The Museums of Greater New York
Please
click here to see
an
alphabetical list of New York City's museums, libraries, and historical
societies. For other
information, check out NY.com for
additional information relating to New York City and all that it has to offer.
American Folk Art Museum
Features 18th- and 19th-century paintings, quilts, and the work of contemporary
self-taught artists.
American Museum of Natural History
The Rose Center for Earth and Space in AMNH contains the most technologically
advanced space theater in the world, the
Hayden Planetarium.
Asia Society
Founded in 1956 by John D. Rockefeller III, the Asia Society possesses art
exhibitions, performances, films, lectures, and publications for promoting the
understanding of the culture, history, and contemporary affairs of Asia.
Brooklyn Children's Museum
The first museum in the world for kids, the Brooklyn Children's Museum was
founded in 1899.
Brooklyn Museum The
Brooklyn Museum possesses one of the finest collections of Egyptian Art in the
world, in addition to collections on Classical and Ancient Middle Eastern Art,
Arts of Africa, the Pacific, and the Americas.
Children's Museum
of the Arts Located in the SoHo neighborhood of New York City, the
Children's Museum of the Arts provides stimulating, interactive exhibitions and
programs for children under ten years old.
Children's Museum of Manhattan
In addition to entertainment-related exhibits from sponsors, such as Nickelodeon
television and Disney, the Children's Museum of Manhattan also encourages
children to participate in community programs with organizations like
Memorial
Sloan Kettering Hospital.
Cooper-Hewitt National Design Museum
Housed in the former mansion of Andrew Carnegie, the
Cooper-Hewitt, National Design Museum, Smithsonian Institution is the only
museum in the nation devoted exclusively to historic and contemporary design.
El Museo del
Barrio Founded by a group of Puerto Rican artists, educators, community
activists, and civic leaders, El Museo del Barrio is located in East Harlem, NY,
and is the only museum dedicated to the celebration of Puerto Rican, Latin
American, and Caribbean cultures.
The Frick Collection
Henry Clay Frick bequeathed his private art collection of Western European art
to the City of New York, and is housed in the former mansion of Mr. Frick.
Guggenheim Museum One of
the best known museums in New York City, the Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum is
known equally for its international art collection and distinctive building,
which was Frank Lloyd Wright's last major work.
Hispanic Society of America Museum and Library Founded in 1904, the Hispanic
Society of America is a free museum and reference library for the study of the
arts and cultures of Spain, Portugal and South America.
International Center of Photography
The International Center of Photography is both a museum, showcasing the
innovative photography, and one of the largest schools of photography in the
world.
Intrepid Sea, Air &
Space Museum One of the most successful ships in U.S. History, the USS
Intrepid is a former air-transport carrier that is now a national historic
landmark and dedicated to America's modern military history.
Italian American
Museum The Italian American Museum is dedicated to exploring the rich
cultural heritage of Italy and Italian Americans by collecting, preserving, and
interpreting tangible objects and reminiscences, the Italian American Museum
displays notable contributions of Italians and Italian Americans to American
culture.
Jewish Museum The
Jewish Museum in New York City explores 4,000 years of art and Jewish culture.
Metropolitan Museum of Art
Often referred to simply as "the Met", this collection contains art from all over the world,
as well as a large permanent collection devoted to American art.
Museum for African Art
In 2008, this museum will move to its permanent location on Museum Mile/Fifth
Avenue in Harlem, where it will continue to dedicate itself to increasing public
understanding and appreciation of African art and culture.
Museum of
Chinese in the Americas Located in the Chinatown neighborhood of New York
City, this center focuses on the cultural contributions of Chinese immigrants in
the western hemisphere.
Museum of Jewish
Heritage With personal objects, photographs, and original films to
illustrate the story of Jewish heritage in the twentieth century, this museum
was built in a hexagonal shape with a tiered roof as a symbol of the six points
of the Star of David and the six million Jews who perished in the Holocaust.
Museum of Modern Art MoMA is
regarded as the leading museum of modern art in the world, containing works of
architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, and film.
Museum of Television and Radio
Dedicated to promoting the artistic value, social commentary, and historical
impact of television and radio with a collection of more than 50,000 T.V. and
radio shows.
Museum of the City of New York
This museum collects, preserves, and presents original materials, as well as
cultural and historical documents and artifacts related to the history of New
York City.
