|
SCIENTIFIC DATABASES / GENERAL
SCIENCE / SCIENTIFIC BIOGRAPHIES
/ POPULAR SCIENCE / MATHEMATICS
/ COMPUTER SCIENCE / STATISTICS
/ ASTRONOMY / PHYSICS
/ GENERAL CHEMISTRY / ORGANIC
CHEMISTRY / GEOLOGY / GENERAL
BIOLOGY / BOTANY / ZOOLOGY
/ ANATOMY / PHYSIOLOGY
/ MICROBIOLOGY / MEDICAL
/ GARDENING / APPLIED
SCIENCE AND TECHNOLOGY /
INTERNET RESOURCES
SCIENTIFIC DATABASES
Web
of Science
Science Citation Index Expanded. A multidisciplinary index to 5,900
science journals going back to 1998. Links are provided to full text
when available.
Biological
Abstracts
Index from 1992. The main source for scholarly articles on all
biological
subjects. It covers publications worldwide and is most useful for
graduate
students and faculty.
Health
Reference Center-Academic
Hundreds of thousands of full-text articles on health topics
Medline Fulltext
MEDLINE with Full Text is the world's most comprehensive source of full text for medical journals, providing full text for nearly 1,200 journals indexed in MEDLINE.
The
Collection of Computer Science Bibliographies
This databases references over 1,200 bibliographies covering most
aspects
of computer science and is updated monthly.
Math
Sci
The online version of Math Reviews and the main source for searching
mathematical literature. Dating from 1940 its’ coverage is global and
is
geared toward graduate students and faculty.
PubMed
The National Library of Medicine’s Database. The central source for
finding scholarly and technical medical information providing many
full-text
citations.
Environment Complete
Index to environmental literature including full text of over 400 journals, numerous monographs and conference papers.
GENERAL SCIENCE DICTIONARIES
AND ENCYCLOPEDIAS
McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology. 6th
ed.
New York: McGraw-Hill,1987. RH Ref, RH Sci Ref, LC Ref Q121 .M3.
LaRousse Dictionary of Science & Technology. Edinburgh,
Scotland:
1995. RH Sci Ref, LC Ref Q123 .L3.
McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Scientific and Technical Terms. 5th
.
ed. New York: McGraw-Hill, 1993. RH Sci Ref Q121 .M15 1993.
McGraw-Hill Concise Encyclopedia of Science and Technology. 2ed.
ed. New York: McGraw- Hill 1989. RH Sci Ref Q121 .M3 1989.
Academic Press Dictionary of Science and Technology. San
Diego:
1992. RH Sci Ref, LC Ref Q123 .A33 1992.
Schneider, Herman. Harper Dictionary of Science on Everyday
Language.
New
York: Harper & Row, 1988. RH Sci Ref Q123 .S36 1988.
SCIENTIFIC BIOGRAPHIES,
DICTIONARIES,
AND ENCYCLOPEDIAS
Bailey, Martha J. American Women in Science. Denver:
ABC-CLIO,
1994. RH Sci Ref, LC Ref Q141 .B25 1994.
Biographical Encyclopedia of Scientists. Philadelphia:
Institute
of Physics, 1994. RH Sci Ref Q141 .B25 1994.
American Men and Women of Science. 19th ed. New
Providence,
NJ: Bowker, 1994 RH Sci Ref, LC Ref Q141 .C4.
The Biographical Dictionary of Scientists. 2nd.
ed.
New York: Oxford University Press, 1994 RH Sci Ref Q141 .B528 1996.
Millar, David. The Cambridge Dictionary of Scientists.
Cambridge:
Cambridge University Press, 1996. RH Sci Ref Q141 .C128 1996.
Distinguished African-American Scientists of the Twentieth Century.
Phoenix, Arizona: Oryx, 1996. RH Sci Ref Q141 .D535 1996.
Notable Twentieth Century Scientists. New York: Gale, 1995.
RH
Sci Ref, LC Ref Q141 .N73 1995.
Notable Women in the Physical Sciences. New York: Gale, 1997.
RH Sci Ref Q141 .N734 1997.
LaRousse Dictionary of Scientists. Edinburgh, Scotland: 1994.
RH Sci Ref Q141 .L6 1994.
POPULAR SCIENCE ENCYCLOPEDIAS,
DIRECTORIES, AND HANDBOOKS
Clark, Jerome. Encyclopedia of Strange and Unexplained Physical
Phenomena.
New York: Gale, 1993 RH Sci Ref Q173 .C554 1993.
Physical Sciences Career Directory. New York: Gale, 1994. RH
Sci Ref Q147 .P55 1994
Bunch, Byron. The Henry Holt Handbook of Current Science and
Technology.
New
York: Henry Holt 1996. RH Ref, Sci Ref, LC Ref Q158.5 B86 1996.
Science and Technology Desk Reference. New York: Gale, 1993.
RH Sci Ref Q173 .S354 1993.
MATHEMATICS DICTIONARIES,
ENCYCLOPEDIAS,
& TABLES
International Critical Tables. 1st. ed. New York:
McGraw-Hill, 1929. RH Sci Ref Q199 .N32 .
International Dictionary of Applied Mathematics. Princeton,
New
Jersey: Van Nostrand 1960 RH Sci Ref QA5 .I5.
Clapham, Christopher.
Concise
Oxford Dictionary of Mathematics. 2nd. ed. New York:
Oxford
University Press, 1996. RH Sci Ref QA5 .C53 1996.
Mathematics Dictionary (Multilingual Edition). Princeton,
New
Jersey: Van Nostrand, 1959. RH Sci Ref QA5 .J3.
