|
This guide includes a selection of basic materials for doing research in History located either in the library Reference
Room and identified by call number or accessible on the Internet by the following links. It is not intended to be a comprehensive
list of sources, but rather to be a starting place. There are many specialized historical dictionaries,
atlases and encyclopedias in the Reference Room dealing with specific locations, time periods and events.
RESEARCH DATABASES
American History
America:
History and Life - database includes abstracts of articles from over 2400 journals and citations for book reviews and
dissertations since 1964 relating to the full range of U.S. and Canadian history and culture.
American National Biography - database
includes the lives of over 18,000 deceased Americans. Click on "Subscribers Enter Here" to access.
Black Studies on Disk - database includes
two components: the Index to Black Periodicals indexing nearly 60 scholarly
and popular journals from 1988 to 2003 and the catalog of the Schomburg Center
for Research in Black Culture, a research unit of the New York Public Library
focusing on information on people of African descent worldwide in the arts,
humanities, and social sciences.
CQ Historic Documents Full text of thousands of U.S. documents since 1972, including presidential speeches, treaties, Supreme Court decisions and various government reports.
Dictionary
of American History. (e-book) 3rd. ed. NY: Scribners,
2003. (Gale Virtual Reference Library)
Early American Newspapers, 1690-1876 Searchable full text of hundreds of newspapers.
Early American Imprints, 1639-1800 Full texts of all the books published in America from 1639 until 1800.
Historical Statistics of the United States The standard source for the quantitative facts of American History.
Lexis-Nexis History Universe - database contains full text of primary sources relating to African American history, American women's history and U.S. Presidential history.
World History (including America)
Biography Reference Bank Full text of biographies with portraits and index to biographical articles in journals and books.
Historical
Abstracts - database indexes over
2100 journals published since 1954 covering the history of the world
from
1450 to the present excluding U.S. and Canadian history.
History
E-Book Project - Full text of nearly 1,000 scholarly books in
history.
Iter -
database indexes more than 280 journals pertaining to the Renaissance
(1300-1700)
and the Middle Ages (400-1500).
Military and Government Collection Full text for over 320 military journals and general interest magazines.
The National Archives of England, Wales, and the United Kingdom Catalog of over 9 million documents. Some historic documents are in full text. Copies of documents may be ordered using a credit card.
Original
Sources - database contains full text of primary sources and other documents
relating
to world and American history, politics, social sciences and other subjects.
Royal Historical Society Bibliography A comprehensive guide to books and articles about Britain, Ireland and the British overseas.
World
History Collection - database
contains
full text of over 200 historical journals.
Credo Reference - Full text of over of over 20 reference books in history.
AMERICAN HISTORY
Atlases, Dictionaries and
Encyclopedias
American Immigrant Cultures:
Builders of a Nation. NY:
Simon & Schuster Macmillan, 1997. (RH LC) Ref
E184.A1.A55
1997
American Indians. Pasadena,
CA: Salem
Press,
1995. (RH LC) Ref E76.2.A45 1995
The American Revolution,
1775-1783: An
Encyclopedia.
NY:
Garland, 1993. (RH LC) Ref E208.A59 1993
The
American Years. 2nd ed. NY: Scribners, 2003. (RH LC)
Ref E174.5 .G753 2003
Beacham's Encyclopedia of
Social Change: America in the Twentieth Century. Osprey, FL:
Beacham Pub. Corp., 2001. (RH) Ref HN59.2.B43 2001
Brune, Lester. Chronological History of U.S. Foreign
Relations. 2nd. ed. NY: Routledge, 2003. (RH) Ref
E183.7.B745 2003
The Cambridge History of the
Native Peoples of the Americas.
