RESEARCH DATABASES
Criminal
Justice Abstracts - Database provides comprehensive
coverage
of the major journals in criminology and related fields, books and
reports
from government and non-governmental agencies from 1968 to the present.
Each entry includes a summary of the findings, methodology and
conclusions.
Topics covered include crime trends, juvenile delinquency, corrections,
prevention projects, police, courts, offenders, victims and sentencing.
ICPSR
- The Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social
Research
archive of social science data sets.
International
Bibliography of the Social Sciences - Database indexes books,
chapters
and articles from
over 2600 international journals in sociology
as well as anthropology, economics and political science.
The
Left Index - Database indexes the diversity of literature on the
left,
with emphasis on political, economic, social and culturally engaged
scholarship
from 1982 to the present. Topics include the labor movement, race
and ethnicity, social and cultural theory and sociology.
ProQuest Social Science Journals ProQuest Social Science Journals is a definitive resource for those who need access to a variety of scientific journals. The database includes over 510 titles, with more than 280 available in full text.
SCOPUS Abstract and citation database covering thousands of titles in Science, Social Sciences and Arts & Humanities.
Social Sciences Citation Index (Web of science)
Indexes over 1,725 journals in the social sciences since 1998.
SocINDEX with Full Text A comprehensive index to the literature of sociology including
journals, books, and conference papers. Many of the items are in full text.
Social
Science Electronic Data Library - Over 300 data sets on AIDS,
Disability,
American
Family, Adolescent Pregnancy, Aging, and Maternal Drug Abuse.
Statistical
Universe - Database provides an index to over 100,000 statistical
publications.
REFERENCE SOURCES
DICTIONARIES
The A- Z of Social Research Jargon.
Aldershot, Hants, England: Ashgate/ARENA, 1998. (RH)
Ref
H49.5 .A15 1998
Abercrombie, Nicholas. The Penguin
Dictionary
of Sociology. 5 th ed. London: Penguin, 2006.(RH) Ref
HM17.A23
2006
____________. The Penguin Dictionary of Sociology. (electronic resource) London: Penguin, 2006.
Bardis, Panos. Dictionary of Quotations in
Sociology. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 1986. (RH)
Ref
HM17 .B25 1985
The
Blackwell Dictionary of Sociology: a User's Guide to Sociological Language. (electronic resource)
Oxford: Blackwell Publishers, 2000.
Bruce, Steve. The Sage Dictionary of Sociology. London: Sage, 2006. (RH) HM425.B78 2006
The Cambridge Dictionary of Sociology. NY: Cambridge U. Press, 2006. (RH LC) Ref HM425.C36 2006
The Cambridge Dictionary of Sociology. (electronic resource) NY: Cambridge U. Press, 2006.
Collins Dictionary of Sociology. (electronic resource) 4th ed. Glasgow:Collins, 2005.
A Dictionary of Sociology. 3rd
ed. NY: Oxford U. Press, 2005. (RH) Ref HM17.D53 2005
A Dictionary of Sociology. 3rd ed. rev. NY: Oxford U. Press, 2009. RH Ref HM425.D5735 2009
A Dictionary of Sociology. (electronic resource) 3rd rev. ed. NY: Oxford U. Press, 2009.
Lawson, Tony. Dictionary of Sociology.
NY: London, Fitzroy Dearborn, 2001. (RH) Ref HM17 .L39 2001
Petersen, William. Dictionary of
Demography,
Terms, Concepts, and Institutions. NY: Greenwood Press, 1986.
(RH)
Ref HB849.2 .P47 1986
Petersen, William. Dictionary of
Demography,
Multilingual Glossary. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 1985.
(RH)
Ref HB849.2 .P468 1985
Sage Dictionary of Social Research Methods. London: Sage, 2006. (RH) Ref H62.S274 2006
Young, T.R. The Dictionary of Critical
Social
Sciences. Boulder, CO: Westview Press, 1999. (RH)
Ref H41.Y68 1999
The Blackwell Dictionary of
Modern
Social Thought. Malden, MA: Blackwell, 2003. (RH)
Ref
H41 .B53 2003
The Blackwell Encyclopedia of Social
Psychology.
(eletronic resource) Cambridge, MA: Blackwell, 1999.
The Blackwell Encyclopedia of Sociology. Malden, MA: Blackwell, 2007. (RH W) Ref HM425 .B53 2007
Blackwell Encyclopedia of Sociology Online (electronic resource) Blackwell, 2007.
Encyclopedia
of Community: From the Village to the Virtual World.
Thousand Oaks, CA: Sage, 2003. (RH) Ref HM756 .E53 2003
Encyclopedia of Crime and Justice.
2nd ed. NY: Macmillan, 2002. (RH LC W) Ref HV6017
.E52 2002
Encyclopedia of Crime and Punishment.
Thousand Oaks, CA: Sage, 2002. (RH LC) Ref HV6017 .E524 2002
Encyclopedia of Cultural Anthropology. NY:
Henry Holt, 1996. (RH LC) Ref GN307 .E52 1996
Encyclopedia
of Population. NY: Macmillan, 2003. (RH) Ref HB871
.E538 2003
Encyclopedia of Population. (electronic resource) NY:Macmillan, 2003.
