ELECTRONIC DATABASES AND INDEXES
New databases
are being added regularly. For an up to date list of the Databases and
Indexes in Politics and Government, please go to the Databases and Indexes
link under Electronic Resources on the library homepage and click Politics and
Government. Please note that we do not subscribe to all of
the titles indexed in these products.
GENERAL REFERENCE BOOKS
ABC POL SCI: A Bibliography of Contents: Political Science
and Government. Santa Barbara, CA: ABC-CLIO. (RH) Ref
JA 7 .A24
Almanac of American Politics. Washington, DC:
National Journal Inc., 2000. (RH LC) Ref Desk JK8 .A5
Almanac of European politics 1995. Washington,
D.C.: Congressional Quarterly, 1995. (RH) Ref JN44 .A12 C67 1995
Almanac of state legislatures: state data atlas.
Washington, D.C. Congressional Quarterly, 1994. (LC)
Ref G1201 .F7 L5 1994
Almanac of the 50 States. Palo Alto, CA: Information
Publications, 1999. (RH LC) Ref Desk HA 214 .A44
America at the Polls. Washington, DC: Congressional
Quarterly, 1994. (RH LC) Ref JK 524 .S23 1994
Biographical directory of the American Congress,
1774-1996. Alexandria, VA. :CQ Staff Directories, Inc.,
1997. (RH LC) Ref JK1010 .A5 1997
Black Americans in Congress, 1870-1989. Washington,
D.C.: G.P.O., 1990. (RH) Ref E185.96 .R25 1990
Blackwell Encyclopaedia of Political Thought.
Oxford: Basil Blackwell, 1987. (RH LC TT) Ref JA 61 .B57
Careers in International Affairs. Washington,
DC: Georgetown University Press, 1997. (RH) Ref Desk JX 1293 .U6C3 1997
Chambers dictionary of political biography. Edinburgh:
Chambers, 1991. (LC) Ref D108 .C53 1991
Chambers World Gazetteer. New York: W&R Chambers,
1988. (RH LC) Ref Desk G 103 .5 .C44 1988
Concise Oxford dictionary of politics. Oxford:
Oxford University Press, 1996. (RH) Ref JA61 .C665 1996
Congressional District Atlas. Washington, DC:
Bureau of the Census, 1993. (RH) Ref Desk JK 2493 .U5
Congressional Quarterly Almanac. Washington,
DC: Congressional Quarterly. (RH LC) Ref JK 1061 .C7
Congressional Quarterly Weekly Report. Washington,
DC: Congressional Quarterly. (RH LC) Ref JK 1061 .C7 1998
Constitutions of the Countries of the World. Dobbs
Ferry, NY: Oceana Publications. (RH) Ref JF 11 .B43
Department of State Background Notes. Washington,
DC: U.S. Dept. of State. (RH) Ref J1 .B24
Desk Reference on the States. Washington, DC:
Congressional Quarterly. (RH) Ref JK2408. W48 1999
Dictionary of 20th-century world politics. 1st
ed. New York: H. Holt, 1993. (RH) Ref JA61 .S53 1993
Dictionary of world politics: a reference guide to
concepts, ideas and institutions. New York: Simon & Schuster,
1990. (LC) Ref JA61 .E85 1990
Elections A to Z. Washington, DC: Congressional
Quarterly, 1999. (RH) Ref JK1976 .M59 1999
Elliott, Sydney. Conflict in Northern Ireland: an
encyclopedia. Santa Barbara, CA: ABC-CLIO, 1999. (RH)
Ref DA990 .U46 E44 1999b
Encyclopedia of Democracy. Washington, DC: Congressional
Quarterly, 1995. (RH LC) Ref JC 423 .E53 1995
Encyclopedia of Nationalism/editor-in-chief, Alexander
Motyl. San Diego, CA; London: Academic, 2001. (RH) Ref JC311 .E499
2001 v.1&2
Encyclopedia of the American Constitution. New
York: Macmillan Publishing, 1990. (LC) JK 146 .E54
Encyclopedia of the American Presidency. New
York: Simon and Schuster, 1994. (RH LC) JK 511 .E53 1994
Encyclopedia of the United States Congress. New
York: Simon and Schuster, 1995. (RH LC) Ref JK1067 .E63 1995
Finding Government Information on the Internet. New
York: Neal-Schuman Publishers, 1995. (RH) Ref Desk J83 .A1F5 1995
Gale Country and World Rankings Reporter. Detroit,
MI: Gale Research, 1995. (RH LC) Ref HA 155 .G345 1995
Gale State Rankings Reporter. Detroit, MI: Gale
Research, 1994. (RH LC) Ref HA 203 .G34 1994
Gerard, Francois B., ed. Liberalism vs. Conservatism:
a bibliography with indexes. Huntington, NY: Nova Science Publishers,
2000. (RH) JC574 .L524 2000
Greenwood Encyclopedia of International Relations.
