|
IN THE BEGINNING...
Grove Music
Online is the starting point when
doing research on music. A comprehensive and exhaustive work which will
provide you with a broad base on which to begin (and frequently end) your
research. While its focus is on "art music" it does not neglect ethno and
popular music.Also available in print as the
The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians. Washington, D.C.: Grove's Dictionaries of Music,
1980. (LC RH) Ref ML100.N48. which is frequently updated by the online
version.
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature An international bibliography of
scholarly writings on music and related disciplines. Dating from 1967 to
present, it offers abstracts and citaations of sources published in over 140
languages. Updated monthly. Limited number of links to full texts of
journal articles are provided.
ONCE YOU'VE BEGUN...
This bibliography includes basic dictionaries, encyclopedias,
biographical sources, bibliographies and historical overviews of the field
of music in the Fordham collection. When doing research always remember
to begin with the broadest, most general reference tools, and then using
the information found therein, move toward more specific sources.
Baker, Theodore. Biographical Dictionary of Musicians.
8th ed. NY: Schirmer Books, 1992. (LC RH) Ref ML105.B3 1992.
Baker, Theodore. A Dictionary of Musical Terms.
NY: AMS Press, 1970. (LC RH) Ref ML108.B3 1970.
Baskerville, David. Music Business Handbook &
Career Guide. 6th ed. Thousand Oaks, CA: Sage, 1995. (RH) Ref ML3795.B33
1995.
Bloom, Ken. Hollywood Song: The Complete Film
& Musical Companion. NY: Facts on File, 1995. (LC RH) Ref +ML128.M7B6
1995.
Contemporary Composers. Chicago: St. James
Press, 1992. (LC RH) Ref ML105.C72 1992.
Craggs, Stewart. Soundtracks: An International
Dictionary of Composers for Film. Aldershot, Eng.: Ashgate, 1998. (RH)
Ref ML102.M68C73 1998.
Duckles, Vincent. Music Reference and Research
Materials: An Annotated Bibliography. 5th ed. NY: Schirmer, 1997. (LC
RH) Ref ML113.D8 1997.
Ewen, David. Great Composers, 1300-1900: A Biographical
and Critical Guide. NY: H.W. Wilson, 1966. (LC RH) Ref ML390.E84.
Ewen, David. Musicians Since 1900 : Performers
in Concert and Opera. NY: H.W. Wilson, 1978. (RH) Ref ML105.E8 1978.
Ferguson, Gary Lynn. Song Finder : A Title Index
to 32,000 Popular Songs in Collections, 1854-1992. Westport, CT: Greenwood
Press, 1995. (LC RH) Ref ML128.S3F47 1995.
Floyd, Samuel A. Black Music in the United States
: An Annotated Bibliography. Millwood, N.Y.: Kraus International Publications,
1983. (RH) Ref ML128.B45F5 1983.
The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music. NY:
Garland, 1998- (LC RH) Ref ML110.G37.
Gurley, Ted. Plug In : The Guide to Music on the
Net. Upper Saddle River, N.J.: Prentice-Hall, 1996. (LC RH) Ref ML74.7.G87
1996.
Hall, Charles J. A Chronicle of American Music,
1700-1995. NY: Schirmer, 1996. (RH) Ref ML200.H15 1996.
The Harvard Biographical Dictionary of Music.
Cambridge, MA: Belknap Press of Harvard University, 1996. (LC RH) Ref ML105.H38
1996.
Hill, Brad. The Virtual Musician: A Complete Guide
to Online Resources and Services. NY: Schirmer, 1996. (RH LC) Ref ML74.7.H55
1996.
Kennedy, Michael. The Concise Oxford Dictionary
of Music. 4th ed. NY: Oxford University Press, 1996. (LC RH) Ref ML100.K35
1996.
Kennedy, Michael. The Oxford Dictionary of Music.
2nd ed. NY: Oxford University Press, 1994. (LC RH) Ref ML100.K35 1994.