Encyclopedic Dictionary of Mathematics. Cambridge,
Massachusetts:
MIT Press, 1977. RH Sci Ref, LC Oversize QA5 .N5.
Companion Encyclopedia of the History and Philosophy of the
Mathematical
Sciences. New York: Routledge, 1994. RH Sci Ref, LC Ref QA21 .C63
1994.
Notable Women in Mathematics. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press,
1998. RH Sci Ref QA28 .N68.
Bronshtein, I.N. Handbook of Mathematics. New York: Van
Nostrand
1985. RH Sci Ref, LC Ref QA40 .B7 1985.
CRC Standard Mathematical Tables and Formulae. Boca Raton,
FL:
CRC, 1996. RH Sci Ref QA47 .C4 1996.
COMPUTER SCIENCE ENCYCLOPEDIAS
AND DICTIONARIES
Dictionary of Computer Words. Rev. ed. Boston:
Houghton-Mifflin
1995. RH Sci Ref QA76.I5 .D49 1995.
Dictionary of Computing. 4th. ed. New York:
Oxford
University Press, 1996. RH Sci Ref, LC Ref QA76.I5 .D517.
Encyclopedia of Computer Science. 3rd. ed. New
York:
Van Nostrand, 1993. RH Sci Ref, LC Ref QA76.I5 .E5 1993.
Freedman, Alan. The Computer Desktop Encyclopedia. New
York:
American Management Association, 1996. RH Sci Ref, LC Ref QA76.I5 .F732
1996.
Macmillan Encyclopedia of Computers. New York:
Macmillan,
1992. RH Sci Ref QA76.I5 .E53 1992.
Shafer, Kevin. Novell’s Dictionary of Networking. San Jose,
CA:
Novell, 1997. RH Sci Ref, LC Ref QA76.I5 .S47 1997
Dyson, Peter. The Unix Desk Reference. San Francisco: Sybex,
1996. RH Sci Ref, LC Ref QA76.76.O63 .D99 1976.
International Biographical Dictionary of Computer Pioneers.
Chicago:
IEEE, 1995. RH Sci Ref, Tarrytown Ref QA76.2 .A244 1995.
Cotton, Bob. The Cyberspace Lexicon. London: Phaidon, 1994.
RH
Sci Ref, LC Ref QA76.76.I59 .C675.
STATISTICS ENCYCLOPEDIAS,
DICTIONARIES,
AND TABLES
Encyclopedia of Statistical Sciences. New York: Wiley, 1982.
RH Sci Ref, LC Ref QA276.14 .E5.
Kendall, Maurice J. A Dictionary of Statistical Terms. 4th.
ed. London: Longman, 1982. QA276.25 H37 1973.
Basic Statistical Tables. Cleveland: CRC Press, 1971. RH Sci
Ref QA276.25 .B47 1971.
Selected Tables in Mathematical Statistics. Providence, RI:
American
Mathematical Society, 1973. RH Sci Ref QA276.25 .H37
Handbook of Mathematical Functions. Washington, D.C.:
National
Bureau of Standards, 1972. RH Sci Ref QA331 .A26 1972.
ASTRONOMY ENCYCLOPEDIAS,
DICTIONARIES,
AND ATLASES
The Astronomy and Astrophysics Encyclopedia. New York: Van
Nostrand
Reinhold, 1997. RH Sci Ref QB14 .A873 1997.
The Cambridge Astronomy Dictionary. New York: Cambridge
University
Press, 1994. RH Sci Ref QB14 .C36 1994.
Facts on File Dictionary of Astronomy. 3rd. ed.
New
York: Facts on File, 1994. RH Sci Ref, LC Ref QB14 .F3 1994.
Astronomical Dictionary in Six Languages. New York: Academic
Press, 1961. RH Sci Ref QB14 .K4.
Weigert, A. A Concise Encyclopedia of Astronomy. New York:
Elsevier,
1967. RH Sci Ref QB14 .W45 1967.
Crowell, Thomas J. The Telescope Handbook and Star Atlas. New
York: Neale & Howard, 1967. RH Sci Ref QB63 .H6.
Wray, James D. The Color Atlas of Galaxies. Cambridge:
Cambridge
University Press, 1988. RH Sci Ref, LC Oversize QB857 .W73.
Encyclopedia of Time. New York: Garland, 1994. RH Sci Ref
QB209
.E52 1994
Bakich, Michael E. The Cambridge Guide to the Constellations. New
York: Cambridge University Press, 1995. RH Sci Ref QB802 .B35 1995.
Encyclopedia of Cosmology. New York: Garland, 1993. RH Sci
Ref
QB980.5 .E53 1993
The Cambridge Atlas of Astronomy. Cambridge: Cambridge
University
Press, 1994. RH Sci Ref, LC Oversize QB65 .C35 1994.
The Solar System. Pasadena, CA: Salem Press, 1998. RH Sci Ref
QB501 .S625 1998.
PHYSICS ENCYCLOPEDIAS,
DICTIONARIES,
AND HANDBOOKS
The Encyclopedia of Physics. 2nd. ed. New York:
Van
Nostrand Reinhold, 1974. RH Sci Ref QC5 .B44 1974.
A Dictionary of Physics. 3rd. ed. New York:
Oxford
University Press, 1996. RH Sci Ref QC5 .D53 1996.
Encyclopedia of Applied Physics. New York: VCH Publishers.
RH
Sci Ref QC5 .E57.
Encyclopedia of Physics. Reading, MA: Addison Wesley, 1981.
RH
Sci Ref QC5 .E6.
Encyclopedia of Physics. 2nd. ed. New York: VCH
Publishers.
RH Sci Ref QC5 .E6 1991.
McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Physics. New York: McGraw-Hill,
1983.
RH Sci Ref, LC Ref QC5 .M26.
McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Physics. 2nd ed. New
York:
McGraw-Hill, 1997. RH Sci Ref QC5 .M22 1997.
Encyclopedic Dictionary of Physics. London: Pergamon Press,
1961.
RH Sci Ref QC5 .T51
American Institute of Physics Handbook. 3rd. ed.
New
York: McGraw-Hill, 1972. RH Sci Ref QC61 .A54.
Handbook of Physical Quantities. Boca Raton, FL: CRC Press,
1997.
RH Sci Ref QC61 .H36 1997.
Darton, Mike. The Macmillan Dictionary of Measurement. New
York:
Macmillan, 1994. RH Sci Ref, LC Ref QC82 .D37 1994.
Atomic, Molecular, and Optical Physics Handbook. Woodbury,
NY:
American Institute of Physics, 1996. RH Sci Ref QC173 .A87 1996.
Perrot, Paul. A-Z of thermodynamics. New York: Oxford
University
Press, 1998. Sci Ref QC310.3 P47 1998.
Handbook of Optics. New York: McGraw-Hill, 1978. RH Sci Ref
QC369
.H35.
Perkampus, Henry-Helmut. Encyclopedia of Spectroscopy. New
York:
VCH Publishers, 1995. RH Sci Ref, LC Ref QC450.3 .P47 1995.
Atlas of Mass Spectral Data. New York: Interscience, 1969.
RH
Sci Ref QC453 .S84.
Encyclopedia of X-rays and Gamma Rays. New York: Reinhold,
1963.
RH Sci Ref QC482 .C473.
Encyclopedia of Nuclear Magnetic Resonance. New York, Wiley,
1996. RH Sci Ref QC768 .E58 1996.
International Dictionary of Geophysics. Oxford, Pergamon,
1967,
RH Sci Ref QC801.9 .I58.
Encyclopedia of Climate and Weather. New York: Oxford
University
Press, 1996. RH Sci Ref QC854 .E523 1996.
Maunder, John W. Dictionary of Global Climate Change. New
York:
Chapman & Hall, 1992. RH Sci Ref QC981.8.C5 .M38 1992.
Gribben, John. Q is for quantum: an encyclopedia of particle
physics.
New
York: The Free Press, 1998. RH Sci Ref QC793.2 G747 1998.
GENERAL CHEMISTRY
DICTIONARIES,
ENCYCLOPEDIAS, AND HANDBOOKS
Chemical Abstracts. Columbus, Ohio: American Chemical
Society,
1907 – . RH Sci Ref Q1 .A51.
A Dictionary of Named Effects and Laws in Chemistry, Physics, and
Mathematics. New York: Chapman & Hall, 1980. RH Sci Ref QD5
.B32
1980.
Compendium of Chemical Terminology. Oxford: Blackwells,
1987.
RH Sci Ref QD5 .C45 1987.
A Dictionary of Chemistry. 3rd. ed. New York:
Oxford
University Press, 1996. RH Sci Ref QD5 .D47 1996.
Kaplan, Steven M. Wiley's English-Spanish Spanish-English
Chemistry
Dictionary. New York: Wiley, 1998. RH Sci Ref QD5 .K295 1998.
Miall’s Dictionary of Chemistry. 5th. ed. Harlow,
UK: Longman’s, 1965. RH Sci Ref QD5 .M52.
McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Chemistry. New York: McGraw-Hill,
1997.
RH Sci Ref QD5 .M357 1997.
Van Nostrand Reinhold Encyclopedia of Chemistry. 4th.
ed. New York: Van Nostrand Reinhold, 1984. RH Ref, RH Sci Ref QD5 .V37.
Lee, C.C. Chemical Guide to the Internet. Rockville,
MD:
Government Institutes Inc, 1996. RH Sci Ref QD8.3 .L44 1996.
Maizell, Robert E. How to Find Chemical Information. 3rd.
ed. New York: Wiley, 1998. RH Sci Ref QD8.5 . M34 1998.
American Chemists and Chemical Engineers. Washington, DC:
American
Chemical Society, 1976. RH Sci Ref QD21 .A43.
Nobel Laureates in Chemistry. Washington, DC, American
Chemical
Society, 1993.RH Sci Ref QD21 .N63 1993.
Women in Chemistry and Physics: a biobibliographic sourcebook . Westport,
CT: Greenwood Press, 1993. RH Sci Ref, LC Ref QD21 .W64 1993.
Furr, A. Keith. CRC Handbook of Laboratory Safety. 4th.
ed. Boca Raton, FL: CRC Press. RH Sci Ref QD51 .C73 1995.
CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics. 79th ed.
Boca
Raton: FL: CRC Press, 1998. RH Sci Ref, LC Ref QD65 .H3.
Handbook of Analytical Chemistry. 1st. ed. New
York:
McGraw-hill, 1963.RH Sci Ref QD75 .M46.
Dennoy, R.C. A Dictionary of Chromatography. 2d.
ed.
New York: Wiley, 1983.RH Sci Ref QD79 .C4D46.
ORGANIC CHEMISTRY HANDBOOKS,
ATLASES, AND GUIDES
Comprehensive Organic Chemistry. London: Pergamon, 1979. RH
Sci
Ref QD245 .C65
Dictionary of Organic Chemistry. 6th. ed. London:
Chapman and Hall, 1996. RH Sci Ref QD251 .H45 1996.
Organic Reactions. New York: Wiley, 1942 - . RH Sci Ref
QD251
.O7.
CRC Atlas of Spectral Data and Physical Constants for Organic
Compounds.
2nd.
ed. Boca Raton: FL, 1975. RH Sci Ref QD257.7 .G7 1975.
