Fordham University Libraries
Site Search:
 
Contact Library Library Home Page

Research Guides: Philosophy


Philosophy is a battle against the bewitchment of our intelligence by means of language. --Wittgenstein




Major Abstracts and Indexes

Use these resources to find articles and essays, citations to books and journal literature on philosophical topics, and book reviews.

Electronic databases

Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy Online Features more than 2000 scholarly articles on such widely disparate topics as Aristotle, Panentheism, the French Revolution, magic, and cloning. Vast in scope, this resource is also highly accessible and thoroughly cross-referenced; additionally, it features highlights of its most requested articles as well as editorially reviewed links to other sites and resources on the Web. REP Online is an excellent resource for topical overviews accompanied by selected bibliographies for continued study.

The Philosopher's Index Covering scholarly literature originating from 1940 to the present, the Index provides citations to books and over 300 journals of philosophy and related interdisciplinary fields, covering aesthetics, epistemology, ethics, logic, and metaphysics; it is also a rich source of material on the philosophy of various disciplines, such as education, history, law, religion, and science.

Academic Search Premier Designed especially for academic institutions, ASP is currently the largest scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database for nearly 4,600 scholarly publications, including more than 3,500 peer-reviewed publications. Disciplines covered include humanities, social sciences, arts and literature, and languages and linguistics.

Print Bibliographies

Bibliography of Philosophy (Bibliographie de la Philosophie). Paris: Librarie Philosophique J. Vrin, 1937- . LC, RH B1.B431.
An international bibliography of a variety of philosophical publications. Books listed are accompanied by abstracts in the book's original language as well as in English.

International Philosophical Bibliography (Repertoire Bibliographique de la Philosophie. Bibliografisch Repertorium van de Wijsbegeerte).
Louvain : Editions de l'Institute Superieur de Philosophie, Universite Catholique de Louvain, 1949- . RH B1.R423.
A comprehensive, international bibliography of books and articles on philosophy with an annual index to book reviews.

Philosophical Books. Leicester, UK: Leicester University Press. Quarterly, 1981-. RH B1 .P44
A serial publication featuring most recently appearing philosophical monographs of note, with accompanying book reviews.


Top of Page


Important Reference Works

Use these resources to find introductory information. Search the Library Online Catalog for in-depth information. Search under the name of a philosopher both as author and subject to find books by and about the person. Search topics (e.g. Existentialism) as subject and/or as keyword.
 


Dictionaries

Blackburn, Simon. The Oxford Dictionary of Philosophy. Oxford; New York : Oxford University Press, c1994. LC, RH Ref B41 .B53 1994.
Note: 2002 edition available as E-Book through Fordham Library Catalog.

Bunge, Mario. Philosophical Dictionary.  Amherst, NY: Prometheus Books, 2003.  LC RH Ref B791. B86 2003.

The Cambridge Dictionary of Philosophy. General Editor Robert Audi. New York : Cambridge University Press, 1999. LC, RH Ref B41 .C35 1999.

Grimes, John A.  A Concise Dictionary of Indian Philosophy: Sanskrit Terms Defined In English.   New and rev. ed.  Albany: State University of New York Press, 1996. RH B131 .G67 1996
Note: This edition also available as E-Book through Fordham Library Catalog.

Mautner, Thomas. The Penguin Dictionary of Philosophy. Rev. ed. London; New York: Penguin Books, 2000. MM Ref B41 .M38 2000.

Reese, William L. Dictionary of Philosophy and Religion: Eastern and Western Thought. New and enlarged edition. Atlantic Highlands, N.J. : Humanities Press, 1996. RH Ref B41 .R43 1996.

Ritter, Joachim. Historisches Worterbuch der Philosophie. 11 vols. Revised ed. Darmstadt, Germany: Wissenschaftliche Buchgesellschaft, 1971- .
RH Ref B43 .R58.


Encyclopedias

General Sources

Concise Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy.  New York: Routledge, 2000.  LC RH REF B51.C58 2000.

Encyclopedia of Aesthetics.  New York: Oxford University Press, 1998. 4 vols.  LC RH Ref BH56.E53 1998.