Encyclopedia of Social and Cultural
Anthropology.
NY: Routledge, 1996. (RH LC) Ref GN307 .E527 1996
Encyclopedia of Social and Cultural Anthropology. (electronic resource) NY: Routledge, 1996.
Encyclopedia of Social Issues. NY:
Marshall
Cavendish, 1997. 6 vol. (RH LC) Ref HN57 .E59 1997
Encyclopedia of Social Measurement.Boston: Elsevier, 2005. (RH) Ref H62.E53 2005
Encyclopedia
of Social Theory. Thousand Oaks, CA: Sage, 2004.
(RH) Ref HM425 .E47 2004
Encyclopedia of Sociology. 2nd
ed. NY: Macmillan, 2000. (RH LC) Ref HM425 .E5 2000
Encyclopedia
of Sociology. 2nd ed. (electronic resource) Macmillan, 2000.
Encyclopedia of Women and Crime.
Phoenix: Oryx Press, 2000. (RH) Ref HV6046 .E56 2000
Encyclopedia of World Cultures. Boston:
G.K. Hall, 1991-. (RH LC) Ref GN550. E53 1991
Gale Encyclopedia of Multicultural America.
Detroit:
Gale Research, 1995. (RH LC) Ref E184.A1 G14 1995
Gale Encyclopedia of Multicultural America. 2nd ed. (electronic resource) Detroit:Gale, 2000.
Grossman, Mark. Encyclopedia of
Capital
Punishment. Santa Barbara, CA: ABC-CLIO, 1998. (RH) Ref
HV8694.G76 1998
Harvard Encyclopedia of American Ethnic
Groups.
Cambridge,
MA: Belknap Press, 1980. (RH) Ref E184.A1 H35 (LC)
Res
E184.A1 H35
International Encyclopedia of the Social & Behavioral Sciences. NY: Elsevier, 2001. (RH LC) Ref
H41.I58
2001
International Encyclopedia of the Social & Behavioral Sciences. (electronic resource) NY: Elsevier, 2002.
Kronenwetter, Michael. Encyclopedia
of
Modern American Social Issues. Santa Barbara, CA: ABC-CLIO,
1997.
(RH) Ref HN57.K73 1997
Lewis-Beck, Michael. The Sage Encyclopedia of Social Science
Research Methods. Thousand Oaks, CA: Sage, 2004.
(RH) Ref H62 .L485 2004
Sifakis, Carl. The Encyclopedia of
American
Crime. 2nd ed. NY: Facts on File, 2001. (RH LC)
Ref
HV6789 .S54 2001
Social Issues. NY: Macmillan,
1998.
(LC) Ref HM17.S576 1998
The Social Science Encyclopedia. 3rd
ed. (electronic resource) NY: Routledge, 2004.
Sociology Basics. (electronic resource) Pasadena: Salem, 2000.
Survey of Social Science. Sociology Series.
Pasadena,
CA: Salem Press, 1994. 5 vol (RH) Ref HM17 .S86 1994
Aby, Stephen. Sociology: A Guide to
Reference
and Information Sources. 3rd ed. Westport:
Libraries
Unlimited, 2005. (RH) Ref HM8 .A28 2005
The Sage Handbook of Sociology. Thousand Oaks,
CA: Sage Publications, 2005. (RH LC) HM586 .S24 2005
Annual Review of Sociology. Palo Alto,
CA: Annual Review, 1975 - 2004. (RH LC) HM1 .A763
Annual Review of Sociology. (electronic resource) Palo Alto, CA: Annual Reviews, 1975 -
Current Sociology. Paris: UNESCO, 1952
- 2004. (RH LC) H1 .C8
Current Sociology. (electronic resource) Paris: UNESCO, 1999 -
International Bibliography of Social and
Cultural
Anthropology. Paris: UNESCO, 1955 - 2004. (RH LC) Ref H1 .A61 Available online through International Bibliogrpahy of the Social Sciences.
International Bibliography of Sociology. London:
Tavistock Publications, 1955 - 2004. (RH LC) Ref H1 .C81
Population Index. Princeton,
NJ: Office of Population Research, Princeton University, (Microfilm
1937-1954)
1953 - 1999. (RH) Ref H1 .P65
Available online through JSTOR
STATISTICAL SOURCES
- UNITED STATES
County and City Data Book. Washington:
U.S. Dept. of Commerce, Bureau of the Census, 19 - . (RH LC)
Ref
H2 .C3 S85
County and City Data Book. (electronic resource) Washington: U.S. Dept. of Commerce, Bureau of the Census.