Marco, Guy A. Checklist of Writings on American
Music, 1640-1992. Lanham, MD: Scarecrow Press, 1996. (RH) Ref ML120.U5L54
1996.
Morton, Brian. The Blackwell Guide to Recorded
Contemporary Music. Oxford, UK : Cambridge, MA: Blackwell, 1996. (RH)
Ref ML111.5.M67 1996.
Music, Dance, and Theatre Scholarships: A Guide
to Undergraduate Awards. South Euclid, Ohio : Conway Greene Pub.
Co., 1998. (LC RH) Ref LB2338.M87 1998.
The New Grove Dictionary of American Music.
NY: Grove's Dictionaries of American Music, 1986. (LC RH) Ref ML101.U6N48
1986.
The New Grove Dictionary of Musical Instruments.
NY: Grove's Dictionaries of Music, 1993. (LC RH) Ref ML102.I5N48 1993.
The New Harvard Dictionary of Music. Cambridge,
MA: Belknap Press of Harvard University Press, 1986. (RH) Ref ML100.R3
1986.
The New Oxford Companion to Music. NY: Oxford
University Press, 1983. (LC RH) Ref ML100.S37 1983.
The Norton/Grove Dictionary of Women Composers.
NY: W.W. Norton, 1995. (LC RH TT) Ref ML105.N67 1995.
Slonimsky, Nicolas. Baker's Biographical Dictionary
of Twentieth-Century Classical Musicians. NY: Schirmer, 1997. (LC RH)
Ref ML105.S612 1997.
Slonimsky, Nicolas. Baker's Dictionary of Music.
NY: Schirmer, 1997. (LC RH) Ref ML100.S635 1997.
Slonimsky, Nicolas. Music Since 1900. 5th
ed. NY: Schirmer, 1994. (LC RH) Ref ML197.S63 1994.
Strahle, Graham. An Early Music Dictionary : Musical
Terms from British Sources: 1500-1740. NY: Cambridge University Press,
1995. (RH) Ref +ML108.S83 1995.
Who's Who in American Music : Classical. 2nd
ed. NY: Bowker, 1985. (RH) Ref ML106.U3W5 1985.
Wick, Robert. E. Electronic and Computer Music
: An Annotated Bibliography. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 1997. (RH)
Ref ML128.E4W53 1997.
Women Composers : Music Through the Ages.
NY: G.K. Hall, 1996- (RH) Ref +M2.W88 1996.
JAZZ
The Blackwell Guide to Recorded Jazz. Oxford:
Cambridge; Cambridge, MA: Blackwell, 1992. (RH) Ref ML156.4.J3B66 1992.
A Century of Jazz. NY: DaCapo Press, 1997.
(RH) Ref ML3507.C37 1997.
The Guinness Who's Who of Blues. 2nd ed. Enfield,
England: Guinness Publishing, 1995. (LC RH) Ref ML102.B6G8 1995.
The Guinness Who's Who of Jazz. 2nd ed. Enfield,
England: Guinness Publishing, 1995. (LC RH) Ref ML105.G85 1995.
Harris, Sheldon. Blues Who's Who: A Biographical
Dictionary of Blues Singers. NY: Da Capo Press, 1994. (LC RH) Ref +ML102.B6H3
1994.
Jazz Research and Performance Materials: A Select
Annotated Bibliography. 2nd ed. NY: Garland, 1995. (LC RH) Ref ML128.J3M33
1995.
The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz. London:
Macmillan; NY: Grove's Dictionaries of Music, 1988. (RH) Ref ML102.J3N48
1988.
Oliver, Paul. The New Grove Gospel, Blues, and
Jazz, with Spirituals and Ragtime. London: Macmillan Reference
(LC RH) Ref ML3556.O456 1997.
Who's Who of Jazz: Storyville to Swing Street.
4th ed. NY: DaCapo Press, 1985. (LC RH) Ref ML106.U3C48 1985.
MUSICAL THEATER
The American Musical Theatre Song Encyclopedia.
Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 1995. (LC RH) Ref ML102.M88H59 1995.
