|
Style
Manuals and Guides in Print
Scholarly
and Research Papers
American
Psychological Association. Publication Manual of the American Psychological
Association (5th ed.). Washington, DC: APA, 2001.
(LC) Reserve Desk: BF76.7 .P83 2001; (MM RH)
Ref BF76.7 .P83 2001
Gibaldi,
Joseph. MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers (6th ed.). New York: Modern Language Association, 2003.
(MM) Ref PE 1478 .M57 2003; (LC) Reserve PE 1478 .M57 2003
Gibaldi, Joseph. MLA Style Manual and Guide to Scholarly Publishing (2nd ed.). New York : Modern Language Association, 1998.
(RH) Ref PE 1478 .M572 1998; (LC) Reserve PE 1478 .M572 1998
Glicken, Morley. A Guide to Writing for Human Service Professionals.
Lanham, MD: Rowman & Littlefield, 2008. (LC MM) HV 41 .G65 2008 Hale, Constance.
Wired Style: Principles of English Usage in the Digital Age.
New York: Broadway Books, 1999.
(LC RH) Ref QA76.15 .W55 1999
Li, Xia; Crane, Nancy.
Electronic Styles: A Handbook for Citing Electronic Information (2nd ed.). Medford, NJ: Information Today, 1996.
(RH LC) Ref PN171.F56 L5 1996
Szuchman, L.T. Writing
With Style: APA Style for Social Work (2nd ed.). Belmont, CA: Brooks/Cole-Thomson Learning, 2004. (LC) Reserve
HM586.S98 2004
Turabian,
Kate L. A Manual for Writers of Term Papers, Theses, and Dissertations
(6th ed.). Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 1996.
(RH) Ref LB2369 .T8 1996; (LC) Reserve LB2369 .T8 1996
University of Chicago. The Chicago
Manual of Style (15th ed.). Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 2003.
(RH LC) Ref Z 253 .C57
Science & Technology
Council of Science Editors.
Scientific Style and Format: The CBE Manual for Authors, Editors, and
Publishers (7th ed.). New York: Cambridge University Press, 2006.
(RH MM) Ref T11.S286 2006
Iverson, Cheryl.
American Medical Association Manual of Style: A Guide for Authors and
Editors (9th ed.). Baltimore: Williams & Wilkins, 1998.
(RH LC) Ref R119.A533 1998
Microsoft Corporation.
The Microsoft Manual of Style for Technical
Publications (3rd ed.).
Redmond, WA: Microsoft Press, 2004.
(RH) EIC T11.M467 2004
History & Political Science
Lane, Michael K.; Lindenfelser, Linda F.; Powell, G. Bingham.
Style Manual for Political Science (rev. ed.).
Washington, DC: American Political Science Association, 1993.
(LC) Ref JA86.A52 1993
Business
Alred, Gerald J. The
Business Writer's Handbook (8th ed.).
New York: St. Martin's Press,
2006.
(RH LC MM) Ref HF5721.A465
2006
De Vries, Mary Ann.
Prentice Hall Style Manual: A Complete Guide with Model
Formats for Every Business Writing Occasion.
Englewood, NJ: Prentice Hall, 1992.
(LC) Ref PE1479.B87 D4 1992
Diamond, Harriet,
et al. Executive Writing: A Style Manual for the Business World. Upper Saddle River, NJ: Prentice Hall, 1997. (LC) HF 5718.3 .D53 1997
Lindsell-Roberts,
Sheryl. 135 Tips for Writing Successful Business Documents.
Boston:
Houghton Mifflin, 2006.
(RH LC MM) Ref HF 5726 .L57 2006
Religion
Alexander, Patrick.
The SBL Handbook of Style: For Ancient
Near Eastern, Biblical, and Early Christian Studies.
Peabody, MA: Hendrickson Publishers, 1999.
(RH LC) Ref PN147.S26 1999
Hudson, Bob.
Christian Writer's Manual of Style (updated & expanded ed.).
Grand Rapids, MI: Zondervan, 2004
(RH) Ref BR44 .C48 2004
Journalism
Cook, Bruce, & Martin, Harold.
UPI Stylebook and Guide to Newswriting (4th ed.). Sterling, VA:
Capital Books, 2004.
(LC) Ref PN4783.M447 2004
Goldstein, Norm.
The Associated Press Stylebook and Libel
Manual: Including Guidelines on Photo Captions, Filing the Wire,
Proofreaders' Marks, Copyright.
