|
Women's Studies is an interdisciplinary field, and
consulting with other guides, such as American studies, cultural studies, gender
studies, and Gay/Lesbian studies, as well as other disciplines, is useful.
RESEARCH DATABASES/CORE
JOURNALS
Black Women in America—This second edition of this historic reference
work provides an updated resource on the achievement of African-American women
in the United States.
Contemporary Women's Issues—full
text access to publications from more than 200 domestic and international
organizations.
Feminae: Medieval Women & Gender Index—covers
journal articles, book reviews and essays about women, sexuality and gender
during the Middle Ages. Over 350 journals as well as essay collections are
indexed, covering the historical period from 450 C.E. to 1500 C.E.
Feminist Collections [Madison, WI:
Women's Studies Librarian, University of Wisconsin] (RH) H1.F428
Feminist Studies: FS [College Park,
MD: Feminist Studies, Inc.] (RH LC) H1.F24
Franciscan Women: History and Culture—The
definitive source of sources on Franciscan women by The Franciscan Institute at
St. Bonaventure University, maintaining more than 1,500 Franciscan women from
the 13th to the 18th centuries.
Gender Studies Database—Combines the Women's Studies International and
Men's Studies databases to now contain more than 700,000 records dating from the
1970's to present.
GenderWATCH—a
full-text collection of the periodicals, academic journals, newsletters,
magazines, regional publications and government reports focused on issues that
affect women.
Hypatia: A Journal of Feminist
Philosophy [Edwardsville, IL: Southern University at Edwardsville] (RH)
H1.H94
International Journal of Women's
Studies. Montreal, Que.: Eden Press (RH) H1.I5989
Journal of Feminist Studies in Religion
[Chico, CA: Scholars Press] (RH) H1.J46
Journal of Women's History
[Bloomington, IN: Indiana University Press] (RH) H1.J914
Oxford Encyclopedia of Women in World History—Part of the Oxford
Reference Online, this resource provides more than 1,200 biographies and
articles.
Signs: Journal of Women in Culture and
Society [Chicago, University of Chicago Press] (RH) H1.J914
Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000. Scholar's edn.—Index to
thousands of documents, bibliographies, and teaching aids.
Women's Studies Quarterly [Old
Westbury, NY: Feminist Press] (RH) H1.W54
Women Working, 1800-1930—Thousands
of full text books and pamphlets, photographs, and manuscripts from Harvard
University Library's Open Collection Program.
Top of Page
Internet Resources
Academic
American Association of University Women
The national organization devoted to the issues of
education and equity for women and girls.
Center for Women &
Information Technology
Maintained by the University System of Maryland, this critically acclaimed site
contains peer-reviewed resources helpful for scholarship in gender studies,
particularly the "Bibliography on Technology and Gender in Education."
University of
Wisconsin System Women's Studies Librarian's Office
This resource provides access to many of the current core serial and
monograph publications in women's studies.
WSSLINKS: Women and Gender Studies Web Sites
One of the best gateways to Web resources supporting
women's studies. Maintained by the Association of College and Research
Libraries' Women's Studies Section Collection Development Committee, and is organized
into 14 topical pages, this site is well-organized and updated regularly.
Women's Studies: A Research Guide
This is a handy tool for both basic and advanced research in
women's studies. Compiled by the New York Public Library, it includes
bibliographies, works on feminist theory, biographical, historical, literary,
social, legal and health resources, indexes to periodicals.
Arts & Literature
A Celebration
of Women Writers
This site recognizes the contribution of women writers
throughout history. Information on women is provided based on all types of
genres, including novels, poems, letters, biographies, travel books,
religious commentaries, histories, economic and scientific works.
National Museum of Women in the
Arts
The National Museum of Women in the Arts
brings recognition to the achievements of women artists of many periods and
nationalities by exhibiting, preserving, acquiring, and researching art by women
and by educating the public concerning their accomplishments.
Women Artists
in History
A showcase of women artists from the
medieval to the present. Includes web links, bibliographies, and lists of
frequently asked questions.
Business
Advancing
Women
This is an international network for women in the
workplace, with resources, chats, and message boards.
Surveys of
Minority-Owned and Women-Owned Business Enterprises
The content provided on this Web site is supplied by the U.S. Census Bureau.
U.S. Dept. of
Labor's Women's Bureau
This is the information from the government agency
concerned with working women.
Women on Wall Street
This site is dedicated to furthering
career development, leadership and business opportunities for professional women
on Wall Street. It is sponsored by The Global Partnership Network for Women (GPNW).
Health & Science
Boston Women's Health Book
Collective
The Boston Women's Health Book Collective is a nonprofit,
public interest women's health education, advocacy and consulting organization.
