Fordham University Libraries
Site Search:
 
Contact Library Library Home Page

Research Guides: Theology

Theology: The study of God and His relationship to man and the universe. The study of religion and religious beliefs


 



Major Electronic Databases and Indexes

ATLA Religion Index, 1949-

The American Theological Association's ATLA Religion Database is a compilation of three print indexes Religion Index One: Periodicals (RIO)), Religion Index Two: Multi-Author Works (RIT)), and Index to Book Reviews in Religion (IBBR)). Covering such topics as Biblical studies, world religions, Church history and religious perspectives on social issues, ATLA Religion Database contains over one million bibliographic records covering the research literature of religion in 26 languages. It includes article citations from 650 journals, essay citations from 14,000 multi-author works, and book review citations. Covering the indexing period from 1949 to the present, the database is an essential resource for researchers and students in theology as well a in the social sciences, history, and the humanities. For directions on how to search, use the help screens.

ATLASerials

Full text of 50 major religious journals from 1949 to the present.

Religious Periodicals: ProQuest Direct.

Full text of articles from about 75 religious journals since 1996.

The Catholic Periodical and Literature Index. 1981 - Print version 1939- . (RH LC) AI3.C3

Indexes about 135 journals and newspapers, over 1500 books per year and all U.S. Church and papal documents. Mostly English language materials and some French German Spanish and Italian. Indexes book reviews. For directions on how to search, use the help screens.

Index Islamicus: A Catalogue of Articles on Islamic Subjects in Periodicals and Other Collective Publications. London: Mansell, 1906- . (LC, RH) Ref DS41.I6.

Indexes periodicals and festschriften. Arranged by subject with author indexes. Supplements issued every five years.

New Testament Abstracts. Electronic 1985 - . Also Print version, 1956 - (RH, LC) BX1.N378.)

Abstracts of articles from over 500 journals, monographs, and software related to New Testament studies. About 850 books are summarized per year. Book reviews are also abstracted. For directions on how to search, use the help screens.

Old Testament Abstracts.Electronic and Print 1978- . (RH, LC) BX1.04

Presents abstracts of articles from about 130 journals and summaries of numerous books. Book reviews are also abstracted. Covers Catholic, Protestant and Jewish literature. For directions on how to search, use the help screens.

Religious and Theological Abstracts. 1958- Print version (RH, LC) Ref BX1.R342

An index with abstracts to about 400 journals in all languages. The coverage is mostly Christian, but other religions are included. Topics are Biblical, theological, historical and practical. For directions on how to search, use the help screens.


Top of Page




Important Reference Works

General Dictionaries and Encyclopedias

Biographisch-bibliographisches Kirchenlexikon.Hrsg.von Friedrich Wilhelm Bautz. Hamm: Bautz, 1970- . RH Ref BR1700.2.B38

Biographical Dictionary of Christian Missions. New York: Macmillan, 1998. RH LC Ref BV 3700. B56 1998

Concise Dictionary of Christian Ethics. Stoeckle, Bernhard. New York: Seabury Press, 1979. RH Ref BJ1199.C6

The Concise Oxford Dictionary of the Christian Church. 2nd. ed. Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2000. RH Ref BR95.O9 2000

The Concise Oxford Dictionary of the Christian Church (electronic resource) Oxford University Press, 2000.

Dictionary of Ethics, Theology and Society. Edited by Paul Barry Clarke and Andrew Linzey. London, New York: Routledge, 1996. LC, RH Ref BJ63.D53 1996

Dictionary of the Ecumenical Movement. 2nd ed. Grand Rapids: Eerdman, 2002. RH Ref BX6.3.D53 2002; 1st ed.
LC Ref BX8.2.D53 1991

The Encyclopedia of Apocalypticism. New York: Continuum, 1998. 3 vols. RH Ref BL501.E53 1998

Encyclopedia of Christian Theology. New York: Routledge, 2005. RH Ref BR95.D5313 2005

The Encyclopedia of Christianity. Grand Rapids: Eerdmans, 1999. LC RH Ref BR95.E8913

Encyclopedia of Christianity. Edited by John Bowden. New York: Oxford University Press, 2005. RH Ref BR95.E47 2005

Encyclopedia of Early Christianity. 2nd ed. New York: Garland, 1997. LC, RH Ref BR162.2.E53 1997

Encyclopedia of Ethics. Becker, Lawrence C. New York: Routledge, 2001. RH Ref BJ63.E52 2001

Encyclopedia of Religion.Editor in Chief, Mircea Eliade. New York: Macmillan, 1987. LC, RH Ref BL31.E49

Encyclopedia of Religion (electronic resource) Macmillan, 2005.

Encyclopedia of Religion. Editor in Chief, Lindsay Jones. New York: Macmillan, 2005. MM Ref BL31.E49 2005

Encyclopaedia of Religion and Ethics. Hastings, James. Edinburgh: T. & T. Clark: 1908-26. LC, MM, RH Ref BL31.E4

The Encyclopedia of Religion and Nature. Taylor, Bron Raymond. London and New York:Thoemmes Continuum, 2005. 2 vols. RH Ref BL31.E493 2005

Encyclopedia of Religion and Society.William Swatos, Jr., Editor. Walnut Creek, CA.; AltaMira Press, 1998. LC, RH Ref BL60.E53 1998

Encyclopedia of the Renaissance and the Reformation. Rev. ed. New York: Facts on File, 2004. RH Ref CB359.E53 2004

Evangelical Dictionary of Theology. 2nd ed. Grand Rapids, MI: Baker Academic, 2001. RH Ref BR95.E87 2001