Cambridge: Cambridge U. Press, 1996 (RH LC) Ref E77.N62 1996
Carruth, Gorton. The
Encyclopedia of
American
Facts and Dates. 8th ed. NY: Harper & Row, 1987. (RH
MM) Ref E174.5.C3 1987 (LC) E174.5.C3 1987
Cook, Chris. The Longman
Handbook of Modern American
History,
1763-1996. NY: Longman, 1998. (RH) Ref E174.C66 1998
(LC) E174.C66 1998
Dictionary of American History.
3rd
ed.
NY: Thomson Learning, 2003. (RH LC MM) Ref E174.D52 2003
Dictionary
of American History. (e-book) 3rd. ed. NY: Scribners,
2003. (Gale Virtual Reference Library)
Encyclopedia Latina: History, Culture & Society in the United States. Danbury, CT: Grolier, 2005. (LC, RH) Ref E184.S75 E587 2005
Encyclopedia of
African-American Culture
and
History. Detroit: Macmillan, 2006. (RH) Ref E185.E54 2006
Encyclopedia of American
Cultural and Intellectual History.
NY: Scribner, 2001. (RH LC MM) Ref E169.1.E58 2001.
Encyclopedia of American Historical Documents. NY: Facts on File, 2004. (RH) Ref E173.E546 2004
Encyclopedia of American
History. 7th ed. NY: HarperCollins, c1996. (RH) RefDesk E174.5.E52 1996 (MM) Ref
E174.5.E52 1996
Encyclopedia of American
History. NY: Facts on File, 2003. (RH LC) Ref E174.E53
2003
Encyclopedia of American Social
History.
NY: Scribner, c1993. (RH LC MM) Ref HN57.E58 1993
Encyclopedia of the American
Civil War: A Political, Social and
Military
History. Santa Barbara: ABC-CLIO, 2000. (RH) Ref
E468.E53
2000
Encyclopedia of the American
Constitution.
2nd ed. NY:
Macmillan, 2000.. (RH LC MM) Ref JK146.E54 2000
Encyclopedia of the American
Left. 2nd ed. NY: Oxford U.
Press,
1998. (RH LC) Ref HX86.E58 1998
Encyclopedia of the American
Presidency. NY:
Simon & Schuster, c1994. (RH LC) Ref JK511.E53 1994
Encyclopedia of the North
American
Colonies.
NY:
Scribner, 1993. (RH LC) Ref E45.E53 1993
Encyclopedia of the United
States in the Nineteenth Century.
NY: Scribners, 2001. (RH LC MM) Ref E169.1.E6 2001
Encyclopedia of the United
States in the Twentieth Century.
NY:
Scribners, 1996. (RH LC) Ref E740.7.E53 1996
Encyclopedia of U.S. Foreign
Relations. NY: Oxford U. Press,
1997. (RH LC) Ref E183.7.E59 1997
The Gale Encyclopedia of Native
American Tribes. Detroit:
Gale,
1998. (RH) Ref E77.G15 1998
Marley, David. Wars of
the Americas: A Chronology of Armed
Conflict in the New World, 1492 to the Present. Santa Barbara:
ABC-CLIO,
1998. (RH LC) Ref E18.75.M374 1998
National Geographic Society.
Historical
Atlas
of the United States. Washington DC: National Geographic Society,
1988.
(RH) Atlases G1201.S1 N3 1988
The Oxford Companion to United
States History. NY:
Oxford
U. Press, 2001. (RH LC) Ref E174.O94 2001
The Oxford Companion to United States History. (e-book) NY: Oxford U. Press, 2001.
Pritzker, Barry. Native
Americans:
an
Encyclopedia of History, Culture, and Peoples. Santa Barbara, CA:
ABC-CLIO,
1998. (RH) Ref E77.P89 1998
Zeman, Scott. Chronology of the American West: from
23,000 B.C.E. through the Twentieth Century. Santa
Barbara: ABC-CLIO, 2002 (RH) Ref F591.Z46 2002
Bibliographies
Blazek, Ron. United States
History: A
Selective
Guide to Information Sources. Englewood, CO: Libraries Unlimited,
1994.