Handbook of Physical Properties of Organic Chemicals. Boca
Raton,
FL: CRC Press, 1997. RH Sci Ref QD257.7 .H374.
Ring System Handbook. Washington, D.C.: American Chemical
Society,
1984 - .RH Sci Ref QD291 .R55.
Comprehensive Organometallic Chemistry. 1st. ed.
London:
Pergamon, 1982. RH Sci Ref QD411 .C66.
Devon, T.K. Handbook of Naturally Occurring Compounds. New
York:
Academic Press, 1975. RH Sci Ref QD415.7 D48.
Oxford Dictionary of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology. New
York: Oxford University Press, 1997. RH Sci Ref QD415 .A25O93.
Glasby, John L. Encyclopedia of the Alkaloids. New York:
Plenum
Press, 1975. RH Sci Ref QD421 .G54.
Molecular Structures and Dimensions. Cambridge:
Crystallographic
Data Center, 1970. RH Sci Ref QD921 .A1M6 1970.
Crystal Data Determinative Tables. 3rd. ed.
Washington,
D.C.: National Bureau of Standards, n.d. RH Sci Ref QD908 .D66.
Comprehensive Organometallic Chemistry. Oxford: Pergamon
Press,
1982. RH Sci Ref QD411 .C66.
GEOLOGY DICTIONARIES,
ENCYCLOPEDIAS,
AND GUIDES
Chalimor, John. A Dictionary of Geology. Cardiff, Wales:
University
of Wales Press, 1978. RH Sci Ref QE5 .C45
McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Earth Sciences. New York:
McGraw-Hill,
1997. RH Sci Reg QE5 .M28 1997.
McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Geological Sciences. New York:
McGraw-Hill,
1978. RH Sci Ref QE5 .M29.
The Historical Atlas of the Earth: a visual exploration of
earth’s
physical past. New York: Henry Holt, 1996. RH Sci Ref QE28.3 .H57
1996.
Mineral Physics and Crystallography: a handbook of physical
constants.
Washington,
D.C.: American Geophysical Union, 1995. RH Sci Ref QE366.8 .M55 1995.
Practical Handbook of Physical Properties of Rocks and Minerals.
Washington,
D.C.: CRC Press, 1989. RH Sci Ref QE431.6 .P5P73.
Kuhn-Schnyder, Emil . Handbook of Paleozoology. Baltimore:
Johns
Hopkins , 1986. RH Sci Ref QE761 .K8413.
Simon and Schuster’s Guide to Rocks and Minerals. New York:
Simon
and Schuster, 1978. RH Sci Ref QE366.2 .M651.
Rock Physics and Phase Relations: a handbook of physical
constants.
Washington,
D.C., American Geophysical Union, 1995. RH Sci Ref QE433.8 .R63 1995.
The Encyclopedia of Geochemistry and Environmental Sciences. New
York: Van Nostrand Reinhold, 1972. RH Sci Ref QE515 .E5.Coral Reefs
of the World. Nairobi, Kenya: United Nations Environmental Program,
1988. RH Sci Ref QE565 .C67 1988.
Global Earth Physics. Washington, D.C., American Geophysical
Union, 1995. RH Sci Ref QE808.8 .G56 1995.
Fricklinger, Karl Albert. Fossil Atlas: Fishes. Melle,
Germany:
Mergus, 1995. RH Sci Ref. QE851 .F751 1995.
The Complete Dinosaur. Bloomington, Indiana: Indiana
University
Press, 1997. RH Sci Ref QE862 .D5C697 1997.
GENERAL BIOLOGY DICTIONARIES,
ENCYCLOPEDIAS
AND TABLES
Biological Abstracts. Philadelphia: Biosciences Information
Services,
1926 – . RH Sci Ref Q1 .B477.
The Encyclopedia of the Biological Sciences. 2nd.
ed. New York: Van Nostrand Reinhold, 1970. RH Ref, RH Sci Ref QH13 .G7.
Women in the Biological Sciences: a biobibliographical sourcebook.
Westport, CT: Greenwood, 1997. RH Sci Ref, LC Ref QH26 .W66 1997.
Notable Women in the Life Sciences: a biographical dictionary.
Westport, CT: Greenwood, 1996. RH Sci Ref QH26 .N68 1996.
The Encyclopedia of Microscopy. New York: Reinhold, 1961. RH
Sci Ref QH203 .C5.
Concise Encyclopedia: Biology. Berlin: Walter de Gruyter,
1996.
RH Sci Ref., LC Ref QH302.5 .A23 1996.
Dictionary of Biology. 3rd. ed. New York: Oxford
University
Press, 1996. RH Sci Ref QH302.5 .D50 1996.
Lawrence, Eleanor. Henderson’s Dictionary Biological Terms.
10th.
ed. New York: Wiley, 1989. RH Sci Ref , LC Ref QH302.5 .H65 1989.
World Databases on Bioscience and Pharmacology. London:
Bowker-Saur,
1997. RH Sci Ref QH303.15 .W67 1997.
Biology Data Book. Bethesda, MD: Federation of American
Societies for Experimental Biology, 1972. RH Sci Ref QH310 .A46.
The Cambridge Encyclopedia of Life Sciences. Cambridge,
Cambridge University Press, 1985. RH Sci Ref QH307.2 .C36 1985.
McGraw-Hill Dictionary of the Life Sciences. New York:
McGraw-Hill,
1985. RH Sci Ref QH302.5 .M3.
Using the Biological Literature: a practical guide. New York:
Dekker, 1995. RH Sci Ref LC Ref QH303.6 .D38 1995.
McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Bioscience. New York: McGraw-Hill,
1997. RH Sci Ref QH302.5 .M382.
Encyclopedia of Bioethics. New York: Macmillan, 1978. RH Sci
Ref, LC Ref QH332 .E52.