Frazer, James George, Sir. The New Golden Bough: A New Abridgment of the Classic Work. New York: Criterion Books, 1959. LC, MM, RH Ref BL310.F7 1959

Geisler, Norman L. Baker Encyclopedia of Christian Apologetics. Grand Rapids: Baker Books, 1999. LC RH Ref BT1102.G42 1999

HarperCollins Dictionary of Religion.General Editor Jonathan Z. Smith. San Francisco: HarperSanFrancisco, 1995. LC RH Ref BL31.H37 1995

An Introduction to Pentecostalism: Global Charismatic Christianity. Cambridge, U.K.: Cambridge University Press, 2004. MM, RH BR1644.A43 2004

Jenkins, Philip. The Next Christendom: The Coming Global Christianity. Oxford; New York: Oxford University Press, 2007. RH Ref BR121.3.J46 2007

Keller, Rosemary Skinner. Encyclopedia of Women and Religion in North America. Bloomington: Indiana University Press, 2006. RH Ref BL458.E52 2006

Lienhard, Joseph T. Biographical Dictionary of Christian Theologians. Westport, CT: Greenwood, 2000. LC, RH Ref BR95 .B575 2000.

Lewis, James R. Angels, A to Z. New York: Gale Research, 1996. RH Ref BL447.L45 1996

Mead, Frank Spencer. Handbook of Denomination in the United States. Nashville: Abingdon Press, 2001. MM, RH Ref BL2525.M425 2001

Melton, J. Gordon. A Directory of Religious Bodies in the United States. New York: Garland, 1977. RH BL2530.U6 M4

Melton, J. Gordon. Nelson's Guide to Denominations. Nashville: Thomas Nelson, 2007. RH Ref BR510.M45 2007

New Dictionary of Christian Ethics and Pastoral Theology.Editors, David J. Atkinson, David H. Field. Downers Grove, IL.: InterVarsity Press, 1995. MM RH Ref BJ1199.N495 1995

The Oxford Dictionary of the Christian Church.Edited by EA Livingstone. 3rded. New York: Oxford University Press, 1997. LC, RH Ref BR95.09 1997

The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Reformation. New York: Oxford University Press, 1996. RH Ref BR302.8.O93 1996

Religious Congregations & Membership in the United States 2000: An Enumeration by Region, State and County Based on Data Reported for 149 Religious Bodies. Jones, Dale E. Nashville: Glenmary Research Center, 2002. RH Ref BL2525.R4689 2002

Schaff-Herzog Encyclopedia. Jackson, Samuel Macauley. Grand Rapids: Baker, 1949-50. RH Ref BL31.S2

Theologische Realenzyklopaedie. Berlin; New York: deGruyter, 1997- RH Ref BR95.T45.

Van Scott, Miriam. Encyclopedia of Hell. New York: St. Martin's Press, 1998. LC MM RH Ref BL545.V26 1998.



Top of Page




World Religion

General

The Coptic Encyclopedia.New York: Macmillan, 1991. RH Ref BX130.5.C66 1991

Encyclopedia of African American Religions.Edited by Larry G. Murphy. New York: Garland, 1993. LC, RH Ref BR5C3.N4 E53 1993

Encyclopedia of African and African-American Religions. New York: Routledge, 2001. RH Ref BL2462.5.E53 2001

Encyclopedia of the American Religious Experience: Studies of Traditions and Movements. New York: Scribner, 1988. LC RH Ref BL2525. E53 1988

The Encyclopedia of Unbelief.Gordon Stein, Editor. Buffalo: Prometheus Books, 1985. RH Ref BL2705.E53 1985.

Encyclopedia of Women and Religion in North America. Keller, Rosemary Skinner, Editor. Bloomington: Indiana University Press, 2006. RH Ref BL458.E52 2006

Encyclopedia of Women and World Religion. New York: Macmillan Reference USA, 1999. LC, MM, RH Ref BL458.E53 1999

Handbook of denominations in the United States. Mead, Frank Spencer editor. New York: Abingdon Press, 2005. RH Ref BL2525.M425 2005

Hartz, Paula. Baha'i Faith. New York: Facts On File, 2002. RH BP365.H323 2002

Hirschfelder, Arlene B. The Encyclopedia of Native American Religions. Updated ed. New York: Facts on File, 2000 LC, RH Ref E98.R3 H73 2000

Lewis James R. The Encyclopedia of Cults, Sects and New Religions. Amherst, NY: Prometheus Books, 1998. RH Ref BL2525.L49 1998

Merriam-Webster's Encyclopedia of World Religions. Springfield, MA: Merriam-Webster, 1999. RH Ref BL31.M47 1999

A New Dictionary of Religions. Edited by John R. Hinnells. Oxford; Cambridge MA.: Blackwell, 1995. LC, RH Ref BL31.P48 1995

New Handbook of Living Religions.Edited by John R. Hinnells. Oxford; Cambridge, MA.; Blackwell, 1997. LC, RH BL80.2.H27 1997

New Religions : A Guide : New Religious Movements, Sects and Alternative Spiritualities. New York: Oxford University Press, 2004. RH BP603.N492 2004

Oxford Dictionary of World Religions.Edited by John Bowker. Oxford; New York: Oxford University Press, 1997. LC, RH Ref BL31.O84 1997

Oxford Handbook of New Religious Movements. Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2004. RH BP603.H36 2004

Sacred Texts of the World: A Universal Anthology. New York: Crossroad, 1982. LC, RH BL70.S47 1982

Buddhism

Baroni, Helen. The Illustrated Encyclopedia of Zen Buddhism. New York: Rosen Pub. Group, 2002. RH Ref BQ9259.B37 2002

Bunce, Frederick W. An Encyclopaedia of Buddhist Deities, Demigods, Godlings, Saints, and Demons with Special Focus on Iconographic Attributes. New Delhi, D.K. Printworld, 1994. RH Ref BQ130.B88 1994

Encyclopaedia of Buddhism. Edited by G.P. Malalasekera. Columbo: Government of Sri Lanka, 1961- . RH Ref BL1403.E52

Encyclopedia of Buddhism. New York: Macmillan, 2004. RH Ref BQ128.E62 2004

Keown, Damien. A Dictionary of Buddhism. Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2003. RH Ref BQ130.K46 2003

Keown, Damien. A Dictionary of Buddhism. (electronic resource) Oxford University Press, 2003.

