The Law
Resources page is designed to aid in the search for general law and legal
information. For extensive research, please visit the Fordham Law School
Library, located in the Law School or connect to the Law School Library Catalog.
Law & Legal
Oriented Databases
Listed below databases related
to law and legal information.
CRIMINAL
JUSTICE ABSTRACTS Provides coverage in the areas of crime trends,
victims, police and the courts, prevention and punishment. Includes materials
from journals, books, and both governmental and non-governmental
agencies.
INDEX
TO LEGAL PERIODICALS A source of periodical citations in the
law. LEXIS-NEXIS
ACADEMIC UNIVERSE is a full-text database providing
comprehensive law, news and business information.
P.A.I.S
INTERNATIONAL (Public Affairs Information Services Inc.)
World-wide information concerning public and social policy, and the social
sciences. Includes journal citation , books, government documents,
non-government organization materials, statistics, reports. Note: All
material not available at Fordham is available at the New York Public Library
"Humanities & Social Sciences Library" (at 42nd Street and Fifth Avenue),
home of P.A.I.S.
THOMAS Maintained by the Library
of Congress, the site contains a wealth of legislative information, and links to
all branches of the federal government.
Selected Print
Reference Sources
The materials below
are located at either Quinn or Walsh Libraries. Principal law holdings in the
Fordham Law School Library.
The American Bench: Judges of the Nation. Minneapolis: Reginald Bishop Forster & Associates, 2009.
(RH LC) Ref JK1517.A6 American Justice. Pasadena, Calif.:
Salem Press. (LC) Ref JK1521.A36 1996
Black's
Law Dictionary. St. Paul: West Publishing Company,
Irregular. (RH LC) Ref K13 . B5
Burton's Legal
Thesaurus. Burton, William C. New York: Macmillan Library Reference,
1998. (LC) Ref K13 .B97 1998
Legal
Thesaurus. Burton, William. 2nd ed. . New York: Macmillan,
1992. (LC )Ref K13B97 1992
Encyclopedia of
Crime & Justice. New York: Macmillan Reference USA,
2002. (LC RH) +HV6017 .E52 2002
Encyclopedia of
Legal Information Sources: A Bibliographic Guide to
Approximately
19,000 Citations for Publications, Organizations, and Other
Sources of Information on
460 Law-Related
Subjects. Detroit, Mich.: Gale Research Co., 1988. (LC) Ref KB16
.E53 1988
Encyclopedia of the United States Congress. New York: Simon and
Schuster. (LC ) Ref JK1067E63 1995
Historic U.S. Court
Cases: An Encyclopedia. New York: Routledge, 2001. (LC) +
KF385.A4 H57 2001
McKinney's Consolidated Law of New York, Annotated. St.
Paul, Minn.: West Group Annual.
(RH ) Ref
KA782.A43
McKinney's New York Civil Practice Law and Rules. St. Paul,
Minn.: West Group. Annotated
(RH LC ) Ref
KA782.A43
McKinney's New York Rules of Court, State and Federal. St.
Paul, Minn.: West Group Annual.
(LC ) Ref
KA782.A45
New York Family Law
Statutes. New York, NY: Lexis Pub., 2009. (RH LC WCL) Ref
HQ1019.U6N44
The Oxford Handbook
of Criminology. Oxford, [England]; New York: Oxford University Press,
2002. (LC RH) HV6025 .O87 2002
The Encyclopedia of
American Crime. Sifakis, Carl. New York: Facts on File, 2001.
(LC RH) HV6789 .S54 2001
West's Supreme
Court Reporter. St. Paul: West Publishing Company. "Cases decided by
the Supreme Court of the United States." (LC) JK1566.S78--Interim & Final
Editions--Current year in LC Ref.
Comprehensive Internet
Sites
American Bar Association
Comprehensive legal site dealing with all aspects of law including articles and
news releases. FedWorld Information Network
Access to hundreds of sources for information on the Federal
Government.
Findlaw An
easy-to-use, comprehensive, searchable directory of web sites on legal subjects,
lawyers, law schools, and state and federal governments.
GPO Access
Maintained by the Government Printing Office the sites searches
legislative information, provides information on the latest activities in
Congress, searches bills by House and Senate number and links to text of public
laws.
University of Michigan Document
Center A central reference point for governmental information -- local,
state, federal, or international.
WWW
Virtual LibraryLaw
Law
Links Comprehensive legal resource center with subject
index as well as decisions, research & professional development.
Links To
Specialized Search Tools
The
AVALON PROJECT AT YALE LAW SCHOOL Digital version of documents
in the to the fields of Law, History, Economics, Politics, Diplomacy, and
Government with links to supporting materials. This is an exemplary effort in
bringing value to the web.
MARTINDALE-HUBBELL LAWYER
LOCATOR is the online version of the famous Martindale-Hubbell print
directory
WEST'S LEGAL DIRECTORY
A well designed site primarily designed to help you locate counsel in all areas
of law but also includes legal news.
Judicial Decisions Online
EMORY U.S. FEDERAL COURTS
FINDER
FINDLAW An
easy-to-use, comprehensive, searchable directory of web sites on legal subjects,
lawyers, law schools, and state and federal governments.
RECENT NEW YORK
COURT of APPEALS DECISIONS Decisions from New York State's
highest court.
RECENT SUPREME COURT
DECISIONS Recent Court decisions.
U.S. FEDERAL JUDICIARY
USSC SUPREME COURT OPINIONS (1793-
)
Links To Law
School Sites
Fordham University Law School
Library
Cornell Law Library Cornell University Legal Information
Institute
Emory University Law
School
Villanova Center for Information Law and
Policy
Government
Information Sources
.
Bureau of Justice
Statistics A division of the Department of
Justice, the site contains a wealth of information.
Crime and Justice Electronic Data
Abstracts Also form the Bureau of Justice
statistics, this page contains information aggregated from crime and other data.
Federal Bureau of
Investigation The official site of the FBI, a
source of crime statistics.
Federal Judicial Center
Federal Government
Resources
Internal Revenue Service
National Criminal Justice Reference
Service
National Law Enforcement and Corrections
Technology Center
New
York State Legislature State Tax
Forms Access to State Tax
forms online. The site is maintained by the Federation of Tax
Administrators.
U.S. Census Bureau
U.S. Copyright
Office
U.N. Criminal Justice Information
Network Page
U.S. Federal Judiciary
U.S. Patent & Trademark
Office
U.S. Department of Justice Home
Page This page is maintained by the Administrative
Office of the U.S. Courts and supplies information available to the public by
and about the federal court system.
Criminal
Justice
Community Policing
Consortium
CopNet
Death Penalty Information
and Resources
International Most Wanted
List
National Archive of Criminal Justice
Data
Police Officer's Internet
Directory
The Prison Issues
Desk
Associations & Organizations
American Society of
Criminology
European Union
Greenpeace
Institute for Law and
Justice
International Assoc.
of Women Police
National Center
for State Courts
National
Sheriffs' Association
New York State Bar
Association
RAND
National Labor Relations
Board United Nations
Civil Liberties & Human Rights
American Civil Liberties Union
Coverage of many of the civil liberty issues
the ACLU is active in defending.
Amnesty International An
international not-for-profit organization working to protect the rights of
people worldwide.
Electronic Freedom Foundation New organization especially active in preserving freedom in the
online environment.
Human Rights Internet An exceptionally complete and valuable site with many
partner links.
Law Related Electronic Journals
Law Library Resource
Exchange Way more than just an electronic journal and well
worth a visit.
Chris Flatz, Fordham University Libraries
|