Westport, CT: Greenwood Publishing, 2002 (RH) Ref JZ1160 .N65 2002
Guide to the United States Treaties in Force.
Buffalo, NY: William S. Hein. (RH) Ref J2 .T8 Guide
Guide to U.S. Elections. Washington, DC: Congressional
Quarterly, 1994. (RH LC) Ref JK 1967 .C662 1994
Handbook of Public Administration. New York:
Marcel Dekker, 1998. (RH LC) Ref JF1351 .H275 1998
Hernon, Peter. U.S. Government on the Web: getting
the information you need. Englewood, Colo.: Libraries Unlimited, 1999.
(RH LC) Ref ZA5075 .H47 1999
Illustrated dictionary of constitutional concepts.
Washington, D.C.: Congressional Quarterly, 1996.
(RH) Ref JA61 .M28 1996
Information Sources
of Political Science. 5th edition, Green, Stephen W., ed. Santa
Barbara, CA:ABC-CLEO, Inc., 2005 (RH) Ref JA7 .I543 2005
Macmillan dictionary of political quotations. New
York: Macmillan, 1993. (RH LC) Ref PN6084 .P6 E54 1993
Magill, Frank, ed. The American presidents. Pasadena,
CA: Salem Press, 2000. (LC) Ref E176.1 .A6563 2000
Municipal Reference Guide. New York. Shrewsbury,
NJ: National Resource Directories, 1994. (RH LC) Ref HA 545 .M86
Municipal Yearbook. Washington, DC: International
City/County Management Association, 1997. (RH LC) Ref Desk JS 342 .A2I52
New York Public Sector. Sacramento, CA: Public
Sector Publications, 1995. (RH) Ref Desk JK 3430 .N37 1995
Oxford Companion to Politics of the World. New
York: Oxford University Press, 1993. (RH LC) Ref JA 61 .095 1993
Oxford Companion to the Supreme Court of the United
States. New York: Oxford University Press, 1992. (RH
LC) Ref Desk JK 1566 .093 1992
Palmer, Louis J., Encyclopedia of capital punishment
in the United States. Jefferson, N.C.: McFarland, 2001. (RH) Ref
HV8694 .P35 2001
Political commentators in the United States in the
20th century: a bio-critical sourcebook. Westport, CT: Greenwood
Press, 1997. (RH LC) Ref P95 .82 .U6 N57 1997
Political Handbook of the World. Binghamton,
NY: Binghamton University, SUNY, 1997. (RH Ref, LC stacks) JF 37 .P6
Political Systems of the World. New York: St.