(RH LC) Ref E178.A1.B57 1994
Freidel, Frank Burt. Harvard
Guide to
American
History. Rev ed. Cambridge, MA: Harvard U. Press, 1974. (RH LC) Ref
Z1236.H27 1974
Guide to American Foreign
Relations since
1700.
Santa Barbara, CA: ABC-CLIO, c1983. (RH) Ref E183.7.A1G8 1983
Merriam, Louise A. United
States History:
A
Bibliography of the New Writings on American History.
Manchester:
Manchester U. Press, 1995. (RH) Ref Z1236.M47 1995
Perrault,Anna H. United States History: A Multicultural,
Interdisciplinary Guide to Information Sources. Westport, CT:
Libraries Unlimited, 2003. (RH) Ref E178 .P45 2003
Prucha, Francis Paul. Handbook
for
Research
in American History. 2nd ed. Lincoln, NE: University of
Nebraska Press, c1994. (RH ) Ref E178.P8 1994 (LC) E178 P8 1994
Biographies
American National Biography.
NY: Oxford U. Press,
1999.
(RH LC) Ref CT213.A68 1999
Biographical Dictionary of the
American Left. Westport, CT:
Greenwood
Press, 1986. (RH) Ref HX84.A2 B56 1986
Cambridge Dictionary of
American Biography.
NY:
Cambridge U. Press, c1995. (RH LC) Ref CT213.C36 1995
Current Biography. NY:
H.W. Wilson,
1940-.
(RH LC MM) Ref CT100.C8
Dictionary of American
Biography. NY:
Scribner.
(RH) Ref E176.D563
Encyclopedia of American
Biography. 2nd
ed. NY: HarperCollins, c1996. (RH LC) Ref CT213.E53 1996
Encyclopedia of Civil War
Biographies. Armonk, NY: Sharpe,
2000.
(RH) Ref E467.E53 2000
Johansen, Bruce E. The
Encyclopedia of
Native
American Biography. NY: Henry Holt, 1997. (RH) Ref E89.J69 1997
(LC) E89.J69 1997
The Scribner Encyclopedia of
American Lives. NY:
Scribner,
1998-. (RH LC) Ref CT213.S37
Who Was Who in America. Chicago:
Marquis.
(RH LC) Ref E663.W54
Women in World History: A Biographical Encyclopedia.
Waterford,
CT: Yorkin Publications, 1999. (RH LC MM) Ref HQ1115.W62
1999
Documentary Sources
The Annals of America. Chicago:
Encyclopaedia
Britannica Inc, c1968-74. (RH LC) Ref E173.A74
Boorstin, Daniel J. An American
Primer.
Chicago: U. of Chicago Press, 1966 (RH LC) Ref 173.B6
Commager, Henry Steele.
Documents of
American
History. 8th & 9th ed. NY:
Appleton-Century-Crofts,
1968, 1973. (RH) Ref Desk E173.C66 1973 (LC MM) Ref E173 .C66 1968
Historic Documents.
Washington, DC:
Congressional
Quarterly, 1972-. (RH LC) Ref E839.5.H57
ANCIENT HISTORY
Ancient
Europe 8000 B.C. - A.D. 1000: Encyclopedia of the Barbarian World.
NY: Scribners, 2004. (RH) Ref D62 .A52 2004
Barrington Atlas of the Greek
and Roman World. Princeton, NJ:
Princeton U. Press, 2000. (RH LC) Ref G1033.B3 2000
Bunson, Margaret. Encyclopedia of Ancient Egypt.
Rev. ed. NY: Facts on File, 2002. (RH) Ref DT58.B96 2002
Bunson, Matthew. Encyclopedia
of the Roman Empire. Rev. ed.
