INDEXES
& DATABASES
PsycINFO
is the definitive
online index of references to psychological literature. Produced by the
American Psychological Association, PsychINFO indexes
citations
and summaries of journal articles, books, book chapters, technical
reports
and dissertations in psychology. Journal coverage (spanning 1887 to the
present) includes international material selected from more than 1300
periodicals
written in over 25 languages. Current chapter and book coverage
includes
worldwide English-language material published from 1987 to the
present.
[PsycINFO is accessed through EBSCOhost.
Click
on the link above, choose EBSCOhost Web, then scroll
down
the list of choices to find and select PsychINFO.]
In addition, there is PsycARTICLES
Full Text. It contains full text articles from selected APA
journals
and EPF journals, most from 1988 to the present.
PEP WEB Psychoanalytic Electronic Publishing
contains the full text of 18 journals in psychoanalysis plus writings of well-known psychoanalysts
EBSCOhost
also
offers Academic Search Premier, which provides
information
on a range of academic areas that includes psychology. Full-text
articles have been indexed for over 1,200 journals, with many dating
back
to 1990. [Click on the link above, choose EBSCOhost Web,
then scroll down the list of choices to find and select Academic
Search Premier.]
For less extensive searching, try ProQuest
Direct. [Click on the link at left, click on "Collections,"
and
select PA Research II.] This database indexes most
of the major psychological journals and supplies full-text for many of
the articles.
Fordham University offers many resources for electronic journals.
The
Electronic
Journals section of the Library home page offers a searchable
list
of these journals. This page also lists individual sources of
electronic
journals, many of which include journals in the field of psychology.
Psychological Abstracts ([RH
/ LC] Ref BF1.P6) This is the
print
version of the above listed PsychINFO, also produced by
the
American
Psychological Association. Note that the Walsh
Library
(Rose Hill) has this print index (author index and subject index) for
the
years 1927 through 1974; the Quinn Library (Lincoln Center) has the
years
1927 through 1937, and 1940 through 1991.
DICTIONARIES
AND ENCYCLOPEDIAS
APA Dictionary of Psychology. VandenBos, Gary R., editor. Washington, DC: American Psychological Association, 2007. (RH) Ref BF31.V295 2006
Baker Encyclopedia of Psychology & Counseling. 2nd ed.
Grand
Rapids, Mich.: Baker Books, 1999.
(RH / LC) Ref BF31 .B25 1999.
Biographical Dictionary of Psychology. London: Routledge
Reference,
1997. (RH / LC) Ref BF109. A1 B5 1997
Colman, Andrew M. A Dictionary of Psychology. NY: Oxford
University Press, 2006.
(RH / LC ) Ref BF31 .C65 2006
Colman, Andrew M. A Dictionary of Psychology. (ebook)NY: Oxford University Press, 2006.
Companion Encyclopedia of Psychology. London; N.Y.:
Routledge,
1994. 2 vols. (RH / LC) Ref BF31. C59 1994
The Concise Corsini Encyclopedia of
Psychology and Behavioral Science. 3rd ed. Hoboken:
Wiley, 2004. (LC / MM) Ref +BF31 .C66 2004
Cordon, Luis A. Popular Psychology: An Encyclopedia. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 2005. (RH) Ref BF31.C715 2005
Corsini Encyclopedia of Psychology and Behavioral Science.
3rd
edition. N.Y.: Wiley, 2001. 4 vols.
(RH / LC / MM) Ref +BF31 .C67 2001.
Corsini, Raymond J. Dictionary of Psychology. Philadelphia,
Pa.:
Brunner / Mazel. 1999.
(RH / LC / MM) Ref BF31 .C72 1999.
Encyclopedia of Adult Development. Phoenix, AZ: Oryx Press,
1993.
(RH / LC) Ref BF724.5 .E53 1993
Encyclopedia of Applied Development Science. Thousand Oaks, Calif: Sage Publications, 2005. (RH) Ref HQ767.84.EZ 2005
Encyclopedia of Creativity. San Diego, Calif.: Academic
Press,
1999. (RH / LC) Ref +BF408 .E63 1999
Encyclopedia of Depression. 2nd ed. N.Y.: Facts on File,
2001.
(RH / LC) Ref RC537 .R57 2001
Encyclopedia of Human Behavior. San Diego: Academic Press,
1994.
4 vols. (RH / LC) Ref +BF31 .E5 1994
Encyclopedia of Human Emotions. N.Y.: Macmillan, 1999. 2
vols.
(RH / LC) Ref +BF531 .E55 1999
Encyclopedia of Human Intelligence. N.Y.: Macmillan, 1994. 2
vols. (RH) Ref BF431. E59 1994
Encyclopedia of Industrial and Organizational Psychology. Rogelberg, Steven G., editor. Thousand Oaks, CA: Sage, 2007. (RH) Ref HF5548.8.E498 2007
Encyclopedia of Mental Health. 2nd ed. N.Y.: Facts on File,
2001.
