This guide includes a selection of print and electronic
resources for doing research in Latin American and Latino Studies. It is
not meant to be a comprehensive list of all the resources available, but
rather, to provide a starting point for research about Latin America. Since
Latin American and Latino Studies is interdisciplinary, other guides from
a range of disciplines may also be useful.
Research Databases
Historical
Abstracts and America: History and life
Indexes the major historical journals
Columbia
International Affairs Online
Full text of books on international affairs published by Columbia
University Press.
Online Newspapers
Provides access to a variety of newspapers from Latin American
countries, arranged by geographical region. Under "Reading Room", click
on "Newpapers".
Ethnic
News Watch
Provides full text of minority newspapers and magazines since
1991.
Dictionaries
Allsopp, Richard, ed. Dictionary of Caribbean English
usage. Oxford; New York: Oxford University Press, 1996. (RH) Ref PE3304
.D54 1996
Anthony, Michael. Historical dictionary of Trinidad
and Tobago. Lanham, Md. : Scarecrow Press, 1997. (RH) Ref F2119
.A575 1997
Business Spanish dictionary: Spanish-English, English-Spanish.
Rev ed. Teddington, Middlesex: Peter Collin, 1997.
(RH LC TT) Ref HF1002 .B93 1997
Cassell’s Spanish and English dictionary. New
York: Collier Books, 1986. (RH LC) Ref PC 4640 .C37 1986
Dyal, Donald H. Historical Dictionary of the Spanish
American War. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 1996. (RH) Ref E715 .D93
1996
Elsevier's dictionary of financial and economic terms:
Spanish-English and English-Spanish. Amsterdam; New York: Elsevier,
1996. (LC) Ref HG151 .U75 1996
Kanellos, Nicoles. Biographical dictionary of Hispanic
literature in the United States. New York: Greenwood Press, 1989. (RH
LC) Ref PQ7420 .2 .K3 1989
Kaplan, Steven M. Wiley's English-Spanish and Spanish-English
legal dictionary. New York: J. Wiley & Sons, 1993 (LC) Ref K13 .2.S6
K36 1993
Kaplan, Steven M. Wiley's English-Spanish,
Spanish-English business dictionary. NY: Wiley, 1996. (RH)
Ref HB61 .K323 1996
Martinez, Julio A., ed. Dictionary of twentieth-century
Cuban literature. New York: Greenwood Press, 1990. (RH LC) Ref PQ 7378
.D53 1990
Notable Twentith-Century Latin American Women: a
biographical dictionary. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 2001. (RH) Ref
CT3290 .N68 2001
Ramondino, Salvatore, ed. The New World Spanish-English
English-Spanish Dictionary. New York: Penguin, 1996. (RH LC) Ref PC
4640 .N4 1996
Spanish artists from the fourth to the twentieth
century: a critical dictionary. New York: G.K. Hall, 1993- (RH) Ref N7112
.S67 1993
Stephens, Thomas M. Dictionary of Latin American
racial and ethnic terminology. Gainsville: University of Florida Press,
1989 (RH LC) Ref GN564 .L29 S84 1989
Encyclopedias / Sourcebooks / Directories
Atkins, G. Pope. Encyclopedia of the inter-American
system. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 1997. (RH) Ref F 1410 .A79 1997
Bleznick, Donald William. A sourcebook for Hispanic
literature and language: a selected, annotated guide to Spanish, Spanish-American
and Chicano bibliography, literature, linguistics, journals, and other source
materials. 2nd ed. Metuchen, NJ: Scarecrow Press, 1983. (RH)
Ref PQ 6002 .B58 1983
Chabran, Richard and Rafael, eds., The Latino Encyclopedia.
New York: Marshall Cavendish, 1996. (RH) Ref E184
.S75 L364 1996
Collier, Simon. The Cambridge encyclopedia of Latin
America and the Caribbean. 2nd Ed. Cambridge: Cambridge University
Press, 1992. (LC) Ref +F 1406 .C35 1992
Concise encyclopedia of Latin American literature.