NY: Facts on File, 2002. (RH) Ref DG270.B86 2002
The Cambridge Ancient History. Cambridge:
The University Press, 1970-98. (RH LC) Ref D57.C27
Civilizations of the Ancient
Near East. NY:
Scribner, 1995. (RH LC) Ref DS57.C55 1995
Encyclopedia of the Ancient
World. Chicago: Fitzroy
Dearborn,
2000. (RH) Ref CB311.E536 2000
Encyclopedia of the Ancient
World. Pasadena: Salem Press, 2002. (RH) Ref CB311.E54
2002
A Dictionary of Ancient
History. Oxford:
Blackwell, 1994. (RH) Ref DE5.D53 1994
Larousse Encyclopedia of
Ancient and
Medieval
History. NY: Harper & Row, 1963. (RH LC MM) Ref D57 L34
Mellersh, H.E.L. Chronology of
the Ancient
World, 10,000 B.C. to A.D. 799. NY: Simon & Schuster, 1994.
(RH)
Ref D54.5.M45 1994
The Oxford Dictionary of
Byzantium. NY: Oxford U. Press,
1991.
(RH LC) Ref DF521.O93 1991
The Oxford Dictionary of Byzantium. (e-book) NY: Oxford U. Press, 1991.
The Oxford Encyclopedia of
Ancient Egypt. NY: Oxford U.
Press,
2001. (RH LC MM) Ref DT58.O94 2001
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Egypt. (e-book) NY: Oxford U. Press, 2001.
Sacks, David. Encyclopedia
of the Ancient Greek World.
NY: Facts on File, 1995. (RH) Ref DF16.S23 1995
EUROPEAN AND WORLD HISTORY
Atlases, Dictionaries, and
Encyclopedias
Campbell, Gordon. The Oxford Dictionary of the Renaissance.
NY: Oxford U. Press, 2003. (RH) Ref CB361.C25 2003
Campbell, Gordon. The Oxford Dictionary of the Renaissance. (e-book) NY: Oxford U. Press, 2003
Chambers Dictionary of World History. Edinburgh: Chambers, 2005. (RH) Ref D9.L33 2005
Collison, Robert Lewis. Dictionary of Dates.
Rev. ed. NY: Transatlantic Arts, 1967. (RH) Ref D11.C5 1967 (LC)
D11.C6
A
Companion to the Worlds of the Renaissance. Oxford:
Blackwell Publishers, 2002. (RH) Ref CB367.C65 2002
Cook, Chris. Dictionary of
Historical Terms.
2nd ed. NY: Peter Bedrick Books, 1990. (RH) Ref D9.C67 1990
(LC) Ref D9.C67 1983
Cook, Chris. The Longman
Handbook of
Modern
European History 1763-1997. 3rd ed. London: Longman,
1998.
(RH LC) Ref D299.C627 1998
A Dictionary of British History.
NY: Oxford U. Press, 2001. (RH) Ref DA34.D515 2001
A Dictionary of British History. (e-book) NY: Oxford U. Press, 2004.
A Dictionary of
Eighteenth-Century World
History.
Oxford:
Blackwell Reference, 1994. (RH LC) Ref D286.D53 1994
A Dictionary of
Nineteenth-Century World
History.
Oxford: Blackwell, 1994. (RH LC) Ref D356.D53 1994
A Dictionary of World
History. NY: Oxford U. Press, 2006. (RH) Ref D9.D53
2006
A Dictionary of World History. (e-book) NY: Oxford U. Press, 2006.
Dictionary of World History. London:
Nelson,
1973. (RH LC) Ref D9.D55
Encyclopedia of African History. NY: Fitzroy Dearborn, 2005. (RH) Ref DT20.E53 2005
Encyclopedia of African History and Culture. NY: Facts on File, 2001. (MM, RH) Ref DT3.P27 2001
Encyclopedia of Ancient Asian Civilizations. NY: Facts on File, 2004. (RH) Ref DS12.H5 2004
Encyclopedia of Asian History. NY:
Scribner,
c1988. (RH) Ref DS31.E53 1988
Encyclopedia of European Social
History from 1350 to 2000.