(RH / LC / MM) Ref RC437. K34 2001
Encyclopedia of Psychology. Washington, D.C.: American
Psychological
Association, 2000. 8 vols.
(RH / LC / MM) Ref +BF31. E552 2000
Encyclopedia of Schizophrenia and Other Psychotic Disorders.
2nd ed. N.Y.: Facts on File.
(RH / LC / MM) Ref RC514 .N63 2000
Encyclopedia of Sleep and Sleep Disorders. 2nd ed. NY: Facts
on File, 2001. (RH / LC) Ref RC 547. T48 1991
Everitt, B. S. and T. Wykes. Dictionary of Statistics for
Psychologists.
London : Arnold ; N.Y.: Co-published in the United States of America by
Oxford University Press, 1999. (RH) Ref BF39 .E83 1999
Hayes, Nicky. A Student's
Dictionary of Psychology. 4th ed. NY: Oxford
University Press, 2003. (RH / LC) Ref BF31 .S69 2003
International Encyclopedia of Psychiatry, Psychology,
Psychoanalysis
and Neurology. N.Y.: Van Nostrand Reinhold Co., 1977. 12 vols. (RH
/ LC) Ref + RC334 .I57 1977.
Kaplan, Steven M. Wiley’s English-Spanish, Spanish-English
Dictionary
of Psychology and Psychiatry. NY: Wiley, 1995. (RH) Ref BF31. K36
1995
Magill's Encyclopedia of Social
Science: Psychology. Pasedena: Salem, 2003.
(RH) Ref BF31 .M33 2003
Miermont, Jacques. A Dictionary of Family Therapy. Oxford,
UK;
Cambridge, MA: Blackwell Reference, 1995.
(RH / LC) Ref RC488 .5 .M531 1995
Military Life: the Psychology of Serving in Peace and Combat. Britt, Thomas W., Carl Andrew Castro, and Amy B. Adler, Editors. Westport, Conn: Praeger Security International, 2006. 4 vols. (RH) U22.3.M485 2006
Psychologist’s Desk Reference. 2nd ed. NY: Oxford
University Press, 2005.
(RH Ref Desk / LC) Ref RC467.2.P78 2005
Psychology Basics. Rev. ed. Pasadena: Salem Press, 2005. (RH) Ref BF31.P765 2005
Reber, Arthur. The Penguin
Dictionary of Psychology. 3rd ed. NY: Penguin Books,
2001. (RH Ref / LC) BF31 .R43 2001
A Reference Companion to the History of Abnormal Psychology. Westport,
CT: Greenwood Press, 1984. 2 vols.
(RH / LC) Ref RC454 .4 .H68
Schoenewolf, Gerald. Dictionary of Dream Interpretation:
Including
a Glossary of Dream Symbols. Montvale, NJ: Jason Aronson, 1997.
(RH)
Ref BF175 .5 D74 S36 1997
Stewart William. An A-Z of Counselling Theory and Practice. 4th
ed.Cheltenham: Nelson Thornes, 2005. (RH) Ref RC466 .S74
2001
--------. Dictionary of Images and Symbols in Counselling.
London;
Philadelphia: Jessica Kingsley, 1998.
(RH) Ref BF458 .S73 1998
Sutherland, N. S. International Dictionary of Psychology. 2nd
edition. N.Y.: Crossroad, 1996.
(RH / LC) Ref BF31. S83 1996
REFERENCE
SOURCES
American Psychological Association. Publication
Manual of the American Psychological Association. 5th ed.
Washington:
American Psychological Association,2001. (RH Ref Desk / LC Reserve / MM
Ref) BF76.7.P83 2001
The Complete Guide to Mental Health
for Women. Boston: Beacon Press, 2003. (RH / LC) Ref
RC451.4.W6 C585 2003
Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM-IV).
4th ed. Washington: American Psychatric Association, 1994. (RH Ref Desk
/ LC / MM) Ref RC469. A5 1994
Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM-IV-TR).
4th ed. Washington: American Psychiatric Association,
2000. (RH / MM Ref )
(LC Reserve) RC455.2.C4 D536 2000
Diagnostic Criteria from DSM-IV. Washington: American
Psychiatric
Association, 1994. (LC Reserve / MM Ref) RC455 .2 C4 D56
1994
Diagnostic Criteria from DSM-IV-TR. Washington: American Psychiatric Association, 2000. (RH/LC/MM) Ref RC455.2.C4.Q85 2000
Galvan, Jose. Writing
Literature Reviews : A Guide for Students of the Social and Behavioral
Sciences. 2nd ed. Glendale: Pyrczak Pub., 2004. (LC
Ref / MM Reserve) H61.8 .G3 2004
Gelfand, Harold. Mastering APA Style: Student’s Workbook and
Training
Guide. 4th ed. Washington: American Psychological
Association,
1994. ( LC Reserve) BF76 .7 G45 1994
Graduate Study in Psychology. Washington: American
Psychological
Association, 2006.