American Song: The Complete Musical Theatre Companion.
2nd ed. NY: Schirmer, 1996. (LC) Ref +ML128.M78B6 1996.
The Encyclopedia of the Musical Theatre. American
ed. NY: Schirmer, 1994. (LC RH) Ref ML102.M88G3 1994.
New Complete Book of the American Musical Theater.
NY: Holt, Rinehart, and Winston, 1970. (RH) Ref ML1711.E9 1970.
Songs of the American Theater: A Comprehensive
Listing of More Than 12,000 Songs, Including Selected Titles from Film
and Television Productions. NY: Dodd, Mead, 1973. (LC RH) Ref ML128.S3L42.
OPERA
When doing research on any aspect of opera it is
best to begin with....
The New Grove Dictionary of Opera. London:
Macmillan Press; NY: Grove's Dictionaries, 1992. (LC RH) Ref ML102.O6N5
1992.
And after Grove's...
Ewen, David. The New Encyclopedia of Opera. NY:
Hill and Wang, 1971. (RH) Ref ML102.O6E9 1971.
Martin, Nicholas Ivor. The Da Capo Opera Manual.
N.Y.: Da Capo Press, 1997. (RH) Ref ML102.O6M35 1997.
The Metropolitan Opera Guide to Opera on Video.
NY: The Metropolitan Opera Guild : W.W. Norton, 1997. (LC RH) Ref ML158.6.O6M47
1997.
The Metropolitan Opera Stories of the Great Operas.
NY: Metropolitan Opera Guild : W.W. Norton, 1984- (LC RH) Ref MT95.M4 1984.
The New Kobbe's
Opera Book. 11th ed. NY: G.P. Putnam's Sons, 1997. (LC RH) Ref MT95.K52
1997.
Sacher, Jack. Opera: A Listener's Guide. NY:
Schirmer, 1997. (RH) Ref ML1700.S13 1997.
St. James Opera Encyclopedia : A Guide to People
and Works. Detroit: St. James Press, 1996. (RH) Ref ML102.O6S7 1996.
The Viking Opera Guide. London; NY: Viking,
1993. (RH) Ref ML102.O6V55 1993.
Warrack, John Hamilton. The Concise Oxford Dictionary
of Opera. 3rd ed. NY: Oxford University Press, 1996. (RH LC) Ref ML102.O6R6
1996.
Wlaschin, Ken. Opera on Screen: A Guide to 100
Years of Films and Videos Featuring Operas, Opera Singers and Operettas.
L.A.: Beachwood Press, 1997. (LC RH) Ref ML102.O6W55 1997.
POPULAR MUSIC
American Popular Music: A Reference Guide.
Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 1983. (RH) Ref ML102.P66B65 1983.
Dictionary of American Pop/Rock: Rock, Pop, Rhythm
& Blues, Folk, Country, Blues, Gospel, Jazz, Films, Musical Theater,
Recording & Music Business. NY: Schirmer, 1982. (LC RH) Ref ML102.P66S5
1982.
The Encyclopedia of Popular Music. 3rd ed.
NY: Muze UK, 1998. (LC RH) Ref ML102.P66G84 1998.
Facts Behind the Songs: A Handbook of American
Popular Music From the Nineties to the '90s. NY: Garland, 1993. (RH)
Ref +ML102.P66F2 1993.
Franks, Don. Entertainment Awards : A Music, Cinema,
Theatre and Broadcasting Reference, 1928 through 1993. Jefferson, N.C.
McFarland, 1996. (LC RH) Ref PN2270.A93F68 1996.
Gammond, Peter. The Oxford Companion to Popular
Music. NY: Oxford University Press, 1991. (LC RH) Ref ML102.P66G35
1991.
Goodfellow, William D. SongCite: An Index to Popular
Songs. NY: Garland, 1995. (RH) Ref ML128.P63G65 1995.
The Guinness Encyclopedia of Popular Music.
2nd ed. NY: Stockton Press, 1995. (RH) Ref ML102.P66G84 1995.