NY:
Scribner, 2001 (RH) Ref HN373.E53 2001
Encyclopedia of Irish History and Culture. Farmington Hill, MI: Macmillan, 2004. (RH) Ref DA912.E53 2004.
Encyclopedia of Irish History and Culture. (ebook) Farmington Hill: Macmillan, 2004. (Gale Virtual Reference Library)
Encyclopedia of Latin American
History and
Culture. NY: Scribner, 1996. (RH) Ref F1406.E53 1996
Encyclopedia of Social History.
NY:
Garland,
1994. (RH) Ref HN28.E53 1994 (LC) HN28.E53 1994
Encyclopedia of the
Enlightenment. NY: Oxford U. Press, 2003. (RH) Ref
B802.E53 2003
The Encyclopedia of the
Holocaust. NY: Facts on File, 2000. (RH LC) Ref D804.25.E53 2000
Encyclopedia of the Renaissance.
NY: Scribners,
1999.
(RH LC MM) Ref CB361.E52 1999
The Encyclopedia of World
History: Ancient, Medieval and Modern,
Chronologically Arranged. 6th ed. Boston: Houghton
Mifflin, 2001. (RH) Ref D21.E578 2001
Encyclopedia of World War I: A Political, Social, and Military History. Santa Barbara, CA: ABC-CLIO, 2005. (RH) Ref D510.E53 2005
Encyclopedia of World War II: A Political, Social, and Military History. Santa Barbara, CA: ABC-CLIO, 2005. (RH) Ref D740.E516 2005
Europe
1450 to 1789: Encyclopedia of the Early Modern World. NY:
Scribners, 2004. (RH) Ref D209 .E97 2004
Europe 1789 to 1914: Encyclopedia of the Age of Industry and Empire. NY: Scribners, 2006. (RH) Ref D299.E735 2006
Europe since 1914: Encyclopedia of the Age of War and Reconstruction. NY: Scribners, 2006. (RH) Ref D424.E94 2006
Europe Since 1945: An
Encyclopedia. NY: Garland, 2001.
(RH) Ref D1051.E87 2001
Everyman's Dictionary of Dates.
4th
ed. rev. London: Dent, 1964. (RH LC) Ref D9.A7 1964
Greenwood Encyclopedia of Daily Life: a Tour through History from Ancient Times to the Present. Westport, CT: Greenwood, 2004. (MM, RH) Ref GT31.G74 2004
A Global Encyclopedia of
Historical Writing. NY:
Garland,
1998. (RH) Ref D13.G47 1998
Howgego, Raymond. Encyclopedia of Exploration to 1800: A
Comprehensive Guide to the History and Literature of Exploration,
Travel and Colonization from the Earliest Time to the Year 1800.
Potts Point, NSW : Hordern House, 2003. (RH) Ref G80 .H68 2003
The Hutchinson Encyclopedia of the
Renaissance. Boulder, CO:
Westview Press, 1999 (RH) Ref CB361.H88 1999
Nauert, Charles. Historical
Dictionary of the Renaissance. Lanham, MD: Scarecrow Press,
2004. (RH) Ref CB361 .N35 2004
The Oxford Illustrated History
of Modern
Europe.
NY:
Oxford U. Press, 1996. (RH) Ref D29984 1996
Page, Willie. Encyclopedia of African History and Culture.
NY: Facts on File, 2001. (RH) Ref DT3.P27 2001
Palmowski, Jan. A Dictionary
of Contemporary
World History: from 1900 to Present Day. 2nd ed. NY: Oxford
U. Press, 2003. (RH) D419.P35 2003
Rachum, Ilan. Illustrated
Encyclopedia of the Renaissance.
NY: Mayflower Books, 1979. (RH) Ref CB361.R25
Schweitzer, Frederick. Dictionary
of the Renaissance.