The Encyclopedia of Philosophy. Paul Edwards, Editor in Chief. New York, Macmillan, 1967. 8 vols. accompanied by 1996 supplement.
LC RH Ref B41 .E3.

Great Thinkers of the Eastern World: The Major Thinkers and the Philosophical and Religious Classics of China, India, Japan, Korea, and the World of Islam. Ist ed. New York: Harper Collins Publishers, 1995. LC MM RH Ref B5005 .G74 1995.

Great Thinkers of the Western World : The Major Ideas and Classic Works of More Than 100 Outstanding Western Philosophers, Physical and Social Scientists, Psychologists, Religious Writers and Theologians. 1st ed. New York: Harper Collins Publishers, 1992. RH Ref B72 .G74 1992.

Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy. General editor, Edward Craig. London ; New York : Routledge, 1998. 10 vols. LC, RH Ref B51 .R68 1998. 
Note: Online version now available (See "Electronic Databases" at top.)


Specialized Sources

Becker, Lawrence C.  Encyclopedia of Ethics.  Rev. ed. New York: Garland Publishers, 2001. 3 vols.  LC RH Ref BJ63.E56 2001.

Companion Encyclopedia of Asian Philosophy. Edited by Brian Carr and Indira Mahalingam. London; New York: Routledge, 1997.
RH Ref B121 .C66 1997.

Detlefsen, Michael.  Logic from A to Z:  The Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy. Glossary of Logical and Mathematical Terms. 
London: Routledge, 1999.  RH Ref B51.D4 1999.

Encyclopedia of Applied Ethics. San Diego: Academic Press, 1998.  4 vols. LC RH Ref BJ63.E48 1998.

Encyclopedia of Classical Philosophy.  Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 1997.  LC RH Ref B163.E53 1997.

Encyclopedia of the Enlightenment. Alan Charles Kors, Editor-in-Chief. Oxford; New York: Oxford University Press, 2003. 4 vols.
RH Ref B802 .E54 2003.

Glendenning, Simon.  The Edinburgh Encyclopedia of Continental Philosophy.  Chicago: Fitzroy Dearborn Publishers, 1999.  RH REF B803.E35 1999.


Guides

African Philosophy: An Anthology. Edited by Emmanuel Chukwudi Eze. Malden, MA: Blackwell Publishers, 1998. RH B5305 .A46 1998

The Blackwell Companion to Philosophy. Edited by Nicholas Bunnin and E.P. Tsui-James. Oxford ; Cambridge, MA. : Blackwell Reference, 1996.
RH Ref B21 .B56 1996.

A Companion to Continental Philosophy.  Malden, MA: Blackwell, 1998.  LC RH Ref B803.C66 1998.
Note: 1999 edition available as E-Book through Fordham Library Catalog.

A Companion to Metaphysics. Edited by Jaegwon Kim and Ernest Sosa. Oxford, UK ; Cambridge, Mass., USA : Blackwell Reference, 1995.
LC RH Ref BD111.C593 1995.
Note: 1999 edition available as E-Book through Fordham Library Catalog.

A Companion to the Philosophers.  Malden, MA: Blackwell, 1999.  RH Ref B72.C595 1999.

A Companion to World Philosophies. Edited by Eliot Deutsch and Ron Bontekoe. Malden, Mass.: Blackwell, 1997. RH Ref B121 .C664 1997.
Note: 1999 edition available as E-Book through Fordham Library Catalog.

Dey, Alexander. Philosophy in Cyberspace (Internet Serial Resource). Berwick Victoria, Australia.

Fu, Charles Wei-hsun. Guide to Chinese Philosophy. Boston : G. K. Hall, c1978. RH Ref B125.A1 F8.

One Hundred Twentieth-Century Philosophers.  London: Routledge, 1998.  RH Ref B804.O55 1998.



History

Columbia History of Western Philosophy. Edited by Richard H. Popkin. New York: Columbia University Press, 1999.
LC Ref B72 .C593 1999 RH B72 .C593 1999

Copleston, Frederick Charles. A History of Philosophy. Westminster, MD.: Newman Press, 1946-75. 9 vols. LC RH B72.C65.