London; Chicago: Fitzroy Dearborn, 2000. (RH) PQ7081
.A1 E56 2000
Day, Frances Ann. Latina
and Latino Voices in Literature: Lives and Works. Westport, CT: Greenwood
Press, 2003. (RH) Ref PS 153 .H56 D3, 2003
Encyclopedia Latina:
History, Culture and Society in the United States. Danbury, CT: Scholastic
Library Publishing, 2005. (RH, LC) Ref E184 .S75E587
Encyclopedia of Latin
American Theater. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 2003. (RH) (LC)
Ref PQ 7082 .D7 E63 2003
Fernandez, Ronald. Puerto Rico past and present:
an encyclopedia. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 1998. (RH) Ref F 1954
.F47 1998
Fernandez-Shaw, Carlos M. The Hispanic presence
in North America from 1492 to today. NY: Facts on File, 1999.
(RH) Ref E169.1 .F375 1999
Financial aid for Hispanic Americans. El Dorado
Hills, CA: Reference Service Press, 1999 (LC) Ref LB2338 .F56c
Foster, David William., ed. Latin American writers
on gay and lesbian themes: a bio-critical sourcebook. Westport, CT:
Greenwood Press, 1994. (RH LC) Ref PQ 7081 .3 .F67 1994
Gesualdo, Vicente., ed. Enciclopedia del arte en
America. Buenos Aires: Bibliografica OBEBa, 1968-.
(LC) Ref N6501 .E5
Hispanic Almanac: From Columbus to corporate America.
Edited by Nicolas Kanellos. Detroit: Invisible Ink, 1994. (RH) Ref
E184 .S75 H4815 1994
Horner, Louise L. Hispanic American: a statistical
sourcebook. Palo Alto, CA: Information Publications, 1995. (LC) Ref
E184 .S75 H482 1995
Kanellos, Nicolas, ed. Hispanic Literature of the United States: a Comprehensive
Reference. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 2003. (RH) Ref PS
153.H56 K36 2003
Kapiszewski, Diana. Encyclopedia of Latin American
Politics. Westpost, CT: Oryx Press, 2002. (RH) Ref F1410 .E56 2002
La Rosa, Michael. An Atlas and Survey of Latin American History. Armonk,
NY: ME Sharpe, 2007 (RH) Ref G1541 .S1 L3 2007
Latin America 25,000. [Dun & Bradstreet's
key business directory of Latin America] Bethlehem, PA: Dun & Bradstreet
Inc. Latest issue only. 1998 (LC) Ref HG4091 .5.A2
Latino and Latina Writers.
Vols 1 and 2. New York: Charles Scribner's Sons, 2004. (RH) (LC) Ref PS153
.H56 L39 2004
Literary Cultures of
Latin America: A comparative history. Mario J. Valdes, ed. New York:
Oxford University Press, 2004. (RH) Ref PQ7081 .A1 L525 2004
Martinez-Fernandez, Luis, ed. Encyclopedia of Cuba: people, history, culture.
Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 2003. (RH) Ref
F1754. E53 2003
National directory of Latin Americanists: biographies
of 1,422 specialists, 4th ed. Dallas, TX: Taylor, 1992. (LC) Ref F1409
.8.A2 N37 1992
Ochoa, George. Atlas of Hispanic-American history.
New York: Facts on File, 2001. (RH) Ref E184.S75 O287 2001
Reyes, Luis. Hispanics in Hollywood: an encyclopedia
of film and television. New York: Garland Publications, 1994. (RH Ref;
LC Reserve) Ref PN1995 .9.H47 R49 1994
Rosenberg, Jerry Martin. Encyclopedia of the North
American Free Trade Agreement. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 1995.