Founded in 1969, the BWHBC's broad mission is to empower women with knowledge of
their bodies, health and sexuality.
Committee on
Women in Science and Engineering (CWSE)
A committee of the National Research Council that "acts as
an informational resource to improve understanding of the issues that affect the
number of women who pursue careers in science and engineering."
MIT Women
in Science and Technology Resources
Resources for women in science and technology. Includes
bibliographies, papers, directories, newsletters, and links to numerous academic
groups and professional organizations.
History
American Women's History: A Research Guide
This site provides citations to print and Internet
reference sources, as well as to selected large primary source collections . .
. provides information about the tools researchers can use to find additional
books, articles, dissertations, and primary sources.
Documents from
the Women's Liberation Movement
The materials in this on-line archival collection document
various aspects of the Women's Liberation Movement in the United States, and
focus specifically on the radical origins of this movement during the late 1960s
and early 1970s.
National American Woman Suffrage Association Collection
This organization votes for women selections from the Library of Congress'
Rare Book and Special Collections Division on the suffrage campaign.
National Women's History Project
This Web site provides information and materials on the history of women
in American society.
United
States Historical Census Browser Data
Here, data is presented to describe the people and the
economy of the U.S. for each state and county from 1790 to 1970.
ViVa: A
Bibliography of Women's History
This is a bibliography of women's history in several languages
from over 80 European and American periodicals from 1995 to present.
IndEXes & Subject Guides
Feminist.com
This resource includes a searchable database of regional women's
organizations, as well as the "Articles and Speeches" section, which
contains texts by prominent
journalists, politicians, and organizers.
Women's Resource Project
This site includes links to women's studies sites around the world.
WWWomen
Possibly the largest index of links to resources by, for,
and about women is arranged like Yahoo! with a search engine and subject
directory.
International
Center for Women's Global
Leadership
Rutgers University resource guide for international
feminist studies and activism, which possesses a "What You Can Do" list of international
activist opportunities.
United
Nations and the Status of Women
This United Nations page contains information on the status of women, women in
development, UN actions for women, and the Commission on the Status of Women.
Women in
Development: Web Resources
This site from the Columbia University Women's Studies
Librarian provides links to organizations concerned with promoting social and
economic development in poor nations and regions.
POLITICAL
NOW: National Organization for Women
Issues, news, and contact information for the National
Organization for Women are covered, and also includes a table of contents, key issues in feminism
section and links to other web sites.
Top of Page
SOURCEBOOKS/HANDBOOKS
Amico, Eleanor B. (Ed.). Reader's Guide
to Women's Studies. Chicago: Fitzroy Dearborn, 1998. (RH LC) Ref HQ1180.A1
R43 1998
Hannam, June, Hughes, A., & Stafford, P. British Women's History:
A Bibliographic Guide. Manchester, ENG: Manchester University Press, 1996. (RH) Ref HQ1593.A1 H35 1996
Howard, Angela, & Kavenik, Frances M.
(Ed.). Handbook of American Women's History. Thousand Oaks, CA: Sage Pub., 2000. (RH LC)
Ref + HQ1410.H36 2000
Howard, A., & Tarrant, S.R.A. (Eds.). Opposition to the Women's Movement in
the United States, 1848-1929. New York: Garland Pub., 1997. (RH LC)
Ref HQ1426.A7 1997 v.1
Howard, A., & Tarrant, S.R.A. (Eds.). Reaction to the Modern Women's Movement, 1963 to the
Present. New York: Garland, 1997. (RH LC) Ref HQ1426.A7 1997 v.3
Phenix, Katharine. Subject Guide to
Women of the World. Lanham, MD: Scarecrow Press, 1996. (RH LC) Ref HQ1123.A1 P47 1996
Salokar, R.M. (Ed.). Women in Law: A Bio-Biographical Sourcebook. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 1996. (RH) Ref KB268 .W8 W66 1996
Taeuber, C.M. (Ed.). Statistical
Handbook on Women in America (2nd ed.). Phoenix, AZ: Oryx Press, 1996. (RH LC MM) Ref + HQ1420.T34
1996
Top of Page
ENCYCLOPEDIAS
Appleby, Joyce Oldham, Cheng, Eileen K., &
Goodwin, Joanne L. (Eds.). Encyclopedia of Women in American History
(Vols. 1-3). Armonk, N.Y.: Sharpe Reference, 2002. (MM) Ref + HQ1410.E53 2002
Bakken, Gordon Morris (Ed).
