Library Research Databases
Book
Review Digest
- Important tool for locating
excerpts from and citations to reviews of current adult and juvenile fiction and
non-fiction; covers over 7,000 English-language books; evaluations are chosen
from periodicals in the humanities, social and general sciences and library
review media; coverage is from 1983 to the present; (GENERAL PERIODICAL INDEXES)
Earlier years in print (LC RH) Ref Z1035.B54.
EBSCOhost
- Online source of full-text articles and/or citations from more than 3,000
scholarly publications; although a "generalist" database containing information
from newspapers, magazines, and journals not necessarily literary, EBSCOhost
offers immediate access to a number of
academic titles in the domain of language and literature; (GENERAL PERIODICAL
INDEXES)
Essay and General Literature Index
provides an index to 62,000 English-language essays in over 4,500
collections and anthologies; focuses on humanities and social sciences;
bibliographic data with citations are provided; coverage is from 1985 to the
present; (GENERAL PERIODICAL INDEXES). JSTOR-
Impressive collection of academic journals spanning various disciplines
and offering full-text via Adobe Acrobat software (resulting in the digitized
image of the actual page on the screen); new titles and "archived" volumes
of existing titles are added periodically to database; titles pertinent
to language and literature studies include Speculum: A Journal of Mediaeval
Studies, Yale French Studies, and Modern Language Notes;
(GENERAL PERIODICAL INDEXES). MLA
Bibliography -
Research database produced by the Modern Language
Association; the most comprehensive index to articles, dissertations, books,
etc., dealing with world literature and language;
(LITERATURE & CLASSICS)
Project
MUSE - Comprised of full-text articles published in
academic journals, this electronic subscription allows access to well over
100 titles; among the periodicals included are Modern Fiction Studies,
Eighteenth-Century
Life, and The Yale Journal of Criticism;
(GENERAL PERIODICAL INDEXES)
ProQuest-
Research Library - Index to thousands of articles published
in popular and scholarly journals; frequent availability of full-text entries
makes this resource one of great interest to researchers on all levels;
(GENERAL PERIODICAL INDEXES)
General
Reference Sources in Language and Literature
Ancient
Writers (New York: Scribner, 1982) - Two-volume set, the precursor
of European Writers (below), comprised
of detailed entries devoted to discussion of prominent authors of Ancient
Greece and Rome; (LC RH) Ref PA3002.A5 1982
Biography
and Genealogy Master Index (Detroit: Gale, 1994) - Single volume
"compass" leading to thousands of biographical sketches (historical and
contemporary); coverage of authors is linked to publications such as Contemporary
Authors and the Dictionary of Literary Biography
(both below); (LC RH) Ref CT213.B5
The Book
of Forms: A Handbook of Poetics (Hanover, NH: University Press
of New England, 2000) - A companion volume to The Book of Literary Terms
(see below), this volume (according to the introduction) is "intended as
a text and reference work for students and teachers of poetry in general
and of verse composition in particular"; the preface states that although
"the emphasis is on the forms of poetry, this volume contains all of the
information essential to a study of verse and verse techniques from the
Middle Ages to the present"; (LC RH) Ref PN1042.T78 2000
The Book
of Literary Terms (Hanover, NH: University Press of New England,
1999) - A companion volume to The Book of Forms (see above),
this book is divided into seven sections ("fiction," "non-fiction," "drama,"
etc.) containing definitions of pertinent terms in each subject area; (LC
RH) Ref PN44.5 .T87 1999
Book
Review Index (Detroit: Gale) - Similar to Book Review Digest
in its approach to indexing reviews to contemporary publications; however,
this index includes reviews from a larger number of scholarly publications;
coverage is from the mid-1960s; (LC RH) Ref Z1035.B54
N.B.
For additional access to contemporary book reviews, please use UMI's ProQuest
Research Library and Lexis-Nexis, both accessible via the"Electronic Journals" icon
on the Library's home page. Strongest access to periodical literature in foreign
languages will be found by using the"Language Links" address on the World
Wide Web, found below under "Selected
Internet Resources Available."