Martin’s Press, 1996. (RH) Ref JF 51 .D467 1996
Politics in America. Washington, DC: Congressional
Quarterly, 1997. (RH LC) Ref JK 1010 .P6
Poverty in the United
States: an encyclopedia of history, politics and policy. Santa
Barbara, CA: ABC-CLIO, Inc. 2004 (RH) Ref HC110 .P6 P68, 2004
Profiles of People
in Power: the world's Government Leaders. London, Europa Publications,
2003. (RH) Ref JF 251.E27 2003
Real life dictionary of American politics: what they're
saying and what it really means. Los Angeles: General Pub. Group,
1994. (RH LC) Ref JK9 .H55 1994
Reiche, Bernard and David H. Goldberg. Political
dictionary of Israel. Lanham, Md: Scarecrow Press, 2000. (RH LC) Ref
DS126.5 .R385 2000
Schenken, Suzanne O'Dea. From Suffrage to the Senate:
an encyclopedia of American women in politics. 2 vols. (RH LC) Ref
HQ1236.5 .U6 S32 1999
Schultz, Jeffrey D, ed. Encyclopedia of minorities
in American politics. 2 vols. Phoenix, AZ: Oryx Press, 2000. (RH)
Ref E184 .A1 E574 2000
Statesman’s Year-book. New York: St. Martin’s
Press, 1999. (RH Ref Desk, LC stacks) JA 51 .S7
Tapping the Government Grapevine. Phoenix, AR:
Orynx Press, 1998. (LC) Ref Desk ZA5055.U6 R63 1998
United States Government Manual. Washington,
DC: Office of the Federal Register, 1999/2000. (RH) Ref Desk JK 421 .A3
United States Supreme Court Decisions. Metuchen,
NJ: Scarecrow Press, 1983. (RH LC) Ref Desk JK 1560 .A55 1983
We are everywhere: a historical sourcebook in gay
and lesbian politics. New York: Routledge, 1997. (LC) Ref HQ76 .W38
1997
Who’s Who in American Politics. New Providence,
NJ: Marquis Who’s Who, 1999. (RH LC) Ref JK 6 .W46
Who's Who in democracy. Washington, D.C.: Congressional
Quarterly, 1997. (RH) Ref D21 .3 .W48 1997
Women in law: a bio-bibliographical sourcebook. Westport,
CT: Greenwood Press, 1996. (RH) Ref KB268 .W8 W66 1996
World Encyclopedia of Parliaments and Legislatures.
Washington, DC: Congressional Quarterly, 1998. (RH) Ref JF 511 .W67 1998
World Factbook. Pittsburgh, PA: Superintendent
of Documents, 1998. (RH LC) Ref Desk JF 37 .N3
Yearbook of International Organizations. Brussels:
Union of International Associations, 1999. (RH) Ref Desk JX 194 .A42
Yearbook of the United Nations. New York: Martinus
Nijhoff, 1996. (RH LC) Ref JX 1977 .A37Y4
STATISTICS
Census Catalog and Guide. Washington, DC:
Bureau of the Census, 1998. (RH LC) Ref Desk. HA195.A1U5
County and City Data Book. Washington,
DC: Bureau of the Census, 1994. ( RH Ref Desk, LC stacks) H2.C3S85
Demographic Yearbook. New York: United
Nations Publications, 1997 (RH LC) Ref Desk H2.D3 1993
Foreign Trade of the United States. Washington,
DC: Bernan Press, 1999. (RH) Ref HF 1416.5 .F68 1999
Historical Statistics of the United States: Colonial
Times to 1970. Washington, DC: Bureau of the Census, 1975.
(RH LC) Ref Desk H2.C3581 1975 (RH) Ref CD-Rom ed.
W Data CD65
Municipal Reference Guide, New York. Shrewsbury,
NJ: National Resources Directories, Inc., 1994. (RH LC) Ref HA545 .M86
1994-95
New York State Statistical Yearbook. Albany:
Nelson A. Rockefeller Institute of Government, 1998. (RH LC) Ref
Desk. HA544.A2 1998
DIRECTORIES
Accessing U.S. government information: subject guide
to jurisdiction of the executive and legislative branches. Westport,
CT: Greenwood Press, 1996. (RH) Ref Z1223 .Z7 Z572 1996
Congressional Directory, 1997-1998 (106th
Congress). Washington, DC: U.S. Government Printing Office,
2000. (RH Ref Desk, LC stacks) JK 1011
Congressional Staff Directory, 1999 (Fall). Washington,
DC: Congressional Quarterly, 1999. (RH LC) Ref Desk JK 1012 .C6
Congressional Yellow Book. Washington, D.C.:
Washington Monitor. (RH) [Latest ed. only] Ref JK1011 .C53
Federal Regional Yellow Book: who's who in the federal
government's departments, agencies. New York: Monitor Publication Co.,
1993-. (RH) [Latest ed. Only] Ref JK6 .F425
Federal Regulatory Directory. Washington, DC:
Congressional Quarterly, 1999. (RH) Ref Desk JK 901 .F4
Federal Yellow Book. New York: Leadership Directories,
2000. (RH) Ref Desk JK 1 .F44
The Green Book: Official Directory of the City of
New York. New York: City of New York, 1998. (RH
LC) Ref Desk JS 1222 .A3
New York public sector. Sacramento, CA: Public
Sector Publications. (RH) Ref Desk JK3430 .N37
New York State Directory. San Mateo, CA:
Walker’s Research, 1999. (RH LC) Ref Desk JK 3430 .N4
Washington Information Directory. Washington,
DC: Congressional Quarterly, 1999. (RH LC) Ref Desk JK 464 . W2
INTERNET RESOURCES
Political Science
Brookings Institute
Policy Series
Well known think tank offers in-depth studies on a variety of social,
economic and political issues.