Powers, John. A Concise Encyclopedia of Buddhism. Oxford: Oneworld, 2000. RH Ref BQ128.P69 2000

Prebish, Charles. The A to Z of Buddhism. Lanham, MD: Scarecrow Press, 2001. RH Ref BQ130.P73 2001

Hinduism

Dogra, R.C Encyclopedia of Sikh Religion and Culture. New Dehli: Vikas Publishing House, 1995. RH Ref BL2017.3.D64 1995

Jones, Constance. Encyclopedia of Hinduism. New York: Facts on File, 2007. RH Ref BL1105.J56 2007

Sullivan, Bruce M. Historical Dictionary of Hinduism. Lanham, MD.: Scarecrow Press, 1997. RH Ref BL1105.S85 1997

Islam

The Encyclopedia of Islam. New edition. Leiden: Brill, 1960- . LC, RH Ref DS37.E5 1960

Encyclopedia of Islam and the Muslim World. New York: Macmillan, 2004. RH Ref BP40.E525 2004

Glasse, Cyril. The New Encyclopedia of Islam. Walnut Creek, CA: AltaMira Press, 2001. RH Ref BP40.G42 2001

Greaves, Ron. Key Words in Islam. Washington, D.C.: Georgetown University Press, 2006. RH Ref BP40.G396 2006

Newby, Gordon. A Concise Encyclopedia of Islam. Oxford: Oneworld, 2002. RH Ref BP40.N47 2002

Oxford Dictionary of Islam. New York: Oxford University Press, 2003. RH Ref BP40.O95 2003

Oxford Dictionary of Islam. (electronic resource) Oxford University Press, 2003.

Judaism

Buhle, Paul. Jews and American Popular Culture. Westport, CT: Praeger Publications, 2007. RH Ref E184.35.J5 2007

Eisenberg, Joyce. The JPS Dictionary of Jewish Words. Philadelphia: Jewish Publication Society, 2001. RH Ref BM50.E47 2001

Encyclopedia Judaica. New York: Macmillan, 1971-72. 16 vols. LC, RH Ref DS 102.8.E64

Encyclopaedia Judaica. (electronic resource) Macmillan, 2007.

Greaves, Ron. Key Words in Judaism. Washington, D.C.:Georgetown University Press, 2006. RH Ref BM50.G43 2006

The Oxford Dictionary of the Jewish Religion.Editors in Chief, R.J. Zwi Werblowsky, Geoffrey Wigoder. New York: Oxford University Press, 1997. LC RH Ref BM50.O94 1997

Reader's Guide to Judaism. Chicago: Firzroy Dearborn, 2000. RH Ref BM50.R43 2000

The Shengold Jewish Encyclopedia. 3rd ed. Rockville, MD: Schreiber Pub., 2003. RH Ref BM50.S54 2003


Top of Page




Patrology

Bibliographia Patristica. Internationale Patristische Bibliographie. Berlin: De Gruyter, 1956- . RH Ref BR59.B5.

Dictionary of Early Christian Beliefs: A Reference Guide to More than 700 Topics Discussed by the Early Church Fathers. Peabody, MA: Hendrickson Publishers, 1998. LC RH Ref BR66.5.D53 1998.

Encyclopedia of Early Christianity.Editor, Everett Ferguson. 2nd.ed. New York: Garland, 1997. LC, RH Ref BR162.2.E53 1997

Encyclopedia of the Early Church.Produced by the Institutum Patristicum Augustinianum. Cambridge: James Clarke, 1992. LC, RH Ref BR67.5 D582 1992

Quaston, Johannes. Patrology. Westminster, MD.: Christian Classics, 1986-88. LC, RH BR67.Q3 1986

Patrology-Texts-English

Ancient Christian Writers: The Works of the Fathers in Translation. Ramsey, NJ.: Paulist Press, 1946- . LC, RH BR60.A35

The Ante-Nicene Fathers: Translations of the Writings of the Fathers down to A.D. 325. New York: Scribner's, 1899-1900. RH BR60 R74

The Fathers of the Church: A New Translation. Washington: Catholic University of America Press, 1947- . LC, RH BR60.F3A

A Select Library of the Nicene and Post Nicene Fathers.New York: Christian Literature Company, 1887-1900. 14 vols. Second Series, 14 vols. RH BR60.S4.

Patrology-Texts-Original Languages

Corpus Christianorum: Continuatio Mediaevalis. Turnhout: Brepols, 1966- . RH BR60.C6 Med.

Corpus Christianorum: Series Graeca. Turnhout: Brepols, 1977- . RH BR60.C6Greek.

Corpus Christianorum: Series Latina. Turnhout: Brepols, 1953- . RH BR60.C6Latin.

