|
ELECTRONIC INDEXES
Catholic Periodicals and Literature Index. Index to journals, books and church documents since 1981.
ATLA Religion Databases. Coverage books, articles, and reviews since 1949
Proquest Religion. Index to full-text journals since 1986.
INTRODUCTORY SOURCES
Recent titles on the history and spirit of the Jesuits.
The Ratio Studiorum: The Official Plan for Jesuit Education. St. Louis: The Institute for Jesuit Sources, 2005. LC RH LC493.R29 2005.
Greer, Allan. Mohawk Saint: Catherine Tekawitha and the Jesuits. New York: Oxford University Press, 2005. RH E90.T2 G74 2005.
Jesuit Postmodern : Scholarship, Vocation, and Identity in the 21st Century. Lanham, MD: Lexington Books, 2006. RH BX3708.J39 2006.
The Jesuit Tradition in Education and Mission: A 450 Year Perspective. Scranton: University of Scranton Press, 1993. RH BX3706.J465 1993
Minding the Time, 1493-1992; Jesuit Education and Issues in American Culture. Washington, DC: Georgetown University Press, 1992. LC TT LC493. M56 1992
O'Malley John W. The First Jesuits. Cambridge, MA: Harvard University Press,1993. RH LC BX3706.2.O43
Wright, Jonathan. God’s Soldiers: Adventure, Politics, Intrigue, and Power: a History of the Jesuits. New York: Doubleday, 2004. LC RH BX3706.3 W75 2004.
REFERENCE SOURCES
Carrez, Loius. Atlas geographicus Societatis Jesu in quo delineantur quinque ejus modernae assistentiae, provinciae
tres et viginti singularmque in
toto orbe missiones, necon et veteres esjusdem societatis provinciae quadraginta tres cum earum domiciliis quantum fieri
licuit. Parisiis: Georgium Columbier, 1900. RH +BX3706.C36.
Catalog of the Provinces of the United States of America. Washington, DC: Jesuit Conference, 1995- .
RH Special Collections
A directory of members. Replaces the catalogs formerly issued by the individual provinces.
Catalogus Universalis Societatis Jesu. Romae, Curia Praepositi Generalis, 1992- . RH Special Collections.
Directory: Association of Jesuit Colleges and Universities: Jesuit Secondary Education. Washington, DC: The
Association, 1970/71- . RH Ref LC493.A8
Galerie Illustrae Revisited: A Reproduction of Alfred Hamy's 405 Jesuit Portraits. Fairfield, CT: Fairfield Jesuit
Community, 1998. RH BX3755.H25 1998
Koch Ludwig. Jesuiten-Lexikon: De Gesellschaft Jesu einst und Jetzt. Paderborn: Verlag Bonifacius-Druckerie,
1943. RH Ref BX3702.AI K6 1934
Lacouture, Jean. Jesuits: A Multibiography. Washington, DC: Counterpoint,1995. RH BX3706.2.L331 1995
Menology of the Society of Jesus. English-Speaking Assistancy: Comprising the Provences of England, Ireland,
Maryland and Missouri, together with the Missions of Canada and New Orleans. London: Manresa Press, 1902. 2 vols.
RH +BX3755.M37
Mendizabal, Rufo. Catalogus defunctorum in renata Societate Iesu ab a.1814 ad a. 1970. Romae: Apud Curiam P. Gen., 1972.
Supplement, 1976. RH Ref BX3755.M33
Tylenda Joseph N. Jesuit Saints and Martyrs: Short Biographies of the Saints, Blessed, Venerables, and Servants of God of
the Society of Jesus. 2ndedition. Chicago: Jesuit Way, 1998.
BIBLIOGRAPHY
Archivum historicum Societatis Iesu. Romae: Institutum Scriptorum de Historia S. I.,1932- . RH BX1.A8
Backer Augustin de. Bibliotheque de la Compaigne de Jesus. 1 Ptie. Bibliographie parles peres Augustin et Aloys de
Backer. 2 Ptie. Histoire par le pere Auguste Carayon. Nouvelle edition par Carlos Sommervogel. Paris: A. Picard,1890-1932.
12 vols. RH Ref BX3700.B2
Bell, James Ford. Jesuit Relations and Other Americana in the Library of James F. Bell: A Catalogue. Minneapolis:
University of Minnesota Press, 1950. RH Ref Z1203. B4
Bangert William V. A Bibliographical Essay on the History of the Society of Jesus: Books in English. St. Louis:
Insitute of Jesuit Sources, 1976. LC RH Ref BX3700.B27
Bibliography of the History of the Society of Jesus. Rome: Jesuit Historical Institute, 1967. RH BX3701.S3v.1
Clancy, Thomas H. A Literary History of the English Jesuits: A Century of Books, 1615-1714. San Francisco:
International Scholars Publications, 1996. RH BX3716.C57 1996
Dimler, G. Richard. The Jesuit Emblem: Bibliography of Secondary Literature with Select Commentary and Descriptions.