(RH LC) Ref HC94 .R67 1995
Schorr, Alan Edward. Hispanic resource directory,
1992-1994: a comprehensive guide to over 6,000 national, regional and local
organizations, associations, agencies programs and media pertaining to Hispanic
Americans. Juneau, Alaska: Denali Press, 1992. (LC) Ref E184 .S75 S28
1992
Smith, Verity, ed. Encyclopedia of Latin American
Literature. London; Chicago: Fitzroy Dearborn, 1997. (RH LC) Ref PQ
7081 .A1 E56 1997
Tenenbaum, Barbara A., ed. Encyclopedia of Latin
American history and culture. New York: C. Scribner’s Sons, 1996. (RH)
Ref +F 1406 .E53 1996
Turner, Jane, ed. Encyclopedia of Latin American
and Caribbean Art. New York: Grove's Dictionaries, 2000. (RH LC) Ref
N6502 .E53 2000
Bibliographies / Handbooks
Bibliographic guide to Latin American studies. Boston:
G.K. Hall. (RH) Ref F 1401 .T48
Bibliography of Latin American and Caribbean bibliographies,
1985-1989: social sciences and humanities. Metuchen, NJ: Scarecrow Press,
1993. (RH) Ref F 1401 .G76 suppl. 5
Contemporary Latin American artists: exhibitions
at the Organization of American States 1941-1964. Lanham, MD: Scarecrow
Press, 1997. (RH) Ref +N 6502 .5 .C659 1997
Covington, Paula H. Latin America and the Caribbean:
a critical guide to research sources. New York: Greenwood Press, 1992.
(RH LC) Ref F 1401 .L245 1992
Foster, David William. Cuban literature: a research
guide. New York: Garland Publications, 1985. (RH LC) Ref PQ 7371
.A1 F7 1985
Handbook of Latin American studies. Gainsville:
Univ. of Florida Press. [latest 1999] (RH LC) Ref F 2201 .H3
Krstovic, Jelena., ed. Hispanic literature criticism.
Detroit: Gale Research, 1994. (RH) Ref +PQ 7081 .A1
H573 1994
Leonard, Kathy S., ed. Index to translated short
fiction by Latin American women in English language anthologies. Westport,
CT: Greenwood Press, 1997. (RH) Ref PQ 7082 .S5 I5 1997
Leonard, Thomas M. A guide to Central American
collections in the United States. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 1994.
(RH) F 1420 .L46 1994
Magill, Frank N., ed. Masterpieces of Latino literature.
New York: HarperCollins, 1994. (RH LC) Ref PQ 7081 . A1 M327 1994
McNeil, Robert A., ed. Latin American studies: a
basic guide to sources. 2nd ed. Metuchen, NJ: Scarecrow
Press, 1990. (RH LC) Ref F 1401 .L3 1990
Perna, Michael L., ed. Twentieth-century Spanish
poets. First series. Detroit: Gale Research, 1991. (RH) Ref +PS 2 .D5
v.108
Sole, Carlos A., ed. Latin American writers. New
York: Scribner, 1989. (RH LC) +Ref PQ 7081 .A1 L37 1989
Winfield, Gerry Phillips, ed. Twentieth-century Spanish
poets. Second series. Detroit: Gale Research, 1994. (RH LC) Ref +PS
2 .D5 v. 134
Indexes / Statistics
Economic survey of Latin America and the Caribbean.
Santiago, Chile: United Nations, 1984-. (RH) --Latest
vol. in Ref Also freely available online. HC 161 .U525a
Garwood, Alfred N. ed. Hispanic Americans: a statistical
sourcebook. Boulder, Colo. : Numbers & Concepts, 1991. (LC) Ref
E184 .S75 H482 1991
HAPI Hispanic American periodicals index. Los Angeles:
University of California. (RH) Ref F 1401 .H16
Hornor, Louise L. ed. Hispanic Americans: a
statistical sourcebook. Palo Alto, CA: Information Publications, 1995.