Election Resources on the Internet
Links to election data for over 120 countries and to the electoral process
for 30 countries.
Moving Ideas
An "amalgam of nearly 50 think tanks, policy institutes, and research
institutions, primarily US-based, with a liberal or 'progressive' posture".
Recommended for students interested in public policy issues.
Political
Resources on the Net
Access political resources by country.
Political Science
Resources on the Web
Compiled by Grace York (political science librarian, Univ. of Michigan),
this is an extremely comprehensive site that has won multiple awards.
An essential first stop for political science students
Rand
bibliographies and Abstracts
Available for a diverse collection of subjects, each Subject
Area Bibliography is used to easily find RAND research documents
grouped by topic in one place, complete with abstracts.
Richard Kimber's
Political Science Resources
Offers a "trove of valuable, easily accessible hot links to information
sites and research resources in political science". Recommended for serious
researchers.
Comparative Politics
Background Notes
Brief summaries of information about countries, from the U.S. State
Dept.
Canadian Government
Information
Compiled by the National Library of Canada, this is an excellent
resource for political science, economics and international studies
students.
Canadian
Politics on the Web
A useful guide for students studying introductory Canadian government
and politics.
Constitution
Finder
A useful site that provides links to most nations of the world's
constitutions.
Embassy World
Look up the addresses of any country's embassies and consulates
anywhere in the world.
Political Database of
the Americas
Focused on Latin American politics, offers links to newspapers
and journals throughout Latin America. Useful comparative studies section.
Note that many documents are only in Spanish.
American Diplomacy
Foreign service despatches and periodic reports on U.S. foreign
policy since 1996.
Amnesty International
Links to many human rights organizations. In-depth discussion on
death penalty.
Carnegie
Endowment for International Peace
Excellent resource from a non-profit organization dedicated to advancing
cooperation between nations and international engagement by the
U.S.
CIA World Factbook
Provides quick information and statistics for every country in
the world. Updated annually.
Center For Strategic
& International Studies
A highly recommended international affairs site based in Washington.
Deals with national and international security, global development and
finding new methods of governance.
Chiefs of State
and Cabinet Members of Foreign Governments
An up-to-date list of names (but no contact information) supplied
by the CIA.
European Union
Home page for all bodies of the EU.
FIRST
Facts on International Relations and Security. A highly recommended
search engine for about three dozen databases on international relations
and security.
Foreign Policy Association
The web site of one of the nation's leading non-profit, non-partisan
organizations. Includes keyword searchable resource library. Recommended
for all levels of students.
Governments on
the WWW
Good access point for links to foreign government information.
Includes links to a variety of sites such as public broadcasting, national
banks and tourist offices.
INCORE
Scholarly information on ethnic conflicts around the globe.
Institute For
Science and International Security
Web site of the Washington-based non-profit research group focusing
on nuclear weapons proliferation, especially in North Korea, Iraq, Iran
and South Asia.
International Crisis
Group
The International Crisis Group is a private multinational organization
that provides detailed reports, press releases and news bulletins about
international crises around the world.
International Information
Programs
Maintained by the U.S. Dept. of State, includes press releases,
texts of speeches and radio transcripts. Searching by issue is possible.
International Relations
and Security Network
International security issues searchable by country, region or
organization.
Organization of American
States
Issues and statistical information concerning Central and South
American nations.