Corpus Scriptorum Christianorum Orientalium.Louvain: Secretariat du Corpus S.C.O., 1903. .RH (Various call numbers).

Corpus Scriptorum Ecclesiasticorum Latinorum.Vindobonae: Geroldi, 1866- . RH BR60.C64

Migne, J.P. Patrologiae…Series Graeca. Parisiis: Migne, 1857-66. 161 vols. In 166. RH BR60.M5

Migne, J.P. Patrologiae Graecae (Electronic resource)

Migne, J.P. Patrologiae…Series Latina. Parisiis: Migne, 1844-80. 221 vols. RH BR60.M5

Migne, J.P. Patrologia Latina (Electronic resource)


Top of Page


Bibles

The Access Bible: New Revised Standard Version, with the Apocryphal/Deuterocanonical Books. New York: Oxford, 1999. LC, RH Ref BS191.5.A1 1999 N49, MM BS191.5.A1 1999 N49

The Bible: authorized King James Version. New York: Oxford, 1997. LC Ref BS185 1997 .O94 1997; LC, RH Ref BS185 1997 .O94 1997

The Cambridge Annotated Study Bible: New Revised Standard Version. Cambridge; New York: Cambridge University Press. 1993. LC, RH Ref BS191.5 A1 1993 .C36

The Catholic Bible: New American Bible including the Revised Psalms and the revised New Testament. Personal study ed. New York: Oxford, 1995. RH BS192.3.A1 1995 .N49

The Catholic Study Bible. New York: Oxford, 1990. LC,RH Ref BS192.3.A1 1990 .N49

The Complete Parallel Bible: containing the Old and New Testaments with the Apocryphal/Deuterocanonical books. 2nd ed. New York: Oxford, 1993. RH Ref BS125.B5 1993

The Full Study Bible: New International Version. Grand Rapids, MI: Zondervan Pub. House, 1992. RH Ref BS195.N37 1992

The HarperCollins Study Bible: New Revised Standard Version with the Apocryphal/Deuterocanonical books. New York: HarperCollins, 1993. LC, RH BS191.5.A1 1993 .N49; LC Ref BS191.5.A1 1993 .N49

The Holy Bible, containing the Old and New Testaments. New ed. Nashville: Abington, 1977. RH Ref BS185 1977 .N37

The Holy Bible: containing the Old and New Testaments with the Apocryphal/Deuterocanonical books: New Revised Standard Version. Glasgow; New York: Collins, 1989. RH BS191.5.A1 1989 .G53

The Holy Bible: Revised Standard Version (Ignatius edition; Second Catholic edition). San Francisco: Thomas Nelson Publishing for Ignatius Press, 2006. RH Ref BS191.A1 2006 .S26

The Holy Bible: translated from the Latin Vulgate. Enl. softcover ed. Rockford, IL: Tan Books and Publishers, 2000. LC Ref BS180 2000.

The Jerusalem Bible. Garden City, NY: Doubleday, 1966. MM, RH Ref BS195.J4; LC BS195. J4

The New American Bible. Translated from the Original Languages with Critical Use of All the Ancient Sources. Paterson, NJ.: St. Anthony Guild Press, 1970. LC, RH Ref BS192.3.A1 P3

The New Jerusalem Bible. Reader's ed. New York: Doubleday, 1990. LC, RH Ref BS195 .J4 1990

The New Jerusalem Bible. New York: Doubleday, 1985. MM Ref BS195.N375 1990B (1990 printing); LC, RH Ref BS195.J4 1985

The New Oxford Annotated Bible with the Apocryphal/Deuterocanonical books. New York: Oxford, 1991. MM BS191.5.A1 1991 .N49; LC, RH Ref BS191.5.A1 1991 .N49

The Oxford Study Bible: Revised English Bible with the Apocrypha. New York: Oxford, 1992. RH BS195.R4 1992

Zondervan NIV Study Bible. Grand Rapids: Zondervan, 2002. RH Ref BS195.N37 2002

 

Bible Texts


Bible - Commentaries, Dictionaries and Encyclopedias

The Anchor Bible Dictionary.David Noel Freedman, Editor in Chief. New York: Doubleday, 1992. LC, MM, RH Ref BS440.A54 1992

Aune, David. The Westminster Dictionary of the New Testament and Early Christian Literature and Rhetoric. Louisville: Westminster John Knox Press, 2003. RH Ref BS2312.A86 2003

Bauer, Johannes Baptist. Sacramentum Verbi: An Encyclopedia of Biblical Theology. New York: Herder and Herder, 1970. RH Ref BS440.B32

Browning, W.R.F. A Dictionary of the Bible. Rev. ed. Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2004. RH Ref BS440.B73 2004

Dictionary of Biblical Criticism and Interpretation. Porter, Stanley E., Editor. London: Routledge, 2007. RH Ref BS440.D496 2007

Dictionary of Biblical Imagery. Downers Grove, IL: InterVarsity Press, 1998. MM, RH Ref BS537.D48 1998

Dictionary of New Testament Background : A Compendium of Contemporary Biblical Scholarship. Downers Grove, IL: InterVarsity Press, 2000. RH Ref BS2312.D53 2000

Dictionary of the Later New Testament and Its Developments.Downers Grove, IL.: InterVarsity Press, 1997. RH Ref BS2625.5.D53 1997

Dictionary of the Old Testament : Pentateuch. Downers Grove, IL: InterVarsity Press, 2003. RH Ref BS1225.52.D53 2003

Eerdmans Commentary on the Bible. Grand Rapids, MI: Eerdmans, 2003. RH Ref BS491.3.E37 2003