Hardy, Phil. The Da Capo Companion to 20th-Century
Popular Music. NY: Da Capo Press, 1995. (LC RH) Ref ML102.P66H37 1995.
Lax, Roger. The Great Song Thesaurus. 2nd
ed., updated and expanded. NY: Oxford University Press, 1989. (LC RH) Ref
ML128.S3L3 1989.
Stambler, Irwin. Country Music: The Encyclopedia.
NY: St. Martin's Press, 1997. (RH) Ref ML102.C7S7 1997.
The Penguin Encyclopedia of Popular Music.
NY: Viking Penguin, 1989. (LC RH) Ref ML102.P66P46 1989.
ROCK MUSIC
Encyclopedia of Rock. NY: Schirmer, 1988.
(RH) Ref ML102.R6E5 1988.
Find That Tune: An Index to Rock, Folk-Rock, Disco
& Soul in Collections. NY: Neal-Schuman, 1984. (RH) Ref ML128.R6F56
1984.
The New Rolling Stone Encyclopedia of Rock &
Roll. Completely rev. and updated. NY: Fireside, 1995. (LC RH) Ref
ML102.R6R64 1995.
Rock Music Scholarship: An Interdisciplinary Bibliography.
Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 1995. (RH) Ref ML128.R6G37 1995.
Rock Stars/Pop Stars: A Comprehensive Bibliography,
1955-1994. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 1994. (LC RH) Ref ML128.R6L49
1994.
The Rock Who's Who. 2nd ed. NY: Schirmer,
1996. (LC RH) ML102.R6H45 1996.
Stancell, Steve. Rap Whoz Who: The World of Rap
Music. NY: Schirmer, 1996. (RH) Ref ML400.S82 1996.
The Story of Rock N' Roll: The Year-By-Year Illustrated
Chronicle. NY: Schirmer, 1995. (LC RH) Ref +ML3534.S78 1995.
Talevski, Nick. The Unofficial Encyclopedia of
the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 1998.
(RH) Ref ML105.T3 1998.
PERIODICAL
INDEXES ON THE LIBRARY MENU
International Index to Music Periodicals (IIMP)
provides access to tens of thousands of articles published in more than
400 international music journals every year. Many journals covered are
indexes exclusively in IIMP. Coverage is from 1993 to the present.
(LIBRARY DATABASE MENU)
International Index to the Performing Arts (IIPA)
The IIPA draws its current content from more than 130 international
performing arts periodicals from 9 countries and also indexes performing
arts articles and obituaries appearing in The New York Times and
The
Washington Post. IIPA covers nearly all aspects of the world
of the performing arts, from the most scholarly studies t the latest crazes.
Coverage is from 1964 to the present. Records from 1998 forward contain
an abstract. (LIBRARY DATABASE MENU).
UMI ProQuest indexes hundreds of journals
and newspapers, both scholarly and popular, often providing full-text and
graphics. Coverage is from the mid-1980s to the present. (LIBRARY DATABASE
MENU).
BEYOND
THE BUILDING: INTERNET RESOURCES IN MUSIC
Given the volatile nature of the Internet, this section
can best be viewed as under construction. Internet sites appear and
disappear at random, so it is best to check back here on a regular basis.
Music Resources
on the Internet--An excellent place to begin.
Resources
of Scholarly Societies:Music--Good resource for academic sites.
Yahoo Music Resources--A
good all purpose A to Z resource for music.
RISM-US Home Page--International
inventory of musical sources--A comprehensive documentation of the worldwide
existing musical sources.
The Opera Schedule
Server--Many opera-related links.
Historic
American Sheet Music, 1850-1920-- HASM presents images of
over 3000 pieces covering a wide range of song styles: ministral songs, spirituals,
sentimental, political and patriotic songs, et al.
"Mozart Edition"--
The latest complete edition of the works of Mozart including extensive
commentary.
William & Gayle Cook Music Library (Indiana University)--"Online Opera Scores
Prototype" An extensive collection of operatic scores in vocal and full
orchestral format. Allan Halpern
April 10, 2007
|