Fordham University  The Jesuit University of New York
 

Home < Library Services


Research Guides: Social Services

Databases Internet Sources Print Sources Recent Acquisitions Videos


DATABASES

EBSCOhost (Includes full text)
EBSCOhost  is a service which provides acquisition, access and management of a library's full text electronic journals from one convenient location. As a full-service solution, EBSCOhost offers simplified management of online journals to librarians while offering convenient access for library patrons.

Lexis Nexis Academic Universe (Includes full text)
Lexis Nexis is the largest news and business online information service. It includes comprehensive company, country, financial, demographic, market research and industry reports.

Social Work Abstracts
The Social Work Abstracts database, produced by the National Association of Social Workers, Inc., contains more than 35,000 records, spanning 1977 to the present, from social work and other related journals on topics such as homelessness, AIDS, child and family welfare, aging, substance abuse, legislation, community organization, and more.

UMI Proquest Direct (Includes full text)
ProQuest databases store millions of articles originally published in magazines, newspapers, and journals. You can search these databases for relevant articles that will help with your school work and research.
 




PRINT SOURCES
 

Certification

Dictionaries & Encyclopedias

Directories

Literature Reviews

Statistics


CERTIFICATION

Social Work Examination Services: Comprehensive Review Notes for State Social Work License Examinations: Masters Level, Advanced Generalist, Clinical. Brookline, MA : Social Work Examination Services, c2008. (LC WCL) Reserve HV40.52.S93 2008

Social Work Licensure Preparation Program. New York, NY: Academic Review, 2003. (LC WCL) Reserve HV11.5.S53 2003



DICTIONARIES, ENCYCLOPEDIAS, & MANUALS

Comprehensive Handbook of Social Work and Social Welfare. Hoboken, NJ: John Wiley & Sons, 2008. (LC WCL) Ref HV40.C635 2008

Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders: DSM-IV. Washington, DC: American Psychiatric Association, 1994. (RH LC WCL) Reserve RC469.A5 1994 

Encyclopedia of Mental Health. New York: Facts on File, 2008. (RH LC WCL) Ref RC437.K34 2008

Encyclopedia of Social Work. New York: Oxford University Press, 2008. (EBOOK)

Handbook of Psychiatric Measures. Washington, DC: American Psychiatric Pub., c2008. (RH LC WCL) Ref +RC473.P78 A46 2008

Handbook of Social Work in Health and Aging. New York: Oxford University Press, 2006. (LC WCL) Ref HV1451.H34 2006

The Social Work Dictionary. Washington, DC: NASW, 2003. (LC WCL) Ref HV12.B37 2003

Social Workers' Desk Reference. New York: Oxford University Press, 2009. (LC WCL) Ref HV40.S6464 2009



DIRECTORIES

The Complete Directory for People with Disabilities. Lakeville, CT: Grey House, 2007. (LC) Ref HV.1553.C65

The Green Book: Official Directory of the City of New York. New York: City Press, 2009. (RH LC WCL) Ref Desk JS1222.A3

The National Directory of Children, Youth, and Family Services. Longmont, CO: Marion L. Peterson, 2008. (LC WCL) Ref HV741.N33

National Directory of Private Social Agencies. Queens Village, NY: Social Service Publications, 2008.  (LC WCL) Ref Desk HV89.N28



LITERATURE REVIEWS

Doing a Literature Search: A Comprehensive Guide for the Social Sciences. Thousand Oaks, Calif.: 2001. (LC WCL) Ref H62.H2667 2001

Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association. Washington, DC: American Psychological Association, 2010. (RH LC WCL) Reserve BF76.7P83 2010

Writing Literature Reviews: A Guide for Students of the Social and Behavioral Sciences. Glendale, CA: Pyrczak, 2006. (LC WCL) Ref H61.8G3 2006

Writing with Style: APA Style for Social Work. Belmont, CA: Brooks/Cole, 2008.
(LC WCL) Reserve HM586.S98 2008



STATISTICS

Community District Needs. New York: Department of City Planning, 1998.
(LC) Ref HT168.N5C7 2000