New York: AMS Press, 2005
Gilmont, Jean Francois. Bibliographie ignatienne, 1894-1957: classement methodique des livres et articles concernent
saint Ignace de Loyola, sa vie, les Exercices spirituels, les Constutions, ses autre ecrits et sa spiritualite. Paris: Desclee
de Brouwer, 1958. RH BX3700.5.G52
Gilmont, Jean Francois. Les ecrits spiritueles des premiers Jesuits: inventaire commente. Roma: Institutum
Historicum S. I., 1961. RH BX3700.G5
Index bibliographicus Societatis Iesu. Romae, 1937-77. RH Ref BX3700.B4
The Jesuit Collection in the John J. Burns Library of Boston College. Boston: Boston College Libraries, 1986.
RH Ref BX3700.B67 1986
The Jesuit Series. Edited by Peter M. Daly and Richard Dimler. Montreal; Buffalo: McGill-Queens University Press,
1997. RH +Z1021.3>J47 1997
A bibliography of Jesuit emblem books.
Jesuitica in the Jesuit Library of the University of Limburg (Maastricht); An Alphabetic Catalogue. Maastricht:
University of Limburg, 1993. RH BX3700.R5 1993
Simon Diaz, Jose. Jesuitas de los siglos XVI y XVII: escritos localizados. Salamanca: Univeridad Pontificia de
Salamanca, 1975. LC BX3700.S5
Sommervogel, Carlos. Dictionnaire des ouvrages anonymes et pseudonyms: publies par des religieux de la Compagnie de
Jesus, depuis sa fondation jusqu'a nos jours. Amsterdam: B.M. Israel, 1966. RH BX3700.S644 1966.
Sutcliffe, Edmund Felix. Bibliography of the English Province of the Society of Jesus, 1773-1953. London: Manresa
Press, 1957. RH Ref BX3716.A2 S8.
CONSTITUTIONS
Aldama Antonio M. de. An Introductory Commentary on the Constitutions. St. Louis: Institute of Jesuit Sources,
1989. RH BX3704.Z5 A642 1989
The Constitutions of the Society of Jesus by St. Ignatius Loyola. Translated, with an introduction and a commentary
by George E. Ganss. St. Louis: Institute of Jesuit Sources, 1970. LC RH BX3704.E5 1970.
The Constitutions of the Society of Jesus and Their Complementary Norms: A Complete English Translation of the Official
Latin Texts. St. Louis: Institute of Jesuit Sources, 1996.
The Constitutions of the Society of Jesus, Part VII, Missioning. St. Louis: Institute of Jesuit Sources, 1996.
RH BX3704.Z5 A651 1996
Contemporary Trends in the Studies on the Constitutions of the Society of Jesus: Annotated Bibliographical
Orientations. St. Louis: Institute of Jesuit Sources, 1974 RH BX3704.A1 I6
Our Jesuit Life. St. Louis: Institute of Jesuit Sources, 1990. RH BX3704.E6 O8 1990
Translation of the Constitutions of the Society of Jesus by George E. Ganss.
HISTORY
For histories of individual provinces and periods, enter "Jesuits-History" in the Online Catalog.
Brodrick, James. The Origin of the Jesuits. 2nd. Edition. Chicago: Loyola Press, 2000. RH BX3706.B7.
Campbell, Thomas Joseph. The Jesuits, 1534-1921: A History of the Society of Jesus from Its Foundation to the
Present Time. New York: Encyclopedia Press, 1921. 2 vols. LC RH BX3706.C28 1921.
Garraghan, Gilbert J. The Jesuits of the Middle United States<. New York: America Press, 1938. 3 vols. LC RH BX3708. G3
Hughes, Thomas Aloysius. History of the Society of Jesus in North America. New York: Longmans, Green, 1907-.
2 vols. in 4. LC RH BX3707.H8
Steinmetz, Andrew. History of the Jesuits from the Foundation of Their Society to Its Suppression by Pope Clement XIV:
Their Mission throughout the World: Their Educational System and Literature: with Their Revival and Present State. London: R.