Classical
and Medieval Literature Criticism (Detroit: Gale, 1988) - Excerpts
from criticism of world authors, spanning antiquity through the fourteenth
century, from contemporary appraisals to current judgments; (RH Ref PN610.C42)
Concise
Oxford Companion to the Theatre (New York: Oxford, 1992) - Encyclopedic
array of names, places, titles,
etc., arranged in dictionary format; (LC RH) Ref PN2035.H32 1992
Contemporary
Authors (Detroit: Gale) - Exhaustive coverage of world authors,
providing biographical information, as well as information about theirprincipal
works; various incarnations of this title span the years 1962 to the present;
(LC RH) Ref
PS2.C615
Contemporary
Literary Criticism (Detroit: Gale) - Multi-volume set that presents
literary criticism (in excerpted
form) on the work of authors from around the world; coverage is from 1973
to the present; (LC RH) Ref PN771.C655
Critical
Survey of Drama: Foreign Language Series (Englewood
Cliffs, NJ: Salem Press, 1986) - Critical essays on plays written by more
than 170 dramatists, ranging from Aeschylus to Peter Handke; six-volume
set edited by Magill;
(RH) Ref PN1625.C74
1986
Critical
Survey of Literary Theory (Pasadena,
CA: Salem Press, 1987) - Detailed entries, arranged alphabetically by
name of critic,
devoted to the work and lives of practitioners of literary theory (i.e.,
Aristotle, Matthew Arnold, Giuseppe Baretti, Italo Calvino, etc.); four-volume
set edited by Magill; (LC) Ref PN45.C74 1987
Critical
Survey of Long Fiction: Foreign Language Series (Englewood Cliffs,
NJ: Salem Press, 1984) - Critical
essays on
fiction by world authors over the centuries; five-volume set edited by
Magill; (RH) Ref PN3326.C7 1984
Critical
Survey of Poetry: Foreign Language Series (Englewood
Cliffs, NJ: Salem Press, 1984) - Critical
essays on poetry by world authors representing various eras and
movements; five-volume set edited by
Magill; (RH)Ref PN1111.C7 1984
Dictionary
of Cultural Theorists (London: Arnold, 1999) - Brief entries describing
the careers, principal works, and theories of such individuals as Barthes,
Kristeva, Levi-Strauss, and Lasch; (LC RH) Ref BH39.D53 1999
Dictionary
of Languages (New York: Columbia University Press, 1998) - Subtitled
"the definitive reference to more than 400 languages," this volume is comprised
of generous entries (arranged alphabetically by name of the language) that
contain information about the history of the language and the use of the
language in the modern world; (LC RH) Ref P371.D35 1998
Dictionary
of Literary Biography (Detroit:
Gale) - Multi-volume set containing long chapters on authors and their
works; strength is in American/English literature, although certain volumes
are devoted to foreign authors (i.e., "French Novelists, 1900-1930"; "Modern
Latin-American Fiction Writers"); (LC RH) Ref PS2.D5
Dictionary
of Literary and Thematic Terms (New York: Facts on File, 1999)
- Single volume filled with definitions useful in general study of language
and literature; (LC RH) Ref PN44.5 .Q56 1999
Dictionary
of Literary Symbols (New York: Cambridge University Press, 1999)
- Fairly selective compendium of symbols with lengthy definitions/examples;
(LC RH) Ref PN56.S9 F47 1999
Dictionary
of Literary Terms and Literary Theory (Oxford: Blackwell Publishers,
1998) - Fourth edition of exhaustive dictionary containing definitions
and examples of "international" terms and theory; terms range from the
obscure ("fyrtiotalisterna") to the commonplace ("novel," "monologue");
(LC RH) Ref PN41.C8 1998
Dictionary
of Literary Themes and Motifs (New York: Greenwood, 1988) - A two-volume
set that is useful for students at all levels; (LC RH) Ref PN43.D48 1988
Dictionary
of Symbolism: Cultural Icons and the Meanings Behind Them (New
York: Meridian, 1997) - Extremely helpful guide to symbols, with explanations
of their function in literary and other artistic works; (LC RH) Ref AZ108.B531
1994
Dictionary
of Symbols: An Illustrated Guide to Traditional Images, Icons, and Emblems