Museum of the
Moving Image The Museum of the Moving Image advances the public
understanding and appreciation of the art, history, technique, and technology of
film, television, and digital media.
National Museum of the
American Indian Located in the George Gustav Heye Center,
this museum is dedicated to the preservation, study, and exhibition of the life,
languages, literature, history, and arts of the Native peoples of the Western
Hemisphere.
Neue Galerie Translated
from German as "New Gallery," the Neue Galerie is a museum of early 20th-century
German and Austrian art and design.
New Jersey Children's Museum
The New Jersey Children's Museum is an interactive learning center for toddlers
and preschoolers to have quality time and family fun.
Nicholas Roerich Museum
The Nicholas Roerich Museum is dedicated to the art of Nicholas Roerich, a
Russian-born artist. The museum aims to promote awareness of Roerich's ideas
about art and culture. Along with an exhibition of paintings, the museum also
presents concerts and poetry readings.
Noguchi Museum
In collaboration with the Isamu Noguchi Foundation in Japan, Isamu Noguchi
created the museum to offer a variety of education and public programs to
introduce the work and vision of the work of this Japanese-American artist to
diverse audiences.
P.S.1 Contemporary Art Center
Dedicated solely to contemporary art, P.S.1 is affiliated with
MoMA and hosts
many exhibits featuring the work of international, as well as national, artists
of all ages.
Scandinavia House
Located on Park Avenue in midtown Manhattan, the Scandinavia House features the
visual art, film, and cuisine, as well as lectures and language classes, from
Denmark, Finland, Iceland, Norway, and Sweden. In addition, the Scandinavia
House also serves as the headquarters for the
American-Scandinavian
Foundation.
Scandinavian East Coast Museum The Scandinavian East Coast Museum (formerly
the Norwegian-American Collection) receives funding from the Norwegian
Emigration Fund, the
Norwegian
Consulate, and the
New York State Archives Documentary Heritage Program, and educates the
public on the history of Scandinavian immigration to New York.
Schomburg
Center for Research in Black Culture Part of the
New York Public Library,
the Schomburg Center is an extensive source for African American studies,
especially on the Harlem Renaissance.
Studio Museum in
Harlem The Studio Museum in Harlem sits in the heart of the Harlem
neighborhood and specializes in 19th and 20th-century African-American art, as
well as exhibits of Caribbean and African art.
Trygve Lie
Gallery One of the goals of Trygve Lie Gallery is to contribute to the
promotion of Scandinavian, and especially Norwegian, art in New York.
Ukrainian Museum
The Ukrainian Museum showcases works of Ukrainian art (both folk and fine arts),
music, and other exhibits showing Ukrainian Heritage in America.
Whitney Museum of American Art
Gertrude Vanderbilt Whitney founded the Whitney, arguably the
finest collection of 20th-century American art in the world.
Yeshiva University Museum
Located in New York's Chelsea neighborhood, the Yeshiva University Museum is a
teaching museum and the cultural arm of
Yeshiva University.
Libraries & Historical Societies
American Jewish Historical
Society The American Jewish Historical Society was founded in 1892 with the
mission to foster awareness and appreciation of the American Jewish heritage and
to serve as a national scholarly resource for research through the collection,
preservation, and dissemination of materials relating to American Jewish
history.
American Scandinavian Society The American Scandinavian Society is a New
York based non-profit organization striving to provide social and cultural
events with a Nordic touch. One of the programs includes an art exhibition at
the Trygve
Lie Gallery in New York. Other events include guided art tours to Nordic
artists in the New York area, visits to music and art exhibitions, and much
more. In addition, the Society helps support the arts in general and
particularly Scandinavian artists via cultural grants.
Asia Society
Founded in 1956 by John D. Rockefeller III, the Asia Society possesses art
exhibitions, performances, films, lectures, and publications for promoting the
understanding of the culture, history, and contemporary affairs of Asia.
Avery Fisher Center for Music and Media The Avery Fisher Center for Music
and Media is on the second floor of
New York University's Bobst Library, and
contains more than 100 carrels for viewing and listening.
Brooklyn Historical Society
Founded in 1863, the Brooklyn Historical Society is a museum, library, and
educational center dedicated to preserving and encouraging the study of
Brooklyn's rich 400-year past, while reflecting upon the future of its
culturally rich borough.