Compounds From Marine Organisms. Boca Raton, FL: CRC Press,
1976.
RH Sci Ref QH345 .B325.
CRC Handbook of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology. 3rd.
ed. Boca Raton, FL: CRC Press, 1975. RH Sci Ref , LC Ref QH345 .H347.
Grzimek’s Encyclopedia of Evolution. New York: Van Nostrand
Reinhold,
1976. RH Sci Ref, LC Ref QH366.2 .G7.
King, Robert C. A Dictionary of Genetics. 5th. ed.
New York: Oxford University Press, 1997. RH Sci Ref QH431 .K52.
Rieger, R. A Glossary of Genetics and Cytogenetics. 4th.
completely revised ed. Berlin: Springer-Verlag, 1976. RH Sci Ref QH427
.R54.
Kahl, Gunter. Dictionary of gene technology. Weinheim,
Germany:
VCH, 1995. RH Sci Ref QH442 .K3 1995.
Mak, Tak W. The gene knockout facts book. San Diego, CA:
Academic
Press, 1998. RH Sci Ref QH470 .M52G46 1998.
Encyclopedia of Molecular Biology and Molecular Medicine. New
York: VCH, 1996. RH Sci Ref, LC Ref QH506 .E534.
Molecular Biology and Biotechnology. New York: VCH, 1995. RH
Sci Ref QH506 .M682.
The Encyclopedia of Molecular Biology. Oxford: Blackwell,
1997.
RH Sci Ref, LC Ref QH506 .E53.
The Encyclopedia of Environmental Studies. New York: Academic
Press, 1993. RH Sci Ref, LC Ref QH540.4 E52 1993.
Ashworth, William. Encyclopedia of Environmental Biology.
New
York: Facts on File, 1995. RH Sci Ref QH540.4 .A84 1991.
Dictionary of Cell Biology. London: Academic Press, 1989. RH
Sci Ref QH575 .D53.
Handbook of Molecular Cytology. Amsterdam: North Holland,
1969.
RH Sci Ref QH581 .H2
BOTANY ENCYCLOPEDIAS AND
DICTIONARIES
New Illustrated Encyclopedia of Gardening. New York:
Greystone,
1960. RH Sci Ref QK7 .E9.
A dictionary of plant sciences. New York: Oxford University
Press,
1998. RH Sci Ref QK9 .D53 1998.
Usher, George. A Dictionary of Botany. Princeton, NJ: Van
Nostrand,
1966. RH Sci Ref QK9 .U84.
Mabberley, D.J. The Plant Book: a portable dictionary of the
vascular
plants. 2nd. ed. Cambridge, Cambridge University Press,
1997. RH Sci Ref QK11 .M23 1997.
Hyam, P. Plants and Their Names: a concise dictionary.
Oxford:
Oxford University Press, 1995. RH Sci Ref, LC Ref QK96 .H93.
Duke, James A. CRC Handbook of Medicinal Herbs. Boca Raton,
FL:
CRC Press, 1985. RH Sci Ref QK99 .A1D83.
Leopold, Donald J. Trees of the Central Hardwood Forests of North
America: an identification and cultivation guide. Portland, OR:
Timber
Press, 1998. RH Sci Ref QK155 .L43.
Kuhns, Michael. Trees of Utah and the intermountain west.
Logan,
Utah: Utah State University Press, 1998. RH Sci Ref QK189 .K84 1998.
Mabey, Richard. Flora Brittanica. London: Chatto &
Windus,
1997. RH Sci Ref QK306 .M22 1997.
Brown, Paul Martin. Wild Orchids of the Northeastern United
States:
a field guide. Ithaca, NY: Cornell University Press, 1997. RH Sci
Ref
QK495 .O64B76 1997.
Smith, Alexander H. The Mushroom Hunters Field Guide. Ann
Arbor,
MI: University of Michigan Press, 1980. RH Sci Ref QK617 .S55.
Miglani, Gurbachan S. Dictionary of Plant Genetics and Molecular
Biology. Binghampton, NY: Food Products Press, 1998. RH Sci Ref
QK981
.M54.
ZOOLOGY ENCYCLOPEDIAS,
DICTIONARIES,
AND GUIDES
International Wildlife Encyclopedia. New York: Marshall
Cavendish,
1969. RH Sci Ref QL9 .B8
Pennak, Robert W. Collegiate Dictionary of Zoology. New
York:
Ronald Press, 1964. RH Sci Ref QL9 .P4 1964.
Bell, George H. A Guide to the Zoological Literature: the animal
kingdom. Engelwood, CO: Libraries Unlimited, 1994. RH Sci Ref QL12
.B44.
LaRousse Encyclopedia of Animal Life. New York:
McGraw-Hill,
1967. RH Sci Ref QL50 .L32.
Laboratory Animal Welfare: a guide. Twin Falls, ID: BN Books.
RH Sci Ref QL55 .A1L3.
Handbook of Laboratory Animal Science. Boca Raton, FL: CRC
Press,
1974. RH Sci Ref QL55 .M45.
Hanson, Jeanne K. The Beastly Book: 100 of the world’s most
dangerous
creatures. New York: Prentice-Hall, 1993. RH Sci Ref QL100 .H345.
Pollack, Leland W. A practical guide to the marine animals of
northeastern
North America. New Brunswick, NJ: 1997. QL157 .A84P65 1998.
Gotch, A.F. Latin Names Explained: a guide to the scientific
classification
of reptiles, birds, and mammals. New York: Facts on File, 1996. RH
Sci Ref QL351 .G67.
Encyclopedia of fishes. San Diego, CA: Academic Press, 1998.