(LC) Ref E184 .S75 H482 1995
Indice historico espanol. Barcelona, Spain: Editorial
Teide. [latest 1998] (RH) Ref DP 2 .I6
Mitchell, Brian R. International historical statistics:
the Americas 1750-1993. 4th ed. New York: Stockton Press,
1993. (RH) Ref HA175 .M52 1993
Reddy, Marlita A. ed. Statistical record of Hispanic
Americans. Detroit: Gale Research, 1993. (LC) Ref E184 .S75 S74 1993
Russell, Cheryl. The official guide to racial and
ethnic diversity: Asians, blacks, Hispanics, Native Americans and whites.
1st ed. Ithaca, NY: New Strategist Publications, 1996.
(LC) Ref E184 .A1 R77 1996
Statistical abstract of Latin America. Los Angeles:
University of Los Angeles, 1956- [latest 1999] (RH) Ref F 1401 .S85
Statistical yearbook for Latin American and the Caribbean.
Economic Commission for Latin America and the Caribbean. Latest edition
in Ref. HA 751 .U52 Also freely available online.
Internet Sites
Academic Info
Academic Info is "a directory of Internet resources tailored
to a college or advanced high school audience. Each subject guide is
an annotated listing of the best general Internet sites in the field, as well
as a gateway to more advanced research tools." Compiled by Mike Madin, this
site includes a list of useful internet resources for a variety of disciplines,
including Latin American Studies.
Center for
Latin American Capital Markets Research
"On this site you will find original research and general research tools
for academics, investors and professionals interested in conducting research
on Latin American Capital Markets. We provide links to the major exchanges
in every country in the region; as well as local in-country sources of general
economic data and news".
CL Net (Chicano/Latino
Net)
Includes access to the leading Latino research library collections,
online catalogs, electronic journals, research organizations, statistics
and to a museum of Latin American art and artifacts. Also has a community
center and employment center related to Latin American issues.
Country
Commercial Guides: Latin America and the Caribbean FY 1998
Prepared by U.S. embassies overseas and released by the Bureau
of Economic and Business Affairs. Site requires registration.
Culture
and Society of Mexico
Links to web sites about Mexico.http://www.eclac.org/cgi-bin/getProd.asp?xml=/de/agrupadores_xml/aes252.xml&xsl=/agrupadores_xml/agrupa_listado-i.xsl&base=/tpl-i/top-bottom.xsl
Diario Los
Americas
Spanish –language Miami Newspaper.
Environmental
history of Latin America
A bibliography of English, Spanish and Portuguese books, articles,
videos and Web pages about the environmental history of Latin America.
Hispanic
Business Resource, News and Market Research
The online counterpart to the print magazine Hispanic Business.
Hispanic Online
Hispanic magazine – "America Online’s center for Latino life".
HLAS Online
Online version of the Handbook of Latin American Studies.
LANIC (Latin
American Network Information Center)
From University of Texas. Provides extensive links to research
sites on Latin America. Organized by country and subject. Includes keyword
search function. One of the best sites for information on Latin America.
Latin American Database
(LADB) A news and educational service on Latin America.
Latin America
Development Archive (LADARK)
This site contains data sets and other information useful to
social scientists doing research on Latin American development.
League of United Latin
American Citizens
Aims to "advance the economic condition, educational attainment,
political influence, health and civil rights of the Hispanic population
in the United States"
Library
of Congress Hispanic Reading Room
Serves as the primary access point for research relating to
those parts of the world encompassing the geographical areas of the Caribbean,
Latin America, and Iberia; the indigenous cultures of those areas; and peoples
throughout the world historically influenced by Luso-Hispanic heritage, including
Latinos in the U.S., and peoples of Portuguese or Spanish heritage in Africa,
Asia, and Oceania. A primary site for Latin American research.
Mundo Latino
A Spanish language site with links to Latin American and Spanish
sites.
Political Database of
the Americas
Offers a comprehensive collection of links to sites on Latin
American politics. Includes links to international organizations, newspapers
and journals, and country factsheets. Database is searchable by keyword.
La Raza
Online newspaper published in Chicago.
Vista Magazine
A bilingual sister publication of Hispanic Magazine.
Zono Latina
Latin American media site.
P. Patten,
Fordham University Libraries
|