County and City Data Book. Washington, DC: U.S. Department of Commerce, Bureau of the Census, 2007. (EDOCUMENT)

Social Work Almanac. Washington, DC: NASW, 1995. (LC WCL) Ref HV90.G53 1995

Sourcebook of Criminal Justice Statistics. Washington, DC: Bureau of Justice Statistics, 2003. (EDOCUMENT)

Statistical Abstract of the United States. Washington, DC: U.S. Department of Commerce, 2009. (EDOCUMENT)




INTERNET SOURCES
 

Aging Gay/Lesbian NYC Information
AIDS General Organizations
Children Government Religion
Community Health Care Research
Corrections Higher Education Social Policy
Death and Dying Homelessness Substance Abuse
Disabilities Licensing Veterans
Families Literature Reviews Violence
Funding Mental Health Volunteerism


AGING
 

AARP Guide to Internet Resources Related to Aging
This Internet guide was produced by AARP, the American Association of Retired Persons.  Topics covered include Web sites, electronic lists, newsgroups, electronic periodicals, and internet search tools.  Title and subject indexes are available.

Alzheimer's Association
This is a useful site for both family members and caregivers.

Eldercare Web
This site provides access to online literature, research, and organizations dealing with the concerns of the elderly.

The Gerontological Society of America
This site was created to provide information on aging, as well as,  improve the quality of life during aging.
 



AIDS
 

ACT UP NY
This is the NY Chapter of the national organization known for its civil disobedience activities.

AIDS Information
This is the homepage of the Gay Men's Health Crisis.   It features an AIDS library, which contains links to various AIDS resources on the Web.

HIV/AIDS Education in Social Work
This site is from a Social Work perspective.

HIV Insite
This is a very comprehensive site.  It is divided into sections: (1) Medical, (2) Prevention, and a (3) Social Issues Section.
 



CHILDREN
 

Child Welfare Information Gateway
Child Welfare Information Gateway provides access to information and resources to help protect children and strengthen families.

The Child Welfare League of America
This is the homepage of the oldest and largest organization devoted entirely to the well-being of America's vulnerable children and their families.

Kidfriendlycities.org
This site offers statistical information for many US cities.  It also has ideas for fun activities.
 



COMMUNITY
 

Alliance for National Renewal
This is a national civic league program that includes participation by more than 180 community-building organizations.
 



CORRECTIONS
 

The Corrections Connection Network
This is a very comprehensive site.  It might be the largest online resource for news and information in corrections.

Family and Corrections Network (FCN)
This site has information on programs for family members of inmates.
 



DEATH  & DYING
 

Growth House, Inc.
This is a site that deals with end of life issues.
 



DISABILITIES
 

American Association on Mental Retardation
This is the AAMR Homepage and it has quite a few useful links.

March of Dimes Birth Defects
The March of Dimes is a non-profit organization dedicated to reducing birth defects and infant mortality.
 



FAMILIES
 

The Baby Center
This site is very useful to parents.  It provides expert advice, support, and current news.

Families Under Construction
This is a site established by Dr. Carolyn Waterbury-Tieman.  It brings private practice theory to the internet.

Whole Family Center
This site is divided into a marriage center, parenting center, and kids center.
 



FUNDING
 

Foundation Center
This is a comprehensive site which has an online librarian available to answer questions.
 



GAY/LESBIAN
 

The Human Rights Campaign
The HRC is the nations largest organization fighting for equal rights for lesbians and gay men.

The National Gay and Lesbian Task Force
The National Gay and Lesbian Task Force is "a leading progressive civil rights organization."
 



GENERAL
 

GSSS Page
The Fordham University Graduate School of Social Service was founded in 1916. It has been located in the Leon Lowenstein Center at Fordham's Lincoln Center campus in the borough of Manhattan since February 1969.

Social Work Access Network (SWAN)
This Web Site is maintained by the College of Social Work at the University of South Carolina.

The Social Work Cafe
This is a  geocities community of Social Work professionals, educators, and students.

The Social Work Podcast
The Social Work Podcast provides information on a variety of topics in social work.
 