Encyclopedia of Women in the American West. Thousand Oaks, CA: Sage, 2003. (RH)
Ref + HQ1438.W45 E53 2003
Burns, Kristine Helen (Ed). Women and
Music in America Since 1990: An Encyclopedia (Vols. 1-2). Armonk, N.Y.:
Greenwood Press, 2002. (RH MM) Ref ML82.W625 2002
Christensen, Karen, Guttmann, A., & Pfister, G. (Eds.). International Encyclopedia of Women and
Sports (Vols. 1-3). New York: Macmillan Reference USA,
2001. (RH) Ref GV709.I58 2001
Cullen-DuPont, Kathryn (Ed.). Encyclopedia of Women's History in
America (2nd ed.). New York: Facts on File, 2000. (RH
LC) Ref + HQ1410.C85 2000
Harper, Judith E. Women During the
Civil War: An Encyclopedia. New York: Routledge, 2003. (RH) Ref + E628.H37
2004
Krismann, Carol. Encyclopedia of
American Women in Business: From Colonial Times to the Present (Vols. 1-2).
Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 2005. (RH) HD6054.4.U6 K753 2004
Martinez Alemán,
Ana M., & Renn, Kristen A. (Eds.). Women in Higher Education: An Encyclopedia.
Santa Barbara, CA: ABC-CLIO, 2002. (LC MM) LC1568.W66 2002
Oakes, Elizabeth H. International
Encyclopedia of Women Scientists. New York: Facts on File, 2002. (RH MM) Ref
+ Q141.O27 2002
Rappaport, Helen (Ed.). Encyclopedia of Women Social Reformers
(Vols. 1-2). Santa Barbara, CA: ABC-CLIO, 2001. (RH LC MM) Ref HQ1236.R39 2001
Sies, Leora M., & Sies, Luther F. The
Encyclopedia of Women in Radio, 1920-1960. Jefferson, NC: McFarland & Co.,
2003. (RH LC) Ref + 1991.8.W65 E53 2003
Wilson, Katharina M. Women in the
Middle Ages: An Encyclopedia (Vols. 1-2). Westport, CT: Greenwood Press,
2004. (RH MM) Ref HQ1143.W643 2004
Worell, Judith (Ed.). Encyclopedia of Women and Gender: Sex Similarities and
Differences and the Impact of Society on Gender (Vols. 1-2). San Diego: Academic Press, 2001. (RH
MM) Ref + HQ1115.E43 2001
Top of Page
BIBLIOGRAPHIES
Adamson, Lynda G. Notable Women in
World History: A Guide to Recommended Biographies and Autobiographies.
Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 1999. (RH LC) Ref CT3260.A27 1999
Amico, Eleanor B. (Ed.). Reader's Guide to
Women's Studies. Chicago: Fitzroy Dearborn, 1998. (RH LC) Ref HQ1180.A1 R43 1998
Cox, Elizabeth. Women in Modern
American Politics: A Bibliography, 1900-1995. Washington, DC: Congressional
Quarterly, 1997. (RH) Ref HQ1236.5.U6 C69 1997
Huls, Mary Ellen. United States
Government Documents on Women, 1800-1990: A Comprehensive Bibliography
(Vols. 1-2).
Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 1993. (RH LC) Ref HQ1410.A1 H85 1993
Hutchings, N., & Rumsey, W.D. (Eds.). Collaborative Bibliography of Women in
Philosophy. Bowling Green, OH: Bowling Green State University, 1997. (RH)
Ref + B105.W6 A13 1997
Ogilvie, Marilyn Bailey. Women and
Science: An Annotated Bibliography. New York: Garland Pubs., 1996.
(RH) Ref Q130.A1 O35 1996
Ryan, Barbara. The Women's Movement:
References and Resources. New York: G.K. Hall, 1996. (RH LC) HQ1236.5.U6 A1 1996
Searing, Susan E. Introduction to
Library Research in Women's Studies. Boulder, CO.: Westview Press, 1985. (RH
MM) Ref
HQ1100.S4
Top of Page
DICTIONARIES/GLOSSARIES
Andermahr, Sonya. A Glossary of
Feminist Theory. London: Arnold,
1997. (RH LC) Ref HQ1115.A53 1997
Boles, Janet K., & Hoeveler, Diane
Long. The A to Z of Feminism. Lanham, MD: Scarecrow Press, 2006. (RH LC
MM) Ref HQ1115.B653 2006
Gardner, Catherine Villanueva.
Historical Dictionary of Feminist Philosophy. Lanham, MD: Scarecrow Press,
2006. (RH LC) Ref HQ1190.G36 2006
Parry, Melanie (Ed.). Larousse Dictionary of Women. New York: Larousse, 1996. (RH) Ref HQ1115.L37 1996
Deborah Winkler
Fordham University Library
|