(San Francisco: Chronicle Books, 1998) - Single volume with generous entries
on major symbols found in myth, literature, and art; (LC) Ref GR931.T74
1998
Dictionary
of the Middle Ages (New York: Scribner, 1982-1990) - Exhaustive
thirteen-volume set with thorough coverage of myriad topics related to
the period; entries range from single paragraphs to numerous pages in length;
a standard source for literary and historical studies concerning the Middle
Ages; (LC RH) Ref D114.D5
Encyclopedia
of Contemporary Literary Theory: Approaches, Scholars, Terms (Toronto:
University of Toronto Press, 1993) - A single volume with generous signed
entries covering individuals, movements, and terms; (LC RH) Ref PN81.E44
1993
Encyclopedia
of Literary Critics and Criticism
(London: Fitzroy Dearborn, 1999) - Published originally under the title
Critical
Survey of Literary Theory, this revised and expanded edition is
contained in a two-volume set; the aim, according to the introduction,
is to provide "a clear, wide-ranging, and authoritative guide to literary
theory and criticism past and present"; although the strength of this publication
is in its treatment of Western literary theory and criticism, there are
also entries on non-Western traditions; (LC RH) Ref PN 86.E63 1999
The Encyclopedia
of Philosophy (New York: Macmillan, 1967) - Seven-volume set (and
supplement) made up of generous entries devoted to philosophers and long
definitions of philosophical terms, movements, etc.; (LC RH) Ref B41.E3
The Encyclopedia
of the Essay (Chicago:
Fitzroy Dearborn, 1997) - Arrangement by name, title, and type of
essay ("Humorous Essay," "Historical
Essay," etc.); entries include biographical details on writers, as well
as titles of "selected writings" and titles for further reading; (LC RH)
Ref PN5400.E55 1997
The Encyclopedia
of the Middle Ages (New York: Viking, 1999) - Highly illustrated
volume treating literary and non-literary aspects of the Middle Ages; excellent
resource for brief definitions and discussions of topics such as "Literature
of the Middle Ages," "Manuscript Illumination," "Troubadours," "Women,"
etc.; edited by Norman F. Cantor, noted scholar of medieval history;
(LC) Ref D114.E53 1999
Encyclopedia
of the Novel (Chicago: Fitzroy Dearborn, 1998) - Two-volume set
with alphabetical arrangement of signed entries covering vast territory;
treatment spans genres, titles, and authors (i.e., "Gothic Novel," "The
Last Temptation of Christ," "Manuel Puig"); (LC RH) Ref PN41.E587 1998
Encyclopedia
of World Literature in the 20th Century (Farmington Hills, MI:
St. James Press, 1999) - Completely revised and enlarged, this four-volume
set is based upon the edition published by Ungar (see entry above); entries
(all signed) include lengthy descriptions of "types" of literature (i.e.,
Turkish, Macedonian, Lusatanian), as well as information concerning lives
and careers of significant literary figures from around the globe; also
included are detailed entries devoted to terms such as "Stream of Consciousness"
and "Magic Realism"; (LC RH) Ref PN771.E53 1999
European
Writers (New
York: Scribner, 1983) - Multi-volume set arranged by time period
("The Middle Ages and the Renaissance," etc.); lengthy entries on prominent
writers and their works; (LC RH) Ref PN501.E9 1983
A Glossary
of Contemporary Literary Theory (New York: Arnold, 1998) - Third
edition of useful reference book; (LC RH) Ref PN44.5.H37 1998
A Glossary
of Literary Terms (Fort Worth, TX: Harcourt Brace, 1999) - Seventh
edition of important reference book; (LC) Ref PN44.5.A2 1999
Handbook
to Literature (Upper
Saddle River, NJ: Prentice-Hall, 1996) - Seventh edition of the "standard"
guide edited by Harmon and Holmon; particularly useful for definitions
of literary terms, characteristics
of literary movements, types, etc.; (LC RH) Ref PN41.H355 1996
The History
of the Greek and Roman Theater (Princeton, NJ: Princeton, 1961)
- Exhaustive and scholarly discussion