RH Sci Ref QL614.7 E63 1998.
Conant, Roger. A field guide to reptiles and amphibians: eastern
and central North America. 3rd ed. expanded. Boston:
Houghton-Mifflin,
1998. RH Sci Ref QL651 .C65.
Mattison, Chris. The Encyclopedia of Snakes. New York:
Facts
on File, 1995. RH Sci Ref QL666 .O6E53.
Ernst, Carl H. Venomous Reptiles of North America.
Washington,
D.C.: Smithsonian Institution, 1992. RH Sci Ref, LC Ref QL666 .O6E75.
Cambridge Encyclopedia of Ornithology. Cambridge, Cambridge
University
Press, 1991. RH Sci Ref, LC Ref QL672.2 C35 1991.
Encyclopedia of birds. San Diego, CA: Academic Press, 1998.
RH
Sci Ref QL672.2 .E63 1998.
A Dictionary of Birds. Carlton, England: T and AD
Poyser,
1985. RH Sci Ref QL673 .D53.
A New Dictionary of Birds. New York: McGraw-Hill, 1964. RH
Sci
Ref QL673 .T46.
Baicich, Paul J. Nests, Eggs, and Nestlings of North American
Birds.
San
Diego: Academic Press, 1995. RH Sci Ref QL675 .B163 1995.
Jobling, James A. A Dictionary of Scientific Bird Names. Oxford:
Oxford University Press, 1991. RH Sci Ref QL677 .J55.
Bull's birds of New York state. Ithaca, NY: Comstock
Publishing,
1998. RH Sci Ref QL684 .N7B833.
Keightley, Chris. Pocket guide to the birds of Britain and
northeast
Europe. New Haven, CT: Yale University Press, 1998. RH Sci
Ref
QL690 .A1K45 1998.
Taylor, Barry. Rails: a guide to the rails, crakes, gallinules,
and
coots of the world. New Haven, CT: Yale University Press,
1998.
QL696 .G876T39 1998.
Dunn, Jon L. A field guide to wood warblers of North America.
Boston: Houghton-Mifflin, 1997. RH Sci Ref QL686 .P2D85.
Encyclopedia of mammals. San Diego, CA: Academic Press, 1998.
RH Sci Ref QL701.2 E63 1998.
Whitaker, John J. Jr. National Audobon Field Guide to North
American
Mammals. New York: Knopf, 1996. RH Sci Ref QL715 .W49 1996.
The Oxford Companion to Animal Behavior. Oxford: Oxford
University
Press, 1981. RH Sci Ref QL751 .O93.
ANATOMY ATLASES
Gray, Henry. Anatomy of the Human Body. 29th.
American
Ed. Philadelphia: Lea & Fabiger, 1973. RH Ref QM23 .G7 1973.
Melloni, June L. Melloni’s Student Atlas of Human Anatomy. New
York: Parthenon, 1997. RH Sci Ref QM25 .M45.
The Johns Hopkins Atlas of Human Functional Anatomy. 3rd.
ed. revised and expanded. Baltimore: Johns Hopkins, 1986. RH Sci Ref
QM23.2
.J6.
Melloni, B. John. Melloni's illustrated dictionary of the
musculoskeletal
system. New York: Parthenon Publishing Group, 1998. RH Sci ref
QM100
.M44.
PHYSIOLOGY ENCYCLOPEDIAS,
DICTIONARIES,
AND HANDBOOKS
Encyclopedia of Human Biology. 2nd. ed. San Diego:
Academic Press, 1997. RH Sci Ref QP11 .E53.
Glick, David M. Glossary of biochemistry and molecular biology:
revised
edition. London: Portland Press, 1997. RH Sci Ref, LC Ref QP512
.G55
1997
CRC Handbook of Biochemistry. 2nd. ed. Boca Raton,
FL: 1970. RH Sci Ref QP514 .H31.
Griffith, Jeffrey K. The transporter facts book. San Diego,
CA:
Academic Press, 1998. RH Sci Ref QP552 .C34G75 1998.
Ayad, Shirley. The extracellular matrix facts book: 2nd
ed. San Diego, CA: Academic Press, 1998. RH Sci Ref QP552 .E95E96 1998.
Comprehensive biological catalysis: a mechanistic reference. San
Diego, CA: Academic Press, 1998. RH Sci Ref QP601 .C738 1998.
Guidebook to protein toxins and thier use in cell biology. Oxford,
UK: Oxford University press, 1997. RH Sci Ref QP631 .G85 1997.
The Lipid Handbook. New York: Chapman and Hall, 1986. RH Sci
Ref QP751 .L547.
Tver, Donald F. The Nutrition and Health Encyclopedia. New
York:
Van Nostrand Reinhold, 1981. RH Sci Ref, LC Ref QP141 .T88.
Turkington, Carol. The Brain Encyclopedia. New York: Facts
on
File, 1996. RH Sci Ref QP376 .T87.
Stenesh, J. Dictionary of Biochemistry. New York: Wiley,
1975.
RH Sci Ref QP512 .S73.
MICROBIOLOGY ENCYCLOPEDIAS,
DICTIONARIES,
AND GUIDES
Encyclopedia of Microbiology. New York: Academic Press,
1992.
RH Sci Ref QR9 .E53.
Barclay, A. Neil. The leucocyte antigen factsbook. 2nd
ed. San Diego, CA: Academic Press, 1997. RH Sci Ref QR186.6 C42L48
1997.
Mahy, Brian W.J. A Dictionary of Virology. 2ed. ed. Dan
Diego:
Academic Press, 1997. RH Sci Ref QR358 .M34.
Bergey’s Manual of Systematic Bacteriology. Baltimore:
Williams
and Wilkins, 1981. RH Sci Ref, LC Oversize QR81 .B46.