Reading, MA: Addison-Wesley, 1998.
(RH LC) Ref PN4783 .A77 1998
MacDonald, R. H. A Broadcast News Manual Of Style (2nd ed.). New York: Longman, 1994.
(LC) Reserve PN4784.B75 M24 1994
Siegal, Allan M.; Connolly, William G.
The
New York Times Manual of Style and Usage (rev. & expanded ed.).
New York: Times Books, 1999.
(RH LC) Ref PN4783.S57 1999
Grammar
Handbooks, Manuals, Etc.
Amato, Carol J. The World's Easiest Guide to Using the APA: A
User-Friendly Manual for Formatting Research Papers According to the American
Psychological Association Style Guide (3rd ed.). Corona, CA: Stargazer Pub.,
2002. (LC) Ref BF76.7.A52 (2002)
Campbell, D.M. How to Develop a Professional Portfolio: A Manual for Teachers
(4th ed.). Boston: Pearson,
2007.
(LC MM) Ref LB2838.H56 2007
Hodges, John Cunyus.
Harbrace
College Handbook (13th ed.). New York: Harcourt Brace, 1998. (LC) Ref PE1112.H6 1998
Lester, James D., & Lester, James D., Jr. Writing Research Papers: A
Complete Guide (12th ed.). New York: Pearson, 2007. (LC) Ref LB2369.L4 2007
New York Public Library.
The New York Public
Library Writer's Guide to Style and Usage.
New York: HarperCollins, 1994.
(RH) Ref PE1421.N46 1994; (LC) Reserve
PE1421.N46 1994
O'Conner, Patricia T.
Woe is I: The Grammarphobes Guide to Better English in Plain English (rev.,
updated
& expanded ed.). New York: Riverhead Books, 2004. (LC) PE1112.O28 2004
Ritter, R.M.(ed.). The New Oxford Dictionary
for Writers and Editors (adapted ed.). New York: Oxford University Press, 2005.
(RH LC) Ref PE1628.089 2005
Strunk, William. The Elements
of Style (illustrated ed.). New York: Penguin Press, 2005. (RH LC)
PE1421.S7 2005
Szuchman, L.T. Writing With Style: APA Style for Social Work (2nd ed.). Belmont, CA: Brooks/Cole-Thomson Learning, 2004. (LC) Reserve HM586.S98
2004 Walker, Janice
R.; Taylor, Todd W. The Columbia Guide to Online Style (2nd ed.).
New York: Columbia University Press, 2006.
(RH) Ref PN171.F56 W35 2006
Style
Guides Online
Below is a selected
list of style guides online. Always check with your instructor to be sure
that you are using the one most appropriate for your needs.
American
Psychological Association
Here is the
APA-sponsored guide to citing electronic sources.
Citing Electronic Information
in History Papers
This site was developed and is maintained by Maurice Crouse of the Department of History
at the University
of Memphis.
Chicago Manual of Style
Here is the 15th edition online for using to browse the entire work, plus Web
tools, such as manuscript preparation, Chicago-Style Citation Quick Guide,
sample correspondence, and more.
Columbia Guide to Online
Style
This site is based on the book by Janice R. Walker, which is mentioned in the bibliography
above.
Journalism Resources
Compiled and edited by Karla Tonella of the
University of Iowa, this list incorporates links to a wide variety of "style
sites."
Modern Language Association Style Online
The Modern Language Association's official Web page,
which provides an overall guide to their writing style.
Waldo Information
Services
This is an outstanding guide to electronic citation in the various standard formats
including APA, MLA & Chicago Manual of style.
Grammar & Research/Study Guides Online
Citing Sources--Guide
to Library Research
Maintained by the Duke University Libraries, this page
addresses questions regarding source citing.
The Elements of Style
by William Strunk, Jr.
This is a celebrated text available via Bartleby.com.
Guide to Grammar
and Writing
This site was created by Professor Charles Darling and
is sponsored by the Capital Community College (Hartford).
Olin Library
at Cornell
Here is useful advice for critically appraising electronic and traditional sources of
information.
Study Guides and Strategies
Maintained by the University of St. Thomas (St. Paul, Minn.), this site offers
information in English and fourteen other languages.
Study
Strategies Homepage
This is a helpful site from the University of Minnesota-Duluth.
The Writers' Workshop
Live assistance is limited to those at the
University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign; however, there is a great deal of
useful information online.
Fordham University Libraries
|