NY: Philosophical Library, 1967. (RH MM) Ref CB361.S34 (LC)
CB361.S34
The Times Atlas of World
History. 5th
ed. London: Times Books, 1999. (RH LC) Ref G1030.T54 1999
Wetterau, Bruce. World
History: a
Dictionary
of Important People, Places and Events from Ancient Times to the Present.
NY: Holt, 1994. (RH LC) Ref D9.W47 1994
Bibliography
Aldcroft, Derek Howard. Bibliography
of
European
Economic and Social History. 2nd ed. Manchester:
Manchester
U. Press, 1993. (RH) Ref HC240.A1A4 1993
The American Historical
Association's Guide
to Historical Literature. 3rd ed. NY: Oxford U. Press,
c1995.
(RH) Ref Desk D4.G9 1995 (LC) Ref Z6201.G94 1995
Annual Bibliography of British
and Irish
History.
Brighton,
Sussex: Harvester Press. (RH) Ref DA9.A5
Annual Bulletin of Historical
Literature. London:
Historical Association. (RH) Ref D4.A6
The History Highway 3.0: A
Guide to Internet Resources. 3rd
ed. Armonk, NY: Sharpe, 2000. (RH) EIC D16.117C65 H58
2000
Richardson, R.C. British
Economic and
Social
History: a Bibliographical Guide. 3rd ed. Manchester:
Manchester
U. Press, 1996. (RH) Ref HC253.A1C5 1996 (LC) HC253.A1C5
1996
Roach, John. A Bibliography of
Modern
History.
Cambridge: University press, 1968. (RH) Ref D208.R63
Slavens, Thomas P. Sources of
Information
for
Historical Research. NY: Neal-Schuman, c1994. (RH LC) Ref D4.S64
1994
Biography
The Cambridge Biographical
Encyclopedia. 2nd ed. Cambridge:
Cambridge University Press, 1998. (RH) Ref Desk CT103.C26 1998 (LC) Ref
CT103.C26 1998
Dictionary of National
Biography. London:
Smith, Elder & Co., 1908-9. (RH LC) Ref DA28.D4
Dictionary of World Biography.
Chicago: Fitzroy
Dearborn,
1998-. (RH LC) Ref CT104.D54 1998
Encyclopedia of World Biography.
2nd ed. Detroit: Gale:
1998. (RH LC) Ref CT103.E56 1998
Historic World Leaders. Detroit:
Gale
Research,
c1994. (RH) Ref D412.H57 1994
Industrialization
and Imperialism, 1800-1914: a Biographical Dictionary.
Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 2002. (RH) Ref D356.I54 2002
Women in World History: A
Biographical Encyclopedia.
Waterford,
CT: Yorkin Publications, 1999. (RH LC MM) Ref HQ1115.W62 1999
Chronology
Chronology of European History,
15,000 B.C. to 1997.
Pasadena,
CA: Salem Press, 1997. (RH) Ref D11.C57 1997
Grun, Bernard. The Timetables
of History.
3rd rev. ed. NY: Simon & Schuster, 1991. (RH LC) D11.G78
1991
Mellersh, H.E.L. Chronology of
World
History. Rev. ed. Santa Barbara: ABC-CLIO, 1999. (RH) Ref D11.M39
1999
Williams, Neville. Chronology
of the
Expanding
World, 1492 to 1762. NY: Simon & Schuster, 1994. (RH) Ref
D209.W59
1994
Williams, Neville. Chronology
of the
Modern
World, 1763 to 1992. 2nd ed. NY: Simon & Schuster,
1994.
(RH) Ref D209.W59 1994b
INTERNET RESOURCES
American History
America in the
1930s. Materials and resources on life from this period
including film, radio programs, news, bibliographies etc.
American
Civil War Homepage. Site includes links to "the most useful
identifies
electronic files about the American Civil War (1861-1865)'' which are
arranged
in categories including bibliographies, graphic images, letters,
diaries
and other documentary records, specific battles etc.
American
Memory from the Library of Congress. A large collection of
digitized
primary source and archival material relating to American culture and
history
from the collection of the Library of Congress.