of early theater of the Western World; an academic press publication filled
with diagrams, photographs, details from works of art of the period; (LC
RH) Ref PA3201.B52
International
Dictionary of Theatre (Chicago: St. James, 1992) - Three volumes
(Volume I, "Plays"; Volume II,
"Playwrights"; Volume III, "Actors, Directors and Designers") that thoroughly
discuss prominent people and events in the history of dramatic performance;
(LC RH) Ref PN2035.I49
The Johns
Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory & Criticism (Baltimore: Johns
Hopkins,
1994) - Single
volume containing long, descriptive, signed entries that explain and define
the significance of theories, movements, and people associated with them
(i.e., "German Theory and Criticism," "Italian Theory and Criticism," "New
Criticism," "Derrida," "Sainte-Beuve," "Gay Theory and Criticism"); also
includes sources for further reading; (LC RH) Ref PN81.C97 J64
Key Sources
in Comparative and World Literature (New York: Ungar, 1982)
- Annotated guide to reference materials that concern comparative and world
literature; (RH) PN523.A1 T47
Literature
Criticism from 1400 to 1800 (Detroit: Gale, 1984) - Subtitle explains
content: "Excerpts from Criticism of the Works of Fifteenth, Sixteenth,
Seventeenth, and Eighteenth-Century Novelists, Poets, Playwrights, Philosophers,
and Other Creative Writers from the First Published Critical Appraisals
to Current Evaluations"; (RH) Ref PN86.L57
McGraw-Hill
Encyclopedia of World Drama (New York: McGraw-Hill, 1984) - Five-volume
set with entries arranged by name of
playwright, title of play, etc., many illustrations; (LC RH) Ref PN1625.M3
1984
MLA Bibliography
- (See entry at top of page, "Language and Literature Resources of Particular
Interest")
Modern
Literary Theory: A Reader (New York: Arnold, 1996) - Organized
in two parts and subdivided into various sections, the book highlights
major areas of contemporary literary theory; (LC Reserve) PN81.M6 1996
Nineteenth-Century
Literature Criticism (Detroit: Gale, 1981) - Like Twentieth-Century
Literary Criticism, the
focus of this work is literary activity of a particular century; (LC RH)
Ref PN761.N5
The Oxford
Illustrated History of Theatre (New York: Oxford, 1995) - Highly
illustrated guide to the history of theatre, primarily as it has evolved
in the Western World; lengthy chapters devoted to such topics as "Theatre
in Roman and Christian Europe," "Spanish Renaissance Theatre," "French
Renaissance and Neo-Classical Theatre," etc.; (LC RH) Ref PN2111.095 1995
Philosopher's
Index - Highly academic index that addresses all areas of the Humanities
(i.e., language and literature, philosophy, music, art, etc.); (LIBRARY
DATABASE MENU)
Poetry
Criticism (Detroit: Gale) - Ambitious coverage of poets and their
work through the ages; the more than twenty volumes contain biographical
and critical information on figures ranging from Ovid to seventeenth-century
Japanese poet Matsuo Basho to Dorothy Parker and Michael Ondaatje; cumulative
author and title indexes appear regularly in most recent volumes; (LC)
Ref PN1111.P64
The Poet's
Dictionary: A Handbook of Prosody and Poetic Devices (New York:
HarperCollins, 1994) - Reference book containing generous definitions of
the most important terms used within the context of poetry; a strength
of this book is its detailed illustrations/examples, which are taken from
poetry written across the ages; (LC) Ref PN44.5 .P3 1994
Routledge
Encyclopedia of Philosophy (New York: Routledge, 1998) - Ten volumes
with entries arranged alphabetically (i.e., "Rene Descartes," "Ethics in
Islamic Philosophy," "Free Will," etc.); generous signed articles, complete
with very useful references for further reading; (LC RH) Ref B51.R68 1998
Short
Story Criticism (Detroit: Gale, 1988) - Multi-volume set that covers
major short story writers and
criticism published about authors and their works; (LC) Ref PN3373.S43
Twentieth-Century