Eerdmans Dictionary of the Bible. Grand Rapids, MI: Eerdmans, 2000. LC, RH BS440.E44 2000

The Facts On File Dictionary of Classical and Biblical Allusions. New York: Facts On File, 2003. RH Ref PN43.F16 2003

Gilmore, Alec. A Concise Dictionary of Bible Origins and Interpretation. London: New York: Continuum, 2006 RH Ref BS445.G55 2006

Global Bible Commentary. Nashville: Abingdon Press, 2004. RH BS491.3.G57 2004

Grey, James M. The Concise Bible Commentary. Peabody, MA: Hendrickson, 1999. RH Ref BS491.G78 1999

The HarperCollins Bible Commentary. Rev. ed. San Francisco: HarperSanFrancisco, 2000. RH Ref BS491.2.H37 2000

Hebrew Bible : History of Interpretation. Nashville: Abingdon, 2004. RH BS500.H42 2004

Historical Handbook of Major Biblical Interpreters. Downers Grove, IL: InterVarsity Press, 1998. RH Ref BS501.A1 H57 1998

The IVP Dictionary of the New Testament : a One Volume Compendium of Contemporary Biblical Scholarship. Downers Grove, IL: InterVarsity Press, 2004. RH Ref BS2312.I89 2004

The IVP Women's Bible Commentary. Downers Grove, IL: InterVarsity Press, 2002. LC, RH Ref BS521.4.I97 2002

The Interpreter's Bible: The Holy Scriptures in the King James and Revised Standard Versions with General Articles and Introduction, Exegisis, Exposition for Each Book of the Bible. New York: Abington-Cokesbury Press, 1951-57. LC, MM, RH Ref BS491.I65

The Interpreter's Dictionary of the Bible: An Illustrated Encyclopedia Identifying and Explaining all Proper Names and significant Terms and Subjects in the Holy Scriptures. New York: Abingdon Press, 1962. LC, MM, RH Ref BS440.I62

Kittel, Gerhard. Theological Dictionary of the New Testament. Grand Rapids: Eerdmans, 1964-76. LC, RH Ref BS2312.K51

Longman, Tremper. Old Testament Commentary Survey. Grand Rapids: Baker Academic, 2007. RH Ref BS1151.52.L65 2007

The MacArthur Topical Bible: new King James version. Nashville: Word Publishing, 1999. RH Ref BS432.M29 1999

Master Study Bible: New American Standard: Encyclopedia, Concordance, Words of Christ in Red. Nashville: Holman Bible Publishers, 1981. RH Ref BS195.N35 1981

MacArthur, John. The MacArthur Topical Bible: New King James Version. Nashville: Word Publishing, 1999. RH Ref BS432.M29 1999

Metzger, Bruce Manning. The Oxford Companion to the Bible.Oxford; New York: Oxford University Press, 1993. LC, MM, RH Ref. BS440.M434 1993

New Dictionary of Biblical Theology. Downers Grove, IL: InterVarsity Press, 2001. RH Ref BS440.N437 2001

New Interpreters Bible: General Articles & Introduction, Commentary, & Reflections for Each Book of the Bible, Including the Apocraphal/Deuterocanonical Books. Nashville: Abington Books, 1994- . RH Ref BS491.I652 1994

The New Jerome Biblical Commentary. Englewood Cliffs, NJ: Prentice-Hall, 1990. LC, MM, RH Ref BS491.2.N485 1990

Nicolson, Adam. God's Secretaries: the Making of the King James Bible. New York: HarperCollins, 2003. RH BS186.N53 2003

Nigosian, S.A. From Ancient Writings to Sacred Texts : the Old Testament and Apocrypha. Baltimore: Johns Hopkins University Press, 2004. RH BS1140.3.N54 2004

Norton, David. A Textual History of the King James Bible. New York: Cambridge University Press, 2005. RH BS186.N67 2005

Oxford Bible Commentary. New York: Oxford University Press, 2001. LC, MM Ref BS491.3.O94 2001

The sacred bridge : Carta's atlas of the Biblical world. Rainey, Anson F. Jerusalem: Carta, 2006. RH Ref BS630.R356 2006

Theological Dictionary of the Old Testament.Revised ed. Grand Rapids: Eerdmans, 1977- . LC, RH Ref BS440.B641 1977

Trenchard, Warren. A Concise Dictionary of New Testament Greek. Cambridge, UK: Cambridge University Press, 003. LC, RH Ref PA881.T74 2003

Vanhoozer, Kevin J. Dictionary for Theological Interpretation of the Bible. Grand Rapids: Baker Academic, 2005. RH Ref BS440.D495 2005

Vermes, Geza. Who's Who in the Age of Jesus. London: New York: Penguin, 2006. RH Ref BS570.V47 2006

Vigouroux, F. Dictionnaire de la Bible. Paris: Letouzey, 1912-22 . RH Ref BS440.D7

Bible-Concordances

Hartdegen, Stephen J. Nelson's Complete Concordance of the New American Bible. Collegeville, MN.: Liturgical Press, 1977. LC, MM, RH Ref BS425.H27

The NRSV Concordance unabridged: Including the Apocryphal/Deuterocanonical Books. Grand Rapids, MI.: Zondervan, 1991. LC, RH Ref BS425.K64 1991

Kohlenberger, John R. The Hebrew English Concordance to the Old Testament: With the New International Version. Grand Rapids: Zondervan Publishing House, 1998. RH Ref BS1121.K65 1998

Strong, James. Strong's Exhaustive Concordance of the (King James) Bible. Nashville, TE.: Royal Publishers, 1975. RH Ref BS425.58 1975