(RH Ref / LC Ref Desk) BF77 .A52
Guttmann, Samuel A. Konkordanz zu Gesammelten Werken von Sigmund
Freud. Concordance to the collected works of Sigmund Freud.
Waterloo
Ont: North Waterloo Academic Press, 1995. 6 vols. (RH) Ref
BF173 .F85 A2 1995
Handbook of Child Psychology. 5thed. NY: J. Wiley,
1998. 3 vols. (RH / LC / MM) Ref BF721 .H176 1998.
Handbook of Psychology.
NY: Wiley, 2003. (RH / LC/ MM) Ref +BF121 .H225 2003
Levinger, Carl. Everything You Need to Get a Psychology
Internship.
2nd edition. Los Angeles: Windmill Lane Press, 1996. (RH)
Ref
BF77 .L465 1996
Oxford Companion to the Mind. Oxford; N.Y.: Oxford University
Press, 2004. (RH / LC / MM) Ref BF31 .O94 2004
Silvia, Paul J. How to Write a Lot: A Practical Guide to Productive Academic Writing. Washington: American Psychological Association, 2007. (RH) Ref PE1408.S48787 2007
Stress-Related Disorders Sourcebook
: Basic Consumer Health Information About Stress and Stress-Related
Disorders. Detroit: Omnigraphics, 2002. (MM) Ref
RA785 .S78 2002
Survey of Social Science. Psychology Series. Pasadena: Salem
Press, 1993. 6 vols. (RH / LC) Ref BF31. S79 1993
Tompkins, Margaret. Serials in Psychology and Allied Fields.
2nd edition. Troy: Whitston Pub. Company, 1976.
(RH Ref / LC) BF5 .T6 1976
TESTS
Directory of Unpublished Experimental Mental Measures. NY:
Human
Sciences Press, 1974-.
(RH Ref / LC / MM) BF431 .G56
Mental Measurements Yearbook. 13thed. Lincoln,
NE: Buros Institute of Mental Measurements, 1998
(RH Ref / LC Reserve / MM Ref) Z5814 .P8 B932
Test
Locator is an
Internet-accessible database used to locate descriptions of tests,
citations
to scholarly reviews of tests, and publisher contact information.
TESTS: A Comprehensive Reference for Assessments in Psychology,
Education
and Business. 4th ed. Austin, Tx.: Pro-Ed.,1997. (LC Reserves / MM
Ref) BF176 .T38 1997
INTERNET
RESOURCES
American Psychological Association
Official homepage of the APA. Includes newsletters, conferences, APA
membership services.
APA Style
Resources
Numerous helpful links to APA style guides available on the internet.
Classics in the History of
Psychology
This searchable website provides full-text access to sources of
historical
importance in psychology.
See Index of CHP Documents sorted by author and topics.
Electronic
Psychology
Periodicals
Links to many full text journals, conference proceedings and
bibliographies
in psychology and related fields.
See Select Options (left margin) link to “Student Resources” for research. “Psych Scholar” links to
research, teaching, studying and classes aids. Large list of online journal articles available by scrolling to “Current
List.”
Sigmund Freud & the
Freud Archives
Hosted by the Brill Library of the New York Psychoanalytic Institute
& Society. Links to Freud related sites on the Net.
Jung Analytical Psychology and
Culture
Newly-designed site with materials relating to the work of Jung and Jungian analysis. Includes links to dream study sites. Log-in request (left margin)[C not required to access articles.
National Institute of Mental
Health
Information on specific mental disorders, diagnosis and treatment.
Also includes conference agendas and research programs.
Center for Mental Health
Services
- Knowledge Exchange Network (KEN)
The Center for Mental Health Services (CMHS) is a component of the
Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA),
U.S.
Department of Health and Human Services. Offers an extensive list of
mental
health resources links.
The Owl at Purdue
MLA and APA formatting and style guides.
PsychScholar:
A collection of web resources of psychological scholars and budding psychological scholars.
A wide variety of valuable resources in the field of psychology compiled by the Hanover College psychology department.
PsychSite
This site is hosted by a publishing firm. It is especially useful for teachers, as it offers Student Activities and Instructor's Resources, includes quizzes, a dictionary, links to various resources, and contains information on graduate study and careers (see"Psychology and You" under "Student Activities").
PsychWeb
An index of psychology related sites on the Net geared towards students
and teachers. Features links to classic texts, style manuals, career
information
and university psychology departments.
See left margin for Tip Sheet.
Social Psychology Network
This site asserts itself to be the largest social psychology database
on the Internet with over 5,000 links to psychology and
psychology-related
resources.
They offer both “quick” and “advanced” search; also “Employment openings.”
Nancy Stout
Fordham University Libraries
|