American Women's History. Combines citations to print and Internet reference sources and a large collection of digitized primary sources.
Archiving
Early America. Primary source materials including maps and
newspapers
from the colonial period through Jefferson's presidency drawn from the
Keigwin and Mathews collection.
Avalon
Project. Full text of documents relating to the fields of history,
law, politics, diplomacy, government and economics from the colonial
era
to the present.
A
Century
of Lawmaking for a New Nation. Full text documentary record of
the Continental Congress, the Constitutional Convention and the first
42
Congresses of the United States (1774-1873) from the Law Library of
Congress.
A
Chronology of U.S. Historical Documents. Full text of documents and
speeches from the pre-colonial era to the present.
The
Crisis of the Union. An electronic archive of documents about
the causes, conduct and consequences of the Civil War.
Douglass:
Archives of American Public Address. Archive of American speeches
and
related documents from the colonial era to the present searchable by
speaker,
title, date and controversy or movement.
Documenting
the American South. Digitized primary source material viewing
American
history and culture from a Southern perspective including African
American
slave narratives; diaries, memoirs and autobiographies and Southern
literature.
The
Electronic Map Library. Collection of atlases of the U.S., various
states and major cities including demographic and economic data.
The Founders'
Constitution. Collection of primary documents that are basic
antecedents to the U.S. Constitution.
Historic
Government Publications from World War II: a Digital Library.
Collection of over 200 WWII era pamphlets mostly dealing with the home
front, civil defence and war work.
Historical
Maps of the United States. Collection of maps including Native
American
tribes and western expansion.
History of the Supreme Court. Includes timelines, factual articles and an encyclopedia of court cases and issues.
Index
of Native American Resources on the Internet - WWW Virtual Library.
Meta-index of Internet resources on Native American history.
Making
of America.(University of Michigan) and Making of America. (Cornell)
Two sites utilizing the collections at Michigan and Cornell to create
"a digital library of primary sources in American
social
history from the ante-bellum period through reconstruction" with
particular
strengths in education, sociology, religion, psychology, science and
technology.
National
Archives
and Records Administration. Homepage of the federal agency which
preserves
and manages all federal records . Includes several online exhibits and
digitized documents.
POTUS:
Presidents of the United States. Database of information on U.S.
presidents
including election results, cabinet members, and notable events from
their
administrations with links to biographies of each president and first
lady.
Presidential Timeline of the 20th Century. Twelve Presidential libraries from Hoover to Clinton combine to present interactive timelines of each president’s life that include documents, diaries, maps, photo galleries, audio recordings, video clips, etc.
Revolution
to Reconstruction. Main text is from Outline of American
History
published
by the U.S. Information Agency and includes original essays,
biographies
and primary sources.
The Rutgers Oral
History Archives of World War II Web Archive. Collection of
oral histories from WWII and Korean War veterans.
Salem Witch Trials Documentary Archive and Transcription Project. Collection of primary sources relating to the 1692 trials and a new transcription of the court records.
Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture. Site from the New York Public Library providing access and reference to documents, art, manuscripts, monographs, photographs and more.
Sixties
Project and Viet Nam Generation, Inc. Database of primary and
secondary
sources on the Sixties and the Viet Nam War.
Smithsonian
Institution.
Homepage of the Smithsonian including an online tour of the museums,
exhibits
on American history and access to Smithsonian publications and library
catalog.
Southern
Poverty
Law Center. Homepage offering information about the organization
and
material and web links relating to civil rights and civil liberties.
"Klanwatch"
monitors the KKK, militia and other "hate groups".
United
States History Index. Index to Internet links relating to U.S.
history
sorted by category.
Vietnam:
Yesterday and Today. Most useful for its bibliographies.
Voice
of the Shuttle: U.S. History. Meta-index of Internet resources on
American
history.
