for Opinion
and Marketing Research (ISOMER) represents market researchers
and advertisers form all over the world, and aims to further understanding
and application of market research.
Asian Productivity
Organization is a non-profit organization that works to promote
economic development and increased productivity in the AsiaPacific region.
International Air Transport
Association (IAA) represents and serves the air industry.
It establishes standards that facilitate air travel and voices the industry's
opinion in relevant debates.
International Civil Aviation
Organization (ICAO)
focuses on improving international air travel.
European Organization
for the Safety of Air Navigation (EUROCONTROL) promotes safe
and efficient air travel in Europe. It provides training and advice
for its members, and encourages quality air service.
European Space Agency (SEA)
promotes the exploration of space, including Earth observation, telecommunications,
research and development of new technologies, manned fights, gravity research,
and satellites.
Youth
United Nations Children's
Fund (UNIQUE) concerns itself with the protection of children around the
world. Promotes international standards for the ethical treatment of youngsters.
Responds in emergency situations and offers humanitarian services to the relief of children's suffering.
World Alliance of Young
Men's Christian Association (YMCA), present in 120 countries,
is an organization of young men and women who share a goal of justice,
integrity, Christian love, and peace. Addresses social issues
such as racism and education and provides recreational services.
David Vassar, Reference Librarian
Fordham University at Lincoln Center |