Perry-Castaneda
Library Map Collection
From the University of Texas at Austin, this site has been deservedly
described as "a wonderful map resource for researchers and historians".
Stratnet
The Strategic Studies Network is maintained by the Strategic Studies
Program at the University of Calgary, Canada. It offers links to strategic
studies, international relations and political web sites around the world.
United Nations
Home page for all bodies of the UN and its affiliates. Includes
a guide to UN documentation.
United Nations
Scholars' Workstation
An excellent supplement to the United Nations web site, this site
was designed to support Yale University's program in U.N. studies. Material
can be accessed by UN organ, topic, and geographical area.
WWW Virtual Library:
International Affairs Resources
An extremely rich compilation of well organized and annotated Web
sites. This award winning "cyberlibrary" should be a first stop for all
international relations students.
U.S. Politics
American Civil Liberties
Union
Provides timely information on a range of civil liberties
issues.
American experience/Vietnam
Includes the transcript of each of the 13 one hour videos from
the PBS's series "Vietnam: A Television History", released in 1983.
American National
Election Studies
Offers statistical data on voting, public opinion and political
participation in US elections from 1952 to the present.
American Political
Development
This site promotes the interdisciplinary study of "the historical
roots of contemporary political developments in the United States" and
informs "current political debate and the public at large". Recommended for
all levels of students of American political history.
Biographical
Directory of the United States Congress: 1774-Present
Biographical information on all members of the House and Senate.
Bureau of Justice
Statistics
From the US Dept. of Justice. Highly recommended as a source of
statistics on crime and criminal justice.
Center for Voting
and Democracy
This site advocates a proportional representation electoral system
for the U.S.
Center on Budget
and Policy Priorities
The CBPP has emerged as a "national authority on policy issues
impacting primarily lower income individuals and families".
Congressional Budget Office
Source for U.S. budgetary information.
Constitution of
the United States of America
A keyword-searchable site providing a syntheses of US Supreme court
decisions, the text of the Constitution, the twenty-seven amendments,
and related information.
Factcheck.org: Annenberg
political fact check
A non-partisan site that analyzes the accuracy of major political
speeches, debates and ads since December, 2003
Federal Election Commission
Provides information on campaign finance law and how to track "hard"
money in U.S. elections.
Findlaw: Internet
legal resources
"The best place to begin legal research on the web".
First
Amendment Center
A useful website about First Amendment rights.
Government Performance
Project
Comprehensive and independent information about state management
performance.
Legal
Information Institute: Supreme Court Collection
Maintained by Cornell Law School, this site provides "a wealth
of reliable and accurate information on the U.S. Supreme Court".
Metavid
An archived collection of the televised proceedings of the US Senate and
House of Representatives.
National Archives and
Records Administration
NARA is an independent federal agency set up to preserve documents
relevant to U.S. history and to manage all federal records. Includes
a searchable database.
NationalIssues.com
Articles on major public policy issues such as gun control, China-Taiwan,
taxes and social security. Not for in-depth research.
National
Priorities Project: Federal Budget Impacts
A useful site that compiles statistics from government sources
to examine the trade offs between military and social spending.
Open
Secrets.org
This site is "a virtual gold mine for scholars studying the influence
of money in contemporary congressional politics".
Political
Information.com
"A good starting point for undergraduates desiring to get a feel
for political information on the Web". Provides links to over 1,700
political websites with a US perspective.
PollingReport.com
Gives the results of current polls by US public survey organizations such
as NRR, Fox News, Harris and Gallup.
Project Vote Smart
In-depth information about U.S. political leaders and their financing,
voting records and stands on important issues.
Public Agenda
A nonpartisan opinion research and civic engagement organization helping
Americans explore and understand critical issues
State
Agency Databases
An ALA voluntary project that is a wiki of state databases.
Stateline.org
Current news and analysis of state level politics.
U.S. Congress votes
database
Roll-call votes from 1991 to the present by the Washington Post.
Registration with paper is required, but access is free.
White House
Includes information on the president and vice-president, federal
benefits, education programs, science and technology programs, business,
and on obtaining government documents.
P. Patten, Fordham University Library
|