Literary Criticism (Detroit: Gale) - Companion to Contemporary
Literary
Criticism,
with emphasis being on authors and criticism spanning the entire century;
volumes in this series have been published from 1978 to the present; (LC
RH) Ref PN94.T88
Twentieth-Century
Literary Movements Dictionary (Detroit: Omnigraphics, Inc., 2000)
- Best described by its subtitle: "A Compendium to More Than 500 Literary,
Critical, and Theatrical Movements, Schools, and Groups from More Than
80 Nations, Covering the Novelists, Poets, Short-Story Writers, Dramatists,
Essayists, Theorists, and Works, Genres, Techniques, and Terms Associated
with Each Movement" (LC RH) Ref PN597.T94 2000
UMI Proquest Direct - (See entry
at top of page, "Language and Literature Resources of Particular Interest")
French
Language and Literature
(In addition
to specific sources in this section, please see "General Reference Sources"
above and "Resources Available via the World Wide Web" below)
A Critical
Bibliography of French Literature
(Syracuse, NY: Syracuse University Press, 1947-
); (LC RH) Ref Z2171.C3
Dictionnaire
Alphabetique et Analogique de la Langue Francaise
(Paris: Le
Robert, 1966); (LC RH) Ref PC2625.R6
Dictionnaire
des Litteratures de Langue Francaise
(Paris: Bordas,
1984- ); (LC) Ref PQ41.B4 1984
French Dramatists, 1789-1914
Volume 192 of the Dictionary of Literary
Biography
(Detroit: Gale, 1998); (LC RH) Ref PS2.D5
French
Novelists, 1900-1930
Volume 65
of the Dictionary of Literary Biography
(Detroit:
Gale, 1988); (LC RH) Ref PS2.D5
French
Novelists, 1930-1960
Volume 72
of the Dictionary of Literary Biography
(Detroit:
Gale, 1988); (LC RH) Ref PS2.D5
French
Novelists Since 1960
Volume 83
of the Dictionary of Literary Biography
(Detroit:
Gale, 1989); (LC RH) Ref PS2.D5
Grand
Dictionnaire, Francais-Anglais/Anglais-Francais
(Paris: Larousse,
1993); (LC RH) Ref PC2640.L373
Histoire
de la Langue et de la Litterature Francaise des Origines a 1900
(Paris: Armand
Colin, 1896- ); Multi-volume set published at the turn-of-the-century;
of particular interest for those
seeking a "period" perspective on the evolution of
language and literature in France; (LC RH) Ref PQ101.P5
Literature
of the French and Occitan Middle Ages: Eleventh to Fifteenth Centuries
Volume 208
of the Dictionary of Literary Biography
(Detroit:
Gale, 1999); (LC RH) Ref PS2.D5
The New
Oxford Companion to Literature in French
(New York: Oxford, 1995); (LC
RH) Ref PQ41.N48 1995
Nineteenth-Century French Fiction Writers:
Romanticism and Realism, 1800-1860
Volume 119 of the Dictionary of Literary
Biography
(Detroit: Gale, 1992); (LC RH) Ref PS2.D5
Nineteenth-Century French Fiction Writers:
Naturalism and Beyond, 1860-1900
Volume 123 of the Dictionary of Literary
Biography
(Detroit: Gale, 1992); (LC RH) Ref PS2.D5
Nineteenth-Century French Poets
Volume 217 of the Dictionary of Literary
Biography
(Detroit: Gale, 2000); (LC RH) Ref PS2.D5
Nouveau Petit Robert: Dictionnaire Alphabetique
et Analogique de la Langue Francaise
(Paris: Dictionnaires Le Robert, 1996); (LC)
Ref PC2625.R61 1996
The Oxford
Companion to French Literature
(London: Oxford, 1959); (LC
RH) Ref PQ41.H3
Research
and Reference Guide to French Studies
(Metuchen, NJ: Scarecrow Press, 1968); (RH) Ref
PQ2.082
German
Language and Literature
(In addition
to specific sources in this section, please see "General Reference Sources"
above and "Resources Available via the World Wide Web" below)
Cambridge
Companion to Modern German Culture
(New York:
Cambridge University Press, 1998); (LC RH) DD204.C36 1998
Cambridge
History of German Literature
(New York:
Cambridge University Press, 1997); (LC RH) Ref PT91.C36 1997
A Companion
to German Literature: From 1500 to the Present
(Oxford: Blackwell
Publishers, 1997); (LC RH) Ref PT236.S35 1997
Contemporary
German Fiction Writers
Volumes 69
and 75 of the Dictionary of Literary Biography
(Detroit:
Gale, 1988); (LC RH) Ref PS2.D5
Encyclopedia of German Literature
(Chicago: Fitzroy Dearborn Publishers, 2000);