Whitaker, Richard E. Analytical Concordance to the New Revised Standard Version of the New Testament. Grand Rapids, MI: Eerdmans, 2000. MM, RH Ref BS2305.W45 2000

________________. The Eerdmans Analytical Concordance to the Revised Standard Version of the Bible. Grand Rapids, MI.: Eerdmans, 1988. LC, RH Ref BS425.W48 1988

Wigram, George V. The Englishman's Greek Concordance of the New Testament: Coded with the Numbering System from Strong's Exhaustive Concordance of the Bible. Peabody, MA: Hendrickson Publishing, 1996. RH Ref BS2302.W495 1996

Wigram, George V. The Englishman's Hebrew and Chaldee Concordance of the Old Testament: Coded with the Numbering System from Strong's Exhaustive Concordance of the Bible. Peabody, MA: Hendrickson Publishing, 1996. RH Ref BS1125.W5 1996



Top of Page




Roman Catholicism



Catholic Church-Canon Law

The Code of Canon Law: A Text and Commentary. New York: Paulist Press, 1985. LC, MM, RH Ref BX1943.E63 1985

Dictionnaire de Droit Canonique.Paris: Letouzey, 1935-65. RH Ref BX 1936.D5

New Commentary on the Code of Canon Law. New York : Paulist Press, 2000. LC, RH Ref BX1935.N49 2000


Catholic Church-Councils

Bellitto, Christopher. The General Councils : A History of the Twenty-One Church Councils from Nicaea to Vatican II. New York: Paulist Press, 2002. LC, MM, RH BX825.B45 2002

Commentary on the Documents of Vatican II.General Editor Herbert Vorgrimler. New York: Herder and Herder, 1967-69. LC, RH Ref BX830 1962 .V67 ; MM BX830 1962.Z913

The Documents of Vatican II, In a New and Definitive Translation with Commentaries and Notes by Catholic, Protestant and Orthodox Authorities.New York: Herder, 1966. LC, MM, RH Ref BX830 1962.A3

Tanner, Norman . The Councils of the Church : A Short History. New York: Crossroad, 2001. RH BR200.T36 2001


Catholic Church-Liturgy

Cabrol, Fernand. Dictionnaire d'Acheologie Chretienne et de Liturgie. Paris: Letouzey, 1907-53. RH D2.D51

Lang, Jovian. Dictionary of the Liturgy. New York: Catholic Book Pub., 1989. LC, RH BV173.L26 1989; MM Ref BV173.L26 1989

New Dictionary of Sacramental Worship.Collegeville, MN.: Liturgical Press, 1990. LC, RH Ref BV173.N48 1990

Smolarski, Dennis. Liturgical Literacy : from Anamnesis to Worship. New York: Paulist Press, 1990. RH Ref BV173.S66 1990


Catholic Church - Papacy

Dictionnaire Historique de la Papaute.[English] New York : Routledge, 2002. RH Ref BX955.2 .D5313 2002

The Encyclicals of John Paul II. Huntington, IN.: Our Sunday Visitor, 2001. LC, RH Ref BX870 1978A OCT

Encyclopedia of the Vatican and Papacy. Westport, CT: Greenwood, 1999. LC, RH Ref BX955.2.E53 1999

Maxwell-Stuart, P.G. Chronicle of the Popes : the Reign by Reign Record of the Papacy from St. Peter to the Present. New York: Thames and Hudson, 1997. LC, RH Ref BX955.2.M29 1997

McBrien, Richard. Lives of the Popes: the Pontiffs from St. Peter to John Paul II. San Francisco: HarperSanFrancisco, 1997. LC, MM, RH BX955.2 .M39 1997

The Oxford Dictionary of Popes. Kelly, J.N.D. Oxford: New York: Oxford University Press, 2005. LC, RH Ref BX955.2.K4 2005

The Papal Encyclicals. Compiled by Claudia Carlen. Wilmington, NC.: McGrath Publishing Company, 1981. LC, RH Ref. BX860.A35 ; MM BX860.A35

Pastor, Ludwig. The History of the Popes from the Close of the Middle Ages. St. Louis: Herder, 1891-1940. LC, RH BX955.P35

Rendina, Claudio. The Popes : Histories and Secrets. Santa Ana, CA: Seven Locks Press, 2002. RH Ref BX955.3.R4613 2002


Catholic Church-Religious Orders

Day, Peter. Dictionary of Religious Orders. Tunbridge Wells: Burns & Oates, 2001. RH Ref BX2420.D39 2001

Dizionario degli Istituti de Perfezione.Diretto da Guerrimo Pelliccia. Roma: Edizioni Paoline, 1974- . RH Ref BQX6800.3.D59

Kapsner, Oliver Leonard. Catholic Religious Orders: Listing Conventional and Full Names in English, Foreign Language and Latin, also Abbreviations, Date and Country of Origin and Founders. 2nd ed. Collegeville, MN.: St. John's Abbey Press, 1957. LC, RH Ref BX2420.K3 1957

Oury, Guy Marie. Dictionnaire des Ordres Religieux et des Familles Sprituelles. Chambray-les-Tours: Edicions C.L.D., 1988. RH BQX6800.3.O87 1988


Catholic Church-Saints

Acta Sanctorum Quotquot... Collegit, digessit, notis illustravit Joannes Bollandus. Editio novissima. Parisiis: Apud Victorem Palme, 1863- . RH D2.A2

Beckett, Wendy. Sister Wendy's Book of Saints. New York: DK Pub., 1998. RH BX4655.2.B44 1998