GOVERNMENT
 

GPO Access
GPO Access is a service of the U.S. Government Printing Office that provides free electronic access to a wealth of important information products produced by the Federal Government.

U.S. Bureau of the Census
This is the homepage of the Census Bureau, which is an agency within the U.S. Department of Commerce.

U.S. Department of Health and Human Services
This is the homepage of the Department of Health and Human Services.  It features links to HHS agencies and "gateways" to sites such as "Welfare-to-Work" and "School-to-Work."

United Nations Development Programme (UNDP)
This is the homepage of the UNDP, which helps people in 174 countries and territories to help themselves.
 



HEALTH CARE
 

American Public Health Association
This site has numerous links to public health resources.

National Center for Health Statistics
The National Vital Statistics System is responsible for the nations official vital statistics.  These vital statistics are provided through state-operated registration systems.

United Hospital Fund
The United Hospital Fund is a health services research organization.  This site contains many useful publications dealing with health care in New York.
 



HIGHER EDUCATION
 

Peterson's Education Center
This is a useful way to research schools of social work.
 



HOMELESSNESS
 

Habitat for Humanity International
Habitat for Humanity is a nonprofit, ecumenical Christian housing ministry dedicated to eliminating substandard housing and homelessness.

National Coalition for the Homeless
This site provides fact sheets on homelessness, legislative alerts, and links to other sites.
 



LICENSING
 

Council on Social Work Education
This is the homepage for CSWE, which is the accrediting agency for social work education in the United States.
 



LITERATURE REVIEWS
 

How to Write a Literature Review
A brief description of what a literature review is and how to write one.

Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association
This is the online version of the APA Publication Manual.
 



MENTAL HEALTH
 

American Counseling Association
This site has information which includes news of educational programs and workshops by state, date, and topic.

National Institute of Mental Health
This is the homepage of the NIMH, part of the National Institute of Health, which is the principal biomedical and behavioral research agency of the U.S. Government.
 



NYC INFORMATION
 

Community Information Service (CIS)
This site is provided by the New York Public Library.  It provides quick access to information about essential services in your neighborhood. Scroll down to "Web Access" and choose English or Spanish.  You can then do a keyword search on anything from AIDS to Youth.
 



ORGANIZATIONS
 

National Association of Social Workers
This is NASW's homepage.  It contains links to many pertinent issues in the field.

National Association of Social Workers: New York City Chapter
This is the homepage of the New York City Chapter of the National Association of Social Workers.

National Association of Social Workers: New York State Chapter
This is the homepage of the New York State Chapter of the National Association of Social Workers.
 



RELIGION
 

Catholic Charities USA
The site gives information about the mission of the organization, how to contribute, and the history of the organization.
 



RESEARCH
 

Fedstats
Fedstats provides information  from more than 70 agencies in the U.S. Federal Government.

Statistical Abstract of the United States
Statistical Abstract provides statistics on social and economic conditions in the U.S.
 



SOCIAL POLICY
 

American Civil Liberties Union
The ACLU is a nonprofit, nonpartisan, public interest organization devoted to the protection of civil liberties.

The Center for Law and Social Policy
CLASP seeks to improve the economic conditions of America's low-income families.

League of Women Voters
The mission of the League of Women Voters is "to encourage the informed and active participation of citizens in government."
 



SUBSTANCE ABUSE
 

National Association of Alcoholism and Drug Abuse Counselors
This site contains many useful links to other sites.

Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration
SAMHSA is an agency within the Department of Health and Human Services.
 



VETERANS
 

Veterans Affairs
This site is useful for veterans who are seeking information on how to claim benefits.

Vietnam Veteran's Home Page
This site contains pictures, poems, and other information that is important to Vietnam Veterans.
 



VIOLENCE
 

Family Violence Prevention Fund
This site has information on domestic violence education, prevention, and public policy reform.
 



VOLUNTEERISM
 

Action Without Borders
This site has links to volunteer opportunities, events, and more.

UN International Year of Volunteers
This site is useful for people hoping to do volunteer work.
 


Dale Chapman, Fordham University Libraries


Contact Library | Library FAQ | University Home