(LC RH) Ref PT41.E53 2000
German Baroque Writers, 1580-1660
Volume 164 of the Dictionary of Literary
Biography
(Detroit: Gale, 1996); (LC RH) Ref PS2.D5
German Baroque Writers, 1661-1730
Volume 168 of the Dictionary of Literary
Biography
(Detroit: Gale, 1996); (LC RH) Ref PS2.D5
German
Fiction Writers, 1885-1913
Volume 66
of the Dictionary of Literary Biography
(Detroit:
Gale, 1988); (LC RH) Ref PS2.D5
German
Fiction Writers, 1914-1945
Volume 56
of the Dictionary of Literary Biography
(Detroit:
Gale, 1987); (LC RH) Ref PS2.D5
German Literature: An Annotated Reference
Guide
(New York: Garland, 1979); (RH) Ref PT2.F38
German Writers and Works of the Early Middle
Ages, 800-1170
Volume 148 of the Dictionary of Literary
Biography
(Detroit: Gale, 1995); (LC RH) Ref PS2.D5
German Writers and Works of the High Middle
Ages, 1170-1280
Volume 138 of the Dictionary of Literary
Biography
(Detroit: Gale, 1994); (LC RH) Ref PS2.D5
German Writers from the Enlightenment to
Sturm and Drang, 1720-1764
Volume 97 of the Dictionary of Literary
Biography
(Detroit: Gale, 1990); (LC RH) Ref PS2.D5
German Writers in the Age of Goethe, 1789-1832
Volume 90 of the Dictionary of Literary
Biography
(Detroit: Gale, 1989); (LC RH) Ref PS2.D5
German Writers in the Age of Goethe: Sturm
and Drang to Classicism
Volume 94 of the Dictionary of Literary
Biography
(Detroit: Gale, 1990); (LC RH) Ref PS2.D5
German Writers of the Renaissance and Reformation,
1280-1580
Volume 179 of the Dictionary of Literary
Biography
(Detroit: Gale, 1997); (LC RH) Ref PS2.D5
Nineteenth-Century German Writers to 1840
Volume 133 of the Dictionary of Literary
Biography
(Detroit: Gale, 1997); (LC RH) Ref PS2.D5
Nineteenth-Century German Writers, 1841-1900
Volume 129 of the Dictionary of Literary
Biography
(Detroit: Gale, 1993); (LC RH) Ref PS2.D5
The Oxford Companion to German Literature
(New York: Oxford, 1997); (LC RH) Ref PT41.G37
1997
Themes and Structures: Studies in German
Literature from Goethe to the Present
(Columbia, SC: Camden House, 1997); (RH) PT236.T44
1997
Twentieth-Century German Dramatists, 1889-1918
Volume 118 of the Dictionary of Literary
Biography
(Detroit: Gale, 1992); (LC RH) Ref PS2.D5
Twentieth-Century German Dramatists, 1919-1992
Volume 124 of the Dictionary of Literary
Biography
(Detroit: Gale, 1992); (LC RH) Ref PS2.D5
Italian
Language and Literature
(In addition
to specific sources in this section, please see "General Reference Sources"
above and "Resources Available via the World Wide Web" below.)
Ancient
Roman Writers
Volume 211
of the Dictionary of Literary Biography
(Detroit:
Gale, 1999); (LC RH) Ref PS2.D5
The Cambridge
History of Italian Literature
(New York: Cambridge, 1996); (LC
RH) Ref PQ4038.C35
Dictionary
of Italian Literature
(Westport, CT: Greenwood, 1996); (LC)
Ref PQ4006.D45
The Italian
American Heritage: A Companion to Literature and Arts
(New York: Garland, 1999); (LC RH) E 184.I8 I675 1999
Italian Novelists Since World War II, 1945-1965
Volume 177 of the Dictionary of Literary
Biography
(Detroit: Gale, 1997); (LC RH) Ref PS2.D5
Italian Novelists Since World War II, 1965-1995
Volume 196 of the Dictionary of Literary
Biography
(Detroit: Gale, 1999); (LC RH) RefPS2.D5
The New
Century Italian Renaissance Encyclopedia
(New York: Appleton-Century-Crofts, 1972); (LC
RH) Ref DG537.8 .A1 N48
The Oxford
Book of Italian Verse, XIIIth Century-XIXth Century
(Oxford: Clarendon, 1925); (RH)
PQ4208.08 1925
The Oxford
Companion to Classical Literature
(New York:
Oxford, 1989); (LC RH) Ref DE5.H3 1989
Twentieth-Century Italian Poets (First Series)
Volume 114 of the Dictionary of Literary
Biography
(Detroit: Gale, 1992); (LC RH) Ref PS2.D5
Twentieth-Century Italian Poets (Second
Series)
Volume 128 of the Dictionary of Literary
Biography
(Detroit: Gale, 1993); (LC RH) Ref PS2.D5
Spanish
Language and Literature
(In addition
to specific sources in this section, please see "General Reference Sources"
above and "Resources Available via the World Wide Web" below.)