Ancient History
Ancient
Mediterranean History. Homepage for miscellaneous materials
relating
to the culture of the Mediterranean world in late antiquity (c 200 -
700
CE)
Byzantium:
Byzantine Studies on the Internet. Collection of images, course
materials,
documents and Internet links relating to Byzantium.
Center for the Study of
Ancient Documents. Resource for Greek and Latin epigraphy.
Diotima.
Collection of materials an Internet links for the study of women and
gender
in the ancient world.
Duke
Papyrus Archives. Homepage for texts about and images of over 1300
papyri from ancient Egypt in the Duke University Special Collections.
Exploring
Ancient World Cultures. Introduction to ancient world cultures on
the
Internet including essays, primary source material and an index to
Internet
sites.
Internet
Ancient History Sourcebook. Texts and Internet sites
on ancient history.
World History
including
Individual
Countries
Africa
South of the Sahara: Selected Internet Resources. Information
by country and region with links to specific country information
sources.
AfricaBib.org. Combines the African Women's Bibliographic Database which indexes books, journals, etc. with over 30,000 entries and the Bibliography of Africana Periodical Literature Database which indexes over 400 English and multi-language journals specializing in African studies.
Asian Studies WWW Virtual Library. Large subject-oriented guide to over 10,000 Internet resources in Asian studies.
Best of History Web Sites.
Collection of over 700 of the best history-related Internet sites.
Britannia:
British History. Essays and Internet links on the history of
England,
Scotland and Wales.
British History Online. Developed by the University of London's Institute for Historical Research and the History of Parliament Trust, this is a digital library of sources dealing with London, county and local history and parliamentary history.
Cold
War International History Project. A program of the Woodrow
Wilson International Center for Scholars, this site previously
classified documents from the KGB and other archives as well as the
publications of the CWIHP publications in full text.
Country
Studies - Area Handbooks. Online version of series of books
prepared
by the Federal Research Division of the Library of Congress for 85
countries
describing and analyzing the history, economic and political system and
culture of each.
Eighteenth
Century Resources. Collection of Internet links on topics on the 18th
century.
EuroDocs:
Primary Historical Documents from Western Europe. Full text of
primary
sources and other historical documents concerning the political,
economic,
social and cultural history of European countries arranged by country.
First World War.Com.
Collection of primary documents, memoirs, time lines, essays etc.
relating to the Great War.
Historical
Archives
of the European Union. Database of official documents of EEU
agencies including European community files, papers of European
politicians
and archives of European parties and organizations.
International
Institute of Social
History.
Based in The Netherlands the Institute focuses on social history in
general
and labor history in particular. Besides indexing its own
collections
including over 2300 archival collections, the site also links to ViVa,
a bibliography of women's history, and abbreviated listings from
Archeo-BiblioBase,
a database of Russian archives.
Internet
African History Sourcebook. Texts and Internet sites on African
History.
Internet
East Asian History Sourcebook. Texts and links to Asian History
materials.
Internet
Modern History Sourcebook. Texts and links on World History
from
the Reformation onward.
Liberty, Equality, Fraternity: Exploring the French Revolution. Topical essays, 250 images, maps, glossary, timeline and 350 text documents.
REESWeb:
Russian and East European Studies Internet Resources. Index of
Internet
links to Russian and East European history.
Remembering
the Holocaust. Gateway to many Internet links relating to the
Holocaust.
Russian
and East European Network Information Center. Database provides
many
links to Internet sites arranged by country and by type of resource.
Trenches
on
the Web - World War I. An Internet history of the Great War.
Victorian
Web
Overview. Extensive collection of hypertext documents
relating
to all aspects of the Victorian world.
Voice
of the Shuttle: History. Meta-index of Internet links for European
history.
World
War I Document Archive. Primary documents from WWI and Internet
links.
WWW
- VL History: Central Catalogue. Includes about 3000 links to
Internet
sites relating to all aspects of history.
Jan Kelsey,
Fordham University Libraries
|