Encyclopedia of Virology. San Diego: Academic Press, 1994. RH
Sci Ref QR358 .E52.
MEDICAL ENCYCLOPEDIAS AND
DICTIONARIES
Index Medicus. Bethesda, MD: National Library of Medicine,
1960
– . RH Sci Ref Q1 .C86.
International Dictionary of Medicine and Biology. New York:
Wiley,
1986. RH Sci Ref R121 .I58.
Taber’s Cyclopedic Medical Dictionary. 15th. ed.
Philadelphia:
F.A. Davis, 1985.RH Sci Ref R121 .T22.
Exploring healthcare careers: real people tell you what you need
to know. Chicago: Ferguson Publishing, 1998. RH Sci Ref 690 .E97
1998.
Medical School Admissions Requirements: U.S. and Canada. 49th.
ed. Washington, D.C., Association of American Medical Colleges, 1998.
RH
Sci Ref, LC Ref R745 .A75.
Koren, Herman. Illustrated Dictionary of Environmental Health and
Occupational Safety. Boca Raton, FL: Lewis Publishers, 1996. RH Sci
Ref RA56 .K59.
Diet and Nutrition Sourcebook. Detroit: Omnigraphics, 1996.
RH
Sci Ref, LC Ref RA784 .D534.
Handbook of Toxic and Hazardous Chemicals. Park Ridge, NJ:
Noyes
Publications, 1981, RH Sci Ref RA1193 .S58.
Cooper, Andre S., Sr. Cooper’s Toxic Exposure Desk Reference.
Boca Raton, FL: CRC Lewis Publishers, 1997. RH Sci Ref RA1215 .C66.
Hathaway, Gloria J. Proctor and Hughes Chemical Hazards of the
Workplace.
4th. ed. New York: Van Nostrand Reinhold, 1996. RH Sci Ref
RA1215
.P76.
Ellenhorn, Matthew J. Medical Toxicology: diagnosis and treatment
of human poisoning. New York: Elsevier, 1988. RH Sci Ref RA1224.5
.E45.
Pohanish, Richard P. Rapid guide to hazardous chemicals in the
environment.
New York: Van Nostrand, Reinhold, 1997. RH Sci Ref RA1226 .P64 1997.
The International Classification of Diseases. 4th.
ed. Washington,D.C.: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services,
1991.
RA Sci Ref RB115 .U543.
Fishbein, Morris J. Modern Home Dictionary of Medical Words. Garden
City, NY: Doubleday, 1976. RA Sci Ref, Tarrytown Ref RC81 .A2F5.
The Merck Manual of Medical Information. Whitehouse Station,
NJ: Merck, 1997. RH Ref, RH Sci Ref. LC Reserve RC81 .M55.
Magill’s Medical Guide: Health and Illness. Pasadena, CA:
Salem
Press, 1995. RH Sci Ref RC41 .M34.
The Merck Manual. 16th. ed. Rahway, NJ: Merck,
1992.
RH Ref, Sci Ref, LC Ref RC55 .M4.
Durham, Robert H. Encyclopedia of Medical Syndromes. New
York:
Harper & Row, 1965. RH Sci Ref RC69 .D86.
Encyclopedia of Gerontology: age, aging, and the aged. San
Diego:
Academic Press, 1996. RH Sci Ref RC952.5 .E58.
Physician’s Desk Reference: PDR. 52nd. ed.
Montvale,
NJ: Medical Economics, 1998. RH Ref, RH Sci Ref RS75 .P585.
Turkington, Carol A. Skin Deep: an a-z of skin disorders,
treatment,
and health. New York, Facts on File, 1996. RH Sci Ref RL41 .T87.
Physician’s Desk Reference for Non-Prescription Drugs. 17th.
ed. Montvale, NJ: 1997. RH Sci Ref RS75 .P585.
Sneader, Walter. Drug prototypes and their exploitation. New
York: Wiley, 1996. RH Sci Ref RS420 .S66 1996.
GARDENING ENCYCLOPEDIAS AND
INDEXES
Dictionary of renewable resources. Weinheim, Germany: VCH,
1997.
RH Sci Ref S584.4 .D53 1997.
American Horticultural Society A-Z Encyclopedia of Garden Plants.
New York: D K Publishing, 1997. RH Ref SB403.2.A45 1997.
Dirr, Michael A. Dirr's hardy trees and shrubs: an illustrated
encyclopedia.
Portland, OR: Timber Press, 1997. RH Sci Ref SB435.5 .D556 1997.
CRC Handbook of Natural Pesticides: Methods. Boca Raton, FL:
CRC Press, 1985. RH Sci Ref SB951.145 .N37H3.
Everett, Thomas H. New York Botanical Garden Encyclopedia of
Horticulture.
New
York: Garland, 1981. RH Sci Ref SB317.58 .E94.
Hay, Roy. The Color Dictionary of Flowers and Plants for Home and
Garden. New York: Crown Publishers, 1973. RH Ref SB407.H2918 1973
Griffiths, Mark. Index of Garden Plants. Portland, OR: Timber
Press, 1994. RH Sci Ref SB403.2 .G75.
Johnson, Warren T. Insects That Feed on Trees and Shrubs. 2nd.
ed. Ithaca, NY: Cornell University Press, 1988. RH Sci Ref SB762 .J63.
North American Horticulture: A Reference Guide. New York:
Scribner,
1982. RH Ref SB317.56.U6 N6.
The Pesticide Manual: a world compendium. 8th. ed.
Thornton Heath, UK: British Crop Protection Council, 1987. RH Sci Ref
SB951
.P47.
Taylor's Dictionary for Gardeners: The Definitive Guide to the
Language
of Horticulture. Boston: Houghton Mifflin Company, 1997.