Historical Statistics of the States of the
United States: Two Centuries of the Census, 1790-1990. Westport,
CT:
Greenwood Press, 1993. (RH LC) Ref HA214 .H57 1993
Historical Statistics of the United States, Earliest Times to the Present. Millennial ed. New York: Cambridge U. Press,2006. (RH) Ref Desk HA202.H57 2006 (LC) Ref HA202.H57 2006
Historical Statistics of the United States, Earliest Times to the Present. Millennial ed. (electronic resource) New York: Cambridge U. Press,2006
Mattson, Mark. Atlas of the 1990 Census. NY:
Macmillan, 1992. (RH) Ref G1201.E2 M3 1992 .(LC) Atlas Area G1201.E2 M3 1992
State and Metropolitan Area Data Book.
Washington: U.S. Dept. of Commerce, Bureau of the Census, 19 - . (RH LC)
Ref
H2.C3S94
State and Metropolitan Area Data Book. (electronic resource) Washington: U.S. Dept. of Commerce, Bureau of the Census.
United States. Bureau of the Census.
Statistical
Abstract of the United States. Washington: G.P.O., 1879 - . (RH)
Ref Desk H2 .C3S8 (LC W) Ref H2 .C3S8
United States. Bureau of the Census. Statistical Abstract of the United States. (electronic resource) Washington: G.P.O., 1879 -
Vital Statistics of the United States. (electronic resource) Washington:
U.S. Dept. of Health, 1937 -.
STATISTICAL SOURCES
- INTERNATIONAL
Demographic Yearbook. (electronic resource) Lake Success, NY: Dept. of
Economic
and Social Affairs, Statistical Office, United Nations, 1948 -
Keyfitz, Nathan. World Population Growth
and
Aging: Demographic Trends in the Late Twentieth Century. Chicago:
University
of Chicago Press, 1990. (RH LC) Ref HA155 .K49 1990.
Segal, Aaron. An Atlas of International
Migration.
London: Hans Zell Publishers, 1993. (LC) Atlas Area G1046.E27 S4 1993
INTERNET
RESOURCES
AcademicInfo:
Sociology. An annotated directory of Internet resources.
Allyn
& Bacon Sociology Links. Extensive collection of Internet links
arranged by topic such as population and urbanization, family,
socialization,
criminal justice system etc.
American Factfinder. Site is the U.S. Census Bureau's main
access point for Census 2000 data as well as statistics from 1990 census, 2004 population estimates, 1997 and 2002 economic
censuses, 2003 Annual Survey of Manufacturers, and the American Community Survey.
CenStats.
Site is maintained by the U.S. Census Bureau and contains population,
housing
and economic data for the United States.
CQ
Researcher. Link to full text of CQ Researcher,
weekly
report providing in depth coverage of controversial issues of the day.
Criminal
Justice Links. Site contains internet links relating to crime,
juvenile
delinquency, police and the courts as well as to electronic journals
and
governmental sites.
Dead
Sociologists' Index. A listing of various theorists in sociology
with
biographical information and a summary of their work and collection of
Internet links arranged by topic.
Institute
for Research on Poverty. The Institute is a national
university-based
center for the study of the causes and consequences of poverty and
social
inequality in the U.S. The site contains a large collection of
links
arranged by topic such as activism, homelessness, welfare reform,
housing
etc.
Intute:Social Sciences. Metasite of sociology Internet sites.
Justice
Information
Center. Produced by the National Criminal Justice Reference
Service,
this site is a major source for information on criminal and juvenile
justice.
It also includes NCJRS Abstracts Database which summarizes criminal
justice
literature including journal articles, books and government reports.
Nationmaster.
Site contains statistics in over 20 categories for the nations of the
world. Charts and graphs can be created.
Social
Science Data Archives. Homepage of the Council of European Social
Science
Archives which provides access to electronic data for social science
teaching
and research in Europe.
The SocioLog.
Comprehensive guide to on-line resources in sociology, professional
associations
and university sociology departments.
A
Sociological Tour through Cyberspace. Collection of Internet links
to resources for general sociology material, data sets, materials on
research
methods and statistics, resources on writing research papers and
selected
sites on subject areas.
SocioSite.
Megasite produced by the Sociological Institute of the University of
Amsterdam
to provide access to European and worldwide resources of academic
sociology.
It includes a comprehensive list of Internet links.
The
SocioWeb. A comprehensive guide to sociology resources on the
Internet
divided into twelve categories including indexes and guides, commercial
sites, sociological theory, journals, surveys and statistics, topical
research
etc.
StateMaster. Site contains statistics drawn from the Census Bureau, FBI and National Center for Educational Statistics. Charts and graphs can be created.
United
Nations
Population Information Network. Site is maintained by Population
Division
of DESA of UN Secretariat to "coordinate population information
activities
at international, regional and national levels."
United Nations Statistics Division. Site is the official access point to statistical
data compiled by the UN and other international agencies. Free access to much of the data; some require paid subscription.
WWW
Virtual Library: Demography & Population Studies. Meta index of
sites relating to population, regional and ethnic studies.
WWW
Virtual Library: Sociology. Meta index of sociology Internet sites.
Yearbook of Immigration Statistics.
A compilation of statistics on annual immigration into the U.S. and immigration law enforcement actions.
Jan Kelsey, Fordham University
Libraries
|