Bunson, Matthew. John Paul II's Book of Saints. Huntington, IN: Our Sunday Visitor, 1999. RH BX4655.2.B86 1999

Butler's Lives of the Saints.New Full Edition. Collegville, MN.: Liturgical Press, 1995- . LC, RH Ref BX4654.B8 1995

Cunningham, Lawrence. A Brief History of Saints. Malden, MA: Balckwell, 2005. RH BX2333.C86 2005

Ellsberg, Robert. All Saints : Daily Reflections on Saints, Prophets, and Witnesses for Our Time. New York: Crossroads, 1997. RH Ref BL72.E44 1997

Gallick, Sarah. The Big Book of Women Saints. San Francisco: HarperSanFrancisco, 2007. RH Ref BX4656.G35 2006

Mystics, Visionaries, and Prophets: A Historical Anthology of Women's Spiritual Writings. Minneapolis: Fortress Press, 1998. RH Ref BV4495.M97 1998

Saints: A Visual Guide. Mornin, Edward. Grand Rapids: William B. Eerdmans Publishing Company, 2006. RH Ref BX4657.M68 2006

Tylende, Joseph. Jesuit Saints & Martyrs: Short Biographies of the Saints, Blessed, Venerables, and Servants of God of the Society of Jesus. 2nd ed. Chicago:Jesuit Way, 1998. RH Ref BX3755.T94 1998


Catholic Church-General Encyclopedias and Reference Sources

Dictionary of Fundamental Theology.New York: Crossroad, 1994. LC, RH Ref BX841.D481 1994

Dictionnaire d'histoire et de Geographic Ecclesiastiques. Paris: Letouzey, 1912- . RH Ref D2.D52

The Encyclopedia of American Catholic History.Collegeville, MN.: Liturgical Press, 1997. LC, RH Ref BX1406.2.E53 1997

Handbook of Catholic Theology.New York: Crossroad, 1995. LC, RH Ref BT7S.2.L441 1995.

HarperCollins Encyclopedia of Catholicism.General Editor Richard McBrien. New York: Harper Collins, 1995. RH Ref BX841.H37 1995

Dictionnaire de Spiritualite Ascetique et Mystique, Doctrine et Histoire. Paris: Beauchesne, 1932- . RH Ref D2.D67

Dictionnaire de Theologie Catholique.Paris: Letouzey, 1908-50. 15 vols in 30. RH Ref D2.D54

Lexikon fur Theologie und Kirche. Begrundet von Michael Buchberger. Frieburg in Breisgau, Herder, 1993- . RH Ref BT18.B8 1993

McCabe, James P. Critical Guide to Catholic Reference Books. 3rd ed. Littleton C.: Libraries Unlimited, 1989. LC, MM, RH Ref BX800.A1 M3 1989

The Modern Catholic Encyclopedia.Collegeville, MN.: Liturgical Press, 1994. LC, RH Ref BX841.M585 1994.

New Catholic Encyclopedia.2nd ed. Detroit: Thomson, Gale, 2003. LC, MM, RH Ref BX841.C26 2003

New Catholic Encyclopedia. 2nd ed. (electronic resource) Detroit: Thompson, Gale, 2003

The New Dictionary of Catholic Spirituality.Collegeville, MN.: Liturgical Press, 1993. LC RH Ref BX2350.65.N49 1993

Our Sunday Visitor's Encyclopedia of Catholic History.Huntington, IN.: Our Sunday Visitor, 1995. LC, RH Ref BX945.2.B86 1995

Raymond, John. Catholics on the Internet. 2000-01 ed. Rocklin, CA: Prima Publishing, 2000. RH Ref BX842.5.R38 2000; LC Ref BX842.5.R38

Sacramentum Mundi: An Encyclopedia of Theology. Edited by Karl Rahner. New York: Herder and Herder, 1968-1970. LC, RH Ref BR95.S3


Top of Page


Catholic Social Justice

Alford, Helen J. Rediscovering Abundance: Interdisciplinary Essays on Wealth, Income, and their Distribution in the Catholic Social Tradition. Notre Dame, Ind: University of Notre Dame Press 2006. RH BR115.W4 R43 2006

American Catholic Thought on Social Questions . Edited by Aaron Ignatius Abell. Indianapolis , IN : Bobbs-Merrill, 1968. LC, MM, RH BX1753.A6.

Bakken, Peter W. Ecology, Justice, and Christian Faith: a critical guide to literature . Westport , CT : Greenwood Press, 1995. RH BQT616.5.A1 B3 1995

The Catholic Left in Latin America : A Comprehensive Bibliography . Therrin C. Dahlin, et al. Boston : G.K. Hall, 1981. LC, RH HN39.L3 A1

Catholic Social Teaching in Action . Jesuite Centre for Faith and Justice. Dublin : Columbia Press, 2005. RH BX1753.J47 2005

Catholic Social Teaching: Our Best Kept Secret . Edward P. DeBerri, et al. Maryknoll , NY : Orbis Books, 2003. RH BQT344.H46 2003

Church and Social Action: A Critical Assessment and Bibliographical Survey . Compiled by Roger T. Wilcott. Westport , CT : Greenwood Press, 1990. LC, RH BQT647.W632 1990

Cleary, J.M. Catholic Social Action in Britian, 1909-1959: A History of the Catholic Social Guild . Oxford : Catholic Social Guild, 1961. RH BX1493.C4

Cronin, John Francis. Catholic Social Principles; The Social Teaching of the Catholic Church applied to American Economic Life . Milwaukee , WI : Bruce Pub. Co. , 1950. LC, MM, RH HN37.C3 C69