Bentley, 1848. 3 vols. RH BX3706.S75
DOCUMENTARY SOURCES
Acta romana Societatis Iesu. Romae: Apud Cuiam Praepositi Generalis, 1906- . RH BX3701.A15
Documents of the 31st and 32nd General Congregations of the Society of Jesus: An English
Translation of the Official Latin Texts of the General Congregations and of the Accompanying Papal Documents. St. Louis:
Institute of Jesuit Sources, 1977. RH BX3704.E5 1977
Documents of the 33rd General Congregation of the Society of Jesus: An English Translation of the Official Latin
Texts of the General Congregation and of Related Documents. St. Louis: Istitute of Jesuit Sources, 1984. RH BX3704.E52 1983
For Matters of Greater Moment: The First Thirty Jesuit General Congregations: A Brief History and a Translation of the
Decrees. St. Louis: Institute of Jesuit Sources, 1994. RH BX3702.F67 1994.
Ignatius Loyola. Autobiograhy of St. Ignatius Loyola with Related Documents. New York: Fordham University Press, 1992.
RH BX4700.L7 A3 1992
Ignatius Loyola. Cartas de San Ignacio de Loyola: fundador de la Compania de Jesus. Madrid: La V. E Hijo de D. E.
Aguado, 1874-1889. 6 vols. RH BX4700.L7 A4 1874
Ignatius Loyola. Monumenta Ignatiana. Ex autographis vel ex antiquioribus exemplis collecta. Romae: Apud Monumenta
Historica Societatis Isus, 1903-65. 24 vols. RH BX3701.M7 L6
The complete works of Ignatius with extensive scholarly apparatus.
Institutum Societatis Iesu. Florentiae: Ex Typographia A SS. Conceptione, 1982-93. 3 vols.
RH +BX3704.A2 I6 1892
Jesuit, Papal and other documents concerning the Society.
The Jesuit Relations and Allied Documents: Travels and Explorations of the Jesuit Missionaries in New France, 1610-1791:
The Original French, Latin and Italian Texts with English Translations and Notes. Cleveland: Burrows Brothers Company,
1896-1901. 73 Vols. LC RH F1030.7.C96
Letters and Notices. London: 1862- . RH BX3701.G7
Documents of the English Jesuit Province.
Memorabilia Societatis Iesu. Romae: Apud Curiam Praepositi Generalis, 1920- . BX3701A.2
Monumenta historica Societatis Iesu. Roma: Institutum Historicum Societatis Iesu, 1898- . RH BX3701.M7
Documents, bibliographies, etc. dealing with the Society, its missions and its members.
Ratio studiorum superiorum Societatis Iesu: mandata Congregationia Generalis XXVIII exarata: ad usum nostorum
tantum. Romae: apud Curiam Praepsositi Generalis, 1941. RH LB375 .A3 1941.
The Ratio Studiorum: the Official Plan for Jesuit Education. St. Louis: The Institute for Jesuit Sources. 2005.
RH LC493. R29 2005.
Woodstock Letters: A Record of Current Events and Historical Notes Connected with the Colleges and Missions of the Society
of Jesus in North and South America. Woodstock, MD: Woodstock College Press, 1872-1969. 98 vols. RH BX3701.W6
SPIRITUAL EXERCISES
Ignatius Loyola. Directoria exercitiorum spiritualium (1540-1599). Edidit ex integro refecit et novis textibus auxit
Ignatius Iparraguirre, S.J. Romae: Apud Monumenta Historica Societatis Iesu, 1955. RH BX3701.M7 L621 v.2
Ignatius Loyola. Exercitia spiritualia: textuum antiquissimorum. Nova editio lexicon textus hispani. Romae: Institutum
Societatis Iesu, 1969. RH BX3701. M7 L621 v.1
Ignatius Loyola. The Spiritual exercises of Saint Ignatius: A Translation and Commentary. By George E. Ganss. St. Louis:
Institute of Jesuit Sources, 1992. RH BV4881.G46 1992
Palmer, Martin E. On Giving the Spiritual Exercises: The Early Jesuit Manuscript Directories and the Official Directory
of 1599. Translated and edited by Martin E. Palmer. St. Louis: Institute of Jesuit Sources, 1996. RH BV4881.P34 1996
INTERNET RESOURCES
AJCUnet
The Association of Jesuit Colleges and Universities is an organization serving the twenty-eight Jesuit colleges and universities
in the United States. Their home page provides links to each institution and to other Jesuit sites.
America
The Jesuit national weekly magazine.
Company Online
The Text of the American Jesuit magazine.
Jesuit Relations and Allied Documents
Complete texts of the letters of the early Jesuit missionaries in America, 1610-1791.
Jesuit Resources on the World Wide Web
A site maintained by The Jesuit Conference with links to Jesuit sites. .
James McCabe,
Fordham University
Libraries
|