APPLIED SCIENCE AND TECHNOLOGY
ENCYCLOPEDIAS, HANDBOOKS, AND GUIDES
Hazardous Materials Handbook for Emergency Responders. New
York:
Van Nostrand Reinhold, 1996. RH Sci Ref T55.3 .H3H3995.
Sax, N. Irving. Dangerous Properties of Industrial Materials. 6th.
ed. New York: Van Nostrand Reinhold, 1984. T55.3 .H353.
Encyclopedic Dictionary for Engineers and Applied Scientists.
Oxford: Pergamon, 1976. RH Sci Ref TA330 .S6.
Environmental Engineers Handbook. 2nd. ed. Boca
Raton,
FL: Lewis Publishers, 1997. RH Sci Ref TD145 .E574.
Verschueren, Karel. Handbook of environmental data on organic
chemicals.
New York: Wiley, 1996. RH Sci Ref TD196 .O73V47 1996.
Van der Leeden, Frits. The Water Encyclopedia. 2nd.
ed. Boca Raton, FL: 1990. RH Sci Ref TD351 .V36 1990.
Dictionary of Energy. London: Macmillan, 1982. RH Sci Ref
TJ163.16
.D5.
The McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Energy. New York:
McGraw-Hill,
1976. RH Sci Ref TJ163.2 .M3.
Golob, Richard. The Encyclopedia of Renewable Energy. New
York:
Henry Holt, 1993. RH Sci Ref TJ808.3 .G65.
IEEE Standard Dictionary of Electrical and Electronics Terms. New
York: IEEE, 1988. RH Sci Ref TK9 .I478.
The Infrared Handbook. Washington, D.C.: Office of Naval
Research,
1982. RH Sci Ref TK450 .E6.
Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology. 4th.
ed. New York: Wiley, 1991. RH Sci Ref TP9 .E68.
Kirk-Othmer Concise Dictionary of Chemical Technology. New
York:
Wiley, 1985. RH Sci Ref TP9 .K54.
Chemical Sources International. 1995 ed. Clemson, SC:
Chemical
Sources International, 1995. RH Sci Ref TP12 .C43.
Chemical Sources USA. 1995 ed. Clemson, SC: Chemical Sources
International. RH Sci Ref TP12 .C44.
Atkinson, Bernard. Biochemical Engineering and Biotechnology
Handbook.
New
York: Nature Press, 1983. RH Sci Ref TP248.3 .A8.
Hopp, Volrath. Handbook of Applied Chemistry. Washington,
D.C.:
Hemisphere Publishing, 1983. RH Sci Ref TP151 .H58
Encyclopedia of Food Science and Technology. New York:
Wiley,
1992. RH Sci Ref TP368.2 .E52.
Colour Index. 2nd. ed. Lowell, MA: American
Association
of Textile Chemists, 1956. RH Sci Ref TP910 .S6.
Ash, Michael. Handbook of Food Additives: an international guide
to more than 7,000 products by trade name, chemical, function, and
manufacturer.
Aldershot,
UK: Gower 1995. RH Sci Ref TX553 .A3A84.
Farace, Joe. The Digital Imaging Dictionary. New York:
Allsworth
Press, 1996. RH Sci Ref, LC Stack TX267 .F36.
INTERNET RESOURCES
Science Central
A large site with providing links to all major branches of science.
National Institute of
Health
The NIH homepage with much up to date information on health and
science.
It includes an online molecular modeling kit.
The
Periodic Table Online
An online periodic table of elements with links for each entry.
National
Institute
of Standards Chemical Finder
An online database where chemicals can be quickly located by name,
CAS number, or formula.
UCLA Department
of
Chemistry and Biochemistry
A home page which includes a virtual library of chemical and
biochemical
information.
Physlink
A metasite with current news and many links to all areas of Physics.
National Audubon
Society
The society's homepage with information on ornithology, endangered
species, and wildlife conservation. Many links to related sites.
Earth
Science
The Center for International Earth Science Information Network : a central site for researching geology, geography, seismology,
vulcanology,
and other earth sciences.
Astronomy
Information on astronomy and astrophysics.
National
Gardening Association.
An excellent place for horticultural names, terms, and botanical
information.
Web Developers
Virtual
Library
A large site with many links covering the Web and the development of
Web pages.
Wired Homepage
Wired Magazine’s own page with unusual graphics and up to the minute
information on computers and related subjects.
The Electronic
Zoo
A metasite devoted to zoology with links to many of the world’s most
important zoos and nature preserves. This site is a central source of
information
for all categories of animal.
Arizona
University
Department of Biology
This homepage provides much information and many links covering all
aspects of biology.
Marine
Biology
A page devoted to marine biology with much information and many links.
Envirolink
The environment and ecology and the subjects of this page which
provides
links to individuals and organizations.
MathGuide
An excellent gateway to access university level mathematics articles
and web sites.
American Medical
Association
Home Page.
The homepage of the AMA. Containing an online atlas of the human body,
advice columns, and medical and anatomical information.
Entomology
Index of Internet Resources
A web based search engine and directory of entomological information,
links, and newsgroups.
Geoscience
Information
Center
Maintained by the Scripps Institute of Oceanography dedicated to the
needs of earth scientists. An excellent place to search for information
on earthqaukes, volacanoes, and geology.
The NASA Homepage
This web page provides up to the minute information about NASA and
the spaceprogram as well as weather maps and links to related databases.
Strategian
"The strategic guide to quality information in biology, chemistry,
computer science, mathematics, medicine, physics, and
psychology."
Links to journals offering full-text articles and rates the 10 best
Internet
site in each field.
Peter Mix, Science Librarian
|