Brooklyn Public Library
The Brooklyn Public Library, is the public library system of the borough of
Brooklyn in New York City, and it is the fifth largest public library system in
the United States.
Columbia University Libraries
The Columbia University Libraries contains one of the largest library
collections in the United States and is the nation's fifth-largest academic
library. It is the third largest library--and the largest academic library--in the State of New York. The system includes 25 libraries in total (Butler
Library is the largest), primarily located on or near the Morningside Heights
campus of Columbia University in New York City.
Danish American Society
The Danish American Society is the nerve center for activities involving the
Danish cultural community in New York City.
Fordham University Libraries
The Fordham University Libraries consists primarily of the Walsh Library in the
Bronx, the Quinn Library at the Lincoln Center campus, and the
Gloria Gaines Library at Marymount College in Tarrytown, N.Y.
Goethe-Institut Dedicated to the scholarship of German language and
literature, the Goethe-Institut is a non-profit organization that promotes
Germany's international cultural relations.
The Ibsen Society
of America The Ibsen Society of America is a non-profit corporation founded
in 1978 at the close of the Ibsen Sesquicentennial Symposium held in New York
City to mark the 150th anniversary of major Norwegian playwright Henrik Ibsens
birth. The purpose of the society is to foster, through lectures, readings,
performances, conferences, and publications, an understanding of Ibsen's works
as they are interpreted in texts and produced on stage and in film and other
media.
Metro The Metropolitan New
York Library Council provides an array of services to member libraries in New
York City, including classes, workshops, and lectures.
Morgan Library & Museum
Formerly known as the Pierpont Morgan Library, the Morgan Library was founded in
1906 to house the private library of J.P. Morgan and is now a museum and a
scholarly research center, containing rare prints, drawings, manuscripts, and
other materials.
New York Historical Society
The New York Historical Society is an organization dedicated to the preservation
of the city's history. The society operates a museum and library, and provides
many public educational programs.
New York Public Library
The NYPL is one of the leading public libraries of the world and is one of
America's most significant research libraries. It is unusual in that it is
composed of a very large circulating public library system combined with a very
large non-lending research library system. It is simultaneously one of the
largest public library systems in the United States and one of the largest
research library systems.
New York
University Libraries The Bobst Library of NYU is one of the university's
largest and one of the largest academic libraries in the United States.
Queens Borough Public Library
Commonly referred to simply as the Queens Library, is the public library for New
York City's Queens Borough and dates back to its first branch in Flushing in
1858.
For a list of additional
resources, please
click here to see the
alphabetical list of New York City's museums, libraries, and historical
societies.
Top of Page
Botanical, Zoological & Aquatic
Gardens
Brooklyn Aquarium Society The Brooklyn Aquarium Society
is a multifaceted, non-profit organization that welcomes hobbyists who want to
learn more about aquaria keeping, and want to share their expertise with others.
Brooklyn Botanic Garden
Located next to Prospect Park, the Brooklyn Botanic Garden was founded in 1910
and includes a cherry tree esplanade, a one-acre rose garden, a Japanese hill
and pond garden, a fragrance garden for the blind, a water lily pond esplanade,
several conservatories, a rock garden, a native flora garden, a bonsai tree
collection, and children's gardens and discovery exhibits.
Bronx Zoo The Bronx
Zoo is a world-famous zoo located within the Bronx Park, in the Bronx Borough of
New York City, and it is the largest metropolitan zoo in the United States.
Central Park As
famous as New York City itself, Central Park is a large public, urban park in
the borough of Manhattan, and it is the most visited city park in the United
States. A Natural Historic Landmark, Central Park contains many resources,
including a zoo, ice skating rinks, plus it is the host of several sporting and
entertainment events.
New York Botanical Garden
One of the premier botanical gardens in the United States, it spans some 240
acres of Bronx Park in the borough of the Bronx and is home to some of the
world's leading plant laboratories.
Queens Zoo
Located in
Flushing Meadows-Corona Park, the Queens Zoo is operated by the
Wildlife Conservation Society and is home to mostly animals native to North
America.
Prospect Park
Founded in 1867, Prospect Park includes a large nature conservancy and has the
first urban-area
Audubon Center in the nation, as well as Brooklyn's only lake.
For a list of additional
resources, please
click here to see the
alphabetical list of New York City's museums, libraries, and historical
societies.
Top of Page
|