The Afro-Spanish
American Author: An Annotated Bibliography of Criticism
(New York:
Garland, 1980); (LC) PQ7081.A1 J3
Cambridge
History of Latin American Literature
(New York:
Cambridge University Press, 1996); (LC RH) Ref PQ7081.A1 C35 1996
Chicano
Writers (First Series)
Volume 82
of the Dictionary of Literary Biography
(Detroit:
Gale, 1989); (LC RH) Ref PS2.D5
Chicano
Writers (Second Series)
Volume 122 of the Dictionary of Literary
Biography
(Detroit: Gale, 1992); (LC RH) Ref PS2.D5
Chicano Writers (Third Series)
Volume 209 of the Dictionary of Literary
Biography
(Detroit: Gale, 1999); (LC RH) RefPS2.D5
Diccionario
de la Lengua Espanola (Real Academia Espanola)
(Madrid: Espasa
Calpe, 2000); (LC) Ref PC4625.A3 2000
Diccionario
de Literatura Espanola
(Madrid: Revista
de Occidente, 1964); (RH) Ref PQ6006.D5 1964
Diccionario
de Literatura Espanola e Hispanoamericana
(Madrid: Alianza
Editorial, 1993); (LC) Ref PQ6006.D513 1993
Encyclopedia
of Latin American Literature
(London: Fitzroy
Dearborn, 1997); (LC RH) RefPQ7081.A1 E56 1997
Guide
to Reference Works for the Study of the Spanish Language and
Literature
and Spanish American Literature
(New York:
Modern Language Association, 1987); (LC RH) Ref PQ6002.W64 1987
Handbook
of Latin American Studies
(Gainesville,
University of Florida, 1935- ); (LC
RH) Ref F2201.H3
HAPI,
Hispanic American Periodicals Index
(Los Angeles:
UCLA Latin American Center Publications, 1970/74- ); (RH) Ref F1401.H16
Hispanic Literature Criticism
(Detroit: Gale, 1994); (RH) Ref PQ7081.A1 H573
(Vols 1,2)
Latin
American Writers
(New York:
Scribner, 1989); (LC RH) Ref PQ7081.A1 L37 1989
Literatura
Chicana, 1965-1995: An Anthology in Spanish, English, and Calo
(New York:
Garland, 1997); (RH) PS508.M4 L58 1997
Literatura
Hispanoamericana: Una Anatologia
(New York:
Garland, 1994); (RH) PQ7083.L57 1994
Modern
Latin-American Fiction Writers
Volumes 113
and 145 of the Dictionary of Literary Biography
(Detroit:
Gale, 1992, 1994); (LC RH) Ref PS2.D5
Modern
Latin American Literature
(New York:
Ungar, 1975); (LC RH) Ref PQ7081.F62 1975
Modern
Spanish and Portuguese Literatures
(New York:
Ungar, 1988); (LC RH) Ref PQ6072.M57 1988
The Oxford
Companion to Spanish Literature
(Oxford: Clarendon
Press, 1978); (LC RH) Ref PQ6006.09
Reference
Index to Twelve Thousand Spanish American Authors: A Guide to the
Literature
of Spanish America
(New York:
B. Franklin, 1970); (LC RH) Ref PQ7080.G7 1970
Revista
Interamericana de Bibliografia (Inter-American Review of
Bibliography:
Journal of Humanistic Studies)
(Washington:
Division of Philosophy and Letters, Department of Cultural Affairs, 1972-
);
(RH Microforms,
Film #1283; 1972- present)
A Sourcebook
for Hispanic Literature and Language: A Selected, Annotated
Guide
to Spanish, Spanish-American, and Chicano Bibliography,Literature, Linguistics,
Journals, and Other Source Materials
(Metuchen,
NJ: Scarecrow Press, 1983); (RH) Ref PQ6002.B58 1983
Spanish
Literature, 1500-1700: A Bibliography of Golden Age Studies inSpanish and
English, 1925-1980 (Westport, CT: Greenwood, 1984); (RH) Ref PQ6064.A1
M6 1984
Twentieth-Century
Caribbean and Black African Writers
Volumes 117,
125, and 157 of the Dictionary of Literary Biography
(Detroit:
Gale, 1992, 1993, 1996); (LC RH) Ref PS2.D5
Twentieth-Century Spanish Poets (First Series)
Volume 108 of the Dictionary of Literary
Biography
(Detroit: Gale, 1991); (LC RH) Ref PS2.D5
Twentieth-Century
Spanish Poets (Second Series)
Volume 134
of the Dictionary of Literary Biography
(Detroit:
Gale, 1994); (LC RH) Ref PS2.D5
Selected Internet Resources
Electronic
Text Collections in Western European Literature -