Encyclopedia of American Cultural and Intellectual History.  New York: Scribner’s, 2001. 3 vols. LC RH MM Ref E169.1.E58 2001.

Ritter, Joachim. Historisches Worterbuch der Philosophie. 11 vols. Revised ed. Darmstadt, Germany: Wissenschaftliche Buchgesellschaft, 1971- .
RH Ref B43 .R58.

Totok, Wilhelm. Handbuch der Geschichte der Philosophie. Unter Mitarbeit von Helmut Schroer. Frankfurt am Main, V. Klostermann,1964- .
RH Ref B82 .T68.



Directories

Directory of American Philosophers. Bowling Green, OH.: Philosophy Documentation Center, Bowling Green State University, 1963- .
LC RH Ref B848.D5.

International Directory of Philosophy and Philosophers. Bowling Green, OH.: Philosophy Documentation Center, Bowling Green State University, 1965- .
RH Ref .B35.I58.


Quotations and Miscellanea

A Dictionary of Philosophical Quotations. Edited by A.J. Ayer and Jan O'Grady. Oxford : Blackwell, 1992. LC, RH Ref B68 .D53 1992.

Historical Dictionary of Quotations in Cognitive Science: A Treasury of Quotations in Psychology, Philosophy, and Artificial Intelligence. Compiled by Morton Wagman. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 2000. LC PN6084 .C545 H57 2000 RH Ref PN6084 .C545 H57 2000.

The Philosophy Gym: 25 Short Adventures in Thinking. Law, Steven. New York: St. Martin's Press, 2003. RH B68 .L383 2003

The Quotable Bertrand Russell. Edited by Lee Eisler. Buffalo: Prometheus Books, 1993. LC RH B1649 .R91 1993.


Top of Page



Internet Sites

American Philosophical Association
Home page of the APA, which seeks to foster exchanges of ideas among philosophers, and to facilitate the professional work and teaching of philosophy.

Epistome Links: Philosophy Resources on the Internet
Provides simple and direct links--about 16,000, by category--to philosophy resources on the Web.

Ethics Updates
Updates on current literature of ethics, for both professors and students.

A Field Guide to the Philosophy of Mind
Provides an introduction to the myriad philosophical issues arising from the "allied domain of cognitive sciences," as well as bibliographic guides to relevant literature.

Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy
Features articles by specialized philosophers as well as adaptations of original material by this site's editors, with the undergraduate user in mind.

Leaves
a guide to Web-approved philosophy texts on a variety of featured subject areas, including American and Asian Philosophy, Ethics, Technology, Art and Philosophy, and others.

Philosophy at the English Server
Philosophy texts and links to scholarly philosophic organizations. The "EServer," a forum for writers, artists, editors, and scholars of all academic stripes, is an attempt to provide an alternative venue for quality work; as such, the site welcomes new contributions from scholars and practitioners.

Philosophy in Cyberspace
Indexes thousands of philosophy resources; an annotated online index featuring regular updates.

Philosophy Research Base
A self-described "Meta-Index" which integrates text resources with the best online resources. Its purpose is to provide a guide to study as well as a platform for a wide variety of community services for students and teachers of philosophy.

Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
This "dynamic reference work," a publishing project of the Metaphysics Research Lab at the Center for the Study of Language and Information at Stanford University, features new articles and updates on a regular basis. All contributions are evaluated by an Editorial Board before inclusion.

Voice of the Shuttle Philosophy Page
Provides links to philosophical societies, electronic journals, texts, movements, university philosophy departments, links to related sites, and conference news and calendars. Also identifies philosophy listservs and newsgroups for interested participants.

 


David Vassar
Fordham University Libraries

 

 

Contact Library | Library FAQ | University Home
Rose Hill Campus Bronx, NY 10458 (718) 817-1000, Lincoln Center Campus New York, NY 10023 (212) 636-6000, Marymount Campus Tarrytown, NY 10591 (914) 631-3200
© 2004 Fordham University