Dorothy Day and the Catholic Worker: A Bibliography and Index . Compiled by Anne and Alice Klejment. NewYork: Garland , 1986. LC, MM, RH BX4705. D283 A1 1986

Hawken, Paul. Blessed Unrest. New York: Viking, 2007. RH GE195.H388 2007

Heyer, Kristin, Prophetic & public: the social witness of U.S. Catholicism. Washington, D.C.: Georgetown University Press 2006. LC, RH BX1753.H52 2006

Himes, Kenneth R. Modern Catholic Social Teaching. Washington: Georgetown University Press, 2005. RH Ref BX1753.M573 2005

International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences . Edited by David L. Sills. NewYork: Macmillan & The Free Press, [1968]-c1979. LC, MM, RH Ref H41.E61

Jegen, Mary Evelyn. Just Peacemakers: An Introduction to Peace and Justice. New York: Paulist Press, 2006. LC, RH BX1795.J87 J44 2006

Living the Catholic social tradition : cases and commentary. Weigert, Kathleen Maas. Lanham, Md: Rowman Littleifeld Publishers, 2005. RH MM BX1753.L58 2005

Martinez , Richard Edward. PADRES: The National Chicano Priest Movement . Austin , TX : University of Texas Press, 2005. RH E184.M5 M3684 2005

Moore, Charles. First Things: The Moral, Social and Religious Challenges of the Day. London: New York: Burns & Oats, 2005. RH BX1795.H85 M66 2005

Neafsey, John. A sacred voice is calling: personal vocation and social conscience. Maryknoll, NY: Orbis Books, 2006. RH BX1795.W67 N43 2006

The New Dictionary of Catholic Social Thought . Edited by Judith A, Dwyer. Collegeirlle , MN : Liturgical Press, 1994. RH Ref BQT647.N456 1994

One Hundred Years of Catholic Social Thought: Celebration and Challenge . Edited by John Aloysius Coleman. Maryknoll , NY : Orbis, 1991. LC, RH BQT647.o64 1991

The Peace Tradition in the Catholic Church: An Annotated Bibliography . Compiled by Ronald G. Musto. NewYork: Garland Pub., 1986, c1987. RH BX1795.P43 M8 1987

Preaching the teaching: Hispanics, homiletics, and Catholic social justice doctrine. Scranton: University of Scranton Press, 2005. RH BX1795.P72 P74 2005

Responses to 101 questions on Catholic social teaching
. Himes, Kenneth R. New York:Paulist Press, 2001. RH BX1753.H54 2001

Weigert, Kathleen Maas. Living the Catholic Social Tradition: Cases and Commentary. Latham, MD: Rowman & Littlefield Publishers, 2005. RH, MM BX1753.L58 2005

Welty, Eberhard. A Handbook of Christian Social Ethics . Freidberg: Herder, [1960-1963]. LC, MM, RH BX1753.W443

Williams, Melvin J. Catholic Social Thought; Its Approach to Contemporary Problems . NewYork: Ronald Press Co., 1950. LC, MM, RH HM19.W5


Top of Page




Internet Sites

Click on the highlighted title to access the site.

Academic Info: Religion A directory of Internet resources good for all religions.

Augustine Texts, essays and commentaries by and about St. Augustine.

Belilef.net A spirituality Web site; winner of the 2007 National Magazine Awards in the general excellence online category.

Bible Study Tools on Crosswalks.com Bible texts, commentaries, concordances, encyclopedias, and other resources.

BibleGateway Searchable texts of various versions of the Bible in a number of languages.

The Catholic Encyclopedia Full text of the 1905 encyclopedia. (In progress.)

Catholic Information Center on Internet Catholic news.

Catholic Web Resources  A gateway to Catholic Internet sources.

Christian Classics Ethereal Library Full texts of numerous Christian classic works.

Counterbalance Interactive Library. Controversial topics \ covering the relationship between religion and science. .

Digital Quaker collection. Quaker theology documents from 17th and 18th centuries

Essentials of Buddhism A readable overview of Buddhism.

Essentials of the Upanishads Texts and commentaries on the basic Hindu writings. Links to Islam and other religions.

Exploring Religions Covers Buddhism, Christianity, Hinduism, Islam, and Judaism

Hagiography database. Lives of Saints. List, limited to essential biographical data.

The Holy Bible, King James Version Full text in searchable form.

Hindu Universe . Guide to current Hindu culture.

Index of Articles on Jewish Studies
Click on RAMBI to search site. A bibliography of articles mainly from the holdings of the Jewish National and University Library.

Judaism and Jewish Resources Loads of links to Jewish Internet sites.

The Koran Searchable version of the Koran.

Papal Encyclicals Online. Papal encyclicals (letters to groups of bishops) and other church documents. Keyword search available.

The List of Popes With biographies and some texts.

Psychology of Religion Guide to topics and authorities in the field

Religion, Religions, Religious Studies Internet guide to religious studies

Religion in Latin America.This site covers religion and politics, especially good for history with bibliographic information.

Religious Tolerance. . Essays about tolerance and diversity as positive cultural values. Arranged by specific religions (see left margin).

Review of Biblical Literature Scholarly reviews of books on biblical studies

Virtual Religion Index Links to Home pages, indexes and documents.


Nancy Stout
Fordham University Libraries

 

 

Contact Library | Library FAQ | University Home
Rose Hill Campus Bronx, NY 10458 (718) 817-1000, Lincoln Center Campus New York, NY 10023 (212) 636-6000, Marymount Campus Tarrytown, NY 10591 (914) 631-3200
© 2004 Fordham University