Made available by the Western European Specialists Section of the Association
of College and Research Libraries, this site includes Internet sources
for literary texts in Western European languages other than English;
Internet
Public Library -"Gateway"
to many sites that pertain to language and literature; although access
to "online literary criticism" is almost exclusively tied to English-language
authors and their works, there are other areas of the library that will
serve those interested in foreign language quite well (i.e., "Literary
Resources on the Web," "LitLinks: Literary Links on the Web," "Labyrinth:
A World-Wide Web Server for Medieval Studies," etc.);
Language
Links -
Exhaustive
coverage of all aspects of history, culture, language, etc.; in addition
to information pertaining to Western European languages and culture (everything
from recipes, to "virtual visits" to museums and cities, to links to newspapers
and magazines available on the Web, to self-testing charts for verb conjugation,
to library catalogs), there is also access to resources devoted to languages
from Asia, Africa, and the rest of the world;
Literary
Calendar - A cross between a serious reference tool and
a tempting distraction for those interested in "this day in history" literary
references through the ages, this website is an imaginative means of getting
information by way of any given day on the calendar. Hyperlinks are
generously scattered throughout, making jumps from basic information (i.e.,
first installment of Madame Bovary was published on October 1, 1856)
to the more specific (linking the date of publication to biographical sketches
or sites related to works);
Literature, Arts,
and Medicine Database (Hippocrates Project, New York University School of Medicine)
- An appealing database for researchers seeking the intersection of literature
and medicine. The database allows for searching by keyword (as it
might appear in the text of any given selection), by author, title, genre,
era, or annotator. The keywords "Mann and Aging," for example, reveal
"hits" on several pertinent entries. A brief discussion of Thomas
Mann's The Black Swan is the first summary presented; included are
subject keywords (i.e., Adolescence, Aging, Body Self-Image, Cancer, Childbirth,
Death and Dying, etc.), which could be used as links to summaries of other
literary works that concern these same themes;
Poem
Finder - Called "the ultimate poetry finder on the Web"; site
offers searches by title, by word, by author, and by subject; full text
of poems is available, as well as references to collections in which the
poems are published; (also via LIBRARY DATABASE MENU);
The
Virtual Classroom Glossary of Literary Terms - A list of literary
terms found in the virtual classroom of the Cambridge English Faculty;
also included is a list of grammatical terms; definitions tend to be very
concise;
Web
of On-Line Dictionaries - Made available via Bucknell University,
this compilation of Internet dictionaries allows access to more than
800 dictionaries in some 600 languages;
World
Language Pages - Presented by William Haworth (John Moores
University, UK), these pages function as a gateway to a vast array of links
on the Web; although most of this information can be found by using other
points of access, the site serves as a practical way to "Search by Language"
(and then by topic associated with a particular language--be it text from
newspapers/journals, explanation of grammar, descriptions of countries/provinces/cities,
etc.), by "Pedagogical Considerations," "Methodological Considerations,"
and by "Technical Considerations"; the site features limited access to
"full-text" literary works;
|